Hyatt Hotels & Resorts

Enhancing guest services globally with iPad.

For over 50 years, Hyatt Hotels & Resorts have aimed to make guests feel more than welcome by providing amenities and services that meet their needs as quickly and directly as possible. With iPad, Hyatt now has the ideal platform to deliver the kind of seamless guest services the company prides itself on — not to mention a powerful, portable business tool for executives in Hyatt’s corporate headquarters.

“We’re all about home away from home,” says John Prusnick, Director of IT Innovation & Strategy for Hyatt Hotels & Resorts. “We’re also all about ‘high touch,’ meaning the interaction with the guest. We’re enabling that with iPad. The combination of the two has been very powerful for us to reach that operational vision.”

From Hyatt’s Chicago headquarters to individual properties throughout the world, iPad is changing the way this hotel empire does business. Features like instant-on power, fast Internet access, and a large, easy-to-use onscreen keyboard make iPad a valuable contributor in meetings — and many Hyatt executives now take iPads on business trips in place of laptops.

With iPad, Hyatt managers have an immediate, full-size view of their email, contacts, calendars, financial data, and other business resources wherever they are. “You can write up notes during a meeting, automatically make a PDF, and email it,” says John Wallis, Hyatt Hotels Corporation’s Global Head, Marketing & Brand Strategy. “In our office, iPad has already become part and parcel of the way we do business.”

“I don’t carry my diary anymore,” adds Harmit Singh, Hyatt Hotels Corporation’s Chief Financial Officer. “I don’t carry a calculator. I used to subscribe to all the journals: the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times. That’s all disappeared. It’s all on iPad."

Boardroom to Guest Room

With hundreds of iPads already in employees’ hands and thousands more in the works, Hyatt keeps finding new ways to use iPad to streamline operations. Plans are now underway to deploy iPad throughout the organization, enhancing everything from registration to in-room services.

“We’re looking at ways to make things simpler for business travelers,” Singh says. “Making check-in easier after a flight or a long day’s work, making it easy to access the Internet.”

When guests walk into Hyatt’s boutique-style Andaz hotels, they’ll be greeted by hotel staff with iPads. “We can swipe your credit card, capture your signature, and check you into the hotel,” Prusnick explains. “We even have the ability on iPad to encode your key so you can go directly into your room.”

Hyatt is also developing iPad-accessible apps that allow guests to order room service, view hotel amenities, review charges, and check out. “Business travelers are bringing their own iPads on trips,” says Prusnick. “We want to enhance their experience and allow them to manage their stay, leveraging iPad.”

Guest Services Go Mobile

The portability, large screen, and long battery life of iPad make it uniquely suited to the round-the-clock, perpetual-motion world of hospitality. “Imagine a large convention center hotel where there are 1000 people wanting to check out,” says Prusnick. “Now we’re able to empower hotel staff with iPads and allow them to quickly and easily check out guests.”

iPad is also a natural fit for the concierge staff, he notes: “They’re showing guests how to get to restaurants or the theater, and showing them the capabilities of the hotel. If guests want to see what the spa looks like or book a golf tee time, they use iPad.”

And for Hyatt’s sales team, iPad has been transformative. Rather than carrying bulky portfolios, they can show potential clients crisp digital images on iPad, or even display videos of property highlights. “It’s a great tool to sell the hotel,” Wallis says. “Especially in this industry, where you’ve got to show bedrooms, banquet space, all the things we have to offer guests.”

Secure and Simple

For the IT staff, supporting iPad has been a straightforward process requiring no formal user training. Using the same infrastructure and messaging platform Hyatt has already established for iPhone, users simply enter their account information and immediately begin using the device.

“We use Lotus Traveler as the core platform to integrate with our messaging collaboration system, Lotus Notes — and users have full access to our VPN infrastructure,” says Prusnick. “Through the Exchange ActiveSync technology enabled within iPad, we’re able to get instant synchronization of mail, contacts, and calendars without any IT involvement.”

