<广告>
“Being able to edit in the field with Final Cut Pro X on a MacBook Pro with Retina display was essential to turning around my raw footage quickly.” — Patrick Dell, videographer/editor

The Globe and Mail - Making Video News

前不久,法庭针对饱受争议的多伦多市长 Rob Ford 做出免职宣判时,加拿大发行量最大的全国性报纸《环球邮报》,凭借 169 年的新闻媒体的敏锐嗅觉,迅速反应,做出报道。记者、摄像师和其他工作人员通力合作,做出了一系列报道,使其率先刊登在其新闻网站,然后是报纸。每则报道都带有该报纸惯有的浓厚的深度报道和分析色彩。

为了突显运用新技术的实力,《环球邮报》指派了摄像师/剪辑师 Patrick Dell 到市政大厅,使用手持佳能摄像机拍摄这一历史性判决的视频。拍下镜头后,Patrick Dell 能够在 MacBook Pro 上使用 Final Cut Pro 现场快速剪辑脚本。短短几个小时,Dell 的视频短片就作为覆盖率领先的数字报道的一部分,发布在《环球邮报》网站上。

跟随读者

《环球邮报》之所以能够使用视频扩大报道,直接原因在于其剪辑师于 2010 年开始实施一项策略,即满足明确表示更喜欢观看新闻报道的新闻读者的要求。“视频已经在飞速传播,并且,速度之快远远超出我们所想,”《环球邮报》执行主编 Jill Borra 指出,“我们几乎供应不上广大读者和广告商所需要的视频量。 所以,我们努力寻找更多方式在各种可能的媒介发布并集成视频。”

《环球邮报》选择视频新闻的方式反映了其他知名报纸努力方向,大部分适合印刷媒体的新闻也通常被拍成视频并发布在网络上。该策略已见成效,读者人数和收入双双攀升。短短两年内,《环球邮报》成为了视频新力军,每月在全球数字网络上 (包括报纸网站、移动网站以及适用于 iPad 和 iPhone 的新闻 app) 发布 200 则视频新闻。每月网络访问量超过 400 万,高于其他任何单个报纸网站,网页浏览量近 1.07 亿。

DIY 视频

《环球邮报》实现如此视频播报成果的方式同样令人印象深刻。在综合考虑与视频内容提供商建立合作伙伴关系之后,《环球邮报》决定内部发展灵活的视频团队。“两年前重新启动生活网站时,我们需要创建所有这些烹饪和健康视频。” Borra 指出,“当我们发现有足够的人才来承担这些时,这成了一个转折点。于是,我们决定开始行动,扩展我们的视频业务。”

作为扩展计划的一部分,《环球邮报》雇用了更多制作人、摄影师和剪辑师,其中很多都是既会拍摄也会剪辑。由于该报的策略依赖于使用传统报纸记者和摄像师来补充其资深视频人才,所以,它需要根据不同的技能水平提供相应的相机、app 和工作流程。

Final Cut Pro X 是关键所在。“我们需要非常灵活,并且能够为记者和摄像师所用的工具。” 执行制作人 Angela Pacienza 指出,“Final Cut Pro X 让我们的专业记者能够轻松、快速地创建视频。界面如此直观,即使新手剪辑师都可以快速拼接片段。”

“速度和精度几乎就是全部。我发现,在 Final Cut Pro X 中剪辑视频速度更快。” — 剪辑师 Robin Dwarka

新闻快速传播

在摇摆不定的多伦多市长争议事件视频报道中,Patrick Dell 发现工作流程的优势在每个环节都尽显无疑。“在播报突发新闻方面,速度一直是一大挑战。” 他指出,“我要跟电视、其他出版商和其他视频提供商竞争,尽可能快地完成自己的报道并发布出去。接下来就是每个记者都会面临的挑战,就是在超大媒体群里争取到最佳拍摄位置。这里每个人都想在同一时间拍到同样的时刻、相同的评论、同样的话。”

