Apple in Education Profiles

Increasing student engagement at Punahou School with Mac.

Students at Punahou School in Honolulu, Hawaiʻi, use Mac notebooks to research class assignments and show results in ways they never could before.

The inspiration

At Punahou School — an independent K-12 college preparatory day school founded in 1841 by Congregational missionaries — no tradition is more honored than purposeful reinvention. Located in lower Mānoa Valley, a residential area in the city of Honolulu, Hawaiʻi, the school is famous for innovation and progressive educational thinking.

In 1998, that thinking led school administrators to recognize a need to adjust their curriculum to better prepare students for a working world that increasingly favored the technologically fluent. After looking closely at how technology was being introduced in other schools, they ran a successful pilot program that gave each of their fourth graders daylong classroom access to their own Mac notebooks. Teachers observed that students were more engaged when using the Mac, and they saw the effect as potentially transformative. With such promising results, school administrators decided to comprehensively integrate Mac as a learning tool throughout the curriculum for all grade levels.

The Mac has helped Punahou move away from structured learning and toward a more flexible, self-directed approach, where teachers encourage student interest and choices. Now teachers rarely lecture from the front of the classroom. Instead, they ask questions, then issue clear guidelines and expectations for students to meet. Either alone or in small groups, students research the topic on the Mac to come up with the information they need to answer each question.

But because learning at Punahou is always less about finding information than doing something interesting with it, students use the Mac, iLife, and iWork to demonstrate results to their teachers, other students, and even online. In addition to writing papers and taking tests, students deliver fully realized learning projects, complete with images, video, and sound. These include songs and podcasts recorded and edited in GarageBand; digital presentations and portfolios created in Keynote; videos for Punavision — the campus news program — edited in iMovie and Final Cut Pro; and even iOS apps built using Xcode.

Because the Mac and its applications are so easy to use and so closely integrated into the curriculum, teachers and students can focus on the quality and creative expression of learning, rather than on how to use the tools.

“The Macs in my classroom are completely indispensable.”

— Sandy Chang, Reading, Writing, and American History teacher, Punahou School

The implementation

Because of the success of the pilot program, the decision to use the Mac as a comprehensive learning tool at Punahou was an easy one. The faculty had seen firsthand the clear benefits of using a Mac in their lessons. And parents who had worried about the isolating effects of technology quickly changed their minds during classroom visits that showed how the Mac encouraged student collaboration and interaction.

But because Punahou School is the largest private K-12 school in the nation — currently with more than 3800 students — school administrators needed to plan carefully for the school-wide transition to Mac. Working with faculty, parents, and Apple, they created a strategy for integrating Mac notebooks naturally and appropriately into the curriculum at all grade levels.

Today, the youngest students at Punahou, those in grades K-3, learn to use a Mac in the classroom and in a multimedia room, with structured supervision. Beginning in grade 4, each student receives a computer for use in school and at home as they become familiar with using iPhoto, iMovie, and GarageBand. In this way, even younger students quickly become proficient at working with the tools they need to do increasingly challenging classwork. And by the time students graduate from Punahou, they’re capable of creating truly engaging learning projects.

To achieve their own Mac proficiency, teachers participate in training sessions, including summer lab sessions. Teachers also coach their colleagues in integrating Mac into the curriculum. And for skill development in more complex applications like Final Cut Pro, both teachers and upper-level students can take special tutorials offered by school-designated experts.

The small school technical support group reports that the Mac notebooks are remarkably free from viruses, and that they hold up well to the rigors of traveling from home to campus and back again. And because the notebooks are so easy to use and maintain, most students and teachers can resolve problems on their own.

Since one of the goals of the technology integration initiative at Punahou is to put the right device in a student’s hand for any given learning opportunity, the school has also introduced iPod touch for student activities like making real-world measurements on field trips. And Punahou students at all levels are using iPad with select apps to extend their learning: kindergarteners use iPad to practice letters and numbers; fourth graders to design and manage virtual cities; middle schoolers to experiment with geo-location and video journaling; and high schoolers to create advanced music and art.

The results

Administrators, faculty, and parents at Punahou believe that the Mac has transformed the curriculum, extending the school’s long history of innovative excellence. It has made teachers become even more efficient facilitators of learning. And it helps keep students more engaged and makes them more capable of expressing their learning than ever before.

"I’m no longer standing in front of a room, putting information on a blackboard, and lecturing," says sixth grade teacher Sandy Chang. "Instead, I'll put a question out there, and the students know how to look for the answer. They open up their Macs and get the information. And because the learning is interactive, it keeps them more focused, more interested, and more motivated."

Products they use

MacBook Pro

This notebook computer is great for learning both inside and outside the classroom. Learn more about MacBook Pro

iPad

This revolutionary mobile device introduces a whole new way of teaching and learning. Learn more about iPad

iPod touch

This device — and the apps made for it — are perfect for on-the-go learning. Learn more about iPod touch

Powerful apps from Apple.

iTunes U. iMovie. Garageband. Pages. Numbers. Keynote. They'll keep your classroom creative and productive. And they're free with every iPad and Mac.
Learn more

More education profiles.

