iPhone en entreprise

Sonic Automotive

L’iPhone et l’iPad, des moteurs de croissance.

« Nous utilisons l’iPhone, l’iPad, l’iPad mini et des apps internes pour améliorer l’expérience du client. Et une meilleure expérience du client se traduit par une plus grande rentabilité pour l’entreprise. »

Scott Smith, président et directeur de la Stratégie, Sonic Automotive

Sonic Automotive est l’un des plus grands distributeurs automobiles aux États-Unis. Chaque année, cette entreprise en plein essor vend 250 000 voitures neuves et d’occasion, mais aussi des pièces, ainsi que des services d’entretien, de garantie, de réparation en cas de collision et de financement de véhicules. En utilisant l’iPhone, l’iPad et des apps personnalisées pour les vendeurs et responsables des concessions dans tout le pays, Sonic a développé la réactivité et l’efficacité des services clientèle et commercial.

Sonic a été fondée en 1997 par Bruton Smith, qui dirige également Speedway Motorsports, un géant de la course automobile, et son fils Smith, actuel président et directeur de la Stratégie de l’entreprise. « Chez Sonic Automotive, nous utilisons l’iPhone, l’iPad, l’iPad mini et des apps internes pour améliorer l’expérience du client », affirme Scott Smith. « Et une meilleure expérience du client se traduit par une plus grande rentabilité pour l’entreprise. »

Les appareils iOS et les apps internes ont contribué au développement rapide de l’entreprise en simplifiant les processus quotidiens, en favorisant la communication entre les concessionnaires dans tout le pays et en offrant une expérience client de premier plan.

« Lorsque les clients songent à acheter une voiture, la confiance et le temps font partie de leurs plus grandes préoccupations », indique Heath Byrd, vice-président principal et directeur financier. « Nous utilisons des iPad et des iPhone pour surmonter ces deux obstacles. Chez la plupart des concessionnaires, il faut compter entre quatre et cinq heures pour acheter un véhicule. Notre objectif est que les clients puissent le faire en une heure. »

« Lorsque les clients songent à acheter une voiture, la confiance et le temps font partie de leurs plus grandes préoccupations. Nous utilisons des iPad et des iPhone pour surmonter ces deux obstacles. »

Heath Byrd, vice-président principal et directeur financier, Sonic Automotive

Ventes et services turbo

Sonic a développé plusieurs apps personnalisées pour accélérer le processus d’achat des voitures et des services. Disponibles sur iPhone et iPad, ces apps permettent aux concessionnaires d’exécuter des processus de tarification et d’inventaire complexes bien plus rapidement qu’auparavant.

Virtual Lot, l’app d’inventaire des concessionnaires de Sonic, permet aux vendeurs de rechercher rapidement des véhicules, non seulement sur leur propre site, mais aussi chez tous les autres concessionnaires Sonic. Du bout des doigts, ils peuvent trouver le véhicule qui répond le mieux aux besoins de chaque client, et proposer un choix bien plus large que la concurrence. « Il y a un an et demi, tous nos concessionnaires devaient se contenter de leur propre stock », se rappelle Scott Smith. « Aujourd’hui, le stock est celui de Sonic, et il peut être partagé entre tous les concessionnaires. »

Sonic Inventory Management System (SIMS), une autre app interne, a transformé le processus d’estimation des valeurs de reprise. « Nous prenons des photos avec notre iPad ou iPhone, enregistrons le numéro d’immatriculation et le kilométrage, et notons tout problème éventuel », indique Sanjay Prakash, directeur général de Town and Country Toyota Scion, un des principaux concessionnaires de Sonic Automotive. « