iPhone in Unternehmen

Memorial Hermann

abspielen Videobild

iPhone in Aktion.

Video ansehen

Memorial Hermann Healthcare System

Modernes Gesundheitswesen mit dem iPhone.

Tausende Ärzte, Pflegekräfte und Verwaltungsmitarbeiter, elf Krankenhäuser, darunter die am stärksten ausgelastete Unfallklinik von ganz Texas – das ist das Memorial Hermann Healthcare System. Das Memorial Hermann setzt zur Verbesserung seiner Dienstleistungen und der Patientenversorgung auf die neuesten mobilen Technologien. Mithilfe modernster Programme wie AirStrip OB für das iPhone haben die Ärzte des Memorial Hermann immer den Finger am Puls der Patienten, auch wenn sie nicht an ihrem Bett stehen.

Das Memorial Hermann befindet sich im texanischen Houston, der viertgrößten Stadt der USA, und betreut eine Region mit über fünf Millionen Menschen. Zum Angebot des Gesundheitszentrums gehören umfassende Dienstleistungen, deren Spektrum vom Ambulanzflugdienst bis hin zur Suchtklinik reicht.

"Medizinische Versorgung ist ein Echtzeit-Business", erklärt David Bradshaw, Chief Information, Planning, and Marketing Officer am Memorial Hermann. "Wir brauchen überall und zu jeder Zeit Computer, und das iPhone ist die beste Plattform für unsere Programme."

Sicherer Zugriff auf medizinische Daten.

Dank der integrierten Unterstützung für Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync passt das iPhone perfekt in die vorhandene Infrastruktur des Memorial Hermann. "Für mich ist die enge Zusammenarbeit mit Microsoft Exchange sehr wichtig", sagt Dr. Robert Murphy, Chief Medical Informatics Officer am Memorial Hermann.

"Es ist, als ob man den Outlook Client auf seinem iPhone hätte", stimmt Bradshaw zu. "Meetings bestätigen, E-Mails und Anhänge lesen, Tabellen herunterladen. All dies ist nahtlos in unser Exchange Netzwerk integriert."

Sicherheitsfunktionen des iPhone wie das Fernlöschen und Codeschutz sorgen dafür, dass Patientendaten vertraulich bleiben und nur bestimmten Benutzern zugänglich sind. "Die Sicherheitstechnologie stellt absolut kein Problem dar", so Dr. Murphy. "Das für Sicherheit zuständige Team hat sich das iPhone angesehen und ist zu dem Schluss gekommen, dass es die Standards nicht nur erfüllt, sondern sogar übertrifft."

Ärzte arbeiten effizienter.

Die einfache Benutzeroberfläche des iPhone und die Multi-Touch Technologie tragen dazu bei, dass auch vielbeschäftigte Ärzte schnell mit dem Gerät vertraut sind. "Das Telefon selbst ist sehr intuitiv – man benötigt keine Bedienungsanleitung", erklärt der Gynäkologe Dr. Marco Giannotti.

Eine umfassende Auswahl an medizinischen Apps macht das iPhone zu einer mobilen Referenzbibliothek im Taschenformat. Das Angebot reicht von anatomischen Lehrtafeln bis hin zu Diagnosewerkzeugen, mit denen Ärzte ihre eigenen Programmworkflows erstellen können.

"Mit dem iPhone haben Ärzte die richtigen Informationen zum richtigen Zeitpunkt", sagt Dr. Murphy. "Sind diese Informationen bei der Behandlung sofort verfügbar, kann eine fundiertere Entscheidung getroffen werden."

Vorzüge medizinischer Apps.

Die Vorteile des iPhone kommen beim Einsatz von Apps wie AirStrip OB besonders zum Tragen. Diese App ermöglicht es Geburtshelfern, die unterschiedlichen Geburtsstadien auch außerhalb des Kreißsaals zu überwachen. AirStrip OB wurde von AirStrip Technologies entwickelt und vernetzt einzelne Mobilgeräte mit einem zentralen AirStrip Server mit HIPAA kompatibler Authentifizierung. Damit können Geburtshelfer und Hebammen Daten aus dem Kreißsaal per Fernzugriff verfolgen, darunter Herzschlag des Kindes, Wehenmuster, Vitalwerte und Versorgungsstatus.

Dr. Giannotti zufolge ist AirStrip OB eine absolut unverzichtbare App auf dem iPhone. "Es eröffnet vollkommen neue Möglichkeiten der Kommunikation mit der Geburtsstation. Auf Tastendruck erhalte ich zehnmal so schnell alle Echtzeit-Informationen, die ich brauche, ohne eine Krankenschwester von ihrer Arbeit abzuhalten."

