iPad en entreprise

McClendon's Select

Une activité saine et florissante avec l'iPad.

L'intérêt croissant des consommateurs pour une alimentation saine et des produits locaux s'est traduit par une augmentation de la demande de produits et de fruits et légumes biologiques. Une véritable aubaine pour la ferme familiale McClendon's Select, certifiée bio. Basée en Arizona, cette exploitation s'appuie sur l'iPad à chaque étape de son activité : culture, récolte, prise de commandes, chargement des camions, livraison aux restaurants et vente de produits sur les marchés de producteurs.

"L'iPad nous est vraiment indispensable", explique Sean McClendon, copropriétaire et fils du fondateur Bob McClendon, qui a démarré l'exploitation il y a 36 ans. "Sans lui, nous ne pourrions parvenir aux résultats atteints aujourd'hui. L'iPad a révolutionné notre façon de travailler."

L'iPad, clé des champs

Sean McClendon utilise un tracteur pour labourer les champs en vue de la saison des primeurs, tout comme le faisait autrefois son père. Mais l'iPad lui permet d'atteindre un niveau d'efficacité inaccessible par le passé. Sur son tracteur, il utilise une caméra sans fil pour veiller à ce que les sillons soient aussi droits que possible. L'app mydlink Lite sur son iPad lui permet de le vérifier tout en labourant.

"En suivant les images sur iPad, nous sommes en mesure de créer des sillons d'une précision au centimètre près pour optimiser nos surfaces cultivables, sans gâcher le moindre centimètre carré de terre."

Lorsque l'agriculteur rencontre un problème sur le terrain, il peut désormais le résoudre sur place. Grâce à FaceTime et à la caméra intégrée de son iPad, il se contente d'orienter son iPad pour montrer à son père de quoi il est question. "Je peux contacter mon père où qu'il soit et lui peut m'aider à diagnostiquer le problème", explique Sean McClendon.

Il s'est également aperçu que l'iPad était d'une valeur inestimable pour communiquer avec des restaurateurs locaux qui, selon ses dires, sont "très, très pointilleux sur les produits qu'ils utilisent". "Il arrive que des chefs veuillent voir le produit sur pied. À l'aide de l'appareil photo de l'iPad, je peux prendre une photo et la leur envoyer instantanément par e-mail afin qu'ils puissent voir exactement ce qui leur sera livré le jour suivant."

La précision est essentielle pour la responsable des plantations de la ferme, qui n'a plus besoin de quitter le champ pour effectuer le traçage nécessaire au maintien d'une certification biologique. Grâce à la connexion 3G de son iPad, elle peut accéder au système web de gestion COG Pro pour actualiser ses enregistrements concernant le type de semences utilisées, ainsi que le jour et le lieu où celles-ci ont été plantées. "Avoir une certification bio, précise Bob McClendon, cela signifie que le consommateur est assuré de disposer d'un produit frais, non contaminé par des pesticides et des produits chimiques de synthèse."

Gestion des stocks en temps réel, fait maison

Avant que McClendon's Select n'entre dans l'ère numérique, les commandes étaient inscrites à la main sur un tableau blanc, se rappelle Sean. Ce processus s'est révélé lourd et source d'erreurs, et ces erreurs affectaient le bilan.

Désormais, chaque employé prend un iPad à son arrivée au travail le matin et utilise une app propriétaire appelée Picker Entry. Les employés génèrent ainsi une liste de produits à récolter dans les champs, à partir des commandes passées par les clients restaurateurs et particuliers. Puis, à l'aide de la technologie AirPrint intégrée à l'iPad, ils impriment sans fil leurs commandes et se rendent dans les champs pour y récolter les produits demandés.

Sean McClendon explique ce qui se passe lorsque les employés reviennent des champs : "Avec l'iPad, ils intègrent à l'inventaire ce qu'ils ont récolté. C'est de la gestion des stocks en temps réel. En fait, ils voient à l'écran le nom de tous les restaurants, touchent celui qui les intéresse et remplissent les commandes directement de l'iPad."