剪辑师 Tim McKenna 在 Final Cut Pro X 中浏览片段。
图片来源:Micheal McLaughlin

预计到这点后,Dell 将佳能高清摄像机固定在单脚架上,并在顶部安装了定向麦克风。这样他就可以将摄像机举到头顶上方高于其他媒体的位置,在市长走进办公室时捕捉到理想的声音和镜头。在大约一小时之后的新闻发布会上,他使用了相同的摄像机和单脚架,外加 Sennheiser 无线麦克风。

但是,Dell 发现自己最大的优势在于拍摄完成之后:“能够在配备 Retina 显示屏的 MacBook Pro 上使用 Final Cut Pro X 进行现场剪辑,对于快速处理原始视频素材非常重要。拍到市长走进办公室的镜头后,在市政大厅现场我将素材上传到了 MacBook Pro,在 Final Cut Pro 中进行去噪处理,添加品牌图像,最后将其重新上传到《环球邮报》的网站,所有工作几乎毫不费时地全部完成。”

“同样地,当市长的新闻发布会结束后,我在现场快速将他的讲话剪辑成一段完整视频。能够在 Final Cut Pro X 中快速浏览原始素材让选择相关片段变得简便而迅速。”

《中国日记》

《环球邮报》的记者和摄像师发现,使用 Final Cut Pro X 和 iPhone 等便捷工具让他们的所触范围大增。在制作中国文化变迁记事的过程中,《环球邮报》摄影记者 John Lehmann 与《环球邮报》驻中国记者 Mark MacKinnon 从成都坐火车到西宁,一同追溯当年毛泽东的长征路程。

为了专注于捕捉如此大型事件的关键细节,Lehmann 遵循了一个非常简单的工作流程。他使用 iPhone 拍摄火车内外令他感兴趣的点点滴滴,并将拍摄的素材上传给《环球邮报》的视频团队,以便其使用 Final Cut Pro X 进行剪辑。

无论在横跨大陆上传素材过程中耽搁多少时间,最后都会弥补回来。曾剪辑其第一个视频项目的高级视频制作剪辑师 Julian Liurette 指出:“有了 Final Cut Pro X,我们不需要再转换视频素材。而只需抓取视频文件,直接开始剪辑即可。对于我们而言,这无疑是一项巨大的优势。”

加速剪辑

大部分拍摄和剪辑要求视频团队快速、不间断地传输有关热门商业和生活方式的视频。《环球邮报》记者和摄像师现场捕捉视频素材,或者在其新闻工作室使用多达四部摄像头同时拍摄。混音和匹配等视频采集工作可通过 Final Cut Pro X 的全新多机位剪辑功能轻松完成,从而帮助视频团队整理并同步其视频素材。“我们无法使用不支持多机位剪辑的应用软件。” 剪辑师 Robin Dwarka 指出,“Final Cut Pro X 的多机位剪辑支持比我看到的其他任何产品都更加直观和高效。”

每天剪辑 2 到 5 段视频的 Dwarka 指出了贯穿整个剪辑过程的动力:“在这里,速度和精度几乎就是全部。我发现,在 Final Cut Pro X 中剪辑的速度更快。拖下片段,并将剩余时间线移到不影响剪辑的位置,这让工作变得容易很多,而且,我不用担心闭合间隙的问题。”

在 Motion 中添加品牌

剪辑师完成工作的速度也变得更快,因为他们只需在 Final Cut Pro X 中打开其定制的 Motion 自带品牌模板。“品牌标示对于记者甚至摄像师来说是个大问题,因为我们会将标志放在每个视频的最下方。” Liurette 指出,“现在,剪辑师可以在 Final Cut Pro X 中打开《环球邮报》定制的标题文字模板,并在查看器中即时修改文字内容,而无需使用文本编辑器。”

曾创建现有的品牌标示 Motion 模板的 Liurette正在帮助设计团队完成更新。Motion 5 和 Final Cut Pro X 中的全新动态图形工具让他们能够使用模板集成项目,这让他很高兴,因为这可以帮助他们在每月数百个视频项目中严格执行设计规范。

有了更大规模、更有经验的视频团队后,《环球邮报》的视频质量达到了电视的水准。而且,视频效果的高要求连带推动了制作标准的提升。通过使用绑定和构件标记等 Motion 高级功能,三名精通图形的摄像师能够创建所有需要的动画。“总得来讲,我们的工作人员发现,Motion 比其他程序更方便使用。” Liurette 指出,“它更适合我们的日常工作流程。”

