<广告>
“磁性时间线非常适合徐克,因为此功能可让他尝试进行重大修改,却不会意外将素材搞乱。” —— 剪辑师于柏杨

徐克:《狄仁杰前传》

在 30 年间参与拍摄了 30 多部影片,著名中国导演徐克在对过去不断的回顾中,获得艺术前行的动力。通过将西方的先进电影制作技术引入东方风格电影,如武侠 (剑术和功夫)、警匪片和爱情片,徐克协助开创了香港电影的黄金时代。

在 2010 年,徐克运用此模式拍摄了《狄仁杰之通天帝国》(2010),演绎唐朝 “夏洛克·福尔摩斯” 的同时融入强烈的武侠、悬念和喜剧元素,获得了商业和评论界的双重肯定。该片曾在威尼斯电影节上角逐金狮奖,还获得多项国际大奖,包括《时代周刊》年度十佳电影第三名。受到这部成功影片的激励,徐导最近再次以退为进,拍摄了《狄仁杰前传》,这部备受期待的前传运用顶尖的 3D 摄像机拍摄,利用 Final Cut Pro X 剪辑而成。

重塑狄仁杰

在指导最初的狄仁杰影片 (通天帝国) 之前,徐克花费 10 余年时间研究狄仁杰的背景,这位历史人物正是神探狄仁杰角色的原型。为创作第一部电影所积累的丰富细节,最终激发了第二部影片的创作灵感。“在拜读狄仁杰的故事时,我们意识到他并不是位出色的侦探,而是一位法官,” 徐克说,“在制作第一部狄仁杰影片时,我们对狄仁杰在到达洛阳后成长为法官的过程进行了大量讨论。这就是新电影情节成形的过程。”

徐克强调,在将历史故事搬上荧幕的过程中,想象力总是胜过调查研究。“这类题材写起来不容易,” 他表示,“它涉及到历史人物,但我们的故事并非构建在历史事实之上。是我们对历史的解读,令观众更易于欣赏和享受其中的细节和
事件。”

近距离指导

徐克将这种解读在制作中提升到更高境界,并以紧凑、流畅的摄像和剪辑进行呈现,将观众拉入无法抗拒的精彩剧情。徐克的近距离创意指导,体现在他所有电影的每一帧画面之中。

徐克的剪辑师和剪辑软硬件长期顾问于柏杨表示,导演确实亲自参与了这部前传的剪辑。“徐克喜欢一边现场拍摄,一边剪辑他的作品,因此他已能得心应手地使用这些工具,” 于柏杨说,“我们运用 Final Cut Pro 7 剪辑了数部影片,工作流程十分顺畅。徐克希望在拍摄的同时,看到素材组合在一起,通常这包含大量的临时视效合成、颜色分级和重定时。这意味着要花许多时间来渲染素材,但徐克不喜欢等待。”

工作流程转换

消除渲染延误的想法,吸引了电影制作者来使用 Final Cut Pro X。作为长期使用 Final Cut Pro 的剪辑师,于柏杨还是一位 Apple 认证培训师 (ACT)。“我是在 Final Cut Pro X 领域获得认证的中国首位 Apple 认证培训师。” 他说,“然后我用它剪辑了一些小型项目,并很快对这款应用软件的强大和灵活深信不疑。”

由于剧组当时在使用 SGO Mistika 应用软件制作视觉特效与合成,因此需要剪辑点决定表来对应来自 Final Cut Pro 的剪辑片段。“那时,创建 Final Cut Pro X EDL 的应用软件 EDL-X 还没有出现,” 于柏杨说,“因此,我们创建了自己的 PHP 脚本,以便将 Final Cut Pro XML 转换为 EDL。”

在新电影的制作过程中,于柏杨将 Final Cut Pro X 作为测试平台介绍给徐克。“我告诉徐克,Final Cut Pro X 能为我们提供更好的工作流程,因此他同意试一试,” 于柏杨说,“我们借助 Intelligent Assistance 的 7toX 将现有的剪辑片段转换到 Final Cut Pro X 中,然后在片场使用。一周后,我问徐克是否喜欢新版软件,是否愿意继续用它来剪辑项目。他表示同意,就在那时我们将整部影片迁移到 Final Cut Pro X 中。”

“谈到软件,我认为越简单易用越好,” 徐克说,“如果软件需要花许多时间去学习,就很难被应用到我的电影制作中。”

