iPhone en entreprise

DLA Phillips Fox

lire video thumb

iPhone à l'œuvre

Regarder la vidéo

DLA Phillips Fox

iPhone : améliorer les services juridiques.

DLA Phillips Fox est l'un des plus gros cabinets d'avocats d'Australie. Il compte parmi ses clients des entreprises émergentes ainsi que des grandes marques de la région Asie-Pacifique. Fondé il y a 145 ans, le cabinet fait désormais partie du groupe international DLA Piper Group, qui offre ses services dans 29 pays. Équipés d'iPhone, les associés de ce cabinet de 1 300 collaborateurs sont désormais en mesure de répondre de manière encore plus souple et rapide aux demandes de leurs clients.

Le choix de l'iPhone a été “une des meilleures décisions que nous n'ayons jamais prises,” déclare John Duckett, responsable informatique chez DLA Phillips Fox. “Il ne nous a pas fallu longtemps pour reconnaître le potentiel d'iPhone en matière d'intégration facile avec notre environnement serveur Microsoft Exchange et en soutien à nos efforts pour fournir un éventail complet de services mobiles à nos utilisateurs”.

Le premier employé non informaticien à recevoir un iPhone a été le PDG de la société. “Dès que les autres associés ont vu ce qu'il parvenait à faire avec son iPhone, ils ont réclamé le leur”, explique John Duckett. “L'iPhone s'est vendu tout seul. L'adoption d'iPhone a été immédiate, et son succès est tel que chaque appareil que nous achetons aujourd'hui est un iPhone. Les utilisateurs sont très contents, et l'assistance technique est réduite au minimum”.

Connexions faciles

La préparation d'iPhone pour un utilisateur ne consiste qu'à l'activer dans iTunes, puis à utiliser l'Utilitaire de configuration iPhone pour définir le bon profil serveur Exchange, explique Caroline Willis, administrateur système. “L'intégration d'iPhone à notre environnement est très simple à effectuer”, déclare-t-elle. “En quelques minutes, l'utilisateur relève son courrier et accède aux calendriers et à notre liste d'adresses globale Exchange”.

Les utilisateurs d'iPhone peuvent même consulter les messages vocaux transférés depuis le système de téléphonie du cabinet. “Notre système de messagerie vocale est configuré pour s'intégrer avec le serveur Exchange”, explique Caroline Willis, “et les messages sont ainsi enregistrés automatiquement sous forme de fichiers WAV et envoyés par e-mail aux destinataires, qui peuvent alors écouter leurs messages sur leur iPhone”.

DLA Phillips Fox a conçu un portail documentaire sur le Web adapté à l'iPhone, qui permet aux utilisateurs de récupérer de manière sécurisée des documents juridiques et autres depuis le système de gestion documentaire du cabinet, qu'ils soient en réunion avec un client, dans un taxi ou dans un train ou même à l'étranger.

À l'aide du SDK (kit de développement) iPhone, l'équipe informatique a également conçu une app de suivi du temps passé que les juristes peuvent utiliser pour comptabiliser les heures facturables, puis les envoyer automatiquement au système de facturation du cabinet, afin de gagner en temps et en précision.

Une meilleure gestion du temps

Pour Claire Tait, associée chez DLA Phillips Fox et responsable du bureau de Sydney, l'iPhone signifie que l'on peut gérer son courrier, ses messages vocaux et son agenda avant même d'arriver au bureau.

“Lorsque j'arrive au cabinet", déclare Claire Tait, “j'ai déjà traité la majorité des questions administratives urgentes, et je peux donc me concentrer sur nos clients. iPhone me donne la liberté de quitter le bureau, tout en travaillant avec nos clients et les membres de nos équipes. Je peux accéder à des documents sur mon iPhone et les modifier, les approuver et les partager”.