眼光放长远

除了新闻、商业和生活方式视频,视频团队还创建了片时更长的纪实风格的调查视频,并且还为此荣获了多项艾美奖和提名。剪辑这些项目需要处理更多的视频素材。因此,Liurette 使用 Final Cut Pro X 剪辑了新闻网站上广受欢迎的纪录片《Breaking Caste》,并以此作为整个团队从 Final Cut Pro 7 进行升级前的测试。

“在我开始剪辑的时候共有 1000 段视频。” 他说,“使用 Final Cut Pro X 让我能够迅速浏览视频片段并找到我想要的。这为我节省了大把的时间,而且,与我们之前使用 Final Cut Pro 7 相比,优势可谓是相当明显。”

Liurette 还使用有范围依据的关键字和智能精选规整素材。“视频素材如此之多,但这些功能为我们提供了一种切实有效的方法,让我们能够根据日期、地点和主题快速找到需要的片段。”

Final Cut Pro X 还帮助大规模纪实团队进行高效协作。前不久在完成跨媒体故事片《The DNA Dilemma》过程中,整个团队使用该应用软件剪辑了 5 个相关视频。“这是个关于基因测试的视频,我们给社区里的人录制他们的个人故事。” 与制作人 Hannah Sung 一同负责该项目的摄像师/剪辑师 Amanda Lowe 说,“面临的挑战是我们要处理的视频素材数量很大,还有就是如何把它们高效拼接起来。” Lowe 创建了多个 Final Cut Pro X 事件,以便于 Sung 能够在 Lowe 剪辑其他视频的同时找到并标记她想在采访中使用的片段。Lowe 使用这种协作式工作流剪辑了所有视频,她指出:“Hannah 做的标记让我们沟通非常得力。”

目标展望

有了得力的团队和工具,《环球邮报》的前进战略是在更多地方完成更多视频。今年的目标是每个月制作 200 部视频。最后,《环球邮报》希望每天制作 6 小时视频,包括从移动设备到电视网,再到直播视频节目的各种门类。

前不久,《环球邮报》的移动视频网站进行了更新,iPad 和 iPhone 用户可以在线观看视频,移动流量随之上升。Angela Pacienza 指出:“我们看到了强有力的增长势头。”

视频团队预见到,这些全新的视频需要有创意的解决方案,就像他们用来观看视频的设备那样差别迥异。Pacienza 说:“我们要的不仅仅是增加 2 分钟片段的数量,我们需要重新思考视频对于今天的新闻读者来说到底意味着什么。”

Pacienza 认为,这种重新思考将发生在那些使用 Final Cut Pro X 和 Motion 等视频工具就如同撰写报道一样得心应手的记者身上。“随着人们逐渐习惯在不同地点,不同设备上观看视频,我们也愈加需要用它来采集和报道新闻。只在一个媒介上报道新闻已经毫无优势可言。”

“Being able to edit in the field with Final Cut Pro X on a MacBook Pro with Retina display was essential to turning around my raw footage quickly.” — Patrick Dell, videographer/editor

The Globe and Mail - Making Video News

When a recent court decision threatened to oust Toronto’s controversial mayor Rob Ford from office, 169 years of journalistic muscle memory kicked in at the Globe and Mail, Canada’s largest-circulation national newspaper. Reporters, photographers, and other staff scrambled to prepare a series of written stories that appeared first on their news site, then in the paper, each story marked by the daily’s signature deep reporting and analysis.

Flexing newer muscles, the newspaper also sent videographer/editor Patrick Dell to City Hall to capture video of the historic decision using a handheld Canon video camera. After getting his shots, he was able to quickly edit the footage onsite using Final Cut Pro X on a MacBook Pro. Within hours, Dell’s video story was published on the Globe and Mail website as part of the digital reporting that led the coverage.

