<广告>

MTR Corporation

On track with iPhone and iPad.

“We have integrated the most modern technology into our railway. iPhone and iPad are part of our journey, and I think that’s terrific.”

– 香港铁路有限公司首席执行官 Jay Walder

在香港这样人口密集的大都市,如果没有一流的公共交通系统,是难以想象的。然而 35 年前确实如此。于是港铁(Mass Transit Railway)应运而生,现已成为香港交通网络的骨干力量。港铁创造了一个不可思议的城市神话:现在,90% 的香港乘客均乘坐公共交通出行。港铁每日载客量超过 500 万人次,其中 99.9% 的旅程均会准时到达目的地。

成功的背后,是港铁一直在努力维护各趟列车和车站,并提供出色的服务,监控从台风到交通等各种可能导致系统减慢的情况。通过在 iPhone 和 iPad 上使用定制的 app 和第三方 app,员工可以快速响应紧急服务问题,为乘客提供即时信息。

“轨道一经开通,它就以超乎想象的方式连通了整个香港。” 香港铁路有限公司首席执行官 Jay Walder 说道,“以前需要 1-2 个小时的旅程,现在只需要 30 分钟就能到达。”

港铁不断将高新技术应用到交通运营中,从而为乘客提供快速而安全的服务。“我们希望与香港社群建立更紧密的联系。” Jay Walder 指出,“而 iPhone 和 app 正是我们手中的有力工具。”

Safer Construction Sites

为了满足香港日益增长的交通需求,港铁正在扩建新的铁路,如沙田至中环线项目,该项目将连接现有多条路线,并进一步延伸至目前尚无交通服务的地区。此外,公司还在车站周围构建住房、购物中心和写字楼。

在港铁建筑工地,得心应手的沟通工具之一就是 iPhone 和 iPad app。以 ePMS 为例,这款内部项目管理 app,可让工程师通过 iPad 和 iPhone 快速查看图纸、技术规格和预算信息,报告给其他小组,并现场回复承包商文件。

以前,很多这样的工作都需要使用装满纸张的厚重文件夹,而这种文件夹很容易在施工环境中开散、丢失或损坏。香港铁路有限公司信息技术主管 Ted Suen 指出:“以前,工作人员必须将所有资料打印出来,才能带到施工现场查看。而现在,项目员工和承包商可以在其移动设备上下载和查阅最新信息和规范。”

此外,还有一些内部 app 的设计旨在确保施工区域的安全。Project Safety Mobile app 囊括了各种安全技巧,提供实用的建议和提醒,增强了工作人员和承包商的安全意识。

“iOS provides a more secure architecture than other platforms. iPhone and iPad also have hardware encryption features, which is one of the reasons we chose these devices.”

– 香港铁路有限公司信息技术主管 Ted Suen

The Mobile Emergency Toolkit

铁路工作人员使用 iPhone 和 iPad 应对各种紧急情况,比如即将来临的台风。Jay Walder 指出:“在香港,人人依赖铁路交通出行。但有时候,铁路交通也会偶尔出现问题。我们会努力为大家通报最新情况,这时候,技术力量就显得至关重要。如今,iPhone 和 iPad 已成为我们不可或缺的策略要素。”

一旦发生潜在危险情况,由 60 人组成的客户服务快速反应小组会立即采取行动,为乘客提供最新信息,帮助他们找到附近的交通资源。每位成员都配备装有定制 app 的 iPad,如 CSRRU Manual,这款 app 内含紧急救援程序,以及有关全部 84 个车站的详细信息。

“过去,快速反应小组必须携带笨重的纸质资料,才能为乘客提供指引。” 香港铁路有限公司(东铁线、马鞍山线和城际直通车)车务经理 Cheris Lee 说道,“现在,他们只需携带一部 iPad。”

在配备 iPhone 和 iPad 之前,快速反应小组成员通过手机保持联系,这在紧急情况下相当浪费时间。 现在,他们使用 Apple 针对 iPhone 和 iPad 开发的 “查找我的朋友” app,就能定位附近的工作人员,从而快速解决问题。

快速反应小组成员还使用 MTR Mobile,这是一款适用于 iPhone 和 iPad 的免费客户信息 app,可让乘客随时了解最新情况。此外,港铁还开发了其他多个公共 iOS app,让香港乘客随时获取最新信息,包括行程计划、下趟列车信息的实时更新和旅游指南。

MTR Mobile 非常受欢迎的一项功能是交通新闻推送,可通知乘客有关列车服务变化的特殊信息。 Ted Suen 指出:“它让我们能够非常及时地向乘客发送信息。如果有台风预警,我们有时候甚至先于媒体提醒乘客。”

Maintenance gets a Hand

港铁也借助 iPhone 和 iPad 应对常见问题。员工使用港铁的 iSPOTit app 标记每件事,从简单维护任务到潜在危险情况,有条不紊。这款 app 还可以让管理者跟踪这些问题及其解决方案。

Ted Suen 指出:“在推出 iSPOTit 之前,每当我们的工作人员发现小故障,他们都必须填写表格并提交给相关部门。现在,他们可以轻松地使用其移动设备拍下照片,添加备注,然后发送出去。我们得以快速地采取行动,高效地工作,不同部门之间的沟通也大大加强。”

港铁的技术维护人员还使用第三方通讯 app WhatsApp Messenger,通过 iPhone 进行协作,并汇报整个工作日的任务进展情况。

“iPad 和 iPhone 让沟通非常高效,为我们节省了大量时间。” Cheris Lee 如此说道,“我们可以互相实时发送文字信息或照片,从而及时做出反应。我们能够快速处理各种情况,而不必困守在办公桌前。同样的时限,但事半功倍。这为我们赢得了时间与乘客和同事互动。”

“In the past, the Rapid Response Unit had to carry a trailer-load of paper. Now all they need to carry is an iPad.”

– 香港铁路有限公司(东铁线、马鞍山线和城际直通车)车务经理 Cheris Lee

More Secure Devices and Data

港铁选择 iPhone 和 iPad 的原因不一而足,包括易用性、稳定性,还有 App Store 中丰富而实用的第三方 app。但是,决定性因素还是 iOS 平台的安全性。

“我们对保护公司信息有着非常严格的要求,” Ted Suen 指出,“iOS 为本地存储提供了安全的架构。而且,iPhone 和 iPad 具有硬件加密功能,这是我们选择这些设备的因素之一。”

港铁通过其 “自带设备”(BYOD)项目,支持员工使用自己的 iOS 设备。港铁使用移动设备管理(MDM) 软件来管理员工设备对公司信息的访问。“我们同时推行了 MDM 政策和 BYOD 政策,” Ted Suen 说道,“我们鼓励大家自带设备工作,但是,如果要访问公司信息,他们必须在 MDM 政策下进行注册。”

A Proud Tradition

在这个具有前瞻意识的铁路公司,iOS 设备和 app 是快速、高效系统的关键所在,从而能够提供出色的应急响应、施工管理、维护和乘客信息服务。“在港铁,我们一直鼓励创新,” Ted Suen 指出,“我们正在寻求提高内部效率的新方法,从而高效地运用 iPhone 和 iPad。”

iPhone 和 iPad 不仅帮助港铁拉近了香港市民之间的距离,更通过重要的信息更新和资源,确保工作人员和乘客在正确的轨道上前行。

“我们已将尖端技术整合到我们的铁路系统中,而且会持续更新。” Jay Walder 指出,“我们打造经久耐用的铁路,我们建造持久可靠的地产,我们构建互联社区。iPhone 和 iPad 已成为我们旅程必不可少的一部分,它们真的很棒。”

Company Snapshot

  • 全世界最大的客运交通系统之一
  • 总部位于香港,拥有 16,000 名员工
  • 同时在斯德哥尔摩、墨尔本、伦敦和中国大陆多个城市运营铁路
  • 遍及香港的 84 个地铁站和 68 个轻轨站,每年客运量多达 18.2 亿人次
  • www.mtr.com.hk

App Recap

  • ePMS 有助于施工队伍通过远程访问图纸和设计、合同和预算信息以及团队讨论,从而管理项目。
  • Project Safety 可为员工和承包商提供安全检查表、热门安全话题、技术规格以及实用技巧等信息。
  • iSPOTit 使工作人员能够即时汇报车站与列车上的维护问题和潜在的安全隐患。
  • CSRRU Manual 可为快速反应小组提供救援程序和站点信息的便捷访问。
  • MTR Mobile 可就旅程相关信息和即时交通消息,为港铁乘客提供一站式资源。
  • “查找我的朋友” 可迅速定位快速反应小组的成员。
  • 在 iTunes 中查看为普通消费者提供的各种 App

更多 iPad 商务应用案例

Schindler 以智能工具提升现场服务。

SKF 工厂内同步作业。

Network Rail 确保铁路运作安全可靠。

St John Ambulance 实时信息推动出色的紧急救援。

KOSÉ Corporation携手 iPad,打造美丽未来。

立即閱讀

Daiwa House Industry 以 iPad 构建信任。

Read now

香港铁路有限公司 有 iPhone 和 iPad,一切步上正轨。

立即阅读

Eaton 通过 iPad 和 iPhone 为业务提供强有力的支持。

Read now

Sonic Automotive以 iPhone 和 iPad 推动增长。

立即阅读

宝洁公司 与 iPhone 和 iPad 一起,创新每
一天。

立即阅读

Mayo 诊所让医疗工作流动灵活。

立即阅读

Ducati用 iPad 开足马力。

立即阅读

百事公司 使用 iPhone 和 iPad 完成更多
任务。

立即阅读

Carmel Kitchen & Wine Bar以科技唤醒美味。

立即阅读

CTV News 用 iPhone 和 iPad 进行 HD 高清视频移动播报。

立即阅读

Gulliver International用 iPad,让二手车销售融入移动潮流。

立即阅读

The Ottawa Hospital用 iPad,提升病床边的关怀。

立即阅读

长荣航空带上 iPad 飞入云霄。

立即阅读

Grupo BBVA 使用 iPhone 和 iPad 管理金融。

立即阅读

美联航带上 iPad,预备,起飞。

立即阅读

St. Louis Urgent Cares带着 iPad 巡诊去。

立即阅读

Benetton 集团与 iPad 一起迈向时尚前沿。

立即阅读

GE 通用电气公司重塑移动性。

立即阅读

渣打银行跨国银行业迎来移动时代。

立即阅读

MedtroniciPad,成效显著的一剂良药。

立即阅读

凯悦酒店集团灵巧触控、高端科技。

立即阅读

Jackson Kayak通过 iPad 和 iPhone 快速取得
成效。

立即阅读

Redlands 警察局执勤用上 iPhone 和 iPad。

立即阅读

RC 汽车用 iPad 促进汽车购买体验。

立即阅读

Crank Sports iPad 缔造卓越。

立即阅读

RehabCare使用 iPhone 和 iPad 进行后重症护理。

立即阅读

Dr. FerencziPad 推动牙科数字化。

立即阅读

慈善:水 人道主义使命邂逅创新科技。

立即阅读

MTR Corporation

On track with iPhone and iPad.

“We have integrated the most modern technology into our railway. iPhone and iPad are part of our journey, and I think that’s terrific.”

Jay Walder, Chief Executive Officer, MTR Corporation

It’s hard to imagine a metropolis as densely populated as Hong Kong without a top-notch public transportation system. But 35 years ago, that was the case. Enter MTR (Mass Transit Railway), now the backbone of the city’s transit network. It’s an incredible urban success story: Today, 90 percent of all passenger trips in Hong Kong are on public transportation. And MTR transports more than five million passengers a day, with a 99.9 percent on-time rate.

Behind the scenes, MTR is always at work maintaining trains and stations, providing better services and monitoring conditions that threaten to slow the system, from typhoons to traffic. Using custom and third-party apps on iPhone and iPad, employees can respond more quickly to urgent service issues and provide passengers with instant information.

“When the railway opened, it connected Hong Kong in ways people couldn’t imagine,” says Jay Walder, CEO of MTR Corporation. “The trip that took one or two hours now takes only 30 minutes.”

As MTR continues to integrate the most current iOS technologies into its operations, it’s able to offer customers even faster, safer service. “We want to be even more tightly connected to the Hong Kong community,” Walder says. “And we see iPhone and apps as a way to do that.”

Safer Construction Sites

To keep up with Hong Kong’s growing transit needs, MTR is building new rail expansions such as the Shatin to Central Link project, which will connect several existing lines and reach areas that currently lack service. The company also builds housing, shopping malls and office buildings around its stations.

Some of the most useful tools for communication on MTR’s construction sites are iPhone and iPad apps. One example is ePMS, an in-house project management app that lets engineers use iPad and iPhone to quickly check plans, specs, and budgets, report to other groups, and respond to documents from contractors while still onsite.

Many of these processes once required thick folders full of papers, which could easily get separated, lost, or damaged in a construction environment. “They had to print all these things out to read them onsite,” says Ted Suen, who heads MTR Corporation’s IT department. “But now project staff and contractors can download and refer to the latest information and regulations right on their mobile devices.”

Other in-house apps are designed to keep construction zones safer. The Project Safety Mobile App outlines safety techniques, provides useful tips and alerts, and raises safety awareness among staff and contractors.

“iOS provides a more secure architecture than other platforms. iPhone and iPad also have hardware encryption features, which is one of the reasons we chose these devices.”

Ted Suen, Head of Information Technology, MTR Corporation

The Mobile Emergency Toolkit

The railway also uses iPhone and iPad to respond to emergency situations such as an approaching typhoon. “Everybody in Hong Kong relies on the railway,” Walder says, “but occasionally problems do occur. We’re working to communicate what’s going on, and technology is a big part of that. iPhone and iPad have become integral to our strategy.”

When potentially hazardous situations develop, the railway’s 60-person Customer Service Rapid Response Unit snaps into action, offering updates to commuters and helping them find nearby resources. Each team member is equipped with an iPad loaded with custom apps such as the CSRRU Manual, which outlines emergency relief procedures and offers details on each of the railway’s 84 stations.

“In the past, the Rapid Response Unit had to carry a trailer-load of paper to respond when passengers asked for guidance,” says Cheris Lee, Operations Manager of the East Rail Line, Ma On Shan Line, and the Intercity Passenger Service. “Now all they need to carry is an iPad.”

Before iPhone and iPad, Rapid Response Unit members were contacted over the phone, which takes time in potentially urgent situations. Now they use Apple’s Find My Friends app for iPhone and iPad to locate nearby staff and resolve issues as quickly as possible.

Rapid Response Unit team members also turn to MTR Mobile, a free customer information app for iPhone and iPad, to keep commuters updated. And the railway has developed several other publicly available iOS apps to keep its Hong Kong customers in the loop, including journey planners, real-time updates on the next arriving train, and tourist guides.

One popular feature on MTR Mobile is a traffic news feed that notifies passengers about special train service changes. “It enables us to send information to passengers in a very timely manner,” says Suen. “When there’s a typhoon coming, we can sometimes alert passengers even before the media.”

Maintenance gets a Hand

The railway relies on iPhone and iPad to address routine issues as well. Employees use MTR’s iSPOTit app to flag everything from minor maintenance tasks to potentially hazardous conditions. The app also lets managers track these issues to resolution.

“Before we launched iSPOTit, whenever our staff saw some minor fault they’d have to fill out a form and submit it to the appropriate department,” Suen says. “Now they can easily use their mobile device to take a photo, add some remarks, and send it. We can act faster and work more effectively, and it enhances communication between different departments.

MTR’s maintenance technicians also use WhatsApp Messenger, a third-party messaging app, to collaborate via iPhone and report back on their tasks throughout the workday.

“iPad and iPhone save us a lot of time by making communication more efficient,” Lee says. “We can send texts or photos to each other in real time, so we can react instantly. We’re able to deal with situations quickly, and we aren’t bound to our desks. We can accomplish more in the same timeframe, and we have more time to work with our passengers and co-workers.”

“In the past, the Rapid Response Unit had to carry a trailer-load of paper. Now all they need to carry is an iPad.”

Cheris Lee, Operations Manager, MTR Corporation

More Secure Devices and Data

MTR chose iPhone and iPad for many reasons, including ease of use, stability, and the huge array of useful third-party apps available in the App Store. But the deciding factor was the security of the iOS platform.

“We have very stringent requirements for protecting corporate information,” Suen says. “iOS provides a more secure architecture for local storage than other platforms. iPhone and iPad also have hardware encryption features, which is one of the reasons we chose these devices.”

MTR supports employee-owned iOS devices through its “bring your own device” (BYOD) program. The railway uses mobile device management (MDM) software to manage access to corporate information on employees’ devices. “We launched the MDM policy and the BYOD policy together,” Suen explains. “We encourage people to bring their own devices, but if they want to access corporate information, they have to register under the MDM policy.”

A Proud Tradition

At this forward-thinking railway, iOS devices and apps are the key to fast, efficient systems for better emergency response, construction management, maintenance, and passenger information. “Innovation is one of the things we always encourage at MTR,” says Suen. “We are finding new internal efficiencies and working more effectively with iPhone and iPad.”

iPhone and iPad help MTR connect the people of Hong Kong not just physically, but through essential updates and resources that keep both staff and passengers on course.

“We have integrated the most modern technology into our railway, and we continue to refresh it,” Walder says. “We build long-life railways. We build long-life assets. We build the community. iPhone and iPad are part of our journey, and I think that’s terrific.”

Company Snapshot

  • One of the world’s largest passenger transport systems
  • Based in Hong Kong, with 16,000 employees
  • Also operates railways in Stockholm, Melbourne, London, and various cities in mainland China
  • Provides 1.82 billion passenger trips per year in Hong Kong, across 84 heavy rail stations and 68 light rail stops
  • www.mtr.com.hk

App Recap

  • ePMS helps construction teams manage projects with remote access to drawings and designs, contract and budget information, and team discussions.
  • Project Safety provides safety checklists, safety hot topics, specifications, and techniques for staff and contractors.
  • iSPOTit allows staff to instantly report maintenance issues and potential safety hazards in stations and on trains.
  • CSRRU Manual gives Rapid Response Unit portable access to relief procedures and station information.
  • MTR Mobile offers MTR passengers a one-stop resource for journey-related information and instant traffic news.
  • Find My Friends quickly locates Rapid Response Unit members.
  • View all Consumer Apps from MTR in iTunes

More iPad in Business profiles.More iPad in Business profiles.

Daiwa House Industry Building trust with iPad.

Read now

MTR Corporation On track with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Central County Fire Department Fighting Fire with Technology.

Read now

Eaton Powering business with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

Read now

Bechtel Better building with iPad.

Read now

Ducati Full throttle with iPad.

Read now

PepsiCo Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Daiichi Sankyo Prescription for Change: iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Carmel Café & Wine Bar Pairing taste and technology.

Read now

The Ottawa Hospital Enhancing bedside manner with iPad.

Read now

EVA Airways iPad takes flight.

Read now

CTV News The pocket newsroom.

Read now

GE Reinventing mobility.

Read now

Jordan Vineyard & WineryFrom trellis to table with iPad.

Read now

United AirlinesCleared for takeoff with iPad.

Read now

The GoodLife Team Real estate, real results with iPad.

Read now

The Benetton Group Fashion forward with iPad.

Read now

Crescent Construction Services Building apps, building business.

Read now

St. Louis Urgent Cares iPad makes the rounds with physicians.

Read now

Theatre Consultants Collaborative Connecting art with architecture.

Read now

Gulliver International Used car sales go mobile on iPad.

Read now

McClendon’s Select Growing a better business with iPad.

Read now

Fennemore Craig Making the case with iPad.

Read now

Grupo BBVA Banking on iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Scott Kay iPad shines for artisan jewelry designer.

Read now

Safe/Sea Marine Rescue Shipshape with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Standard Chartered Bank Multinational banking goes mobile.

Read now

Medtronic Better medicine through iPad.

Read now

Jackson Kayak Rapid results with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Redlands Police Department On duty with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

RC Auto Driving the car buying experience with iPad.

Read now

Crank Sports iPad by a mile.

Read now

Hyatt Hotels High touch, high tech.

Read now

RehabCare Post-critical care using iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Dr. Ferencz iPad advances digital dentistry.

Read now

charity: water Humanitarian mission meets innovative technology.

Read now