<广告>

Apple 教育应用案例

使用 iPad 在课堂上开创新的可能

iPad 一对一计划所采用的技术已经是学生日常生活中必不可少的一部分,且大大激发了他们对学习的浓厚兴趣。

启发

伯灵顿高中距波士顿 20 分钟车程,是一所位于市郊中产社区的公立学校。拥有 9-12 年级学生共约 1000 多名,依据传统标准,他们的学习成绩一直很出色。州级考试通过率达 100% 之多,而 95% 的学生都能成功进入大学就读。这样看来伯灵顿高中似乎不需要进行任何变革。

但是,具有革新思想的教师认为,单纯帮助学生考出好成绩还远远不够。他们希望自己的教学方法能够更适应数字化世界的发展趋势,帮助学生为以后开始新的生活做好更充分的准备。

伯灵顿高中的教师发现,学生们获得的信息大部分都来源于互联网。“正是因为这样,学生们比以前更加需要教师,” 前校长 Patrick Larkin 指出,“我们需要指导他们分辨信息资源的真伪。” 于是,学校将数字文化标准融入课堂教学,目标是营造一种新的教学环境,让学生自由使用他们已经在校外经常使用的技术。

“iPad 让我比以前更具创造力,而且不断激发我在课堂上探索教学的最大可能性。”

伯灵顿高中历史教师 Todd Whitten

对学校管理层来说摆脱传统教科书的束缚是革新至关重要的一步。伯灵顿高中之所以选择 iPad 作为学习工具,是因为它能够让学生触手可及当今的世界。“我们认为,这是实现信息民主化的大好时机,” 历史教师 Todd Whitten 指出,“学生们人手一台既小巧又轻便的 iPad,里面包含比传统教科书更丰富全面的知识,而且都是当前最新的资讯。”

实践

伯灵顿高中管理层为每位学生和教师配备一部 iPad 用于整个学年的教学。为了购买这些设备,校方撤销了费用高的电脑实验室,并决定放弃纸质教科书,在现有预算中拨款购买设备。

既然学生正准备使用 iPad 获取海量信息,教师们也开始思考自己的角色以及应该做出的改变。 他们不仅将自己视为知识传授者,同时也是学生的指导者,帮助学生驾驭并分析信息。“我认为,作为 21 世纪的教师,职责之一就是投入时间帮助学生全方位思考网站上的各种观点和看法,确定是否要将其转化成自己的观点,” Whitten 指出,“讨论什么是正确的非常重要。”

通过使用 iBooks Author,伯灵顿高中的教师们制作出适用于 iPad 的互动性课件,让学生更专注于学习。英语教师 Tim Calvin 能做的也不再只是使用书本上的文字来教学。正如他所说的:“我可以自己制作一本书,里面有各种图片、视频和链接。让人高兴的是,我不再局限于现有的信息,iPad 能让我实现任何我想要做的。”

各个学科的师生们都在寻找新的方法让学习更具互动性。在西班牙语课上,学生们通过录制和播放自己的语音来练习口语。在经济学课上,学生们调用实时股票市场数据,用于创建和跟踪股票资产。在数学课上,准大学生们对市场成本进行调研,以做出切实可行的住房预算。

此外,让学生们使用 iPad 还可以让教师们更好地适应他们各自的需求和能力。如要证明自己已经学到知识,学生们不再只是写论文和做多选题。“作为教育工作者,我们依然要看学习的成果,” Larkin 指出,“我们有多种方法让学生们展现他们对所学知识的精通程度”。有了 iPad,学生们就可以有更自由的方式来表达自己。他们可以制作视频,设计数字海报,或者建立网站。而如果他们更喜欢用非数字化的模拟方式,教师们也会一视同仁。

成果

iPad 一对一计划实施的第一年就给伯灵顿高中带来了巨大的影响。据年终调查结果,大部分学生表示他们更热衷于上课,而且比前几年在学习方面更加有计划性。

教师们发现使用 iPad 学习的学生专注度具有明显的差异性,例如他们会进行内容更丰富、更深入的对话。“不再只是简单重复同样的内容,他们越来越热衷于探讨网站传递信息的差异性,并形成他们各自的见解。” Whitten 指出。“我认为,这才是真正的学习,而 iPad 实现了这种可能性。”

“在教学过程中,能畅所欲言表达你的意见非常重要。有了 iPad,你就像掌握了一切。”

伯灵顿高中学生 Thabani

伯灵顿高中前校长 Larkin 自此被提升为伯灵顿校区的助理监督。由于伯灵顿高中实施这项计划取得丰硕成果,现在整个新英格兰 50 多所学校都已经行动起来,着手考察该计划。伯灵顿校区已经将 iPad 一对一计划扩展到中学,最终目标是将这项计划扩展到辖区的所有中小学校。

他们使用的产品

iPad

这款革命性的移动设备开创了新的教学方式。 进一步了解 iPad

MacBook Pro

这系列笔记本电脑是在课堂内外学习的理想工具。 进一步了解 MacBook Pro

功能强大的 Apple app

iTunes U、iMovie、Garageband、Pages、Numbers 及 Keynote。它们能让你的课堂创意迭出,充满效率。现免费随每台 iPad 和 Mac 提供。
进一步了解

更多教育案例

Apple in Education Profiles

Creating new possibilities in the classroom with iPad.

