Focus
电影后期制作的新一章

导演 John Requa 和 Glenn Ficarra 在拍摄现场与 Will Smith 进行讨论。
“我对 Final Cut Pro X 爱不释手因为它可以让我参与并控制电影制作的方方面面John Requa导演

导演 John Requa 和 Glenn Ficarra 相信,要围绕一个诈骗犯拍摄扣人心弦的故事,他们至少得像这个诈骗犯一样编造有说服力的谎言。"任何电影都由一系列谎言组成。" Requa 表示,"但是你必须确保让这些谎言都行得通,而不至于让观众反感。" 对于他们最近拍摄的电影《Focus》来说,就得剪辑出既错综复杂,又环环相扣的场景,让主人公诈骗犯 Nicky Spurgeon (Will Smith 饰) 布下的骗局看起来真实自然。

要让扑朔迷离而又遍布误导的剧情顺畅延续,你需要一套与之完全相反的剪辑工具:它清晰、直观、易用,能让两位导演能和首席剪辑师 Jan Kovac 一同剪辑素材画面。这种剪辑工具必须足够快速,让他们可以从大量备用素材中选择不同的片段进行尝试。它必须足够灵活,让他们既可以在剪辑室的 Mac Pro 上操作,又能自由切换到现场的 MacBook Pro 上处理;它还必须足够强大,可以在后期制作的多个阶段中,稳定可靠地整理并处理 2K Apple ProRes 4444 素材。

在深入了解多个工作流程之后,Requa 和 Ficarra 决定使用 Final Cut Pro X 来完成这部大制作电影的所有剪辑工作,这个决定带来了令人喜出望外的结果。电影如期完成,合乎预算,其中的情节和效果正如他们预想的那样。"这部电影完全实现了我们预期的目标。" Requa 表示,"我对 Final Cut Pro X 爱不释手,因为它可以让我参与并控制电影制作的方方面面。"

Outpost 技术人员 Ethan Schwartz 和 Dylan Damian 为生成 Apple ProRes 4444 样片的现场剧组提供支援。图片来源:Alex Tehrani

拍摄好了
素材就整理好了

在导演或剪辑师看到电影画面之前,Final Cut Pro X 早就高效归整好了长达数小时的素材,让他们省下很多时间。剧组配备的 Mac Pro 装载有现场移动后期制作系统,该系统由洛杉矶顶尖后期制作公司 Light Iron 提供,让他们可以用从摄像机导入的元数据和导演的注释来制作当天的样片。Final Cut Pro X 让所有这些元数据都可被搜索,同时又可轻松处理全分辨率 ProRes 4444 文件。如果采用先前的非线性剪辑工具,这些任务根本无法完成。

有了 Light Iron 的 Live Play app,制作团队可以在现场的任何位置,用 iPad 来查看当天的拍摄片段 (H.264 版本)。在开拍数小时后,剪辑工作就可以就开始了。元数据标记可以让剪辑团队快速查找和使用最佳镜头。"在进行电影剪辑时,保持清晰的思维绝非易事。" Requa 表示,"你会感觉身心交瘁,对素材感到厌烦,这个时候,你需要一个全新的视角。很多时候,元数据可以让我们了解当时拍摄这些片段的想法和意图。"

Ficarra 相信,元数据的优势让他们能够以前所未有的方式掌控故事走向。"我可以这样说:'这个镜头我想要 Will 的侧面。'" 他说,"甚至连他的即兴表演也专门做了标记,我们可以从中筛选并将精彩之处呈现出来。最终,一切都能轻松搜寻,这让我们既可以快速转变方向,也可以用多种方式讲述故事。在剪辑时,有时我们会感觉像是在改编这部电影。"

“在剪辑时有时我们会感觉像是在改编这部电影 Glenn Ficarra导演
Jan Kovac,《Focus》首席剪辑师。图片来源:Alex Tehrani

现场剪辑

有了带标记的样片,首席剪辑师 Jan Kovac 可使用 MacBook Pro,在新奥尔良、布宜诺斯艾利斯、纽约市的外景拍摄现场完成剪辑工作。ProRes 素材包括高品质声音,使用 Sync-N-Link X 与第二来源的音频批量同步。由于每个镜头都按照场景和台词整理妥当,他只需点击一下,就可以找到任何自己想要的镜头。这样,节省下来的时间可以用来打造更具创意的剪辑,以及尝试不同特效。