现场剪辑

由于前传的每个片段均使用 RED EPIC 摄像机以 5K 3D 格式拍摄,因此左眼摄像 (3D 视频通常采用两台同步的摄像机拍摄,分别代表左眼和右眼) 被转换为 1080p ProRes 并导入 Final Cut Pro X 的事件中。

在拍摄期间,徐克利用片场的任何停工时间,直接在配备 Retina 显示屏的 MacBook Pro 上以 Final Cut Pro X 进行剪辑。“除了与剪辑师、导演助理和制片人商量,我还将电影的不同版本发给许多人以获得反馈,” 徐克说,“尽管我非常了解自己拍摄的影片,但其他人的反馈仍然是很好的参考。”

在制作剪辑片段时,徐克和于柏杨充分利用了 Final Cut Pro X 的新功能。“磁性时间线非常适合徐克,因为此功能可让他尝试进行重大修改,却不会意外将素材搞乱,” 于柏杨表示,“这让我的日子好过多了。而且还能更轻松地在时间线中修剪或替换数百个音效和音乐片段。”

新软件可协助于柏杨管理复杂电影项目的大量素材。“关键字和喜好范围使 Final Cut Pro X 中的归整更高效、更灵活。而浏览条是帮我快速浏览众多脚本素材的绝佳选择。我总能轻易找到任何需要的剪辑片段。”

快速导出

随着剪辑的进行,完成的项目时间线以 EDL 格式导出,并发送到 SGO Mistika 进行合成、视效制作、色彩分级和 3D 对应。音频以临时音轨 QuickTime 文件形式通过 FTP 直接发送给音效设计团队和身在日本的作曲家 Kenji Kawai。

“每当我们完成一个版本,便需要将带有不同水印的影片完整导出,交给不同的 VFX 供应商、音乐制作人、音效剪辑师、我们的营销团队和发行商。这意味着 8 至 10 份不同的电影拷贝。过去使用 Final Cut Pro 7 花费的时间很长,我们要在剪辑室度过几个不眠之夜等待作品输出。有了 Final Cut Pro X,所用的时间只是过去的 1/4。”

直到最后一刻

于柏杨预计徐克会将前传的剪辑一直进行到 2013 年秋季公映。“在制作《龙门飞甲》时,我们经历了 15 个版本,最终不得不停止,因为发行商提醒我们电影即将发布,” 于柏杨说,“前传的制作也将如出一辙。我们的剪辑不到最后一刻,不会完成。我们不断进行着各种修改。”

于柏杨说,在前传发布之后,他和徐克将使用 Final Cut Pro X 制作下一部电影。“毫无疑问,Final Cut Pro X 将是我的首选,”他说,“转用 Final Cut Pro X 意味着改变我们的工作流程和重新培训人员,但这样做真的值得。我希望我们的经验将说服更多剪辑师来尝试 Final Cut Pro X,它是一款很棒的工具。”

“The Magnetic Timeline is great for Tsui because it lets him experiment with big changes without worrying about accidentally throwing things out of sync.” — Baiyang Yu, editor

Tsui Hark - Young Detective Dee: Rise of the Sea Dragon

In more than 30 films over three decades, renowned Chinese director Tsui Hark has regularly looked to the past to move his art forward. By bringing the advanced filmmaking techniques of the West to Eastern genres like wuxia (sword fighting and kung fu), gangster dramas, and romance, Hark helped create the Golden Age of Hong Kong cinema.

In 2010, Hark used the formula to score a commercial and critical hit with Detective Dee and the Mystery of the Phantom Flame (2010), a potent blend of wuxia, mystery, and comedy about a Tang Dynasty Sherlock Holmes. The film competed for the Golden Lion award at the Venice Film Festival and received numerous international awards, including the #3 spot in Time magazine’s list of top films of the year. Encouraged by the film’s success, the director recently took another step back to the future with Young Detective Dee: Rise of the Sea Dragon, a highly anticipated prequel shot with state-of-the-art 3D cameras and edited in Final Cut Pro X.

Redialing Dee

Before directing the original Detective Dee movie, Phantom Flame, Hark spent more than a decade researching the background of Di Renjie, the historical figure on whom the Detective Dee character is based. The rich detail gathered in creating the first film ultimately sparked the idea for the second. “When we read stories about Di Renjie, we realized he wasn’t an amazing detective, but a judge,” says Hark. “While making the first Di Renjie film, we talked a lot about how Di Renjie would have developed as a judge when he arrived in Luoyang. That’s how the story for the new film took shape.”

Hark emphasizes that in bringing historical stories to the screen, imagination always trumps research. “This kind of subject is not easy to write,” he says. “It involves historical figures, but we’re not basing our story on historical facts. It’s our interpretation of history that makes it easier for an audience to appreciate and enjoy the details and events.”

