iPhone in Unternehmen

DLA Phillips Fox

abspielen Videobild

iPhone in Aktion.

Video ansehen

DLA Phillips Fox

iPhone: Neue Wege in der Rechtsberatung.

DLA Phillips Fox ist eine der größten Anwaltskanzleien Australiens. Ihre Klientel reicht von Start-up-Unternehmen bis zu den bekanntesten Namen im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum. Die Kanzlei wurde vor über 145 Jahren gegründet und gehört heute zur weltweit agierenden DLA Piper Group, die Rechtsberatung in 29 Ländern anbietet. DLA Phillips Fox zählt 1.300 Mitarbeiter und mittlerweile hat fast jeder der Partner ein iPhone. Dadurch kann die Kanzlei noch schneller und flexibler auf die rechtlichen Belange ihrer Klienten eingehen.

Die Wahl des iPhone war "eine der klügsten Entscheidungen, die wir je getroffen haben", sagt John Duckett, General Manager der IT bei DLA Phillips Fox. "Wir haben schnell erkannt, dass sich das iPhone einfach in unsere Microsoft Exchange Serverumgebung integrieren würde und auch unsere Bemühungen unterstützt, den Benutzern eine Vielzahl an mobilen Diensten zu bieten."

Abgesehen vom IT-Personal war der CEO der erste Mitarbeiter des Unternehmens, der ein iPhone erhielt. "Als die anderen Partner sahen, was er alles mit seinem iPhone machen kann, wollten sie unbedingt ein eigenes", erzählt Duckett. "Das iPhone hat sich selbst vermarktet. Es wurde sofort von allen angenommen und so erfolgreich bei uns eingeführt, dass wir heute nur noch iPhones kaufen. Die Benutzer sind damit hochzufrieden und benötigen nur minimale Unterstützung."

Einfache Verbindungen.

"Das iPhone muss nur über iTunes aktiviert werden, damit es für die Nutzung vorbereitet ist. Das richtige Exchange Serverprofil wird anschließend über das iPhone Konfigurationsprogramm eingerichtet. Das ist schon alles", erklärt Systemadministratorin Caroline Willis. "Das iPhone lässt sich ganz leicht in unsere Umgebung integrieren", sagt sie. "Innerhalb weniger Minuten können die Benutzer ihre Mails abrufen und auf ihre Exchange basierten Kalender und unsere globale Adressliste zugreifen."

iPhone Benutzer können sogar Mailbox-Nachrichten abhören, die von ihrem Büroanschluss weitergeleitet wurden. "Unser Mailbox-System wurde so eingerichtet, dass es in den Exchange Server integriert ist", erklärt Willis. "Die Mailbox-Nachricht wird automatisch als WAV-Datei gespeichert und per E-Mail an den Empfänger gesendet. Dieser kann die Nachricht dann über sein iPhone abhören."

DLA Phillips Fox hat ein iPhone freundliches, webbasiertes Dokumentenportal entwickelt, über das iPhone Benutzer juristische Akten und andere Dokumente direkt aus dem Dokumentenverwaltungssystem des Unternehmens sicher abrufen können – egal, ob sie sich in einer Besprechung mit einem Klienten, im Taxi, im Zug oder sogar im Ausland befinden.

Die IT-Abteilung hat mithilfe des iPhone SDK (Software Development Kit) eine App zur Zeitmessung entwickelt, über die die Anwälte die abrechenbare Zeit erfassen und direkt an das Abrechnungssystem des Unternehmens senden können. Das spart nicht nur Zeit, sondern gewährleistet auch eine genauere Abrechnung beim Klienten.

Besseres Zeitmanagement.

Claire Tait ist Partner bei DLA Phillips Fox und leitet die Niederlassung in Sydney. Mit ihrem iPhone kann sie ihre Mails und Mailbox-Nachrichten abrufen und Termine planen, und zwar schon bevor sie zur Arbeit geht.

"Wenn ich in die Kanzlei komme, habe ich den größten Teil der Verwaltung schon erledigt und kann mich voll und ganz auf unsere Klienten konzentrieren", erklärt Tait. "Mit dem iPhone muss ich nicht immer in der Kanzlei sein und kann trotzdem mit den Klienten und den Teammitgliedern zusammenarbeiten. Ich kann über mein iPhone auf Dokumente zugreifen, diese ändern, genehmigen und an andere Personen weiterleiten."