Die Option zum Anzeigen des Herzschlags im Querformat hebt das iPhone von anderen Geräten ab und macht AirStrip OB zu einem noch besseren Tool für Geburtshelfer und Hebammen. "Die Unterschiede zwischen Ärzten, die AirStrip OB auf dem iPhone verwenden, und denen, die es nicht tun, sind enorm", beobachtet Bradshaw.

Bessere Versorgung mit dem iPhone.

Mit sicherem Fernzugriff auf klinische Daten, unverzichtbaren medizinischen Apps und einer Benutzeroberfläche, mit der wichtige Informationen einfach angezeigt und analysiert werden können, leistet das iPhone einen eindeutigen Beitrag zur Verbesserung der Gesundheitsversorgung im Memorial Hermann.

"Das iPhone verbessert ohne Zweifel die Behandlung und Pflege der Patienten", so Bradshaw. "Dies gilt insbesondere für die Möglichkeit, den ständigen Kontakt zwischen Ärzten und Patienten zu gewährleisten und Informationen zur Behandlung zu übermitteln. Es geht vor allem darum, den Ärzten und dem Pflegepersonal zu ermöglichen, das zu tun, was sie zum Erlernen ihres Berufs bewogen hat. Das iPhone hilft uns dabei, die Behandlung der Patienten effizienter und produktiver zu gestalten."

Unternehmensprofil

  • Elf Krankenhäuser in und um Houston im US-Bundesstaat Texas
  • 19.500 Mitarbeiter
  • Gegründet 1907
  • National Quality Healthcare Award im Jahr 2009
  • www.memorialhermann.org

"Das iPhone verbessert ohne Zweifel die Behandlung und Pflege der Patienten. Dies gilt insbesondere für die Möglichkeit, den ständigen Kontakt zwischen Ärzten und Patienten zu gewährleisten und Informationen zur Behandlung zu übermitteln."

David Bradshaw, Chief Information, Planning, and Marketing Officer, Memorial Hermann


"Das für Sicherheit zuständige Team hat sich das iPhone angesehen und ist zu dem Schluss gekommen, dass es die Standards nicht nur erfüllt, sondern sogar übertrifft."

Dr. Robert Murphy, Chief Medical Informatics Officer, Memorial Hermann


"AirStrip OB ist eine absolut unverzichtbare App, die auf dem iPhone vollständig nutzbar ist. Es eröffnet vollkommen neue Möglichkeiten der Kommunikation mit der Geburtsstation."

Dr. Marco Giannotti, Arzt für Gynäkologie und Geburtshilfe, Memorial Hermann,
The Woodlands Hospital

iPhone in Business

Memorial Hermann Healthcare System

Advancing health care with iPhone.

With thousands of doctors, nurses, and administrators in 11 hospitals — including the busiest trauma center in the country — Memorial Hermann Healthcare System depends on the latest mobile technologies to streamline its services and deliver better patient care. iPhone and state-of-the-art medical apps like AirStrip OB let Memorial Hermann’s physicians keep a finger on patients’ pulses even when they can’t be at their bedsides.

Based in Houston, TX, the fourth-largest city in the U.S., Memorial Hermann serves a metro area of more than five million people, providing everything from air ambulance services to a chemical dependency treatment center.

“Health care is a very real-time business,” says David Bradshaw, Chief Information, Planning, and Marketing Officer at Memorial Hermann Healthcare System. “We need anywhere, anytime computing, and iPhone is the best platform for the applications we’re choosing.”

Secure Access to Medical Data

With its built-in support for Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync, iPhone fits in flawlessly with Memorial Hermann’s existing infrastructure. “For me, that tight integration with Microsoft Exchange is very important,” says Dr. Robert Murphy, Memorial Hermann’s Chief Medical Informatics Officer.

“It’s as if you had the Outlook client on your iPhone,” Bradshaw agrees. “Accepting meetings, looking at email and attachments, downloading spreadsheets. It’s seamlessly integrated into our Exchange network.”

iPhone security features such as remote wipe and passcode protection keep patient information confidential while remaining transparent to users. “The security technology is absolutely not in question,” Dr. Murphy says. “Our security team has looked at the iPhone, and it not only meets the standards, it exceeds the standards.”

Physicians Gain Efficiency

The simple iPhone interface and Multi-Touch technology let busy doctors get up to speed quickly. “The phone itself is very intuitive — you don’t need an instruction manual,” says obstetrician/gynecologist Dr. Marco Giannotti.

And with hundreds of medical apps available, iPhone becomes an instant pocket reference for everything from anatomical charts to diagnostic tools, allowing clinicians the freedom to create their own application workflows.

iPhone gives doctors “the right information at the right moment,” adds Dr. Murphy. “Having that information available right at the point of care, you feel more confident in your decision-making.”