Close Direction

Hark takes that interpretation to another level in production and post with fast, fluid camera work and editing designed to pull audiences irresistibly through the story. Each frame from any Tsui Hark film reveals his close creative direction.

Hark’s editor and longtime consultant on editing software and hardware Baiyang Yu confirms the director’s hands-on participation in editing the prequel. “Tsui likes to cut his own projects while shooting on the set, so he was already very proficient with the tools,” says Yu. “We had a very good workflow going for several pictures using Final Cut Pro 7. Tsui likes to see things assembled while we shoot, and typically that involves a lot of temporary visual effects compositing, color grading, and retiming. But that meant a lot of time waiting for things to render, and Tsui doesn’t like to wait.”

Workflow Switch

The idea of eliminating render delays drew the filmmakers to Final Cut Pro X. A longtime Final Cut Pro editor, Yu is also an Apple Certified Trainer (ACT). “I became the first ACT in China to certify in Final Cut Pro X,” he says. “Then I used it to edit some small projects and quickly became convinced of the application’s power and flexibility.”

Because the crew was using the application SGO Mistika for visual effects and compositing, it required an edit decision list (EDL) to conform edits coming from Final Cut Pro. “At the time, EDL-X, an application that creates Final Cut Pro X EDLs, wasn’t available,” says Yu. “So we created our own PHP script to convert Final Cut Pro XML to EDL.”

Yu presented Final Cut Pro X to Hark as a test platform during the production of the new film. “I told Tsui that Final Cut Pro X could give us a better workflow, so he agreed to try it out,” says Yu. “We converted the current edit to Final Cut Pro X using Intelligent Assistance’s 7toX and then used it on set. After a week, I asked Tsui if he liked the new version and wanted to continue the project with it. He said yes, and at that point we completely migrated the movie to Final Cut Pro X.”

“I think when it comes to software, the easier it is to use, the better,” says Hark. “If software requires a lot of time to learn, that makes it very difficult to use on my films.”

Editing on Set

Because the prequel was shot in 5K 3D using RED EPIC cameras, for each take, the left eye camera (3D video is typically shot with two synced cameras representing the right and left eyes) was converted to 1080p ProRes and imported into an Event in Final Cut Pro X. 

While shooting, Hark took advantage of any downtime on set to edit directly in Final Cut Pro X on a MacBook Pro with Retina display. “In addition to consulting with the editor, director assistant, and producer, I sent different versions of the film to many people to get their feedback,” says Hark. “Although I know the film I shot very well, the feedback from other people is a good reference for me.”

In making their edits, Hark and Yu took full advantage of the new features of Final Cut Pro X. “The Magnetic Timeline is great for Tsui because it lets him experiment with big changes without accidentally throwing things out of sync,” says Yu. “That makes my life much easier. It also made it easier to trim or replace hundreds of sound effects and music clips in the timeline.”

The new software helped Yu manage the considerable assets of the complex film. “Keywords and favorite ranges made organization much more efficient and flexible in Final Cut Pro X. And the Skimmer was great for helping me go through lots of footage quickly. It was always easy to find any clip I needed.”

Fast Export

As the editing progressed, completed project timelines were exported as EDLs and sent to SGO Mistika for compositing, visual effects, color grading, and 3D conforming. Audio was sent out as scratch track QuickTime files via FTP directly to the sound design team and composer Kenji Kawai in Japan. 

“Whenever we finished a version, we needed to export the whole movie with different watermarks to different VFX vendors, the music composer, the sound editor, our marketing team, and the distributors. That meant 8 to 10 different copies of the film. It used to take so much time in Final Cut Pro 7, and we had several sleepless nights in the editing room waiting for the output. With Final Cut Pro X, it takes a quarter of the time.”

Down to the Wire

Yu expects Hark will edit the prequel right up to its expected opening in fall 2013. “On Flying Swords of Dragon Gate we went through 15 versions and ultimately had to stop when the distributor reminded us the film was about to be released,” says Yu. “It’s going to be the same for the prequel. Our editing will not be complete until the last possible moment. We’re changing everything all the time.”

Yu says he and Hark will use Final Cut Pro X for their next movie after the prequel is released. “Definitely, Final Cut Pro X will be my first choice,” he says. “Switching to Final Cut Pro X meant changing our workflow and retraining people, but it was really worth the effort. I hope our experience will help persuade more editors to try Final Cut Pro X — it’s a great tool.”