"Die benutzerfreundliche iPhone Oberfläche, die integrierten Funktionen und Tausende von Business-Apps anderer Anbieter machen das iPhone zu viel mehr als nur zu einem Telefon", stellt Duckett fest. "Man kann Dinge ganz praktisch erledigen, beispielsweise auf Apps zugreifen oder Webseiten durchsuchen, was dem iPhone einen klaren Vorteil gegenüber anderen Geräten verschafft. Es gibt unzählige Apps, die das iPhone so unglaublich erfolgreich gemacht haben."

"Das iPhone hat den Mobilgerätemarkt drastisch verändert", bestätigt Tait. "Und in einer schnelllebigen Geschäftswelt wie unserer ist das wirklich fantastisch. Man muss nicht am Schreibtisch sitzen. Man braucht nicht mal mehr einen Laptop. Man kann über das iPhone auf alles zugreifen, was man braucht."

Unternehmensprofil

  • 1864 gegründete Wirtschaftskanzlei
  • Acht Kanzleien in Australien und Neuseeland
  • 700 Anwälte, insgesamt 1300 Mitarbeiter
  • Über 40 verschiedene Rechtsgebiete
  • www.dlaphillipsfox.com

"Man muss nicht am Schreibtisch sitzen. Man braucht nicht mal mehr einen Laptop. Man kann über das iPhone auf alles zugreifen, was man braucht."

Claire Tait, Partner/Geschäftsführerin der DLA Phillips Fox Niederlassung in Sydney


"Das iPhone lässt sich ganz leicht in unsere Umgebung integrieren. Innerhalb weniger Minuten können die Benutzer ihre Mails abrufen und auf ihre Exchange basierten Kalender und unsere globale Adressliste zugreifen."

Caroline Willis, Systemadministratorin bei DLA Phillips Fox


"Wenn wir heute ein neues Gerät kaufen, ist es immer ein iPhone. Unsere Benutzer sind damit hochzufrieden und benötigen nur minimale Unterstützung."

John Duckett, General Manager IT bei DLA Phillips Fox

iPhone in Business

DLA Phillips Fox

iPhone: Improving legal services.

DLA Phillips Fox is one of Australia’s largest legal firms, with clients ranging from emerging businesses to some of the best-known brands in the Asia-Pacific region. Founded 145 years ago, the firm is now a part of the global DLA Piper Group, which provides legal services in 29 countries around the world. Now, with iPhone in the hands of almost every partner in the 1,300-person firm, DLA Phillips Fox can offer even faster, more flexible responses to their clients’ legal needs.

Choosing iPhone was “one of the smarter things we ever did,” says John Duckett, General Manager of IT at DLA Phillips Fox. “It didn’t take long before we saw the potential of iPhone for easy integration with our Microsoft Exchange server environment, and for supporting our efforts to deliver a full range of mobility services to users.”

The first non-IT employee to receive an iPhone was the company’s CEO. “As soon as the other partners saw what he was able to do with his iPhone, they were clamoring for their own,” Duckett says. “It was a case of iPhone selling itself. The adoption of iPhone was immediate, and successful to such an extent that every new device we buy now is an iPhone. The users are very happy, and support is minimal.”

Easy Connections

Getting iPhone ready for a user requires little more than activating it through iTunes, then using the iPhone Configuration Utility to establish the correct Exchange server profile, says Systems Administrator Caroline Willis. “iPhone is very simple to integrate into our environment,” she says. “Within minutes the user is checking email and accessing their Exchange-based calendars and our global address list.”

iPhone users can even hear forwarded voicemail messages from the firm’s office phone system. “Our voicemail system has been set up to integrate with the Exchange server,” Willis explains, “so voicemail is automatically saved as a WAV file and emailed to the recipient, who is then able to listen to the message on their iPhone.”

DLA Phillips Fox developed an iPhone-friendly web-based document portal that allows iPhone users to securely retrieve legal records and other documents directly from the firm’s document management system, whether in a client meeting, in a taxi or train, or even overseas.

