Gannett

Le géant des médias devient mobile

La puissante firme de médias Gannett est habituée à travailler vite et sous la pression de l'heure de tombée. Son plus récent défi : devenir mobile en faisant passer plus de 900 publications, dont son quotidien vedette USA TODAY(MD), de l'imprimé au numérique disponible en tout temps.

Pour l'aider à franchir ce fossé technologique, Gannett compte sur iPhone 3G d'Apple. Les employés de Gannett ont adopté iPhone et l'entreprise a lancé USA TODAY dans la boutique App Store, permettant ainsi à Gannett de publier de nouvelles « incontournables » et une information constamment mise à jour à l'intention des utilisateurs mobiles. iPhone a aidé la société à réinventer la manière dont elle véhicule ses contenus et sa publicité auprès des consommateurs.

En tant que plus important éditeur de journaux aux États-Unis, Gannett n'ignore rien des changements qui bouleversent le monde de la presse écrite. Or, pour ce géant des médias basé à McLean (Virginie), le changement est source de nouvelles possibilités. « La presse imprimée demeure un secteur porteur. Nous cherchons à voir comment acheminer les nouvelles et l'information aux gens au moment et de la manière qui leur convient », fait savoir Mark Morneau, vice-président – Technologies de l'information.

Pour ce faire, Gannett offre, en plus des versions papier, des éditions numériques de ses journaux actualisées en temps réel pour ses clients mobiles. « L'industrie de l'actualité a toujours tourné 24 heures sur 24, car nous ne contrôlons pas les événements », explique M. Morneau. « La technologie évolue et notre industrie est en pleine transformation. iPhone contribue largement à cette transformation. »

La salle de nouvelles mobile

Le lancement du iPhone en entreprise a joué un rôle clé en faveur du passage de Gannett à l'ère mobile. Les TI de Gannett prennent en charge Microsoft Exchange Server et Exchange ActiveSync, si bien que les employés peuvent utiliser leur iPhone pour accéder en toute sécurité à des données d'entreprise essentielles, dont le courriel et le calendrier par poussée. iPhone leur permet aussi d'accéder à distance à la liste d'adresses globale de l'entreprise et ses 41 000 employés.

« Je me sers de mon iPhone de 7 h à 19 h, si ce n'est pas plus », commente Matt Jones, vice-président – Stratégie et opérations mobiles. « Le fait de pouvoir avoir accès au service de courrier électronique de l'entreprise, à mon calendrier et au carnet d'adresses sur iPhone est absolument capital. »

L'un des principaux avantages du iPhone pour les employés de Gannett tient à sa connectivité réseau. « La capacité de se connecter aisément à un réseau d'entreprise sans fil bonifie l'expérience offerte aux usagers » souligne M. Jones. Les employés utilisent leur iPhone pour télécharger et lire des pièces jointes à leurs courriels en format PowerPoint, Excel et Word, note-t-il. « iPhone apporte une souplesse qui en fait un outil de productivité pour l'entreprise. »

Le journal de l'Amérique livré sur iPhone

« La mobilité a tout changé. Désormais, je peux parcourir et consulter l'actualité à n'importe quel moment. iPhone vous permet de voir les grands titres de toutes les sources de nouvelles disponibles. Il a changé les règles du jeu » commente Jennifer Carroll, vice-présidente et rédatrice en chef de Content One.

Face à un lectorat mobile de plus en plus important, iPhone est l'une des pierres angulaires de la stratégie mobile de Gannett. En décembre 2008, Gannett a lancé son application USA TODAY, qui a franchi le cap du million de téléchargements en seulement 53 jours.

L'application iPhone tire parti de toutes les ressources de USA TODAY, y compris de sa palette de couleurs et des sections familières. Les lecteurs de USA TODAY peuvent voir les manchettes des rubriques Nouvelles, Argent, Sports, Vie, Technologie et Voyages. Ils peuvent aussi compter sur leur iPhone et USA TODAY pour la météo en direct, les radars et les prévisions, qui font appel aux fonctions GPS du iPhone pour offrir aux utilisateurs des flux personnalisés.

Les lecteurs peuvent aussi voir les meilleures photos du jour et les faire défiler sous forme de diaporama ou les envoyer par courriel depuis leur iPhone. Parmi les fonctions interactives proposées, on trouve notamment Snapshots, qui permet aux utilisateurs de répondre à une question et de voir instantanément les résultats dans leur ville ou leur état. « iPhone nous permet de faire partager le dynamisme de USA TODAY à un tout nouvel auditoire », avance Matt Jones.

