The Benetton Group

Fashion forward with iPad.

Benetton is internationally known for its lively fashions and memorable ad campaigns. From the company's headquarters near Venice to the farthest reaches of the fashionable world, Benetton requires reliable, easy-to-use mobile technology that transcends all boundaries of culture and geography. So naturally, they chose iPad.

With a network of 6,000 stores in 120 countries, the Benetton Group — which includes the casual United Colors of Benetton line, the high-style Sisley label, and leisurewear brand Playlife — produces 160 million garments every year. With this amount of production in the works, this fashion giant relies on iPad to better communicate and stay connected.

"When iPad came out, the company was quick to see the device's potential, and decided to adopt it immediately," says Aldo Chiaradia, Benetton's Chief Information Technology Officer. "The ease of use, the attention to detail — these are things you don't see in other devices. Today, our entire sales force and all of our C-level executives and managers use iPad."

iPad makes it simple for Benetton employees to stay connected regardless of their location. "They have Mail, Calendar, Contacts," says Sylvia Re, IT Service Manager. "They have all the documents and information they need traveling around the world. And the information flows in an encrypted and secure way."

Transforming Sales

For Benetton's sales team, iPad changes everything. Before iPad, the company distributed printed catalogs to its sales staff four times per year, 15 days before the launch of each collection. Besides being bulky, expensive, and time-consuming to produce, the hardcopy catalogs couldn't be altered to reflect last-minute design revisions or changes in inventory. And since the printed images couldn't show all the details, Benetton representatives also carried samples of each garment — about 15 pounds (6.8 kilos) of clothing — on sales calls.

Now, Benetton creates a custom iPad catalog app that gives sales staff a lightweight, lightning-fast visual interface and streamlines the entire sales process. Salespeople can quickly navigate through the collections and zoom in on garments for a more detailed view. Products are displayed with complete color accuracy on iPad, and the catalog content can be updated in seconds to reflect changes. As a result, the company saves 60 days per year in preparing its sales materials and is able to adapt instantly to changes.

"With the video resolution and calibrated colors on iPad, we can instantly display things that used to be much harder to show," Chiaradia explains. "People can see and share details of our collection at a speed that would have been unthinkable before."

Another in-house app that Benetton designed for retailers illustrates how the company's clothing can best be placed in stores. "It shows ways to display the collection, and lets you navigate through in 3D," says Re.

In addition to providing valuable business resources on the go, Benetton's iPad apps keep proprietary information secure. "On iPad we have encryption, security, and authentication," says Re. "The applications won't work if the user is not authenticated." Users can easily download and update apps via an in-house app center, she notes: "They can see the versions right in the iPad browser, and just click an icon to download an app."

The Apple iOS SDK includes all the essential resources for easy in-house app development. "We found that it's very easy to write apps and integrate them into our other systems," Chiaradia says.

True Colors on iPad

Color means the world to Benetton — it’s a key component of the company's five-decade international success, a language everyone understands. And with iPad, the company can show its truest, most vivid colors to colleagues and customers around the globe, whether it's corporate communications, images of the latest designs, or retail display materials.

"iPad is a driver for the company to modernize and still maintain its fundamental values," Chiaradia says. "Basically it's a device that allows Benetton to grow."

"We used to think of iPad as a device from the future," Re adds, "but now we practically can't do without it! Our salespeople, our executives — they’d be kind of lost without iPad."

Company Snapshot

  • Founded in 1965
  • Based in Ponzano Veneto, Italy
  • Annual revenues exceed two billion euros
  • www.benetton.com

"We used to think of iPad as a device from the future, but now we practically can't do without it! Our salespeople, our executives — they'd be kind of lost without iPad."

Sylvia Re, IT Service Manager, Benetton Group


"With the video resolution and calibrated colors on iPad, people can see and share details of our collection at a speed that would have been unthinkable before."

Aldo Chiaradia, Chief Information Technology Officer, Benetton Group

More iPad in Business profiles.

Schindler Elevating field service with intelligent tools.

SKF Synchronizing operations on the factory floor.

Network Rail Keeping railways moving safely and reliably.

St John Ambulance Real-time information drives better urgent care.

KOSÉ CorporationCreating a beautiful future with iPad.

Read now

Daiwa House Industry Building trust with iPad.

Read now

MTR Corporation On track with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Eaton Powering business with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

Read now

DucatiFull throttle with iPad.