Medical Apps Deliver

The iPhone advantage is highlighted by apps like AirStrip OB, which enables obstetricians to monitor different stages of labor even when they’re not by a patient’s side. Developed by AirStrip Technologies, AirStrip OB links individual mobile devices to a central AirStrip server with HIPAA-compliant authentication, giving obstetricians remote access to live views of delivery room data — including fetal heart tracings, contraction patterns, vital statistics and nursing notes.

“AirStrip OB is an absolutely indispensable app on iPhone,” Dr. Giannotti says. “It fundamentally changes the way I’m able to interact with labor and delivery. In a tenth of the time, without pulling a nurse away from what she’s doing, I get all the real-time data I need at the touch of a button.”

The option of viewing heart tracings in landscape mode distinguishes iPhone from other devices, and makes AirStrip OB an even better tool for obstetricians. “It’s just off the chart how doctors who have iPhones are using AirStrip OB, compared to those who don’t,” Bradshaw observes.

Better Care via iPhone

With secure remote access to clinical data, must-have medical apps, and an interface that makes it easy to view and interpret key information, iPhone is clearly helping to improve health care at Memorial Hermann.

“There’s no question that iPhone is making a difference in how patients are cared for,” Bradshaw says. “Especially the ability to keep clinicians in constant contact with patients and the actual care setting. It’s all about them delivering on why they went to school and became a doctor or a nurse. iPhone simply helps us deliver patient care in a more efficient, productive manner.”

Company Snapshot

  • Eleven hospitals in the Houston, TX area
  • 19,500 employees
  • Founded in 1907
  • National Quality Healthcare Award in 2009
  • www.memorialhermann.org

“There’s no question that iPhone is making a difference in how patients are cared for — especially the ability to keep clinicians in constant contact with patients and the actual care setting.”

David Bradshaw, Chief Information, Planning, and Marketing Officer, Memorial Hermann Healthcare System


“Our security team has looked at the iPhone, and it not only meets the standards, it exceeds the standards.”

Dr. Robert Murphy, Chief Medical Informatics Officer, Memorial Hermann Healthcare System


“AirStrip OB is an absolutely indispensable app that iPhone completely unlocks. It fundamentally changes the way I’m able to interact with labor and delivery.”

Dr. Marco Giannotti, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Memorial Hermann
The Woodlands Hospital

More iPhone in Business profiles.

MTR Corporation On track with iPhone and iPad.

Central County Fire Department Fighting Fire with Technology.

Eaton Powering business with iPhone and iPad.

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

PepsiCo Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

Daiichi Sankyo Prescription for Change: iPad and iPhone.

CTV Newsroom The pocket newsroom.

Dow Corning iPhone helps keep this silicone giant running smoothly.

Lowe's Building better customer service.

Grupo BBVA Banking on iPhone and iPad.

Safe/Sea Marine Rescue Shipshape with iPad and iPhone.

GE Reinventing mobility.

Kids Crooked House A playful mission, powered by iPhone.

Jackson Kayak Rapid results with iPad and iPhone.

World Wide Technology Maintaining IT infrastructures with iPhone.

Aftonbladet Cutting-edge communication

G Adventures A global travel company stays unified, with iPhone.

Redlands P.D. On duty with iPhone and iPad.

M6 iPhone: a media giant evolves

Showcall Large-scale event production goes mobile with iPhone.

JM Family Auto innovators.

Virtual Aviation iPhone boosts virtual flight.

RehabCare Post-critical care using iPhone and iPad.

Novartis Apps for good health.

Quintessa Winery Elegant technology for a Napa Valley vineyard.

TCHO Chocolate Chocolatology meets technology.

Big Bad Boo Diversity through animation. Efficiency through iPhone.

The Wine Connection Taking the store with you.

Dr. Diamond Using iPhone to improve patient care.

Surfline Catching waves in the palm of the hand.

D.W. Morgan Revolutionizing the supply chain.

Aedas, Los Angeles Creativity through collaboration.

Great Food Group, Inc. Streamlining service with iPhone.

Unisys Data defenders.

Mount Sinai Hospital iPhone provides vital link to medical records.

RTKL Architecture in motion

DLA Phillips Fox iPhone: Improving legal services.

Memorial Hermann Healthcare System Advancing health care with iPhone.

Illumina iPhone meets genome.

Sunbelt Rentals iPhone: Essential equipment.

Gannett Media giant goes mobile.

Doylestown Hospital Always on call: iPhone 3G.

Standard Chartered Multinational banking goes mobile.

Kraft Foods Serving up innovation.