Follow the Reader

The newspaper’s ability to augment its reporting with video is the direct result of a strategy initiated in 2010 by Globe and Mail editors to hold on to news readers who indicated that they clearly preferred to watch. “Video has been a huge area of expansion for us, and it’s accelerating even more quickly than we expected,” says Globe and Mail executive editor Jill Borra. “We can barely keep up with how much our readers and advertisers want video. So we try to find ways to present and integrate it in everything we do.”

The Globe and Mail’s move to video mirrors efforts at other prominent newspapers, where much of the news that’s fit to print is regularly shot and posted. And the strategy has paid off in readership and revenues. In just two years, the Globe and Mail has become a video force, publishing 200 videos a month on the Globe Digital Network, which includes the paper’s website, mobile site, and news app for iPad and iPhone. The network gets over 4 million unique visitors per month — more than any other individual newspaper site — and nearly 107 million monthly page views.

DIY Video

Just as impressive is how the newspaper achieved its video results. After briefly considering partnering with a video content provider, the Globe and Mail decided to grow its own flexible in-house video team. “When we relaunched our Life site two years ago we needed to create all of these cooking and health videos,” says Borra. “There was a pivot moment when we realized we had all the talent to do them here. So we decided to go for it and expand our video operation.”

As part of that expansion the Globe and Mail hired more producers, videographers, and editors, many capable of both shooting and editing video. And because the paper’s strategy relied on using traditional newspaper reporters and photographers to complement its veteran video talent, it required cameras, apps, and a workflow that would accommodate multiple skill levels.

Key in the mix was Final Cut Pro X. “We needed a tool that was flexible enough so reporters and photographers could use it,” says executive producer Angela Pacienza. “Final Cut Pro X enables our professional journalists to create videos quickly and easily. The interface is so intuitive that even new editors can assemble pieces fast.”

“Here it’s all about speed and accuracy, and I know I’m cutting faster in Final Cut Pro X.” — Robin Dwarka, editor

News Travels Fast

In video-reporting Toronto’s vacillating mayoral controversy, Patrick Dell found workflow advantages at every turn. “Speed is always a key challenge when there is a breaking story,” he says. “I’m competing with TV, other publishers, and other video providers to get my own content done and out as quickly as possible. Then there are the general challenges of working in a big media pack where everyone wants that same moment, same comment, same quote, all at the same time.”

Editor Tim McKenna skims clips in Final Cut Pro X.
Photo credit: Micheal McLaughlin

Anticipating that scenario, Dell used a Canon HD camcorder on a monopod camera support with a directional shotgun microphone mounted to the top. That allowed him to lift the camera over the heads of other media to capture good sound and footage of the mayor entering his office. For the news conference that followed about an hour later, he used the same camera and monopod combination with a Sennheiser wireless microphone set.

But Dell found his biggest leverage after he had his shots: “Being able to edit in the field with Final Cut Pro X on a MacBook Pro with Retina display was essential to turning around my raw footage quickly. After capturing the shot of the mayor entering his office, I loaded that footage on to the MacBook Pro while still at City Hall, cleaned it up in Final Cut Pro, added our branding graphics, and uploaded it to the Globe and Mail in no time at all.

“Likewise, as soon as the mayor’s news conference was done, I rapidly edited his comments on location into a complete package. Being able to quickly skim the raw footage in Final Cut Pro X made picking relevant clips an easy and fast process.”

“The China Diaries”

Globe reporters and photographers have found that using accessible tools like Final Cut Pro X and iPhone has significantly extended their reach. For a sweeping story about cultural change in China, Globe photojournalist John Lehmann, working with Globe China correspondent Mark MacKinnon, rode a train from Chengdu to Xining, retracing the path of Mao Zedong’s Long March.

To stay focused on capturing the right details in a story of such enormous scale, Lehmann followed a very simple workflow. He used iPhone to shoot anything inside or outside the train that he found interesting and uploaded the footage to the Globe and Mail video team for editing in Final Cut Pro X.

Whatever delays he experienced in the transcontinental upload were ultimately made up for on the back end. Says Julian Liurette, a senior video production editor who edited their first video installment: “With Final Cut Pro X, we don’t have to convert footage. We just grab the video files and begin editing. For us, that’s a huge advantage.”