Another non-issue is security. “Hyatt is confident that iPad meets security requirements,” Prusnick states. “It’s fast, it’s secure, and it’s easy to use. iPad has integrated Cisco IPsec, so we can securely authenticate users into the environment.”

Up and Running

Once the devices are activated, users can expand the capabilities of their iPads by downloading business apps such as Keynote, Documents To Go, and Dropbox from the App Store. “With the App Store and the iOS platform, users can find and implement their own solutions without IT intervention,” says Prusnick.

From Hyatt’s headquarters to individual properties throughout the world, iPad is changing the way this company does business. “With iPad, the interaction between the guest and ourselves is now seamless,” Wallis says. “iPad has changed our world forever.”

Company Snapshot

  • Founded in 1957
  • 445 hotels in 45 countries
  • More than 80,000 associates worldwide
  • Eight brands, including Hyatt Regency, Hyatt Summerfield Suites, and Andaz
  • www.hyatt.com

“Mobilizing hotel staff with iPad lets them get out from behind the desk and in front of the guests.”

John Prusnick, Director of IT Innovation & Strategy, Hyatt Hotels & Resorts


“You can write up notes during a meeting, automatically make a PDF, and email it. In our office, iPad has already become part and parcel of the way we do business.”

John Wallis, Global Head, Marketing & Brand Strategy, Hyatt Hotels Corporation


“Hyatt is confident that our deployment of iPad meets security requirements. It’s fast, it’s secure, and it’s easy to use.”

John Prusnick, Director of IT Innovation & Strategy, Hyatt Hotels & Resorts

More iPad in Business profiles.

Schindler Elevating field service with intelligent tools.

SKF Synchronizing operations on the factory floor.

Network Rail Keeping railways moving safely and reliably.

St John Ambulance Real-time information drives better urgent care.

KOSÉ CorporationCreating a beautiful future with iPad.

Read now

Daiwa House Industry Building trust with iPad.

Read now

MTR Corporation On track with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Eaton Powering business with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

Read now

DucatiFull throttle with iPad.

Read now

PepsiCoDelivering more with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Carmel Kitchen & Wine BarPairing taste and technology.

Read now

CTV NewsThe pocket newsroom.

Read now

Grupo BBVABanking on iPhone and iPad.

Read now

GEReinventing mobility.

Read now

Standard Chartered BankMultinational banking goes mobile.

Read now

EVA AirwaysiPad takes flight.

Read now

The Ottawa HospitalEnhancing bedside manner with iPad.

Read now

Jordan WineryFrom trellis to table with iPad.

Read now

The GoodLife TeamReal estate, real results with iPad.

Read now

United AirlinesCleared for takeoff with iPad.

Read now

St. Louis Urgent CaresiPad makes the rounds with physicians.

Read now

The Benetton GroupFashion forward with iPad.

Read now

MedtronicBetter medicine through iPad.

Read now

Hyatt HotelsHigh touch, high tech.

Read now

Gulliver InternationalUsed car sales go mobile on iPad.

Read now

利用 iPad 提升全球賓客服務

50 多年來,Hyatt Hotels & Resorts 一直致力讓賓客感到賓至如歸,時刻直接快捷地提供各種設施和服務以滿足賓客需求。iPad 讓 Hyatt 擁有一個理想的平台,為賓客提供頂級服務。此外, iPad 亦成為了 Hyatt 總部的行政人員功能強大的便攜式商務工具。

“我們致力讓入住的賓客擁有回家的感覺”,Hyatt Hotels & Resorts 創新資訊科技和策略總監 John Prusnick 表示。“我們亦提供 ‘高雅接觸 high touch’,即是與賓客的互動。我們使用 iPad 去實踐這一點。兩者的結合非常有效,讓我們達到長遠的業務目標。”