Lorsque les employés chargent sur les camions le contenu de ces commandes en vue de leur livraison, Picker Entry sur iPad remplace un processus manuel qui prenait auparavant entre 30 et 45 minutes. "D'un simple toucher, précise le maraîcher, ils sont en mesure de générer un rapport qui leur indique où placer chaque colis dans le camion, pour la livraison aux restaurants."

"Les restaurateurs de la région nous disent que l'une des raisons principales qui les amènent à utiliser nos services est la précision de notre système de commandes", ajoute-t-il.

Les trois voies d'une croissance vraiment bio

La gestion des stocks en temps réel joue également un rôle déterminant dans les ventes de McClendon's Select sur les marchés de producteurs locaux. Auparavant, Sean et ses employés passaient des heures à faire l'inventaire à la fin de chaque journée. Mais, comme il l'explique, l'iPad a tout changé : "En collaborant avec notre développeur de logiciels, j'ai pu créer une app qui nous permet de vérifier tout notre inventaire sur le marché en une vingtaine de minutes. Nous pouvons générer un rapport qui nous indique quels produits ont été intégralement vendus et en combien de temps, afin de pouvoir augmenter les quantités sur le marché suivant."

Le producteur a également réduit l'attente en caisse, augmenté les ventes et servi un plus grand nombre de clients en remplaçant l'unique terminal de carte de crédit par l'activation de transactions sur iPad, à l'aide de l'app Square. "Au lieu de se partager un unique terminal, tous nos caissiers présents sur le marché peuvent effectuer des transactions de carte de crédit. Désormais, nos files d'attente aux caisses avancent beaucoup plus vite, pour la plus grande satisfaction de nos clients."

Anticiper les caprices du temps

Pour honorer toutes ces commandes émanant des particuliers et des restaurateurs et préparer les marchés de producteurs, les McClendon et leurs employés passent le plus clair de leur temps dans les champs. Si, par le passé, les agriculteurs devaient scruter les cieux ou écouter les prévisions météo sur une radio de mauvaise qualité, la famille McClendon s'en remet aujourd'hui à un suivi météo sur iPad.

Comme l'explique Sean, "l'app WeatherLink nous permet d'accéder à nos stations météo sur l'exploitation et de voir l'impact qu'aura chaque zone climatique, que ce soit dans les serres ou dans les champs. Le tout, en temps réel."

"Si un orage s'annonce, ajoute-t-il, nous devons savoir quelle sera son évolution, car celle-ci aura un effet sur l'organisation de notre travail et sur nos récoltes. Nous utilisons les apps AccuWeather et Weather Channel pour examiner en direct des images satellite des phénomènes météo en cours pour voir s'il faut rentrer ou non. Et nous consultons les prévisions pour tout planifier à l'avance."

Une révolution culturelle et commerciale

McClendon's Select a été fondée à l'époque prénumérique, mais Bob assure que ni lui ni ses employés n'ont eu la moindre difficulté à adopter ces nouveaux processus : "En quelques minutes, littéralement, tout le monde a été au point et capable d'exploiter à fond l'iPad dans son travail quotidien. Et certains de nos employés n'avaient jamais vu de leur vie un appareil iOS."

"L'iPad a permis à notre activité de croître au-delà de nos attentes les plus folles", conclut son fils.

L'entreprise en bref

  • Fondée en 1975
  • Basée à Peoria, en Arizona
  • 20 salariés
  • L'iPad joue un rôle crucial à tous points de vue : de la récolte à la vente de produits aux restaurateurs, en passant par la vente sur les marchés de producteurs locaux.
  • www.selectorganics.com/

"L'iPad est vraiment indispensable à notre activité. Sans lui, nous ne pourrions parvenir aux résultats atteints aujourd'hui."

Sean McClendon, copropriétaire,
McClendon's Select


"L'iPad a révolutionné notre façon de travailler.''

Sean McClendon, copropriétaire,
McClendon's Select

McClendon's Select

Growing a better business with iPad.

Consumers’ increased focus on healthy eating and locally-sourced products has led to more demand for organic fruit and produce. That’s been a boon for certified organic family-run farm McClendon’s Select, a Peoria-based business that relies on iPad for each stage of its operation: planting fields, picking crops, filling orders, loading trucks, making deliveries to restaurants, and selling products at farmers’ markets.

“The iPad is really indispensable to our operation,” says Sean McClendon, co-owner and son of founder Bob McClendon, who started the business 36 years ago. “We couldn’t do the level of business we do today without it. The iPad has revolutionized the way we do business.”

In the Field With iPad

Sean uses a tractor to plow the fields in preparation for McClendon’s prime growing season, just like his father once did, but iPad helps him achieve a level of efficiency that wasn’t possible in the past. He uses a wireless camera on his tractor to ensure crop rows are as straight as possible; the mydlink Lite app on his iPad lets him watch the footage as he plows.

He explains: “By following the images on the iPad, we’re able to create rows with sub-inch accuracy, and we can maximize our growing areas and not waste a single inch of ground.”

Any time Sean encounters a problem in the field, he doesn’t need to leave the spot where he’s standing to solve it. Thanks to FaceTime and the built-in camera on his iPad, he simply points the iPad to show his father what he’s talking about. “I can connect with my dad no matter where he is and he’s able to assist in diagnosing the problem,” Sean says.

He’s also found the iPad to be invaluable when communicating with local chefs, who he says are “very, very picky about what ingredients they use.” Sean explains: “Sometimes chefs want to see the product that we have out in the field and by using the camera in the iPad, I’m able to take a picture and email it to them instantly so they can see exactly what they’re going to be getting the next day.”

Accuracy is key for the farm’s planting manager, who no longer needs to leave the field to handle the careful record-keeping required to maintain an organic certification. Thanks to the 3G connection on her iPad, she can access the web-based COG Pro management system to update her records of seed types and where and when they’re planted. “Being certified organic means the consumer can be assured of having fresh fruit and produce that is not contaminated with pesticides and synthetic chemicals,” Bob explains.

Home-Grown Real-Time Inventory Management

Before McClendon’s Select stepped into the digital age, orders were handwritten on a white board, Sean recalls. That proved to be a cumbersome process fraught with errors, and those errors affected their bottom line.

Now each employee grabs an iPad when he arrives for work in the morning and uses a proprietary app called Picker Entry. Employees generate a list of products to collect in the field based on online orders placed by restaurants and consumers. Then using AirPrint technology in the iPad, they wirelessly print their orders and head out to the field to pick product.

Sean explains what happens after employees return from the field: “They come in and add inventory that they picked using iPad. It’s real-time inventory management. They actually see all of the restaurants on the screen, tap the restaurant name, and they’re able to fill the orders right from iPad.”

When employees load those orders on trucks for deliveries, Picker Entry on iPad replaces a manual process that used to take 30 to 45 minutes. Sean says: “With a single tap, they are actually able to generate a report and it tells them where each box goes on the truck for restaurant deliveries.”

He adds: “We hear from our local restaurants that one of the main reasons that they use us is because of our order accuracy.”

Three Ways to More Organic Sales Growth

Real-time inventory management also plays a key role when McClendon’s Select sells their product at local farmers’ markets. Sean and his employees used to spend hours doing inventory at the end of each day, but iPad has changed that, as he explains: “By working with our software developer I was able to create an app that allowed us to check all of our inventory at the market within 20 minutes. We can run a report and tell us what we sold out of and what time we sold out of that product, so the next farmers’ market we’ll actually be able to increase that quantity so we can sell more.”