Speed to Edit

Most of the shooting and editing demands on the video team come from a fast, relentless stream of popular business and lifestyle videos. Globe and Mail reporters and videographers capture footage on location or in their newsroom studio using as many as four cameras shooting simultaneously. The mix-and-match video acquisition is easily handled by the new multicam capabilities of Final Cut Pro X, which helps the team organize and sync their footage. “We couldn’t use an application that didn’t support multiple-camera editing,” says editor Robin Dwarka. “The multicam support in Final Cut Pro X is more intuitive and efficient than anything I’ve seen.”

Dwarka, who edits two to five videos a day, notes that the momentum carries through the editing process: “Here it’s all about speed and accuracy, and I know I’m cutting faster in Final Cut Pro X. Dropping a clip down and having the rest of the timeline shift out of the way makes things so much easier, and I don’t need to worry about closing up gaps.”

Branding in Motion

Editors also finish faster because they can simply open their custom Motion-built branding templates in Final Cut Pro X. “Branding’s a big issue for reporters and even videographers because we put our logo at the bottom of each video,” says Liurette. “Now editors can open the Globe and Mail custom lower-third templates in Final Cut Pro X and immediately change the text right in the viewer rather than going out to a text editor.”

Liurette, who created the Motion templates for their current branding, is helping the design team with a refresh. He likes the fact that the new motion graphics tools in Motion 5 and Final Cut Pro X let them integrate projects using templates, which helps enforce design discipline across hundreds of monthly video projects.

With a bigger, more experienced video team, Globe and Mail videos are verging on television quality. And video effects requirements have ratcheted up along with production standards. Using advanced Motion features such as rigs and build markers, three graphics-savvy videographers are able to create all of the needed motion graphics. “In general, our people find that Motion is much more approachable than other programs,” says Liurette. “It’s better suited for our daily workflow.”

Taking the Long View

Along with news, business, and lifestyle videos, the video team also creates longer documentary-style investigations, for which they’ve received multiple Emmy Awards and nominations. Editing these projects requires working with much larger amounts of footage. For that reason, Liurette used Final Cut Pro X to edit the news site’s lauded documentary “Breaking Caste” as a test case before moving the group from Final Cut Pro 7.

“There were about 1000 video clips when I started the edit,” he says. “Using Final Cut Pro X, I could skim through my footage and find things really quickly. That was a major time-saver, and a big advantage compared to what we had been able to do before in Final Cut Pro 7.”

Liurette also used range-based keywords and Smart Collections to organize the material. “With so much footage, these features provided a very practical way to quickly find clips by day, location, and subject.”

Final Cut Pro X also helps large documentary teams collaborate effectively. For a recent cross-media feature, “The DNA Dilemma,” the team used the application to edit five related videos. “It’s about genetic testing, so we’ve been shooting personal stories with people out in the community,” says videographer/editor Amanda Lowe, who worked on the project with producer Hannah Sung. “The challenge was the amount of footage we were working with, and how to piece it together efficiently.” Lowe created multiple Final Cut Pro X events so Sung could find and mark clips she wanted to include in one interview while Lowe edited another. “The markers Hannah left helped us communicate,” says Lowe, who used this collaborative workflow throughout the editing of the series.

Looking Ahead

With a team and tools in place, the move-forward strategy for the Globe and Mail is more video in more places. The goal this year is to produce 200 video pieces a month. Eventually, the Globe and Mail hopes to produce six hours of video a day for everything from mobile devices to connected TV to live video programming.

A recent upgrade of its mobile video site allows iPad and iPhone users to watch video there, resulting in more consistent mobile traffic. “We’re seeing very strong growth,” says Angela Pacienza.

The team anticipates that all those new videos will require creative solutions as different as the devices on which they’ll be watched. “We don’t just want to keep increasing the number of two-minute clips that we do,” says Pacienza. “We’re actually rethinking the whole model for what video means to a news reader today.”

Pacienza believes much of that rethinking will happen on the fly in the hands of flex journalists who are as comfortable with video tools like Final Cut Pro X and Motion as they are writing for the page. “As people become accustomed to watching video on different devices and in different places, increasingly we need to use it in our news gathering and reporting. Telling a story in only one medium is not going to cut it anymore.”