Pour Gannett, le développement de l'application USA TODAY a été des plus simples. « L'écosystème de la boutique App Store est parfaitement en phase avec l'univers des concepteurs; il est donc facile pour une entreprise de médias comme la nôtre de créer des produits de grande qualité et d'en faire profiter nos clients. »

Maximiser les revenus

En offrant aux utilisateurs de iPhone une version spéciale de son quotidien USA TODAY, Gannett s'est créé un lectorat fidèle – et grandissant – qui n'aurait peut-être jamais acheté la version papier du journal. « Nous sommes conscients que plus nos contenus mobiles sont axés sur l'actualité locale, plus ils sont à jour et plus ils sont interactifs, plus nous sommes en phase avec nos lecteurs », remarque Mme Carroll.

L'accès aux utilisateurs de iPhone a également ouvert de nouvelles perspectives publicitaires qui se traduit par un potentiel de revenus supplémentaires pour Gannett. L'entreprise, en collaboration avec sa filiale PointRoll, a conçu une première campagne publicitaire mobile multimédia pour iPhone. Les annonces mobiles peuvent être agrandies et offrent des fonctionnalités évoluées comme la lecture vidéo tactile, le téléchargement de bons-rabais, le mappage intégré et les appels par activation tactile.

Selon Matt Jones, « iPhone offre de nouvelles occasions d'affaires qui permettent à nos annonceurs traditionnels d'être aussi présent dans l'univers mobile et de solliciter cet auditoire important et influent. » « Nous sommes très satisfaits des réactions de nos utilisateurs et de nos annonceurs. Le développement sur iPhone est excessivement prometteur pour nous. »

L'entreprise en bref

  • Le plus important éditeur de journaux aux États-Unis
  • Basé à McLean (Virginie)
  • Diffuse plus de 900 publications et 85 journaux, dont USA TODAY(MD)
  • Exploite 23 stations de télévision et leurs sites Internet aux É.-U.
  • 25,8 millions de lecteurs en ligne aux États-Unis
  • 41 500 employés dans le monde
  • Chiffre d'affaires annuel de 6,8 milliards $
  • www.gannett.com
  • Application pour iPhone USA TODAY

« iPhone nous permet de faire partager le dynamisme de USA TODAY à un tout nouvel auditoire. »

Matt Jones. Vice-président – Stratégie et opérations mobiles, Gannett Digital


« Notre industrie est en pleine transformation. iPhone contribue largement à cette transformation. »

Mark Morneau. Vice-président – Technologies de l'information, Gannett


« La mobilité a tout changé. Désormais, je peux parcourir et consulter l'actualité à n'importe quel moment. iPhone vous permet de voir les grands titres de toutes les sources de nouvelles disponibles... Voilà qui change la donne. »

Jennifer Carroll. Vice-présidente et rédactrice en chef, Content One

iPhone in Business

Gannett

Media Giant Goes Mobile

Media powerhouse Gannett knows how to work fast and furious under deadline. Its recent challenge was to go mobile — transform its 900-plus publications, including the flagship USA TODAY®, from traditional printed formats into interactive, always-on digital media.

To help cross this digital divide, Gannett relies on Apple iPhone 3G. Gannett employees embraced iPhone and the company launched USA TODAY in the App Store, adding to Gannett’s ability to produce must-have news and information updated 24/7 for mobile users. iPhone has helped redefine how it delivers content and advertising to consumers.

As the largest newspaper publisher in the U.S., Gannett is well aware of the changes happening in print publishing. And for the McLean, VA-based media giant, change brings opportunity. “The newspaper business is still a good business. We’re looking at how to get news and information to people in the way they want it, when they want it,” says Mark Morneau, Vice President of Information Technology.

To do that, Gannett is moving beyond print to digital content published around the clock for mobile consumers. “The news and information business has always been a 24-hour business, because we don’t control when news happens,” explains Morneau. “The technology is changing, and our business is really in a transformation. iPhone is making a lot of this transformation happen.”

The Mobile Newsroom

The introduction of iPhone in the corporate enterprise was instrumental in Gannett’s mobile transformation. Gannett IT supports Microsoft Exchange Server and Exchange ActiveSync, so employees can use iPhone to get secure access to essential business information, including push email and calendar. iPhone also gives them mobile access to Gannett’s global address list of 41,000 employees.

“I’m on iPhone from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m., if not longer,” says Matt Jones, Vice President of Mobile Strategy and Operations, Gannett Digital. “The ability to access corporate email, my calendar, and address book on iPhone is absolutely critical.”

A key benefit for Gannett’s iPhone users is its network connectivity. “Being able to hop easily onto a corporate wireless network creates a rich user experience,” says Jones. Employees count on iPhone to download and easily read email attachments in PowerPoint, Excel, and Word, he notes. “iPhone brings a layer of flexibility that makes it a productive business device.”

America's Newspaper Delivered on iPhone

“We’ve seen mobile change everything. Now at any given time, I can browse and check information. iPhone allows you to see all the headlines from whatever news source is available. That is game-changing,” says Jennifer Carroll, Vice President and Senior Editor of Content One.

Because of the vast growing mobile audience, iPhone is a key part of Gannett’s mobile strategy. In December of 2008, Gannett launched its USA TODAY app, which garnered one million downloads in only 53 days.