Using the iPhone SDK (Software Development Kit), the IT team also created a timer app that legal staff can use to track billable time and have it automatically sent to the firm’s billing system, saving time and ensuring more accurate client accounts.

Better Time Management

For Claire Tait, DLA Phillips Fox Partner and Sydney Office Leader, iPhone means being able to deal with email, voicemail, and scheduling issues before she even gets to work.

“By the time I get into the office,” Tait says, “I’ve dealt with most of the early administration that needs to be done, and can concentrate on our clients. iPhone gives me the freedom to be away from the office, yet still be able to work with clients and group team members. I can access documents on my iPhone and amend, approve, and share them with other people.”

The easy-to-use iPhone interface, built-in features, and thousands of third-party business apps make iPhone much more than a phone, Duckett observes. “You can do things on a practical level that give iPhone a distinct advantage over other devices, like access applications or easily browse websites. There’s a profusion of applications that have made it incredibly successful.”

“iPhone has changed the mobile landscape dramatically,” agrees Tait. “And in a fast-paced business such as ours, that’s fantastic. You don't have to be at a desk. You don't even have to have a laptop anymore. You can access anything you need via iPhone.”

Company Snapshot

  • Corporate law firm founded in 1864
  • Eight offices in Australia and New Zealand
  • 700 lawyers, total staff 1,300
  • More than 40 legal service areas
  • www.dlaphillipsfox.com

“You don't have to be at a desk. You don't even have to have a laptop anymore. You can access anything you need via iPhone.”

Claire Tait, Partner/Sydney Office Leader, DLA Phillips Fox


“iPhone is very simple to integrate into our environment. Within minutes the user is checking email and accessing their Exchange-based calendars and our global address list.”

Caroline Willis, Systems Administrator, DLA Phillips Fox


“Every new device we buy now is an iPhone. The users are very happy, and support is minimal.”

John Duckett, General Manager of IT, DLA Phillips Fox

More iPhone in Business profiles.

MTR Corporation On track with iPhone and iPad.

Central County Fire Department Fighting Fire with Technology.

Eaton Powering business with iPhone and iPad.

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

PepsiCo Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

Daiichi Sankyo Prescription for Change: iPad and iPhone.

CTV Newsroom The pocket newsroom.

Dow Corning iPhone helps keep this silicone giant running smoothly.

Lowe's Building better customer service.

Grupo BBVA Banking on iPhone and iPad.

Safe/Sea Marine Rescue Shipshape with iPad and iPhone.

GE Reinventing mobility.

Kids Crooked House A playful mission, powered by iPhone.

Jackson Kayak Rapid results with iPad and iPhone.

World Wide Technology Maintaining IT infrastructures with iPhone.

Aftonbladet Cutting-edge communication

G Adventures A global travel company stays unified, with iPhone.

Redlands P.D. On duty with iPhone and iPad.

M6 iPhone: a media giant evolves

Showcall Large-scale event production goes mobile with iPhone.

JM Family Auto innovators.

Virtual Aviation iPhone boosts virtual flight.

RehabCare Post-critical care using iPhone and iPad.

Novartis Apps for good health.

Quintessa Winery Elegant technology for a Napa Valley vineyard.

TCHO Chocolate Chocolatology meets technology.

Big Bad Boo Diversity through animation. Efficiency through iPhone.

The Wine Connection Taking the store with you.

Dr. Diamond Using iPhone to improve patient care.

Surfline Catching waves in the palm of the hand.

D.W. Morgan Revolutionizing the supply chain.

Aedas, Los Angeles Creativity through collaboration.

Great Food Group, Inc. Streamlining service with iPhone.

Unisys Data defenders.

Mount Sinai Hospital iPhone provides vital link to medical records.

RTKL Architecture in motion

DLA Phillips Fox iPhone: Improving legal services.

Memorial Hermann Healthcare System Advancing health care with iPhone.

Illumina iPhone meets genome.

Sunbelt Rentals iPhone: Essential equipment.

Gannett Media giant goes mobile.

Doylestown Hospital Always on call: iPhone 3G.

Standard Chartered Multinational banking goes mobile.

Kraft Foods Serving up innovation.