Conservation

World Water Monitoring Challenge

Les besoins en eau potable augmentent avec l’accroissement de la population mondiale. Invitez vos étudiants à participer au World Water Monitoring Challenge, un programme international de sensibilisation du public à la protection des ressources en eau. Recueillez des données sur les lacs et les fleuves à l’échelle locale et cherchez à savoir comment résoudre les problèmes d’approvisionnement en eau douce renouvelable.

Informez-vous sur les ressources menacées.

À la section 1 du chapitre 41 de Life on Earth d’E. O. Wilson, découvrez les changements apportés par l’homme aux ressources en eau dans le monde. La surveillance permanente de ces ressources permet aux scientifiques d’évaluer leur état actuel et de suivre l’avancée d’un problème, ou le succès d’une solution, au fil du temps.

Mobilisez l’attention.

Les ressources renouvelables en eau douce s’amenuisent à l’échelle mondiale, car les volumes d’eau utilisés par l’agriculture et d’autres activités humaines augmentent. Rendez-vous sur le site du World Water Monitoring Challenge pour découvrir comment vous impliquer. Puis utilisez l’app Evernote afin de dresser la liste de vos idées pour planifier, développer et promouvoir un programme de surveillance de la qualité de l’eau à destination des écoles primaires de votre secteur.

Les quatre mesures de la santé des bassins hydrographiques

Il s’agit des quatre indicateurs clés que les participants doivent mesurer dans le cadre du World Water Monitoring Challenge.

1. Température

2. pH (acidité)

3. Turbidité
(clarté)

4. Oxygène
dissous

Commencez à surveiller la qualité de l’eau.

Servez-vous d’un modèle Pages ou ThingLink pour créer une annonce publicitaire invitant les enfants des écoles primaires à se joindre au programme World Water Monitoring Challenge que vous avez développé.

La Terre n’est pas seulement notre lieu de résidence, c’est aussi le système indispensable à la vie.

Life on Earth, d’E. O. Wilson

Célébrez le Jour de la Terre.

Supports d’apprentissage

Découvrez la collection d’apps, de livres et de contenus consacrés au Jour de la Terre sur iTunes.

Personnaliser vos cours
Apple et l’environnement

Découvrez les actions entreprises par Apple pour rendre le monde meilleur.

En savoir plus

Suite

Apple et l’Éducation

Conservation

World Water Monitoring Challenge

As the world’s human population grows, the need for clean water increases as well. Invite students to join the World Water Monitoring Challenge, an international outreach program that raises awareness about protecting our waterways. Collect data from local lakes and rivers and explore how to solve renewable freshwater supply problems.

Learn about resources at risk.

In Chapter 41, Section 1 of E. O. Wilson’s Life on Earth, read about the changes to Earth's waterways brought about by humans. Ongoing monitoring of our water resources enables scientists to assess the current status and then track the extent of a problem — or the success of a solution — across time.

Life on Earth, Unit 7

Download for free in iBooks

Raise awareness.

The world’s renewable freshwater supply is dwindling as increasing amounts of water are diverted by agriculture and other human uses. Visit the World Water Monitoring Challenge website to learn how to get involved. Then use the Evernote app to list your ideas for planning, developing, and promoting a water quality monitoring program for elementary school children in your area.

U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA)

Learn how the EPA manages water resources

World Water Monitoring Challenge

Find out how your community can take part

The four parameters of watershed health

These are the key indicators that participants measure as part of the World Water Monitoring Challenge.

1. Temperature

2. pH (Acidity)

3. Turbidity
(Clarity)

4. Dissolved
Oxygen

Start monitoring.

Use a template in Pages or the ThingLink app to create an advertisement inviting elementary school children to join the World Water Monitoring Challenge program that you’ve developed. Visit the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) website to look for water quality monitoring volunteer programs in your area and include them in your advertisement.

U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA)

Find local volunteer water monitoring opportunities

Earth isn’t only our mailing address; it is our life‑support system.

E. O. Wilson’s Life on Earth

Celebrate Earth Day.

Learning Materials

Explore the Earth Day collection of apps, books, and more in iTunes.

Customize your lessons
Earth Day Course

Find all lesson activities and materials in iTunes U.

Subscribe to the course
Apple and the Environment

See what Apple is doing to help leave the world a better place.

Learn more