<广告>

@radical.media 转变媒介

自 1993 年成立以来的近 20 年里,@radical.media 已成长为世界上规模庞大、获奖颇丰的制作公司之一。他们是美国顶级的商业广告制作者,客户包括 Nike、Intel 和 Dos Equis。该公司还负责制作《Iconoclasts》(Sundance Channel)等备受赞誉的电视剧,Drake、Arcade Fire、Jay-Z 和 Britney Spears 的演唱会项目,以及 2012 年获得奥斯卡提名的纪录片《失乐园3:炼狱》,该片在圣丹斯电影节上首映后,成功令 3 名男死囚得以释放。

与该公司客户名单同样出众的是其表现客户的工作方式。从一开始,@radical.media 就因坚持不懈地推动技术,以提升客户的品牌和艺术眼光而闻名。它的特色工具之一是 Final Cut Pro,后者 10 多年来一直是公司创新数字视频工作流程的稳固保障。在其不断演变的最近阶段,公司决定将其在整个纽约市的后期制作设备转换为 Final Cut Pro X。

跨媒体驱动力

鉴于这项工作的规模和深远影响,该公司最近所做的转换决定成为他们做出的重大改变之一。@radical.media 坐落在曼哈顿 Meatpacking District 附近一座大型工业建筑,占据数层楼面,核心团队聘用了 150 多名来自全球各地的员工,此外还有数百名专业的自由职业者。因此,转换到 Final Cut Pro X 需要精心的规划和彻底的测试。

“我喜欢全新的剪辑模式。工作对我而言变得更流畅、更简单、更高效。我可以全心专注于制作。” 据 @radical.media CTO Evan Schechtman 所说,清晰的商业需求促成了这一变化。“我们 10 多年来一直在使用 Final Cut Pro,这个全新版本和第 1 版产品同样具有创新性,”Schechtman 说,“由于我们是一家跨媒体公司,我们要有能力在各种平台上讲述客户的故事。这意味着我们要能接受以各种格式和标准提供的视频素材,并确保其能够用于以高品质在各处播放的项目中。凭借高度优化的原生剪辑引擎,Final Cut Pro X 解决了这个问题,让我们可以迅速开展每一个项目。”

Schechtman 指出,当前公司已将 25% 项目转移到 Final Cut Pro X,包括 Grey Goose Vodka 的高端商业宣传活动,以及对 Paul Simon 的《Graceland》25 周年庆祝影片的重新剪辑工作。

启动工作流程

改用 Final Cut Pro X 加强从前端到后端的工作流程后,对速度的改善效果十分显著。对于其项目在 Final Cut Pro X 中剪辑的首批客户而言,@radical.media 的常务董事 Liz Mason 这样说道,“他们首先注意到的就是速度。”

许多加速在剪辑师接触到文件之前就已实现。无论是来自网络摄像头还是高端的 ARRI ALEXA 数码摄像机,当助理导入各种来源的母文件时,Final Cut Pro X 的全新内容自动分析功能便在后台扫描文件,并创建让初步整理更快速的元数据。由于应用软件充分利用了 OS X 的 64 位架构,使涉及加速特效、转场效果、帧频转换和渲染的视频素材处理显著提速。关键词引擎和浏览条可让助理和剪辑师快速查看素材,并使用可自定义范围的关键词来添加标签。

“有了 Final Cut Pro X,我们可以运用各种不同种类的格式,为 @radical.media 制作有趣且尖端的作品。” Mason 说,“视频素材预先处理得如此迅速,我们从来不用等。这是我们愿意将其迅速投入实际项目制作的原因之一。”

@radical.media 首席技术经理 Randy Main 将前期提速归功于 Final Cut Pro X 十分流行的新功能之一。“我们在项目之初整理素材时,元数据标签添加是一项关键功能。它让我们可以快速完成这一流程,比我用过的任何一部非线性编辑器都要快。” Main 说,“编辑助理们简直欣喜若狂,因为他们从未有过一件如此精致的工具来代替他们工作。”

Cy Christiansen 在 Final Cut Pro X 中剪辑 Grey Goose 的广告。

加速剪辑

Schechtman 说,前端速度可以延伸到实际的剪辑流程中:“Final Cut Pro X 的原则似乎是,没什么可以阻挡剪辑的进行。整个用户界面经过精简,真正抓住了剪辑的关键构成要素。在速度、性能和流畅度方面都呈现几何式增长。”

Grey Goose

为 Grey Goose 发布的新口味产品 Cherry Noir 制作充满活力的风格化广告,是首批受益于这些新功能的 @radical.media 项目之一。“在如此大型的高端商业宣传中尝试新软件相当关键。” Schechtman 说,“Final Cut Pro X 做到了。”

该广告由 @radical.media 进行创作和执导,在纽约市的外景实地拍摄时,使用了 ARRI ALEXA 摄像机以 ARRIRAW 和 Apple ProRes 4444 格式进行拍摄。视频素材通过 G-Technology G-RAID 硬盘送到 @radical.media,并立即备份到 RAID 5 硬盘系统和 LTO-5 磁带。视频素材随后被采集到 Final Cut Pro X 中,并转码为 Apple ProRes Proxy 用于剪辑。