"我会先创建智能精选,它会自动收集一切信息,包括来自脚本负责人的场景信息,对话标签等等。" Kovac 表示,"这给了我很大帮助,因为我需要的一切资源都触手可及。我可以尝试更多镜头,还能捕捉到用其他方式无法找到的精彩片段。"

剪辑背后的数字

首席剪辑师 Jan Kovac 在新奥尔良的拖车上、布宜诺斯艾利斯的酒店房间里,以及位于洛杉矶的 Warner Bros. 后期工作室中,完成《Focus》的剪辑。

61 天拍摄
145 小时素材
1 位剪辑师,
3 名助理
11 个月剪辑
117 个剪辑场景,
使用全分辨率进行

灵活剪辑随心挪移

Final Cut Pro X 拥有高度灵活性,可让 Kovac 在进行初期剪辑时轻松与导演开展协作。在布宜诺斯艾利斯,他们经常在 Kovac 的酒店房间,通过一台 MacBook Pro 工作。"我们想亲自动手。" Ficarra 说,"我们希望按照 Jan 的指示,稍稍调整场景,并尝试我们自己的创意。要做到这一点,Final Cut Pro X 无疑是最适合的剪辑工具。"

通过 Final Cut Pro X 的磁性时间线,他们可以轻松替换故事的整个部分,而不用担心意外将素材搞乱。"在剪辑过程中,你能够抽掉一组镜头,而一切依然接合到位,这实在太棒了。" Ficarra 表示,"其他所有的剪辑系统我也都用过,但毫不夸张地说,Final Cut Pro X 让我的剪辑速度快了三倍。"

Requa 大力赞赏了这种协作,因为这有助于让他们精心雕琢想要讲述的故事。"Final Cut Pro X 非常便于使用,当我们在为如何表现某个场景而困惑时,Glenn 可以直接剪辑一个版本给 Jan 看,无需再用语言去说明。如果我们是用别的系统来剪辑,就不可能这么操作。我们只能困坐在沙发上,指指点点却又一筹莫展。"

让性能来说话

拍摄工作完成后,团队移师洛杉矶,在一家由后期装备公司 Digital Vortechs 打造的专用剪辑工作室里,他们使用 Mac Pro 来加速完成剪辑工作。Final Cut Pro X 和 Mac Pro 的双 GPU 密切配合,让剪辑师 Jan Kovac 和两位导演继续以 2K 格式进行剪辑,无需等待渲染,也无需将素材转换为低分辨率版本。

"Final Cut Pro X 让《Focus》剪辑团队拥有了一个独立自主的线上及线下剪辑平台。" Light Iron 首席执行官 Michael Cioni 表示,"它善用元数据和高分辨率媒体,也能充分发挥优化硬件的成效。当你在 Mac Pro 上运行 Final Cut Pro X 时,你会体验到真正卓越的性能,而这正是剪辑工作室梦寐以求的创作优势。"

“其他所有的剪辑系统我也都用过但毫不夸张地说Final Cut Pro X 让我的剪辑速度快了三倍 Glenn Ficarra

高清预览全程看得清

Final Cut Pro X 能让导演和剪辑师在整个剪辑流程中以初始分辨率进行剪辑,这样,他们可以在拍摄和后期制作期间随时查看高画质素材。和过去的制作相比,他们现在能更清楚地预判对话、节奏和特效在成片中的呈现效果。

由于能够直接从 Final Cut Pro X 中快速、简便地以全分辨率预览剪辑画面,这部电影中最棘手的叙事结构问题便迎刃而解。"从电影的上半段到下半段故事,中间历经了三年。" Requa 表示,"我们不确定如何向观众展示这种过渡,于是,我们在不同时间、三个不同地点,拍摄了三种不同的呈现方式。