從 Hyatt 芝加哥總部至全球各個設施, iPad 正在改變這個酒店王國的營運模式。iPad 的強效功能,如即時開關、快速網路連線和寬大易用的屏幕鍵盤,使它成為會議中重要的工具。而許多 Hyatt 行政人員現在出差時只攜帶 iPad,取替一向使用的手提電腦。

iPad 讓凱悅管理層無論身在何處,都能以全屏幕即時檢視電郵、聯絡資訊、行事曆、財務數據和其他商務資訊。“你可在會議期間記筆記,自動轉檔為 PDF,然後以電郵發送出去”,Hyatt Hotels Corporation 市場推廣及品牌策略全球總監 John Wallis 表示。“在我們的辦公室裡,iPad 已經成為了我們業務運作中不可或缺的一部分。”

“我已再沒有使用記事簿了”,Hyatt Hotels Corporation 財務總監 Harmit Singh 續說。“我亦不需再攜帶計算機。過往我訂閱許多的報紙,如華爾街日報、金融時報。現在都不用了,一切盡在 iPad 上。”

從會議室到客房

Hyatt 的數百名員工已經擁有 iPad,而未來將增加至數千部,他們一直尋求新方法讓 iPad 使業務運作更流暢。他們亦正計劃在整個企業中使用 iPad 以增強各方面的運作,包括入住登記以至客房服務。

“我們不斷尋找方法簡化各種程序,讓商務旅客能輕易辦妥一切”,Singh 說。“簡化入住登記手續和連接網路程序,讓賓客在長途機或一天忙碌工作後輕易辦妥一切。”

當賓客走進 Hyatt 的精品酒店 Andaz,酒店員工將會手持 iPad 向他們打招呼。“我們能使用 iPad 替你刷卡,錄下你的簽名並替你辦好入住手續”, Prusnick 解釋道。“我們更能使用 iPad 為你的鑰匙編碼,讓你能直接進入房間。”

Hyatt 正在開發 iPad 應用程式,讓賓客能點客房送餐服務、查看酒店用品、查閱賬單和退房。“商務旅客也攜帶他們的 iPad 出差”,Prusnick 表示。“我們希望賓客能透過 iPad 掌握更多,並提升他們的入住體驗。”

流動賓客服務

iPad 輕便易攜,屏幕寬闊且電池壽命長,使它與不分晝夜、時刻轉變的服務業成為最佳伙伴。 Prusnick 說:“試想像在一家傳統的酒店內有上千人需要退房。現在,我們的酒店員工可使用 iPad 替賓客簡易快速地辦理退房手續。”

iPad 亦與禮賓部員工合作無間,他表示:“禮賓部員工使用 iPad 向賓客展示如何前往餐廳或電影院,及酒店的各項設施。如賓客想看看水療的模樣或預約高爾夫球開場時間,員工也可使用 iPad 辦妥。”

而對 Hyatt 的營銷團隊來說,iPad 改變了一切。他們再不用攜帶大量笨重的文件,他們可利用 iPad 向客戶展示漂亮的數碼照片或精選設施的影片。Wallis 表示:“iPad 是推廣酒店的出色工具。特別是這個行業,我們需要向客戶展示酒店房間、宴會廳及所有設施的照片。”

簡單安全

對資訊科技人員來說,支援 iPad 簡單直接,且毋須接受正式的使用者培訓。使用者只需使用 Hyatt 已建立的 iPhone 平台,輸入他們的帳戶資料,然後便可立刻使用 iPad。

“我們使用 Lotus Traveler 作為核心平台,結合我們的訊息系統,讓使用者可全面地使用我們的 VPN 基礎設施。透過 iPad 附設的 Exchange ActiveSync 技術,我們可以即時同步電郵、聯絡資訊和行事曆,過程中並不需要資訊科技人員的協助。” Prusnick 說道。

保安也不成問題。Prusnick 表示:“Hyatt 有信心 iPad 能符合安全要求。它快速、安全,而且容易使用。iPad 整合了 Cisco IPsec,讓我們可以安全地驗證使用者,以讓他們進入系統。”

運作順暢

裝置一經啟用,使用者便可在 App Store 下載商務應用程式,如 Keynote、Documents To Go、Dropbox 等來擴充其 iPad 的功能。Prusnick 說: “有了 App Store 和 iOS 平台,使用者不必資訊科技人員介入亦可以找到及運用他們自己的解決方案。”

