使用 iPad、Mac 和 iPod touch,探索非传统的学习方式。

英国公立学校 Flitch Green 学院的学生使用 iPad、Mac 和 iPod touch 开创了独特的学习体验。

启迪

Flitch Green 是一所位于伦敦郊外的公立中、小学校。这所现代而环保的乡村小学是社区的联系枢纽;在这里,老师善于鼓励学生,令学生敢于探索、提问、甚至是勇于犯错。学校的宗旨是:学习应有的放矢,孩子们通过亲自体验与探索创新性的课程,可以获得最佳的学习效果。

Flitch Green 的创始人设计了创新性的课程,让孩子们能够学习 21 世纪切实所需的技能。学校的理念是:学习不仅仅是获取知识和了解事实,更重要的是能够将其付诸实践。这种有目的性的学习需要在技术方面大力投入,而这正是引入 Mac、iPad 和 iPod touch 的原因。

设计这套课程时,Apple 产品自然成为了他们的理想之选。因为 Apple 产品简单易用,学生可以轻松掌握各种工具,从而能够集中精力研究他们的项目。Apple 产品为学生提供了各种创新机会,让他们能够完成精彩的项目。如果没有 Apple 产品,Flitch Green 的创新性课程不可能实现。

“我们需要一套有意义、有目的性和创新性的课程。借助 Apple 技术,我们实现了这一切。它改善了每个人的学习过程。”

Flitch Green 学院教师 Tracey Bratley

实践创新

教职员工率先购买了 MacBook,随着课程的发展,他们很快又添加了 iPad 和 iPod touch 设备。Apple 产品已成为学生在 Flitch Green 学习的基本工具。

Flitch Green 采用独特的教学方式,即通过开放式 “体验” 进行教学。除了相对传统的媒体工具,学生们还使用 Mac、iPod touch 和 iPad 来完成学习目标。“这样做可以让孩子们利用他们能够获得的所有资源,来完成我们交给他们的各种任务,” 校长 Helen Johnson 介绍说,“通常他们的作品都会大大出乎我们的意料。”

让所有学生都能使用所有的 Apple 产品也是学校的一个目标。11 岁的学生和 4 岁的学生都在使用 Mac、iPad 和 iPod touch 进行探索与创造。“起初,我们以为 iPod touch 适合年龄较大的孩子,而 iPad 有更大的显示屏,应该更适合年龄较小的孩子。但事实上,4 岁的孩子完全有能力使用 iPod touch,记录他们的语音、拍照或在上面书写拼音作业” Helen Johnson 说。自建校伊始,Flitch Green 的愿景一直是让孩子们掌握利用技术的实际技能,为他们走向外面的世界做好准备。

使用 Apple 产品开启自己的学习体验,让学生们可以专注于他们的学习成果。Mac、iPad 和 iPod touch 能够无缝融入到这些跨学科的学习体验中,并让学生们能够根据他们的具体项目选择最合适的工具。

硕果

自 2008 年建校至今,Flitch Green 学生成绩一直保持在 90 百分位,因而跻身学院级别。学生不仅学习基本的学术技能,如英语、数学和科学;还要学习和实践关键的生存能力,如韧性、反思和承担风险。使用 Mac、iPad 和 iPod touch,课堂变得活泼而有趣,学生们也乐于参与其中。

“学生们可以找到以某个字母开头的校内外的各种事物,并用他们的 iPod touch 进行记录。他们对此倍感兴奋,并不懈探索。相比让他们拿着总也握不好的铅笔坐下来学习,这能有效延长他们的学习时间。” Helen Johnson 说。

“各款产品的手感及外观均十分相似,从而产生了协同效应。因此,孩子们可以轻松拿起一款 Apple 产品,开始学习。”

Flitch Green 学院学生家长 Emma Nichols

对技术的运用有助于促进孩子们听说能力的发展,尤其是 Flitch Green 学校中很多性格内向的孩子们。“让他们面对 Mac,面对摄像头,他们就不再有丝毫拘谨,而是非常自信。”教师 Tracey Bratley 说。“通过观看孩子们利用 iMovie 或 PhotoBooth 录制的内容,我们有充足的证据得出上述结论。Apple 产品是孩子们建立自信的好工具,同时也是我们进行评估的好帮手。”

Flitch Green 学院不仅学生学习成果卓著,更以学生对学习充满热情而著称。每天清晨,学生们都兴致勃勃而来;放学后,又怀揣学习热忱而归。他们信心满满,并富有创新意识,而 Mac、iPad 和 iPod touch 更是激发了他们的好奇心。

使用的产品

MacBook Air

这款笔记本电脑是在课堂内外学习的理想工具。 进一步了解 MacBook Air

iPad

这款革命性的移动设备开创了全新的教学方式。 进一步了解 iPad

iPod touch

这款设备以及专为其设计的各款 app,是随时随地学习的绝佳伙伴。 进一步了解 iPod touch

An unconventional approach to learning with iPad, Mac, and iPod touch.