我们没有只尝试自己认为最可行的那种方式,而是用 Compound Clips 剪辑了三个不同版本,并在 Warner Bros 附近的电影院同时试映。然后,我们从中找到了答案。我不知道,除了 Final Cut Pro X,我们还能否使用其他系统做到这一点,因为时间非常紧迫。但有了 Final Cut Pro X,我们不必再统一素材格式,只要导出就可以了。"

"我举办过不少初剪试映会。" Cioni 表示,"电影制作人最先强调的一点就是:先别评判画面,因为目前是低分辨率版本。 但对于《Focus》的试映而言,我们看到的是和原始素材一致的高品质画面。"

《Focus》制作过程中,制作团队使用了大量 Final Cut Pro X 内置的特效工具。图片来源:Alex Tehrani

一步到位
特效直上银幕

团队还使用 Final Cut Pro X 内置工具,为电影一半以上的数码特效创建了合成。Motion 5 用来制作临时标题,并可标记需要循环使用的特效。在完成最终特效并添加至剪辑文件之前,Final Cut Pro X 内置的实时 Keyer 可用于快速并准确地预览绿屏画面。

剪辑师使用 Final Cut Pro X 中的标准文字工具创作了动态开场字幕,两位导演对字幕感到非常满意,并决定在最终上映的电影中使用,对大制作的电影而言,这实属罕见。

对于音频编辑,多通道文件最初在 Final Cut Pro X 中剪辑,然后通过 X2Pro 直接导出至 Pro Tools,并使用 Role 自动分配音轨名称。"Final Cut Pro X 与内部系统的配合十分默契。" Requa 表示,"将特效、颜色、音效及其他元素集合于内部,我认为这将是趋势所在。"

完成从 Final Cut Pro X 到 Quantel Pablo Rio 的无缝媒体传输之后,Ian Vertovec 进行了最终颜色校正。图片来源:Alex Tehrani

现成的后期制作工具
人人可用

《Focus》后期制作流程最特别的地方,或许就在于从 Final Cut Pro X 到便宜的第三方插件, 包括 Mac 台式电脑和笔记本电脑,这一切工具任何人都可以买到。剪辑和后期工具都是现成的 app,而不是定制或专为电影制作而打造的。"我希望年轻人能够了解,即便我们的电影是片场大制作,我们所使用的依然是 Final Cut Pro X,是任何人都能从 App Store 下载的 app。" Ficarra 表示。

"再也没有神秘的行业工具或工作流程。" FCPWORKS 联合创始人兼《Focus》主要工作流程架构师之一 Sam Mestman 表示,"我们的原则是所有最终成品都可以在你的客厅创作,只需几个第三方 app,你就可以轻松通过 Final Cut Pro X 剪辑素材文件,生成 4K 输出。这些电影大师做的工作,你也可以做到。"

《Focus》导演 Glenn Ficarra 和 John Requa。图片来源:Alex Tehrani
“我认为我们完全证明了,使用 Final Cut Pro X 就能剪辑
一部好莱坞大片。”John Requa

杀青一部再来一部

Requa 和 Ficarra 预测,这种易用的工具将塑造电影业的未来,同时也强调,这种制作模式是其他非线性剪辑工具所无法做到的。"我一直梦想着在内部完成所有工作。" Ficarra 表示,"这在片场系统内可能难以实现,但对于独立制作而言,有了 Final Cut Pro X,现在没有任何理由做不到这一点。"

Requa 表示,电影制作人正计划使用 Final Cut Pro X,在新墨西哥州的外景地剪辑他们的下一部影片。"我认为我们完全证明了,使用 Final Cut Pro X 就能剪辑一部好莱坞大片。"

工作流程

这些电影制作人设计了独一无二的工作流程,使用现成的硬件和软件制作《Focus》
这包括 Final Cut Pro X 以及已公开提供的第三方插件。

制作

(新奥尔良、布宜诺斯艾利斯、纽约市)

这部电影采用变形镜头拍摄,以实现正确的宽屏宽高比;使用 ARRI ALEXA 数码摄像机,以 2K 分辨率在多个地点进行拍摄。

使用 Outpost 移动后期制作系统和 Colorfront Express Dailies 系统,在现场制作当天的全分辨率 ProRes 样片。

Sync-N-Link X 用来批量同步第二来源的音频和
ProRes 素材。

现场导入元数据,并可在 Final Cut Pro X 中搜索。

完成拍摄仅仅数小时后,即可使用 Final Cut Pro X 中的 Outpost 媒体流,以 2048x1152 ProRes 4444 格式完成所有剪辑。

后期制作

(洛杉矶)

Final Cut Pro X 内置的 Motion 5 标题用作最终开场字幕和特效预留区域。

在完成最终特效并添加至剪辑文件之前,Final Cut Pro X 内置的实时 Keyer 可用于快速、准确地在时间线中预览绿屏画面。

Marquis Broadcast 的 X2Pro Audio Convert 可通过 AFF,将 Final Cut Pro X 项目发送至 Pro Tools;Role 用来自动将音频分配至 Pro Tools 中的音轨。

在 MacBook Pro 上运行的 Final Cut Pro X,支持在片场试映时立刻进行剪辑修改。

Intelligent Assistance 的 Change List X 用来跟踪音效部门和视觉特效团队做出的来回更改。

修饰完成

最终的颜色分级调色和后期修饰使用 Quantel Pablo Rio 系统完成。

Focus
A New Take on Feature Post

Directors John Requa and Glenn Ficarra confer with Will Smith on the set.
“What I love about Final Cut Pro X is that it allowed me to be involved with, and in control of, every aspect of making our film.” - John Requa, Director

Directors John Requa and Glenn Ficarra believed that to make a compelling film about a con man, they’d need to lie at least as persuasively as he did. “Any movie is a series of lies,” says Requa. “But you have to make sure the lies work so you don’t alienate the audience.” For their new feature film, Focus, that meant creating intricate, tightly edited scenes that convincingly sell the schemes of grifter protagonist Nicky Spurgeon (Will Smith).

Sustaining complex misdirection required an editing tool that was just the opposite — clear, straightforward, and accessible enough that the directors could edit footage along with lead editor Jan Kovac. It needed to be fast so they could experiment with scores of alternate takes. It had to be flexible so they could easily move between cutting on Mac Pro in the edit suite and working with MacBook Pro on location. And it had to be robust enough to reliably organize and process 2K Apple ProRes 4444 footage from production through multiple stages of post.

After researching several workflows, Requa and Ficarra decided to cut their major studio feature entirely in Final Cut Pro X. The results were even better than they’d expected. The movie came in on time and under budget, and it played and looked just as they’d envisioned it. “We got exactly the film we set out to make,” says Requa. “What I love about Final Cut Pro X is that it allowed me to be involved with, and in control of, every aspect of making our film.”

Outpost techs Ethan Schwartz and Dylan Damian supported an on-set crew who generated Apple ProRes 4444 dailies. Photo credit: Alex Tehrani

Organized Right Out of the Camera

Before the directors or editors even saw a frame, Final Cut Pro X was saving them time by efficiently organizing hours of footage. The crew used Mac Pro–equipped on-set mobile post systems from Light Iron — a cutting-edge Los Angeles–based post-production company — to generate dailies with metadata imported from the camera and the directors’ notes. Final Cut Pro X made all of this metadata searchable, while handling the full-resolution ProRes 4444 files with ease. Neither task had been possible with previous nonlinear editors.

Using Light Iron’s Live Play app, the production team could view same-day H.264 versions of the dailies on iPad from anywhere on set. And editing began just hours after the camera rolled. Metadata markers allowed the edit crew to quickly find and use the best shots. “When you’re cutting a movie, it’s a struggle for clarity,” says Requa. “You get fatigued and you get really tired of your footage, and you need access to a new point of view. A lot of times, the metadata provided an insight into what we were thinking when we shot it.”

Ficarra believes that the metadata advantage gave them unprecedented control over their story line. “I was able to say, ‘I need Will’s side in this take,’” he says. “And because even his improvisations were specially tagged, we were able to filter and come out with it. The upshot was just infinite searchability. We could change direction so fast and do multiple iterations. Sometimes while we were editing we felt as if we were actually rewriting the movie.”

“Sometimes while we were editing we felt as if we were actually rewriting the movie.” - Glenn Ficarra, Director
Jan Kovac, lead editor, Focus. Photo credit: Alex Tehrani

Editing on Set

Working with tagged dailies, lead editor Jan Kovac was able to edit on location in New Orleans, Buenos Aires, and New York City on a MacBook Pro. The ProRes footage included high-quality sound that had been batch-synced from second-source audio using Sync-N-Link X. And because each take was organized by scene and line, he could find any take with a single click. The freed-up hours were spent making more creative editing and effects choices.

“I created Smart Collections beforehand that were automatically collecting everything from scene information from our script supervisor to dialogue tags,” says Kovac. “They were a great help because everything was at my fingers instantly. I was able to try out more shots. And I got moments that I wouldn’t have found otherwise.”

Editing by the Numbers

Lead editor Jan Kovac edited Focus in a trailer in New Orleans, a hotel room in Buenos Aires, and a post-production studio on the Warner Bros. lot in Los Angeles.

61 days of shooting
145 hours of footage
1 editor,
3 assistants
11 months of editing
117 scenes edited, at full resolution

Swapping Edits

The flexibility of Final Cut Pro X made it easy for Kovac to collaborate with the directors as he built his early edits. In Buenos Aires, they frequently worked on a MacBook Pro in Kovac’s hotel room. “We wanted to be hands-on,” says Ficarra. “We wanted to follow Jan and tweak scenes and try stuff ourselves. To do that, there’s no editing tool better than Final Cut Pro X.”

Using the Magnetic Timeline in Final Cut Pro X, they were able to easily swap whole parts of the story without worrying about knocking things out of sync. “To be able to yank out a sequence and have it just snap into place in the moment as you’re cutting, that’s huge,” says Ficarra. “I’ve cut on all the other systems, and I can easily say I’m three times faster on Final Cut Pro X.”

Requa credits these collaborations with helping them hone the story they wanted to tell. “Because Final Cut Pro X is so easy to use, when we got frustrated trying to figure out a scene, Glenn could just cut a version and show it to Jan. We didn’t have to try to verbalize it. If we were cutting on another system, we couldn’t have been this hands-on. We’d have been relegated to the couch, pointing, being frustrated.”

All About the Performance

When shooting wrapped, the team moved to a dedicated edit suite in Los Angeles that was outfitted by facilities company Digital Vortechs, where they used a Mac Pro to edit even faster. Working with Final Cut Pro X and the dual GPUs in the Mac Pro, editor Jan Kovac and the directors continued cutting in 2K without waiting for renders and without having to transcode footage to a lower resolution.

“Final Cut Pro X allowed the Focus editorial team to be their own online and offline facility,” says Light Iron CEO Michael Cioni. “It’s drawing on metadata. It’s drawing on high-res media. And it’s drawing on optimized hardware. When you run it on the Mac Pro, you get really great performance. This is the creative edge that edit rooms really desperately want.”

“I’ve cut on all the other systems, and I can easily say I’m three times faster on Final Cut Pro X.” - Glenn Ficarra

Seeing Their Way Through

Because Final Cut Pro X gave the directors and editors the ability to edit at native resolution all the way through their workflow, they could view high-quality footage throughout production and during post. So they were far more aware than on previous projects of how dialogue, pacing, and effects would play in the finished film.

And the ability to quickly and easily do preview screenings of edits in full resolution directly from Final Cut Pro X helped them resolve one of the trickiest structural issues in their film. “There’s a three-year transition from the first half of the movie to the second,” says Requa. “We weren’t sure how to bring the audience across. So we shot that transition three ways in three separate locations on different days.

“Instead of trying the one we thought would work, we edited three different versions using Compound Clips and previewed them simultaneously in adjacent theaters at Warner Bros. And that showed us exactly which way to go. I don’t know if we could’ve done that using any other system than Final Cut Pro X because there wouldn’t have been time. But with Final Cut Pro X we didn’t have to conform the material. All we had to do was export.”

“I’ve been doing a lot of rough-cut screenings,” says Cioni. “The first thing filmmakers say is, ‘Don’t judge the picture because it’s low-res.’ But at the Focus screenings, we were looking at the highest-quality output we could possibly have, the same quality as the original footage.”