L'interface conviviale d'iPhone, ses fonctionnalités intégrées et les milliers d'applications professionnelles disponibles font que l'iPhone est bien plus qu'un téléphone, observe John Duckett. “Vous pouvez effectuer des tâches pratiques sur iPhone qui lui confèrent un avantage décisif sur d'autres appareils, comme utiliser des applications ou naviguer facilement sur des sites web. La profusion d'applications contribue à sa réussite incroyable”.

“iPhone a bouleversé le paysage de la téléphonie mobile”, affirme Claire Tait. “Et dans un secteur d'activité aussi dynamique que le nôtre, c'est fantastique. Vous n'êtes pas enchaîné à votre bureau. Vous n'avez même plus besoin d'un ordinateur portable. Vous pouvez accéder à tout ce dont vous avez besoin depuis l'iPhone”.

L'entreprise en bref

  • Cabinet de droit des affaires fondé en 1864
  • Huit bureaux en Australie et Nouvelle-Zélande
  • 700 avocats, sur un effectif de 1 300 employés
  • Plus de 40 spécialités
  • www.dlaphillipsfox.com

“Vous n'êtes pas enchaîné à votre bureau. Vous n'avez même plus besoin d'un ordinateur portable. Vous pouvez accéder à tout ce dont vous avez besoin depuis l'iPhone”.

Claire Tait, associée/responsable du bureau de Sydney, DLA Phillips Fox


“L'intégration d'iPhone à notre environnement est très simple à effectuer. En quelques minutes, l'utilisateur relève son courrier et accède aux calendriers et à notre liste d'adresses globale Exchange”.

Caroline Willis, administrateur système, DLA Phillips Fox


“Chaque nouvel appareil que nous achetons est désormais un iPhone. Les utilisateurs sont très contents, et l'assistance technique est réduite au minimum”.

John Duckett, responsable informatique, DLA Phillips Fox

iPhone in Business

DLA Phillips Fox

iPhone: Improving legal services.

DLA Phillips Fox is one of Australia’s largest legal firms, with clients ranging from emerging businesses to some of the best-known brands in the Asia-Pacific region. Founded 145 years ago, the firm is now a part of the global DLA Piper Group, which provides legal services in 29 countries around the world. Now, with iPhone in the hands of almost every partner in the 1,300-person firm, DLA Phillips Fox can offer even faster, more flexible responses to their clients’ legal needs.

Choosing iPhone was “one of the smarter things we ever did,” says John Duckett, General Manager of IT at DLA Phillips Fox. “It didn’t take long before we saw the potential of iPhone for easy integration with our Microsoft Exchange server environment, and for supporting our efforts to deliver a full range of mobility services to users.”

The first non-IT employee to receive an iPhone was the company’s CEO. “As soon as the other partners saw what he was able to do with his iPhone, they were clamoring for their own,” Duckett says. “It was a case of iPhone selling itself. The adoption of iPhone was immediate, and successful to such an extent that every new device we buy now is an iPhone. The users are very happy, and support is minimal.”

Easy Connections

Getting iPhone ready for a user requires little more than activating it through iTunes, then using the iPhone Configuration Utility to establish the correct Exchange server profile, says Systems Administrator Caroline Willis. “iPhone is very simple to integrate into our environment,” she says. “Within minutes the user is checking email and accessing their Exchange-based calendars and our global address list.”

iPhone users can even hear forwarded voicemail messages from the firm’s office phone system. “Our voicemail system has been set up to integrate with the Exchange server,” Willis explains, “so voicemail is automatically saved as a WAV file and emailed to the recipient, who is then able to listen to the message on their iPhone.”

DLA Phillips Fox developed an iPhone-friendly web-based document portal that allows iPhone users to securely retrieve legal records and other documents directly from the firm’s document management system, whether in a client meeting, in a taxi or train, or even overseas.

Using the iPhone SDK (Software Development Kit), the IT team also created a timer app that legal staff can use to track billable time and have it automatically sent to the firm’s billing system, saving time and ensuring more accurate client accounts.

