iPhone en entreprise

Memorial Hermann

lire video thumb

iPhone à l'œuvre

Regarder la vidéo

Memorial Hermann Healthcare System

Faire progresser la santé avec iPhone.

Avec ses milliers de docteurs, infirmières et employés administratifs répartis sur 11 hôpitaux, dont le meilleur centre de traumatologie du pays, le Memorial Hermann Healthcare System dépend des dernières technologies mobiles pour rationaliser ses services et améliorer les prestations de santé. iPhone et des apps de pointe comme AirStrip OB permettent aux médecins de Memorial Hermann de prendre le pouls des patients, même lorsqu'ils ne peuvent pas être à leurs côtés.

Situé à Houston dans le Texas, la quatrième ville des États-Unis, le Memorial Hermann dessert une zone urbaine de plus de cinq millions d'habitants, en proposant des services qui vont des ambulances aériennes aux centres de traitement de la dépendance.

“Les métiers de la santé se caractérisent par le temps réel”, déclare David Bradshaw, responsable de l'information, de la planification et du marketing pour le Memorial Hermann Healthcare System. “Nous dépendons d'une informatique à toute heure et en tout lieu, et l'iPhone est la meilleure plate-forme pour les applications que nous utilisons”.

Un accès sécurisé aux données médicales

Grâce à sa prise en charge intégrée de Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync, iPhone s'intègre parfaitement à l'infrastructure existante du Memorial Hermann. “Cette intégration étroite avec Microsoft Exchange est très importante à mes yeux”, déclare le docteur Robert Murphy, directeur de l'informatique médicale du Memorial Hermann.

“C'est comme si vous aviez un client Outlook sur votre iPhone”, confirme David Bradshaw. “Accepter un rendez-vous, consulter les e-mails et les pièces jointes, télécharger des feuilles de calcul : il s'intègre de manière transparente à notre réseau Exchange”.

Les caractéristiques de sécurité d'iPhone, comme l'effacement à distance et la protection par mot de passe, assurent la confidentialité des dossiers médicaux sans compliquer la vie des utilisateurs. “Les technologies de sécurité ne posent aucun problème", témoigne le docteur Murphy. “Notre équipe sécurité a analysé l'iPhone. Il ne se contente pas de répondre à nos exigences : il les dépasse”.

Des médecins plus efficaces

Grâce à l'interface conviviale d'iPhone et à la technologie Multi-Touch, nos docteurs très sollicités deviennent vite opérationnels. “Le téléphone en lui-même est très intuitif. Inutile d'ouvrir un manuel” déclare le Dr. Marco Giannotti, obstétricien-gynécologue.

Et grâce aux centaines d'apps médicales disponibles, l'iPhone devient instantanément un outil de référence de poche, qui permet de consulter des planches anatomiques ou des outils de diagnostic. Ces apps permettent aux cliniciens de concevoir leurs propres méthodes de fonctionnement.

L'iPhone fournit aux médecins “la bonne information au bon moment” ajoute le Dr. Murphy. “Le fait de pouvoir accéder aux renseignements voulus sur le lieu d'intervention renforce la confiance que vous avez en vos décisions”.

Des applications médicales performantes

L'avantage d'iPhone se reconnaît à des applications comme AirStrip OB, qui permet aux obstétriciens de suivre les différentes étapes du travail, même lorsqu'ils ne sont pas aux côtés de la patiente. Conçue par AirStrip Technologies, AirStrip OB relie les appareils mobiles individuels à un serveur AirStrip centralisé, faisant appel à une technologie d'authentification conforme à la règlementation HIPAA, afin de fournir aux obstétriciens un accès à distance et en temps réel aux données des salles d'accouchement, dont la fréquence cardiaque fœtale, la fréquence des contractions, les autres indicateurs de santé et les notes des infirmières.

“AirStrip OB est une application absolument indispensable sur iPhone” affirme le docteur Giannotti. “Elle modifie fondamentalement la manière dont je peux interagir lors du travail et de l'accouchement. En dix fois moins de temps, et sans interrompre une infirmière, j'obtiens toutes les données en temps réel dont j'ai besoin, d'un simple toucher”.

La possibilité d'afficher les électrocardiogrammes en mode paysage distingue l'iPhone d'autres appareils, et rend AirStrip OB encore plus pratique pour les obstétriciens. “La différence entre les docteurs qui utilisent l'iPhone avec AirStrip OB et les autres est énorme", remarque David Bradshaw.