Sean has also reduced check-out lines, increased sales, and served more customers by eliminating their single credit card machine and enabling credit-card transactions on their iPads using the Square app. “Instead of just sharing one credit card machine, all of our cashiers at the farmers’ market can process credit cards. Now our checkout lines move much more quickly and our customers are happier.”

Weathering Any Situation

Filling all those customer and restaurant orders and preparing for farmers’ markets means Sean, Bob, and their employees spend a lot of time in the field. Whereas farmers in the past had to rely on watching the skies or listening to a static-filled radio broadcast for weather information, the McClendon family today turns to weather tracking on the iPad.

Sean explains: “The WeatherLink app, allows us to access our weather stations at the farm so we can see what each climate zone is doing, whether it’s inside one of our greenhouses or out in the field, and it’s all real-time information.”

He adds: “If we have a storm come in, we need to know what that storm is doing because it affects how we do our jobs, and it affects our crops. We use the AccuWeather and the Weather Channel apps to look at live satellite imagery of approaching weather patterns to see when we need to come in before we get too wet, and we also look at the forecasts so we can plan ahead.”

A Business Revolution

McClendon’s Select opened its doors during the pre-digital days, but Bob says he had no problem embracing the new workflow, and neither did his employees: “Literally within just a few minutes they were fully proficient and able to fully utilize the iPads during their daily work. And some of these employees have never used an iOS device.”

Sean adds: “The iPad has allowed our business to grow beyond our wildest expectations.”

Company Snapshot

  • Established in 1975
  • Based in Peoria, Arizona
  • 20 employees
  • iPad plays a key role in everything from harvesting crops to selling produce to restaurants and at local farmers' markets
  • www.selectorganics.com

“The iPad is really indispensable to our operation. We couldn’t do the level of business we do today without it.”

Sean McClendon, Co-Owner,
McClendon’s Select


“The iPad has revolutionized the way we do business.”

Sean McClendon, Co-Owner,
McClendon’s Select

More iPad in Business profiles.More iPad in Business profiles.

Central County Fire Department Fighting Fire with Technology.

Read now

Eaton Powering business with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

Read now

Bechtel Better building with iPad.

Read now

Ducati Full throttle with iPad.

Read now

PepsiCo Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Daiichi Sankyo Prescription for Change: iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Carmel Café & Wine Bar Pairing taste and technology.

Read now

The Ottawa Hospital Enhancing bedside manner with iPad.

Read now

EVA Airways iPad takes flight.

Read now

CTV News The pocket newsroom.

Read now

GE Reinventing mobility.

Read now

Jordan Vineyard & WineryFrom trellis to table with iPad.

Read now

United AirlinesCleared for takeoff with iPad.

Read now

The GoodLife Team Real estate, real results with iPad.

Read now

The Benetton Group Fashion forward with iPad.

Read now

Crescent Construction Services Building apps, building business.

Read now

St. Louis Urgent Cares iPad makes the rounds with physicians.

Read now

Theatre Consultants Collaborative Connecting art with architecture.

Read now

Gulliver International Used car sales go mobile on iPad.

Read now

McClendon’s Select Growing a better business with iPad.

Read now

Fennemore Craig Making the case with iPad.

Read now

Grupo BBVA Banking on iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Scott Kay iPad shines for artisan jewelry designer.

Read now

Safe/Sea Marine Rescue Shipshape with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Standard Chartered Bank Multinational banking goes mobile.

Read now

Medtronic Better medicine through iPad.

Read now

Jackson Kayak Rapid results with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Redlands Police Department On duty with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

RC Auto Driving the car buying experience with iPad.

Read now

Crank Sports iPad by a mile.

Read now

Hyatt Hotels High touch, high tech.

Read now

RehabCare Post-critical care using iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Dr. Ferencz iPad advances digital dentistry.

Read now

charity: water Humanitarian mission meets innovative technology.

Read now