The iPhone application capitalizes on the full suite of assets in USA TODAY, including the familiar colour palette and sections. USA TODAY readers view headline stories categorized by News, Money, Sports, Life, Tech, and Travel topics. They also rely on iPhone and USA TODAY for live weather conditions, radar, and forecasts that take advantage of iPhone’s GPS capabilities, giving users customized feeds by location.

Readers can view the day’s best photos and play them back as a slideshow or send them via email on iPhone. Interactive features include Snapshots that allow users to vote on a poll question and see instant results sorted by their own city or state. “iPhone gives us the ability to bring the vibrancy of USA TODAY to a totally new audience,” says Jones.

Gannett found development of the USA TODAY application to be very straightforward. “The App Store ecosystem is seamless for developers, which makes it easy for a media company like ours to create great products and bring them to a customer base,” says Jones.

Maximizing Revenue

By delivering a customized view of USA TODAY to iPhone users, Gannett has created a loyal — and growing — audience who may have never picked up the newspaper. “We realize the more local, the more updated, and the more interactive we are with mobile content, the more we can connect with our audience,” says Carroll.

Access to the iPhone audience has unleashed advertising opportunities as well, creating new revenue potential for Gannett. The company, along with its subsidiary PointRoll, has developed the first mobile rich-media advertising for iPhone. The mobile ads are fully expandable and provide advanced features such as video tap-to-play, coupon downloads, integrated mapping technology, and user-initiated tap-to-call.

“iPhone presents a new business opportunity that allows our traditional print advertisers to extend into mobile and leverage that influential, affluent audience,” says Jones. “We are very pleased with the feedback we are getting from our users and advertisers. Developing for iPhone is a very bright future for us.”

Company Snapshot

  • Largest newspaper publisher in the U.S.
  • Based in McLean, VA
  • Produces more than 900 publications and 85 newspapers, including USA TODAY®
  • Operates 23 U.S. TV stations with Internet sites
  • Online U.S. Internet audience is 25.8 million
  • 41,500 employees worldwide
  • Annual revenue of $6.8 billion
  • www.gannett.com
  • USA TODAY iPhone application

“iPhone gives us the ability to bring the vibrancy of USA TODAY to a totally new audience.”

Matt Jones. Vice President of Mobile Strategy and Operations, Gannett Digital


“Our business is really in a transformation. iPhone is making a lot of this transformation happen.”

Mark Morneau. Vice President of Information Technology, Gannett


“We’ve seen mobile change everything. Now at any given time, I can browse and check. iPhone allows you to see all the headlines from whatever news source is available…that is game-changing.”

Jennifer Carroll. Vice President and Senior Editor, Content One

More iPhone in Business profiles.

Central County Fire Department Fighting Fire with Technology.

Eaton Powering business with iPhone and iPad.

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

PepsiCo Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

Daiichi Sankyo Prescription for change: iPad and iPhone.

CTV News The pocket newsroom.

Lowe's Building better customer service.

Grupo BBVA Banking on iPhone and iPad.

Safe/Sea Marine Rescue Shipshape with iPad and iPhone.

Standard Chartered Multinational banking goes mobile.

Dow Corning From Michigan to Mumbai, iPhone helps keep this silicone giant running smoothly.

Kids Crooked House A playful mission, powered by iPhone.

Jackson Kayak Rapid results with iPad and iPhone.

World Wide Technology Maintaining IT infrastructures with iPhone.

Aftonbladet Cutting-edge communication

GE Reinventing mobility.

G Adventures A global travel company stays unified, with iPhone.

Redlands P.D. On duty with iPhone and iPad.

M6 iPhone: A media giant evolves

Showcall Large-scale event production goes mobile with iPhone.

JM Family Auto innovators.

Virtual Aviation iPhone boosts virtual flight.

RehabCare Post-critical care using iPhone and iPad.

Novartis Apps for good health.

Quintessa Winery Elegant technology for a Napa Valley vineyard.

TCHO Chocolate Chocolatology meets technology.

Big Bad Boo Diversity through animation. Efficiency through iPhone.

The Wine Connection Taking the store with you.

Dr. Diamond Using iPhone to improve patient care.

Surfline Catching waves in the palm of the hand.

D.W. Morgan Revolutionizing the supply chain.

Aedas Creativity through collaboration.

Great Food Streamlining service with iPhone.

Unisys Data defenders.

Mount Sinai Hospital iPhone provides vital link to medical records.

RTKL Architecture in motion

DLA Phillips Fox iPhone: Improving legal services.

Memorial Hermann Advancing health care with iPhone.

Illumina iPhone meets genome.

Axel Springer Content goes mobile with iPhone.

Sunbelt Rentals iPhone: Essential equipment.

Gannett Media giant goes mobile.

Doylestown Hospital Always on call: iPhone 3G.

Kraft Foods Serving up innovation.