费城表演艺术学校,为课程注入新构思。

教师创制个性化教材,推动教与学的新方式。

化学课上,学生们把每一面都写有化学元素名称的立方体纸盒拼装起来。当他们透过 iPad 摄像头查看立方体时,iPad 上的 Elements 4D app 可将立方体变换成呈现各个元素的互动式 3D 模型。这款 app 利用增强现实技术,将原本平面的元素周期表变得活灵活现。而通过把不同的立方体放在一起,学生可以实时创建化学反应,既加深了理解,又能满足他们的好奇心。这堂不同寻常的课程是本校教师所设计的课程之一,它让科学变得有趣生动,引人入胜。

在费城表演艺术学校这所 String Theory Charter School 里,像这种让你眼前一亮的课程还有很多。作为这个城市最大的免费 K–12 特许学校,它开设了一个 STEAM 课程,即科学、技术、工程、艺术与数学相结合,强调学术与艺术双优的均衡发展。借助在教学核心环节运用 Apple 技术,教师可以设计自己的课程,学生也可以创作展现各自创意和知识的多媒体项目。正是以这种方式,费城表演艺术学校培养了一代充满创意、擅长解决问题的人。

独一无二的教师,独具匠心的教案。

在思索如何以新的方式来设计和讲授课程时,费城表演艺术学校决定抛开传统的高中教科书。通过 iTunes U,教师将课程与学习资料直接发送到每名学生的 iPad 上。教师可以自由设计个性化的课程,选择自己希望采用而且学生学习效果最好的教学方式。在 iPad 和 Mac 上,教师使用 iBooks Author、Pages、Keynote 和其他 Apple 内容制作类 app,依照共同核心标准和州立指导方针,来设计教学计划和教学资料。

此外,iPad 让教师还可以更加快速、灵活地响应变化。当他们受到时事或新想法的启发时,他们可以随时随地更新 iTunes U 课程或资料,然后通过推送通知提醒学生注意变化。学生可以从当天的新闻中学到知识,教师可以及时更新自己的教学计划,而且所有人都步调一致。“有了 iPad 和 iTunes U,教师成为创作者,而且不断在艺术手法上精益求精,为孩子和课程项目创作意义非凡的内容,同时把知识传授给他们。” String Theory Schools 首席创新官兼联合创始人 Jason Corosanite 表示。

我们的教师以团队合作的方式来设计课程。这样一来,可以充分发挥集体的智慧。

创新与教学技术总监 Christine DiPaulo

学校的教师相互学习,以团队合作的形式来设计课程,从而促进各种想法的及时交流。他们共同评估 app,分享最佳做法。创新与教学技术总监 Christine DiPaulo 表示,“ 一些教师从缺乏合作的教育机构和工作环境来到这样一种高度合作的氛围中,你可以亲眼目睹,他们思考问题的角度都变得和以前全然不同了。一些教师表示,他们从没有过如此高水准的职业发展体验。”

因材施教,让学生各展所长。

让费城表演艺术学校的学生使用 iPad,“其实是给孩子一个机会,让他们发现自己具备哪种学习优势,” Corosanite 表示。教师可以通过 iTunes U 课程布置多种作业选择,让学生在拍摄视频、创作歌曲、画张素描或者编写 Keynote 演示文稿中自由选择。学生可以使用他们喜欢的 app、影片和书籍来完成作业。代数课上,他们用 GarageBand 创作了一首说唱歌曲,用自己的语言和节奏来理解二次方程。法语课上,他们为 iMovie 影片创作对白与情节,从而更好地理解法语和法国文化。通过让学生以自由选择的形式展示新掌握的知识,iPad 帮助他们变得更自信。

你不会记得自己参加的考试,但你会记住自己创作的作品。而且你会记住那一刻,老师跟你说 ‘哇,真棒!’ 这些会被铭记心间,伴随学生成长的一生。

创新与教学技术总监 Christine DiPaulo

对学生来说,iPad 上的内容制作类 app 为他们提供了所需的移动性,让他们在课堂内外都能学习。比如,他们可以带着 iPad 外出,用它为费城市中心的纪念碑拍摄照片。由于这是一个结合了英语学习和社会研究的项目,学生可以活学活用,根据自选的主题,打造自己原创的纪念碑。他们使用 iPad 上的 3D 建模 app 来设计新纪念碑,然后把它雕刻成形。这可以帮助学生理解,创作这类艺术品需要进行哪些工作,以及每件作品背后的故事。DiPaulo 表示,“创作过程 [有助于] 让学习变得更加趣味盎然。”