Apple 與教育應用案例

Punahou School 運用 Mac,提升學生投入度。

Punahou School 位於夏威夷檀香山,其學生使用 Mac 手提電腦進行課堂研究習作,並以前所未有的方式展現學習成果。

啟迪

由公理會傳教士於 1841 年創立的 Punahou School,是一所提供大學前中小學教育的獨立學府。學校最珍視的傳統,就是確立目標,不斷革新。座落夏威夷檀香山市馬諾阿山谷住宅區的 Punahou School,以創新與進步的教育思維聞名。

1998 年,學校管理層意識到今天各行各業對精通科技的人才需求愈見殷切,故有必要調整課程,為學生創造更理想的前途。在仔細觀察過其他學校引入科技的方式後,他們做了一次成功的嘗試,讓每個四年級學生全天都能在課堂上使用 Mac 手提電腦。教師們發現學生使用 Mac 時能更投入學習,更可能帶來全然一新的改變。可喜的成果促使學校管理層決定,全面將 Mac 整合至各級課程,作為學習工具。

Mac 幫助 Punahou 從預設結構的教學轉為更靈活、自主的教學,讓教師鼓勵學生,發掘興趣,自由選擇。現在,教師們已很少站在課室前講課,他們會提問,會給出清晰指引和要求,讓學生自行達成目標。不論是單獨一人還是以小組為單位,學生都能在 Mac 上進行課題研究,尋找資訊,解答問題。

然而,在 Punahou School 學習,比尋找資訊更重要的,正是如何將資訊化成有趣的作品。有了 Mac、iLife 與 iWork,學生就能向教師、其他學生,甚至在網上展示其學習成果。除了寫論文與測驗考試,學生還會完成精心創作的學習計劃案,以圖像、影片與聲效等多種不同方法呈現。這包括使用 GarageBand 錄製與剪輯歌曲及 podcast;使用 Keynote 製作簡報及作品選輯;使用 iMovie 與 Final Cut Pro 為學校的新聞節目 Punavision 製作影片;甚至使用 Xcode 來製作 iOS app。

因為 Mac 及其應用程式都極簡單易用,又與課程緊密整合,教師與學生得以專注於學習的質素和創意表達,無需費神去琢磨如何使用工具。

「在我的課堂,Mac 絕對不可或缺。」

Punahou School 閱讀、寫作及美國歷史課教師 Sandy Chang

落實

由於試行計劃的成功,順理成章地,Mac 成為 Punahou School 的綜合式教學工具。教職員都親自體驗了在課堂使用 Mac 的優越之處,而一些擔心科技讓孩子變得孤僻的家長,在課堂參觀時見證了 Mac 如何推動學生互相合作和互動後,也很快改變了看法。

然而,由於 Punahou School 是美國最大的私立全班級中小學,學生人數逾 3800 名,學校管理層必需慎重計劃讓全校順利轉移至使用 Mac。學校與教職員、家長及 Apple 攜手合作,制定轉移策略,讓 Mac 手提電腦自然而妥善地整合到各年級課程中。

如今,即使是 Punahou School 中最年幼的一批學生,包括從幼稚園至 3 年級的孩子,在導師督導下,都能學會在課堂及多媒體教室中使用 Mac。4 年級開始,每位對運用 iPhoto、iMovie 和 GarageBand 愈見熟練的學生都會得到一部電腦,可以在校內及家中使用。這樣一來,即使是年紀較輕的學生,亦能迅速掌握各種必備工具的使用要訣,以完成越來越具挑戰性的功課。到學生從 Punahou 畢業時,他們都有能力創製真正讓人讚嘆的學習計劃案。

此外,教師也參加了各種培訓,包括暑期實驗課,以確保他們自己對 Mac 的熟練程度。他們更會互相提供指導,讓 Mac 更好地整合至課程中。至於要進修如 Final Cut Pro 等更複雜應用程式使用技巧的教師與高年級學生,則可參加由學校指定專家負責的特別導修班。

根據校內的小型技術支援團隊報告,Mac 手提電腦顯著地避免了電腦病毒侵擾,其耐用性亦讓大家放心帶着它往返家庭與校園。而由於這些手提電腦均易於使用及維護,大多數學生與教師都能自行解決問題。

Punahou 的技術整合計劃目標之一,就是為學生提供合適的裝置,讓他們能夠把握一切機會積極學習。學校亦引入了 iPod touch,方便開展學生活動,如在野外考察中進行實地測量。在 Punahou,各年級學生都能使用配置精選 app 的 iPad 拓展學習機會:幼稚園學生會使用 iPad 來練習字母與數字;四年級學生能以 iPad 設計和管理虛擬城市;中學生可以進行定位實驗及影片紀實報告;高中生則會創作精彩的音樂與藝術作品。

成果

Punahou School 的管理層、教職員及家長均深信 Mac 改變了整個課程,讓學校長久以來的創新傳統得以延續。它讓教師們成為效率更出眾的教育工作者,亦讓學生更投入,更有能力去表達他們的學習體驗,成效前所未見。

「我不用再站在課室前面,將課本內容寫到黑板上,以及滔滔不絕地講課。」六年級教師 Sandy Chang 表示,「我負責提出問題,學生們就懂得去找答案。只要他們打開 Mac,就找得到各樣知識。這樣學習不單更互動,他們亦會更專心、更有興趣與更主動。」

選用的產品

MacBook Pro

宜於學習的手提電腦,課堂內、外,同樣出色。 進一步了解 MacBook Pro

iPad

革命性的流動裝置,帶來全新教育與學習方式。 進一步了解 iPad

iPod touch

擁有無數專屬 app 的裝置,用以隨時隨地學習,配搭完美。 進一步了解 iPod touch

Apple 提供的強大 App

iTunes U、iMovie、GarageBand、Pages、Numbers、Keynote,這 一系列 app,讓你的課堂充滿創意,更有效率,更免費為每部 iPad 和 Mac 準備就緒。
進一步了解

更多教育案例