Des soins de meilleure qualité grâce à iPhone

Avec un accès sécurisé aux données cliniques, des apps médicales incontournables et une interface qui simplifie l'affichage et l'interprétation d'informations vitales, l'iPhone contribue sensiblement à l'amélioration de la qualité des soins au Memorial Hermann.

“Il est indiscutable que l'iPhone a un impact sur la manière dont les patients sont soignés”, déclare David Bradshaw. “Je pense surtout à la capacité qu'ont les cliniciens à rester en contact permanent avec les patients et les lieux de soins. Ils peuvent ainsi accomplir ce qu'ils imaginaient faire lorsqu'ils ont entrepris des études pour devenir médecin ou infirmier. L'iPhone nous aide tout simplement à soigner les patients de manière plus efficace et productive”.

L'entreprise en bref

  • Onze hôpitaux dans la région de Houston, Texas
  • 19 500 employés
  • Fondé en 1907
  • Prix du National Quality Healthcare Award en 2009
  • www.memorialhermann.org

“Il est indiscutable que l'iPhone a un impact sur la manière dont les patients sont soignés. Je pense surtout à la capacité qu'ont les cliniciens à rester en contact permanent avec les patients et les lieux de soins”.

David Bradshaw, responsable de l'information, de la planification et du marketing pour le Memorial Hermann Healthcare System


“Notre équipe sécurité a analysé l'iPhone. Il ne se contente pas de répondre à nos exigences : il les dépasse”.

Dr. Robert Murphy, directeur de l'informatique médicale, Memorial Hermann Healthcare System


“AirStrip OB est une application absolument indispensable que l'iPhone exploite à merveille. Elle modifie fondamentalement la manière dont je peux interagir lors du travail et de l'accouchement”.

Dr. Marco Giannotti, obstétrique et gynécologie, Memorial Hermann
The Woodlands Hospital

iPhone in Business

Memorial Hermann Healthcare System

Advancing health care with iPhone.

With thousands of doctors, nurses, and administrators in 11 hospitals — including the busiest trauma center in the country — Memorial Hermann Healthcare System depends on the latest mobile technologies to streamline its services and deliver better patient care. iPhone and state-of-the-art medical apps like AirStrip OB let Memorial Hermann’s physicians keep a finger on patients’ pulses even when they can’t be at their bedsides.

Based in Houston, TX, the fourth-largest city in the U.S., Memorial Hermann serves a metro area of more than five million people, providing everything from air ambulance services to a chemical dependency treatment center.

“Health care is a very real-time business,” says David Bradshaw, Chief Information, Planning, and Marketing Officer at Memorial Hermann Healthcare System. “We need anywhere, anytime computing, and iPhone is the best platform for the applications we’re choosing.”

Secure Access to Medical Data

With its built-in support for Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync, iPhone fits in flawlessly with Memorial Hermann’s existing infrastructure. “For me, that tight integration with Microsoft Exchange is very important,” says Dr. Robert Murphy, Memorial Hermann’s Chief Medical Informatics Officer.

“It’s as if you had the Outlook client on your iPhone,” Bradshaw agrees. “Accepting meetings, looking at email and attachments, downloading spreadsheets. It’s seamlessly integrated into our Exchange network.”

iPhone security features such as remote wipe and passcode protection keep patient information confidential while remaining transparent to users. “The security technology is absolutely not in question,” Dr. Murphy says. “Our security team has looked at the iPhone, and it not only meets the standards, it exceeds the standards.”

Physicians Gain Efficiency

The simple iPhone interface and Multi-Touch technology let busy doctors get up to speed quickly. “The phone itself is very intuitive — you don’t need an instruction manual,” says obstetrician/gynecologist Dr. Marco Giannotti.

And with hundreds of medical apps available, iPhone becomes an instant pocket reference for everything from anatomical charts to diagnostic tools, allowing clinicians the freedom to create their own application workflows.

iPhone gives doctors “the right information at the right moment,” adds Dr. Murphy. “Having that information available right at the point of care, you feel more confident in your decision-making.”