学得更有动力,教得更富灵感。

采用 iPad 不仅让费城表演艺术学校可以灵活地设计自己的课程,还为学校每年在教科书成本方面节省了十万多美元。这是一笔不小的开支,尤其是考虑到这些教科书每几个学期就要淘汰一次。正像 10 年级学生 Gia Angelo 所观察到的,“由于世界不断变化,教科书终将过时。” 有了 iTunes U,iPad 变成一种永不过时的学习资源。

这所学校的教师都明确感受到,iPad 有助于激发学生的求知欲。“当他们知道可以选择自己感兴趣的项目时,孩子们的脸上都露出了笑容,他们的学习也变得更加主动。由于学习热情高涨,” Corosanite 如此说道,“我们看到了在测试分数方面的大幅提高,比当地学校学生基准水平高 10% 以上。” 他补充说。

当学生掌握了这类丰富而完备的技能,他们将在以后的求学和工作中拥有突出的优势。我们相信,我们正在培养创新型社会的未来领袖。

首席创新官 Jason Corosanite

此外,Corosanite 还将学生能够获得出色的个人成长归功于 iPad。他说 “他们散发出的自信,以及用创新的方式解决问题的能力都非常引人注目。” 对此,Gia 表示赞同:“高中使用 iPad 的经历,让我成为更善于学习的人。它为你未来在社会上取得成功做好了准备。”

学生启动自我创造力

观看影片

更多教育应用案例

String Theory Schools

费城表演艺术学校的教师以新方式重新构思课程,让学生乐在其中。

乔治王子郡公立学校

四所第一条款中学通过 iPad 取得了卓越成效。

观看视频并阅读整个案例

特殊教育

iPad 为全球各地的特殊教育教师,开启了一个充满可能性的世界。

观看视频并阅读整个案例

南洋女子中学

凭借 Mac 探索学习新路径。

观看视频并阅读整个案例

Essa 学院

一所英国学校彻底改变其学习环境。

观看视频并阅读整个案例

伯灵顿高中

使用 iPad 在课堂上开创新的可能。

观看视频并阅读整个案例

人大附中西山学校

创新的中国教育方式。

观看视频并阅读整个案例

西北堪萨斯技术学院

使用 iPad 进行实践式学习。

观看视频并阅读整个案例

Flitch Green 学院

非传统的学习方式。

观看视频并阅读整个案例

Punahou 学校

使用 Mac 创造灵活的教学方式。

观看视频并阅读整个案例

密苏里新闻学院

用 Mac 造就精通媒体的记者。

观看视频并阅读整个案例

格林县学校

使用 Mac 提高学生的学习成绩。

观看视频并阅读整个案例

Philadelphia Performing Arts reimagines curriculum.

Teachers create custom learning materials to foster a new way of teaching and learning.

In chemistry class, students assemble paper cubes with the names of elements on each face. When they view the cubes through the iPad camera, the Elements 4D app on iPad transforms the cubes into interactive 3D models of each element. The app uses augmented reality to bring the flat periodic table dramatically to life. By placing cubes together, students create chemical reactions in real time, enabling both understanding and a sense of wonder. This unique lesson is part of a curriculum designed by its teacher to make science fun and engaging.

Eye-opening lessons like this are the norm at Philadelphia Performing Arts: A String Theory Charter School. As the city’s largest tuition-free K–12 charter school, it offers a STEAM curriculum — science, technology, engineering, arts, and math — that emphasizes academic and artistic excellence equally. And with Apple technology at the core of teaching and learning, teachers design their own curriculum, and students create multimedia projects that reflect their individual creativity and knowledge. It’s how Philadelphia Performing Arts is producing a generation of creative problem solvers.

Lesson plans as unique as each teacher.

In thinking about new ways to develop and deliver curriculum, Philadelphia Performing Arts decided to abandon traditional textbooks in upper-middle school and high school. Instead, teachers deliver coursework and learning materials directly to each student’s iPad through iTunes U. Teachers are free to develop their own customized curriculum the way they want to teach and the way students will learn best. On iPad and Mac, faculty use iBooks Author, Pages, Keynote, and other Apple content creation apps to build lesson plans and materials that follow Common Core standards and state guidelines.

iPad also offers teachers responsiveness and flexibility. When they’re inspired by current events or new ideas, they update their iTunes U courses or materials on the fly and alert students to changes via push notifications. Students learn from today’s news, teachers keep their lesson plans timely, and everybody is on the same page. “With iPad and iTunes U, we’re allowing the teachers to be creators and to constantly refine their art form, which is teaching and creating meaningful content for kids and projects,” explains Jason Corosanite, Chief Innovation Officer and Cofounder, String Theory Schools.