Students at the UK public school Flitch Green Academy use iPad, Mac, and iPod touch to create unique learning experiences.

The inspiration

Flitch Green is a public elementary/middle school located just outside of London. This modern eco-friendly version of a village school was designed to be the hub of the community — where the teachers support the kids so they feel safe to explore, to ask questions, and even to make mistakes. The school was built on the principle that there needs to be a purpose to learning, and that children learn best from an innovative curriculum that teaches through first-hand experience and discovery.

The founders of Flitch Green designed a creative curriculum that allows children to develop skills for the 21st century. The school’s philosophy is that learning is not just about gaining knowledge and acquiring facts — it’s that you need to be able to do something with those facts. This purposeful learning needs a strong investment in technology. That’s where Mac, iPad, and iPod touch come in.

When designing this curriculum, Apple products were a natural fit. Their ease of use allows students to master the tools, and focus on their projects. The work they’re able to produce is greatly enhanced by the creative opportunities the products give the students. Flitch Green’s creative curriculum couldn’t exist without the Apple products.

“We wanted a curriculum that was meaningful, purposeful, and creative. And with Apple technology we have the whole package. It’s ignited everybody’s learning progress.”

— Tracey Bratley, teacher at Flitch Green Academy

The implementation

The staff first purchased MacBooks, and as the curriculum evolved, they quickly added iPad and iPod touch devices. Apple products have become an essential piece of how students learn at Flitch Green.

Flitch Green’s unique approach is taught through open-ended “experiences” where students use the Mac, iPod touch, and iPad, alongside more traditional media, to work towards an end product. “This allows children to use all the resources they have available to them to represent what we’ve asked them to do,” says Principal Helen Johnson. “And normally they come back with things that we won’t have even dreamt of.”

Giving all students access to all of the Apple products was also a goal for the school. The 11 year-olds as well as the 4 year-olds are using the Mac, iPad, and iPod touch to explore and create. “Originally we thought the iPod touch would be great for the older children and the iPad being bigger would be for the younger children. But actually our 4-year olds are more than capable of picking up the iPod touch, recording their voices, taking a photograph, or writing on it for phonic work,” says Helen Johnson. The Flitch Green vision — right from the beginning —was to equip the children with the technological know-how so they would be well prepared once they got to the outside world.

Creating their own learning experiences with Apple products allow the students focus on their end-product. The Mac, iPad, and iPod touch lend themselves seamlessly to these cross-curricular experiences and give the students the choice of technology tools that best suits their individual project.

The results

Since first opening its doors in 2008, Flitch Green’s academic scores have been in the 90th percentile, granting the school Academy status. Students are not only learning basic academic skills such as English, Mathematics, and Science, but they also learn and practice key life skills such as resilience, reflection, and risk taking. With the Mac, iPad and iPod touch, lessons are fun, interesting and packed with activity.

“Students can find all the objects inside and outside the school that start with a certain letter and record it with their iPod touch. They get excitement out of that which keeps them engaged, and keeps them learning longer than they would have if they’ve been sat down with a pencil they can’t hold very well.” says Helen Johnson.

“Everything has a similar feel and a similar look — there’s synergy. So it’s easy for kids to pick up an Apple product and just start working.”

— Emma Nichols, Flitch Green Academy parent

Using technology has helped both the children’s speaking and listening skills — particularly for many of Flitch Green’s shy children. “Put them in front of a Mac, put them in front of a camera and they lose all their inhibitions, they’re really confident. “ Says teacher Tracey Bratley. “We’ve been able to gain lots of evidence from children just from watching what they recorded on iMovie or PhotoBooth. Apple products have given children the tools for them to develop their confidence. And it’s been a great assessment tool for us as well.”

Besides academic achievement, Flitch Green Academy can also lay claim to having students that are excited about their learning. It has students excited to come to school each morning. And their enthusiasm and love of learning is carried home with them. They are confident, creative students that have had their curiosity fostered with the help of the Mac, iPad, and iPod touch.

Products they use

MacBook Air

This notebook computer is great for learning both inside and outside the classroom. Learn more about MacBook Air

iPad

This revolutionary mobile device introduces a whole new way of teaching and learning. Learn more about iPad

iPod touch

This device — and the apps made for it — are perfect for on-the-go learning. Learn more about iPod touch

Powerful apps from Apple.

iPhoto. iMovie. Garageband. Pages. Numbers. Keynote. They'll keep your classroom creative and productive. And they're free with every iPad and Mac.
Learn more