Medical Apps Deliver

The iPhone advantage is highlighted by apps like AirStrip OB, which enables obstetricians to monitor different stages of labor even when they’re not by a patient’s side. Developed by AirStrip Technologies, AirStrip OB links individual mobile devices to a central AirStrip server with HIPAA-compliant authentication, giving obstetricians remote access to live views of delivery room data — including fetal heart tracings, contraction patterns, vital statistics and nursing notes.

“AirStrip OB is an absolutely indispensable app on iPhone,” Dr. Giannotti says. “It fundamentally changes the way I’m able to interact with labor and delivery. In a tenth of the time, without pulling a nurse away from what she’s doing, I get all the real-time data I need at the touch of a button.”

The option of viewing heart tracings in landscape mode distinguishes iPhone from other devices, and makes AirStrip OB an even better tool for obstetricians. “It’s just off the chart how doctors who have iPhones are using AirStrip OB, compared to those who don’t,” Bradshaw observes.

Better Care via iPhone

With secure remote access to clinical data, must-have medical apps, and an interface that makes it easy to view and interpret key information, iPhone is clearly helping to improve health care at Memorial Hermann.

“There’s no question that iPhone is making a difference in how patients are cared for,” Bradshaw says. “Especially the ability to keep clinicians in constant contact with patients and the actual care setting. It’s all about them delivering on why they went to school and became a doctor or a nurse. iPhone simply helps us deliver patient care in a more efficient, productive manner.”

Company Snapshot

  • Eleven hospitals in the Houston, TX area
  • 19,500 employees
  • Founded in 1907
  • National Quality Healthcare Award in 2009
  • www.memorialhermann.org

“There’s no question that iPhone is making a difference in how patients are cared for — especially the ability to keep clinicians in constant contact with patients and the actual care setting.”

David Bradshaw, Chief Information, Planning, and Marketing Officer, Memorial Hermann Healthcare System


“Our security team has looked at the iPhone, and it not only meets the standards, it exceeds the standards.”

Dr. Robert Murphy, Chief Medical Informatics Officer, Memorial Hermann Healthcare System


“AirStrip OB is an absolutely indispensable app that iPhone completely unlocks. It fundamentally changes the way I’m able to interact with labor and delivery.”

Dr. Marco Giannotti, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Memorial Hermann
The Woodlands Hospital

More iPhone in Business profiles.

MTR Corporation On track with iPhone and iPad.

Central County Fire Department Fighting Fire with Technology.

Eaton Powering business with iPhone and iPad.

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

PepsiCo Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

Daiichi Sankyo Prescription for Change: iPad and iPhone.

CTV Newsroom The pocket newsroom.

Dow Corning iPhone helps keep this silicone giant running smoothly.

Lowe's Building better customer service.

Grupo BBVA Banking on iPhone and iPad.

Safe/Sea Marine Rescue Shipshape with iPad and iPhone.

GE Reinventing mobility.

Kids Crooked House A playful mission, powered by iPhone.

Jackson Kayak Rapid results with iPad and iPhone.

World Wide Technology Maintaining IT infrastructures with iPhone.

Aftonbladet Cutting-edge communication

G Adventures A global travel company stays unified, with iPhone.

Redlands P.D. On duty with iPhone and iPad.

M6 iPhone: a media giant evolves

Showcall Large-scale event production goes mobile with iPhone.

JM Family Auto innovators.

Virtual Aviation iPhone boosts virtual flight.

RehabCare Post-critical care using iPhone and iPad.

Novartis Apps for good health.

Quintessa Winery Elegant technology for a Napa Valley vineyard.

TCHO Chocolate Chocolatology meets technology.

Big Bad Boo Diversity through animation. Efficiency through iPhone.

The Wine Connection Taking the store with you.

Dr. Diamond Using iPhone to improve patient care.

Surfline Catching waves in the palm of the hand.

D.W. Morgan Revolutionizing the supply chain.

Aedas, Los Angeles Creativity through collaboration.

Great Food Group, Inc. Streamlining service with iPhone.

Unisys Data defenders.

Mount Sinai Hospital iPhone provides vital link to medical records.

RTKL Architecture in motion

DLA Phillips Fox iPhone: Improving legal services.

Memorial Hermann Healthcare System Advancing health care with iPhone.

Illumina iPhone meets genome.

Sunbelt Rentals iPhone: Essential equipment.

Gannett Media giant goes mobile.

Doylestown Hospital Always on call: iPhone 3G.

Standard Chartered Multinational banking goes mobile.

Kraft Foods Serving up innovation.