Our teachers build curriculum together in teams. What that does is it brings the collective genius to the table.

Christine DiPaulo, Director of Innovation and Instructional Technology

Teachers at the school learn from one another, developing coursework by teaming up to facilitate a lively exchange of ideas. They evaluate apps together and share best practices. “[Some teachers have] come from very siloed institutions and siloed classrooms [to] this high level of collaboration,” says Christine DiPaulo, Director of Innovation and Instructional Technology. “You can watch them think about things from points of view that they never thought about before. I’ve had [teachers] say they’ve never experienced professional development at this level.”

Learning that's geared to every student.

Having students at Philadelphia Performing Arts use iPad is "really about giving kids an opportunity to figure out what types of learners they are,” explains Corosanite. Teachers are able to provide multiple assignment options through iTunes U courses, letting students choose between shooting a video, writing a song, drawing a sketch, or creating a Keynote presentation. Students complete assignments using their preferred apps, movies, and books. In algebra class, they create a rap song in GarageBand, using their own words and rhymes to understand quadratic equations. In a French class, they develop dialogue and stories for an iMovie film to help them better understand French language and culture. By allowing students to express their newfound knowledge however they choose, iPad helps them become more self-reliant.

You’ll never remember a test you took, but you will remember something you created. And you will remember the moment when a teacher says to you, ‘Wow, that’s really awesome.’ And those are the things our students get to take away with them.

Christine DiPaulo, Director of Innovation and Instructional Technology

For students, the content creation apps on iPad provide the mobility they need for learning both inside and outside the classroom. For example, they bring iPad outside and use it to take pictures of memorials in downtown Philadelphia. For this joint English and social studies project, students use what they’ve learned to create their own memorials based around subjects they choose. They use a 3D modeling app on iPad to design new monuments, then sculpt them in the real world. This helps students understand what's involved in creating these works of art and the narrative each one tells. “The creative process [helps] make learning much more engaging,” says DiPaulo.

Results that empower students and inspire teachers.

Not only has iPad given Philadelphia Performing Arts the flexibility to create its own curriculum, it has allowed the school to save over $100,000 annually in textbook costs. It’s an impressive figure, especially considering that the books would have to be discarded after a few terms. As tenth-grade student Gia Angelo observes, “Textbooks get old eventually because things change.” With iTunes U, iPad becomes a learning resource that never goes out of date.

It’s clear to the school’s faculty that iPad has contributed to students’ eagerness to learn. “Kids just light up and their learning comes to life when they’re allowed to do a project that interests them. Their engagement is through the roof,” says Corosanite. “We’ve seen huge improvements in our test scores, double-digit gains on benchmarks from students who have come from [local] schools,” he adds.

To give those types of skill sets [to] student—it just really puts them at an amazing advantage coming into college and the workplace. We believe that we’re creating the next leaders of a creative society.

Jason Corosanite, Chief Innovation Officer

Corosanite credits iPad with enabling his students’ personal growth, too. “The confidence that they exude and their ability to creatively solve problems is just remarkable,” he says. Gia agrees: “Using the iPad in high school sets me up to be a better learner. It really does set you up for success in the world.”

Students tap into
their creativity.

Watch the film

More education profiles.

String Theory Schools

Teachers at Philadelphia Performing Arts reimagine curriculum to engage students in new ways.

Prince George’s County Public Schools

Four Title I middle schools see amazing results with iPad.

Watch the video and read the full story

Special Education

For special education teachers around the world, iPad opens up a world of possibilities.

Watch the video and read the full story

Nanyang Girls’ High School

Finding new ways to learn with Mac.

Watch the video and read the full story

Essa Academy

One UK school reinvents the learning environment.

Watch the video and read the full story

Burlington High School

Creating new possibilities in the classroom with iPad.

Watch the video and read the full story

RDFZ XISHAN School

Innovating China’s approach to education.

Watch the video and read the full story

Northwest Kansas Technical College

Hands-on learning with iPad.

Watch the video and read the full story

Flitch Green Academy

An unconventional approach to learning.

Watch the video and read the full story

Punahou School

Creating flexible learning with Mac.

Watch the video and read the full story

Missouri School of Journalism

Creating media-savvy journalists with Mac.

Watch the video and read the full story

Greene County Schools

Increasing student achievement with Mac.

Watch the video and read the full story