在由客户主导的剪辑阶段,剪辑师使用试演功能快速循环查看同一镜头的不同效果。视频在 Final Cut Pro X 中进行剪辑后,被导入 Mac 上的 DaVinci Resolve 和 Autodesk Smoke 进行色彩校正、添加特效和后期修饰。通过使用 Marquis X2Pro,项目被转换为 AAF 文件,以便导入 Avid Pro Tools 进行混音。这个项目让 @radical.media 彻底了解到在使用 Final Cut Pro X 的 XML 导出功能与其后期制作生态系统,并将其用于色彩校正和视觉特效时配合得多么出色。

“对于一款新 app 而言,能与我们的后期修饰工具完美整合真的很重要,” Main 说,“而 Final Cut Pro X 在这方面表现优异。”

Schechtman 补充道:“我们可以充分利用这款快速、流畅得令人难以置信的叙事工具,同时仍可取用我们爱用的其它专业工具来完善我们的设备,能向自己证明这一点真是非同小可。”

纪录片项目

@radical.media 也在使用 Final Cut Pro X 剪辑一系列长篇纪录片。这些项目将使用 ARRI ALEXA、Canon 5D Mark II 和 Sony PMW-EX3 摄像机拍摄的视频,并与大量不同格式、帧频和大小的档案视频素材相结合,剪辑师将它们剪接在一起制作出最终的视频。“当我们讲述纪录片故事时,展现的是我们生存的这个世界的本质。”Schechtman 说,“Final Cut Pro X 是承担这项工作的理想之选。”

Schechtman 指出,这些项目的规模要求采用不同的编辑工作流程。“这些大型实录风格的项目,也真实地展现了多位剪辑师如何着眼于用同一素材库来讲述他们的故事。我们拥有一个通过大型 Xsan 系统实现的共享存储环境。Final Cut Pro X 的奇妙之处在于,它能发现我们有集中共享存储,让我们可以全新方式使用存储资源。由于 Xsan 内置于 OS X Lion 和 Lion Server,因此我们不必为每台电脑购买 Xsan 软件。这对我们来说意义重大。”

在被指定制作这些项目的剪辑师中,Cy Christiansen 是首次使用 Final Cut Pro X 剪辑视频。“我喜欢新的剪辑模式。”他说,“界面上的累赘比较少,事情因此就运行得更流畅,更简洁、更高效。我可以全心专注于制作。修剪功能的执行效果比以往更出色。当我任意移动片段时,磁性时间线让一切各就其位。对我来说,这是一个全新的途径,而且真正行之有效。”

更多改变

考虑到改用 Final Cut Pro X 所带来的积极成果,Schechtman 对他们选择的新方向充满信心,而且不会怯于将它推荐给别人。

“在我的职业生涯中,我很少看到这一行真正出现巨大改变。”他说,“Final Cut Pro X 肯定是其中之一。作为技术领域的专业人士,接受这些改变已经令我受益,我认为每个人都应对它敞开胸怀,否则机会将擦身而过。”

@radical.media
								Change Agents

In the nearly 20 years since its founding in 1993, @radical.media has grown into one of the world’s largest and most awarded production houses. They are the top producer of commercials in the U.S., with clients including Nike, Intel, and Dos Equis. The company is also responsible for acclaimed TV shows like Iconoclasts (Sundance Channel), concert projects for Drake, Arcade Fire, Jay-Z, and Britney Spears, and the 2012 Oscar-nominated documentary Paradise Lost 3: Purgatory, which premiered at the Sundance Film Festival and resulted in the release of three men on death row.

As distinctive as the company’s list of clients is the way it works to represent them. From the beginning, @radical.media has been known for relentlessly pushing technology to advance the brands and artistic visions of its clients. One of its signature tools is Final Cut Pro, which has anchored its innovative digital video workflow for over a decade. In the latest stage of that evolution, the company decided to switch its entire New York City post-production facility to Final Cut Pro X.

Transmedia Driven

Given the scale and scope of that work, the company’s recent decision to switch was one of the most fundamental changes it could make. Housed on several floors of a large industrial building near the Meatpacking District in Manhattan, @radical.media employs a core staff of more than 150 global employees as well as hundreds of specialized freelancers. So the cutover to Final Cut Pro X required careful planning and thorough testing.

“I loved the new editing model. Things are fluid and simpler and more efficient for me. I can just focus on the craft.” According to @radical.media CTO Evan Schechtman, the change was driven by a clear business need. “We’ve been using Final Cut Pro for over ten years, and this new version is as revolutionary as the first,” says Schechtman. “Because we’re a transmedia company, we need to be able to tell a client’s story regardless of platform. That means being able to take footage that comes to us in all formats and standards and use it in projects that must play at the highest quality everywhere. With its highly optimized native editing engine, Final Cut Pro X solves that problem, allowing us to hit the ground running on every project.”

Schechtman notes that the company has already moved 25 percent of its current projects to Final Cut Pro X, including a high-profile campaign for Grey Goose Vodka and recuts of the film celebrating the 25th anniversary of Paul Simon’s Graceland.