The Focus team used many of the built-in effects tools in Final Cut Pro X in making the movie. Photo credit: Alex Tehrani

Screen-Ready Effects

The crew also used built-in tools in Final Cut Pro X to create comps for about half of the movie’s digital effects. Motion 5 was used to make temporary titles and to mark effects for round-tripping. And the built-in real-time Keyer in Final Cut Pro X was used to quickly and accurately preview green-screen shots before final effects were delivered and added to the edit.

The directors were happy enough with the animated opening credits — created by editors using the standard text tool in Final Cut Pro X — that they decided to use them in the final movie, which is extremely rare for a high-production feature film.

For audio editing, multichannel files were initially edited in Final Cut Pro X then exported directly to Pro Tools with X2Pro, using Roles to automatically assign the track names. “Final Cut Pro X fits really well into the in-house system,” says Requa. “The idea of bringing effects, color, sound, everything in-house — I feel as if that’s where it’s all going.”

Ian Vertovec performed the final color correction after a seamless media transfer from Final Cut Pro X to Quantel Pablo Rio. Photo credit: Alex Tehrani

Off-the-Shelf Post

Perhaps the most remarkable aspect of the Focus post-production workflow was that everything from Final Cut Pro X to inexpensive third-party plug-ins to the Mac desktop and notebook computers could be purchased by anyone. The editing and post tools were off-the-shelf apps, and nothing was custom-built or specialized for the production. “I hope younger people who are coming up understand that even though we had this bigger sort of studio process around it, we were using the same Final Cut Pro X that anyone can download from the App Store,” says Ficarra.

“There’s no mysterious industry tool or process anymore,” says Sam Mestman, cofounder of FCPWORKS and one of the chief workflow architects for Focus. “The bottom line is that all of these deliverables can be created from your living room. With just a few third-party apps, you can easily take your media through Final Cut Pro X to 4K output. So anything the big guys are doing, you can do too.”

Focus directors Glenn Ficarra and John Requa. Photo credit: Alex Tehrani
“I think we’ve absolutely proven that you can cut a major Hollywood feature film with Final Cut Pro X.” - John Requa

Wrap and Repeat

Requa and Ficarra predict that these kinds of accessible tools will shape the future of moviemaking, noting that this arrangement is not possible with other nonlinear editors. “I have a dream of doing everything in-house,” says Ficarra. “It’s hard in a studio system, but there is absolutely zero reason in an independent situation why you can’t do that with Final Cut Pro X right now.”

Requa says the filmmakers are preparing to cut their next feature project with Final Cut Pro X on location in New Mexico. “I think we’ve absolutely proven that you can cut a major Hollywood feature film with Final Cut Pro X.”

Workflow

The unique workflow designed by the filmmakers to produce Focus used off-the-shelf hardware and software, including Final Cut Pro X and publicly available third-party plug-ins.

Production

(New Orleans, Buenos Aires, New York City)

The movie was shot anamorphic for the correct widescreen aspect ratio on location at multiple sites using an ARRI ALEXA digital camera at 2K resolution.

Full-resolution ProRes dailies were produced on set using an Outpost mobile post system and the Colorfront Express Dailies system.

Sync-N-Link X was used to batch sync second-source audio with the ProRes footage.

Metadata was imported from the set and made searchable in Final Cut Pro X.

All editing was done in 2048x1152 ProRes 4444 using the Outpost media in Final Cut Pro X, just hours after shooting.

Post-production

(Los Angeles)

Motion 5 titles built into Final Cut Pro X were used for final opening credits and as placeholders for effects.

The built-in real-time Keyer in Final Cut Pro X was used to quickly and accurately preview green-screen gallery in the timeline before final effects were delivered and added to the edit.

X2Pro Audio Convert from Marquis Broadcast was used to send the Final Cut Pro X project to Pro Tools via AAF; Roles were used to automatically allocate audio to tracks in Pro Tools.

Final Cut Pro X on a MacBook Pro enabled quick editing changes on the fly during screenings on the soundstage.

Change List X from Intelligent Assistance was used to track changes to and from the sound department and the visual-effects teams.

Finish

Final color grading and finishing was done on the Quantel Pablo Rio system.