Empowering Workers

Preparing people for the workplace and beyond.

Students attend a class about zero waste initiatives in Shenzhen, China.

On-the-job training should begin with understanding one’s rights.

Since 2008, our suppliers have trained over 9.25 million workers to understand local laws, health and safety regulations, and the Apple Code of Conduct. We require factory supervisors to uphold appropriate employment policies and maintain a safe workplace, and we teach them how to better communicate with workers.

Participation in Workers’ Rights Training
Year Cumulative participation Annual participation
2007 2K 2K
2008 29K 27K
2009 157K 128K
2010 329K 172K
2011 1.02M 700K
2012 2.3M 1.3M
2013 3.8M 1.5M
2014 6.2M 2.3M
2015 9.25M 3.05M
A SEED iPad class in Shenzhen, China.

It’s about more than jobs. It’s about opportunities.

We want workers to be successful in our factories, but we also want to help them explore new opportunities. That’s why we developed the Supplier Employee Education and Development (SEED) program. We set up classrooms in supplier facilities where workers can take free courses in subjects as diverse as computer skills, graphic design, English, and human resources management. Each classroom is equipped with Mac computers and video conferencing capabilities, and we provide iPad devices loaded with classes similar to those offered through SEED. We also offer short courses and quizzes on mobile devices related to job function, life skills, and financial literacy. This year, many SEED participants earned bachelor’s or associate’s degrees in partnership with local universities.

Case Study

Carl Yang turns a job into a career.

Soon after Carl Yang graduated from junior vocational school, he started working as a material operator in the Jabil Suzhou factory. After three years of working on the production line, he was ready for a new challenge. Then one day he saw a notice for the SEED program and applied for the human resources management program, a field that had interested him for a long time.

Carl helps a SEED instructor prepare for class.

Over the next nine months, Carl attended human resources classes. He devoted his spare time to his studies until he earned his high school diploma specializing in human resources. He did so well in the course interviews and performance assessments that he earned a position on the HR team as a SEED administrator.

In his new role, Carl provides technical support on classroom iPad devices and iMac computers and course guidance to workers entering the SEED program. And driven by a newfound passion for his work, he continues to take courses to further his own education. Carl is on his way to earning a bachelor’s degree in business management.

Carl helps workers with their homework.

Raising the standard of education.

After their primary education, many students in China attend vocational schools. To help make sure these schools are teaching students the skills they need to succeed, we created a school credentialing system in partnership with local government, Dell Inc., and Stanford University’s Rural Education Action Program (REAP).

While Apple’s supply chain includes only a small percentage of interns from these schools, results measured in 2015 suggest that the system leads to an increase in students’ skills and a decrease in dropout rates.

Students in Henan Province, China, complete an assessment administered by REAP to evaluate their vocational training school.

Progress Report

Download this year’s progress report, read a letter from Apple Chief Operating Officer Jeff Williams, and view reports from previous years. Learn more

工人教育與發展

幫助工人應付現有工作與未來發展

在中國深圳,學生正參與零廢料計劃的課程。

了解自身權益,
在職培訓第一步。

自 2008 年起,我們的供應商已為超過 925 萬名工人提供培訓,讓他們了解當地法例、健康與安全規定,以及《Apple 供應商行為守則》。我們要求工廠管理人員謹守適當的僱用政策和維護安全的工作環境,並教導他們如何以最佳方式與工人溝通。

工人權益培訓參與情況
年份 累積參與人數 年度參與人數
2007 0.2 萬 0.2 萬
2008 2.9 萬 2.7 萬
2009 15.7 萬 12.8 萬
2010 32.9 萬 17.2 萬
2011 102 萬 70 萬
2012 230 萬 130 萬
2013 380 萬 150 萬
2014 620 萬 230 萬
2015 925 萬 305 萬
SEED 計劃在中國深圳開辦的一個 iPad 課程。

不只關乎工作,
更關乎發展機會。

我們希望工人能在我們的工廠內有好表現,同時也希望幫助他們發掘新機會,因此我們推出供應商員工教育與發展 (SEED) 計劃。我們在供應商廠房內設立教室,讓工人可以參與內容廣泛的免費課程,包括電腦技術、圖像設計、英語和人力資源管理等。每個教室都配備了 Mac 和可進行視像會議,而我們更提供已載入課程的 iPad,課程內容與 SEED 計劃提供的相似。我們也在流動裝置上,提供其他與職務、生活技能和財務知識相關的簡短課程和小測驗。透過與當地大學合作,今年有多位 SEED 計劃的參加者已取得學士或副學士學位。

個案研究

將工作變成事業的
楊傳貞 (Carl Yang)

楊傳貞 (Carl Yang) 從職業學校初中畢業後,就開始在蘇州捷普集團的工廠中擔任物料操作員。在生產線上工作了三年之後,他已經準備好接受新的挑戰。有一天,他留意到 SEED 計劃的告示,決定申請參加他一直相當感興趣的人力資源管理課程。

Carl 正協助 SEED 講師備課。

在接下來的九個月裡,Carl 參加了人力資源課程。他利用公餘時間努力學習,直至他取得了人力資源專門課程的高中文憑學歷。由於他在課程面試與表現評估中取得優異成績,令他得以加入人力資源團隊,成為 SEED 管理人員。

Carl 的新職責是為教室裡的 iPad 裝置和 iMac 電腦提供技術支援,並為其他參加 SEED 計劃的工人提供課程指引。而且,在這份新工作的激勵下,他亦有繼續參加其他課程,不斷進修。目前,Carl 正攻讀工商管理學士學位。

Carl 為其他工人提供功課輔導。

提升教育水平

在完成小學教育後,不少中國學生選擇就讀職業學校。為確保這些學校能教導學生成功所需的技能,我們與地方政府、Dell Inc. 和史丹福大學的農村教育行動計劃 (Rural Education Action Program, REAP) 一同合作,創製了一套學校資格審查制度。

雖然 Apple 的供應鏈中只有少數實習生來自這些學校,但根據 2015 年的評估結果顯示,此制度能提升學生的技能,同時減低輟學率。

一批中國湖南省的學生,正參與由 REAP 計劃舉辦的評核試,以作為評估其就讀職業訓練學校水平之用。

進度報告

下載本年度的進度報告,閱讀來自 Apple 營運總監 Jeff Williams 的公開信,以及查看歷年來的報告。進一步了解