Kick-Starting the Workflow

The switch to Final Cut Pro X has already strengthened the workflow from front to back. On the short list of top benefits is speed. Liz Mason, managing director of @radical.media, says that for the first clients whose projects were edited in Final Cut Pro X, “Speed is the first thing they notice.”

Much of that acceleration was realized even before the editors touched the files. As assistants brought in master files from sources ranging from webcams to high-end ARRI ALEXA digital cameras, the new Content Auto-Analysis capability in Final Cut Pro X scanned the files in the background and created metadata that made the initial organization much faster. Processing the footage, which involved speed effects, transitions, frame-rate converting, and rendering, went much faster because the application fully leverages the 64-bit architecture of OS X. And the keyword engine and skimmer allowed assistants and editors to move through media quickly and tag it with custom range-based keywords.

“Final Cut Pro X allows us to take in all the different kinds of formats we need to use to do the interesting and cutting-edge stuff that we do for @radical.media,” says Mason. “And the footage is processed so quickly up front that we never have to wait. That’s one of the reasons we were willing to dive in so soon on actual projects.”

@radical.media Chief Technical Manager Randy Main credits some of that upfront speed to one of the most pervasive new capabilities of Final Cut Pro X. “The crucial feature for us as we organize at the beginning of a project is metadata tagging. It’s allowed us to speed through that process faster than with any other nonlinear editor I’ve ever worked on.” Main reports that the editorial assistants are “in a state of bliss because they’ve never had a more sophisticated tool set to do their job.”

Cy Christiansen edits the Grey Goose commercial in Final Cut Pro X.

Accelerated Edits

Schechtman says that the front-end speed carries over to the actual editing process: “The mantra of Final Cut Pro X, it seems, is that nothing stops the flow of editing. The entire UI has been streamlined and really gets to the key components of what editing is about. There’s just an exponential increase in speed, performance, and fluidity.”

Grey Goose

One of the first @radical.media projects to benefit from these new capabilities is a high-energy, stylized commercial for Grey Goose for the release of a new flavor called Cherry Noir. “That’s a pretty big high-profile campaign to try new software on,” says Schechtman. “And Final Cut Pro X delivered.”

The spot, which was produced and directed at @radical.media, was shot on location in New York City using the ARRI ALEXA camera and recorded both ARRIRAW and Apple ProRes 4444 formats. The footage was delivered to @radical.media on G-Technology G-RAID drives and immediately backed up to RAID 5 drives and LTO-5 tape. Footage was then ingested into Final Cut Pro X and transcoded to Apple ProRes Proxy for editing.

For client-driven edit sessions, the editor used Auditions to quickly cycle through different effects on the same shot. After the video was edited in Final Cut Pro X, it was exported to DaVinci Resolve and Autodesk Smoke on the Mac for color correction, effects, and finishing. Using Marquis X2Pro, the project was converted to an AAF file for import into Avid Pro Tools for sound mixing. The project showed @radical.media how well the XML export capability of Final Cut Pro X worked with the rest of its post-production ecosystem for color correction and visual effects. 

“With a new app, it’s really important that it integrates seamlessly with our finishing tools,” says Main. “And Final Cut Pro X really shined in that aspect.”

Schechtman adds: “It was a massive thing to prove to ourselves, that we can leverage this unbelievably fast and fluid storytelling tool and still go to the other professional tools that we prefer to use to round out our facility.”

Documentary Projects

@radical.media is also cutting a series of long-form documentaries in Final Cut Pro X. These projects combine video shot on ARRI ALEXA, Canon 5D Mark II, and Sony PMW-EX3 cameras with extensive archival footage of nearly every format, frame rate, and size, which the editors cut together to craft the final videos. “That’s the nature of the world we live in when we’re telling documentary stories,” says Schechtman. “And it’s a perfect job for Final Cut Pro X.”

Schechtman notes that the scope of the projects required a different editorial workflow. “These large vérité-style projects really speak to how multiple editors can look at the same pool of materials to tell their stories. We’re a shared storage environment with a very large Xsan implementation. A wonderful thing about Final Cut Pro X is that it’s aware that we have centralized shared storage and lets us use that storage in a new way. The fact that Xsan is built into OS X Lion and Lion Server means we’re not buying copies of Xsan for every computer. That’s huge for us.”

Among the editors assigned to the projects was Cy Christiansen, who edited a video using Final Cut Pro X for the first time. “I loved the new editing model,” he says. “There are fewer interface encumbrances, so things are fluid and simpler and more efficient for me. I can just focus on the craft. Trimming feels like a better implementation than ever before. And as I moved clips around, the Magnetic Timeline kept things where they needed to be. For me, it’s a whole new path, and it works really well.”

More Change

Given the positive results of the switch to Final Cut Pro X, Schechtman is confident in the new direction they’ve taken and is not shy about recommending it to others.

“In my career, I’ve seen very few really significant changes in our business,” he says. “Final Cut Pro X is definitely one of them. As a tech professional, I’ve benefited from embracing these changes, and I think everyone needs to embrace this one. Or it will pass them by.”