Read now

PepsiCoDelivering more with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Carmel Kitchen & Wine BarPairing taste and technology.

Read now

CTV NewsThe pocket newsroom.

Read now

Grupo BBVABanking on iPhone and iPad.

Read now

GEReinventing mobility.

Read now

Standard Chartered BankMultinational banking goes mobile.

Read now

EVA AirwaysiPad takes flight.

Read now

The Ottawa HospitalEnhancing bedside manner with iPad.

Read now

Jordan WineryFrom trellis to table with iPad.

Read now

The GoodLife TeamReal estate, real results with iPad.

Read now

United AirlinesCleared for takeoff with iPad.

Read now

St. Louis Urgent CaresiPad makes the rounds with physicians.

Read now

The Benetton GroupFashion forward with iPad.

Read now

MedtronicBetter medicine through iPad.

Read now

Hyatt HotelsHigh touch, high tech.

Read now

Gulliver InternationalUsed car sales go mobile on iPad.

Read now

Benetton 集團

利用 iPad 走在時尚尖端

Benetton 品牌下的繽紛時裝及令人印象深刻的廣告系列,於國際間一直享負盛名。由威尼斯附近的企業總部,以至最遙遠的時裝世界角落,Benetton 都需要可靠又易用的流動裝置,以超越一切文化和地域的界限。而很自然地,他們選擇了 iPad。

Benetton 集團包括 United Colors of Benetton 休閒系列、Sisley 高端品牌及消閒服品牌 Playlife,在全球 120 個國家擁有 6,000 間商店網絡,每年生產達 1.6 億件成衣產品。面對如此龐大的製衣業務,這時裝巨頭需要依賴 iPad 來保持業務上的良好溝通及聯繫。

Benetton 首席資訊科技總監 Aldo Chiaradia 表示:「當 iPad 一推出,我們公司很快便看到這裝置的潛力,並決定立即採用它。」「它既易用,又能兼顧到每個細節,這些都並非其他裝置所能做到。時至今日,我們整個銷售團隊、所有 C 級行政人員及經理們都在使用 iPad。」

iPad 讓 Benetton 的員工們不論身在何處,都能輕鬆地保持聯繫。資訊科技服務經理 Sylvia Re 說:「iPad 配有 Mail、行事曆及聯絡資訊。」「一切所需文件及資訊,都能隨你遊走世界各地,而所有資料數據都以加密及安全的方式傳送。」

銷售方式的蛻變

對於 Benetton 的銷售團隊,iPad 帶來了徹底的改變。在使用 iPad 之前,公司需要向銷售人員每年派發四次產品目錄的印刷本,就是每個全新系列推出前的 15 天。這不但笨重、昂貴及製作耗時,產品目錄印刷本亦不能更改以反映最後的設計修正及存貨轉變。而印刷的圖像亦未能顯示當中的所有細節,Benetton 的代表在進行銷售推介時,更要攜帶上每一件成衣的樣板,重量多達 6.8 千克 (15 磅)。

現在,Benetton 特別製作了 iPad 版的產品目錄應用程式,為銷售人員提供了既輕身又極速的視覺介面,令整個銷售過程更流暢。銷售人員現在可快速瀏覽整個服裝系列,並可放大展示成衣上的每個細節。在 iPad 上,所有產品的色彩顯示絕對精準,而目錄內容的修改都可即時更新。這讓公司每年省下 60 天時間來籌備銷售內容,並能快速應對任何修改。

Chiaradia 解釋:「iPad 的影片解像度及精準色彩,讓我們能輕易地即時展示以往難以表達的東西。所有人都能以超乎想像的速度,來欣賞和分享我們產品系列的詳細內容。」

Benetton 另一個專為零售商而設的內部應用程式,則可展示公司服裝如何於店內放置,以達至最佳效果。Re 說:「它提供了展示產品系列的多種方式,並可透過 3D 圖像瀏覽。」

Benetton 的 iPad 應用程式,不但隨時隨地提供了寶貴的商務資源,同時更能安全保護專利資訊的往來。Re 表示:「在 iPad 上,我們可以使用加密、安全性和驗證等功能。如果用戶不能通過驗證,應用程式就不能執行。」用戶可以透過內部應用程式中心,輕易下載及更新應用程式。她指出:「他們可以直接在 iPad 瀏覽器上看到不同的版本,然後點撃圖示下載應用程式。」