Better Time Management

For Claire Tait, DLA Phillips Fox Partner and Sydney Office Leader, iPhone means being able to deal with email, voicemail, and scheduling issues before she even gets to work.

“By the time I get into the office,” Tait says, “I’ve dealt with most of the early administration that needs to be done, and can concentrate on our clients. iPhone gives me the freedom to be away from the office, yet still be able to work with clients and group team members. I can access documents on my iPhone and amend, approve, and share them with other people.”

The easy-to-use iPhone interface, built-in features, and thousands of third-party business apps make iPhone much more than a phone, Duckett observes. “You can do things on a practical level that give iPhone a distinct advantage over other devices, like access applications or easily browse websites. There’s a profusion of applications that have made it incredibly successful.”

“iPhone has changed the mobile landscape dramatically,” agrees Tait. “And in a fast-paced business such as ours, that’s fantastic. You don't have to be at a desk. You don't even have to have a laptop anymore. You can access anything you need via iPhone.”

Company Snapshot

  • Corporate law firm founded in 1864
  • Eight offices in Australia and New Zealand
  • 700 lawyers, total staff 1,300
  • More than 40 legal service areas
  • www.dlaphillipsfox.com

“You don't have to be at a desk. You don't even have to have a laptop anymore. You can access anything you need via iPhone.”

Claire Tait, Partner/Sydney Office Leader, DLA Phillips Fox


“iPhone is very simple to integrate into our environment. Within minutes the user is checking email and accessing their Exchange-based calendars and our global address list.”

Caroline Willis, Systems Administrator, DLA Phillips Fox


“Every new device we buy now is an iPhone. The users are very happy, and support is minimal.”

John Duckett, General Manager of IT, DLA Phillips Fox

More iPhone in Business profiles.

MTR Corporation On track with iPhone and iPad.

Central County Fire Department Fighting Fire with Technology.

Eaton Powering business with iPhone and iPad.

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

PepsiCo Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

Daiichi Sankyo Prescription for Change: iPad and iPhone.

CTV Newsroom The pocket newsroom.

Dow Corning iPhone helps keep this silicone giant running smoothly.

Lowe's Building better customer service.

Grupo BBVA Banking on iPhone and iPad.

Safe/Sea Marine Rescue Shipshape with iPad and iPhone.

GE Reinventing mobility.

Kids Crooked House A playful mission, powered by iPhone.

Jackson Kayak Rapid results with iPad and iPhone.

World Wide Technology Maintaining IT infrastructures with iPhone.

Aftonbladet Cutting-edge communication

G Adventures A global travel company stays unified, with iPhone.

Redlands P.D. On duty with iPhone and iPad.

M6 iPhone: a media giant evolves

Showcall Large-scale event production goes mobile with iPhone.

JM Family Auto innovators.

Virtual Aviation iPhone boosts virtual flight.

RehabCare Post-critical care using iPhone and iPad.

Novartis Apps for good health.

Quintessa Winery Elegant technology for a Napa Valley vineyard.

TCHO Chocolate Chocolatology meets technology.

Big Bad Boo Diversity through animation. Efficiency through iPhone.

The Wine Connection Taking the store with you.

Dr. Diamond Using iPhone to improve patient care.

Surfline Catching waves in the palm of the hand.

D.W. Morgan Revolutionizing the supply chain.

Aedas, Los Angeles Creativity through collaboration.

Great Food Group, Inc. Streamlining service with iPhone.

Unisys Data defenders.

Mount Sinai Hospital iPhone provides vital link to medical records.

RTKL Architecture in motion

DLA Phillips Fox iPhone: Improving legal services.

Memorial Hermann Healthcare System Advancing health care with iPhone.

Illumina iPhone meets genome.

Sunbelt Rentals iPhone: Essential equipment.

Gannett Media giant goes mobile.

Doylestown Hospital Always on call: iPhone 3G.

Standard Chartered Multinational banking goes mobile.

Kraft Foods Serving up innovation.