The iPad one-to-one program uses technology that’s already a big part of students’ lives to make them more excited about learning.

The inspiration

Located about 20 minutes outside Boston, Burlington High School is a public school in a middle-class suburban community. Its student body of about one thousand 9th-12th graders has performed well by traditional standards. With a 100 percent pass rate on the state examination and 95 percent of graduates going on to college, it appeared that Burlington had no need for change.

But the progressive-minded faculty felt they weren’t doing enough by just helping students perform well on tests. They wanted to adapt their teaching methods to an increasingly digital world, to help their students better prepare for real life.

The educators at Burlington recognized that students get most of their information from the Internet. “So students need teachers more than ever,” says former principal Patrick Larkin. “We need to guide them in determining what is a valid source and what is not.” By incorporating digital literacy standards into the curriculum, the goal was to create a teaching environment using the same technology that students were already using outside school.

“iPad has allowed me to be so much more creative than I ever could have been before. It’s reenergizing for me to walk into a room with boundless possibilities.”

— Todd Whitten, history teacher,
Burlington High School

It was important to the administration to move away from traditional textbooks. Burlington chose iPad as a learning tool because it gives students access to the world as it is today. “We saw this as a huge opportunity to democratize information,” says history teacher Todd Whitten. “With iPad, students have this little lightweight device that contains more knowledge than a traditional textbook could ever have, and it’s all current.”

The implementation

Administrators at Burlington were committed to providing each student and teacher with an iPad to use throughout the school year. To purchase the devices, the school found funds within its existing budget by eliminating costly computer labs and deciding to forgo printed textbooks.

Teachers were thoughtful about their roles and how they might change now that their students had a device giving them ready access to incredible amounts of information. They regarded themselves not only as providers of knowledge but also as guides, helping students navigate and analyze information. “I believe that part of the responsibility of the 21st-century educator is to take the time to help students think through the perspectives and points of view of the sites they’re visiting, and decide whether or not they wish to adopt these points of view as their own,” says Whitten. “It is important to have the discussion about what is ‘correct.’”

Using iBooks Author, teachers at Burlington create interactive course materials for iPad to keep their students engaged. English teacher Tim Calvin is able to present students with more than just text on a page. “I can create a book that has pictures and videos and hyperlinks in it. It’s great to be bound not by what’s out there, but only by what you can make.”

Students and teachers across disciplines are finding new ways to make learning more interactive. In Spanish class, students practice speaking by recording and playing back their voices. In economics class, students pull real-time stock market data to create and track a stock portfolio. And in math class, college-bound students research market costs to create a realistic housing budget.

Giving students access to iPad also allows teachers to better adapt to their students’ unique needs and abilities. Students are no longer limited to writing essays and answering multiple-choice questions in order to demonstrate what they’ve learned. “As educators, we still need to focus on learning outcomes,” says Larkin. “We have multiple ways for students to show their level of proficiency.” With iPad, students have more freedom to express themselves. They can make a video, design a digital poster, or create a website. If a student prefers a more analog approach, teachers can be equally flexible.

The results

In its first year, the iPad one-to-one program has already made a big impact at Burlington High School. According to an end-of-the-year survey, the majority of students indicated that they were more excited to attend class and more organized in their learning than in previous years.

Teachers are seeing a different level of engagement — including richer, deeper conversations — from students when they use iPad. “Rather than simply parrot back the same things, students can engage in a discussion about why sites present information differently, and come to their own understanding,” says Whitten. “In my view, that’s actual learning, and iPad makes that more possible.”

“Having a say in your education is really powerful. With iPad, you feel like you’re more in charge.”

— Thabani, student,
Burlington High School

Larkin, the former principal at Burlington, has since been promoted to assistant superintendent of the Burlington School District. Because of the program’s success at Burlington High School, more than 50 schools from all over New England have come to observe the program in action. The school district has already expanded the iPad one-to-one program to its middle school, with the ultimate goal of expanding the program to grades K-12 across the district.

Products they use

iPad

This revolutionary mobile device introduces a whole new way of teaching and learning. Learn more about iPad

MacBook Pro

These notebooks are great for learning both inside and outside the classroom. Learn more about MacBook Pro

Powerful apps from Apple.

iPhoto. iMovie. Garageband. Pages. Numbers. Keynote. They'll keep your classroom creative and productive. And they're free with every iPad and Mac.
Learn more

More education profiles.