Apple 的 iOS SDK 已包括一切所需資源,輕易地便可開發內部使用的應用程式。Chiaradia 說:「我們發現,開發應用程式並整合到我們的其他系統之中,是十分簡單的事情。」

iPad 展現真我色彩

對於 Benetton 來說,色彩就是一切。色彩,是全人類的共同語言,亦是企業能跨越五個世紀的成功關鍵。透過 iPad,Benetton 可向全球的員工及顧客展示最真實、最繽紛的色彩,不論是企業通訊、最新設計的圖像或零售展示內容等。

Chiaradia 說:「iPad 成為了企業現代化的推動力,同時亦保存了我們的核心價值。基本上,這裝置就是讓 Benetton 能持續成長。」

Re 亦說:「以往我們會把 iPad 視為遙不可及的裝置,但今天我們運作上根本不能缺少它!我們的銷售和行政人員如果沒有 iPad 在手,一定會感到若有所失。」

公司概況

  • 創立於 1965 年
  • 總部位於意大利 Ponzano Veneto
  • 每年營業額超過 20 億歐元
  • www.benetton.com

「以往我們會把 iPad 視為遙不可及的裝置,但今天我們運作上根本不能缺少它!我們的銷售和行政人員如果沒有 iPad 在手,一定會感到若有所失。」

Benetton 集團資訊科技服務經理 Sylvia Re


「iPad 帶來的影片解像度及精準色彩,讓所有人都能以超乎想像的速度,來欣賞和分享我們產品系列的詳細內容。」

Benetton 集團首席資訊科技總監
Aldo Chiaradia

更多 iPad 的商務應用案例

Schindler 運用智能工具,提升工地服務。

SKF 營運同步,深化至廠房之中。

Network Rail 帶來更安全、可靠的鐵路服務。

St John Ambulance 實時資訊,推動更佳緊急救護。

KOSÉ Corporation與 iPad 攜手,化出漂亮未來。

立即閱讀

Daiwa House Industry 以 iPad 築起信任。

立即閱讀

香港鐵路有限公司 與 iPhone 和 iPad 沿途合拍。

立即閱讀

Eaton 用 iPad 和 iPhone 驅動業務。

立即閱讀

The Procter & Gamble Company 與 iPhone 和 iPad 創新每一天。

立即閱讀

Sonic Automotive用 iPhone 和 iPad 驅動增長。

立即閱讀

Mayo Clinic推動醫療業流動化。

立即閱讀

DucatiiPad 得力,全速發展。

立即閱讀

百事公司利用 iPhone 和 iPad,達致更多
可能。

立即閱讀

Carmel Kitchen & Wine Bar配對品味與科技。

立即閱讀

CTV News以 iPhone 和 iPad 進行流動 HD 新聞報導。

立即閱讀

Gulliver InternationaliPad 開創二手車流動銷售的時代。

立即閱讀

The Ottawa Hospital 利用 iPad 提升醫生對病人的
護理。

立即閱讀

Jordan Winery從葡萄棚到餐桌,一路用 iPad。

立即閱讀

GoodLife Team成家成交,iPad 見真章。

立即閱讀

長榮航空 iPad 邁向天際。

立即閱讀

Grupo BBVA 利用 iPhone 及 iPad 處理銀行
事務。

立即閱讀

聯合航空iPad 成就寫意飛翔。

立即閱讀

St. Louis Urgent CaresiPad 與醫生巡診,合作無間。

立即閱讀

Benetton 集團利用 iPad 走在時尚尖端。

立即閱讀

GE 流動性的重新定義。

立即閱讀

渣打銀行 跨國銀行邁向流動領域。

立即閱讀

Hyatt Hotels 尊貴品味、尖端科技。

立即閱讀

Medtronic 透過 iPad 提供更優秀的醫療
服務。

立即閱讀

Jackson Kayak iPad 和 iPhone 快速帶來成果。

立即閱讀

Redlands 警察局 使用 iPhone 和 iPad 執勤。

立即閱讀

RC Auto 以 iPad 提升汽車選購體驗。

立即閱讀

Crank Sports iPad 遙遙領先。

立即閱讀

RehabCare 利用 iPhone 和 iPad 提供重症
後期照料。

立即閱讀

Dr. Ferencz iPad 推進數碼牙醫的發展。

立即閱讀

charity: water 當人道任務遇上創新科技。

立即閱讀