從 Hyatt 總部到世界各地的個別設施,iPad 都在改變這家公司的營運模式。Wallis 說:“iPad 讓我們與客戶的互動變得緊密。iPad 改變了我們的世界。”

公司概況

  • 於 1957 年創立
  • 在 45 個國家擁有 445 家酒店
  • 全球擁有超過 80,000 員工
  • 旗下 8 個品牌,包括 Hyatt Regency、Hyatt Summerfield Suites 和 Andaz
  • www.hyatt.com

“使用 iPad 能賦予酒店員工動力,讓他們能走出櫃台,直接走到賓客面前提供服務。”

Hyatt Hotels & Resorts 創新資訊科技和策略總監 John Prusnick


“你可在會議期間記筆記,自動轉檔為 PDF,然後以電郵發送出去,在我們的辦公室裡,
iPad 已經成為了我們業務運作中不可或缺的一部分。”

Hyatt Hotels Corporation 市場推廣及品牌策略全球總監 John Wallis


“Hyatt 有信心 iPad 能符合安全要求。它快速、安全,而且容易使用。”

Hyatt Hotels & Resorts 創新資訊科技和策略總監 John Prusnick

更多 iPad 的商務應用案例

Schindler 運用智能工具,提升工地服務。

SKF 營運同步,深化至廠房之中。

Network Rail 帶來更安全、可靠的鐵路服務。

St John Ambulance 實時資訊,推動更佳緊急救護。

KOSÉ Corporation與 iPad 攜手,化出漂亮未來。

立即閱讀

Daiwa House Industry 以 iPad 築起信任。

立即閱讀

香港鐵路有限公司 與 iPhone 和 iPad 沿途合拍。

立即閱讀

Eaton 用 iPad 和 iPhone 驅動業務。

立即閱讀

The Procter & Gamble Company 與 iPhone 和 iPad 創新每一天。

立即閱讀

Sonic Automotive用 iPhone 和 iPad 驅動增長。

立即閱讀

Mayo Clinic推動醫療業流動化。

立即閱讀

DucatiiPad 得力,全速發展。

立即閱讀

百事公司利用 iPhone 和 iPad,達致更多
可能。

立即閱讀

Carmel Kitchen & Wine Bar配對品味與科技。

立即閱讀

CTV News以 iPhone 和 iPad 進行流動 HD 新聞報導。

立即閱讀

Gulliver InternationaliPad 開創二手車流動銷售的時代。

立即閱讀

The Ottawa Hospital 利用 iPad 提升醫生對病人的
護理。

立即閱讀

Jordan Winery從葡萄棚到餐桌,一路用 iPad。

立即閱讀

GoodLife Team成家成交,iPad 見真章。

立即閱讀

長榮航空 iPad 邁向天際。

立即閱讀

Grupo BBVA 利用 iPhone 及 iPad 處理銀行
事務。

立即閱讀

聯合航空iPad 成就寫意飛翔。

立即閱讀

St. Louis Urgent CaresiPad 與醫生巡診,合作無間。

立即閱讀

Benetton 集團利用 iPad 走在時尚尖端。

立即閱讀

GE 流動性的重新定義。

立即閱讀

渣打銀行 跨國銀行邁向流動領域。

立即閱讀

Hyatt Hotels 尊貴品味、尖端科技。

立即閱讀

Medtronic 透過 iPad 提供更優秀的醫療
服務。

立即閱讀

Jackson Kayak iPad 和 iPhone 快速帶來成果。

立即閱讀

Redlands 警察局 使用 iPhone 和 iPad 執勤。

立即閱讀

RC Auto 以 iPad 提升汽車選購體驗。

立即閱讀

Crank Sports iPad 遙遙領先。

立即閱讀

RehabCare 利用 iPhone 和 iPad 提供重症
後期照料。

立即閱讀

Dr. Ferencz iPad 推進數碼牙醫的發展。

立即閱讀

charity: water 當人道任務遇上創新科技。

立即閱讀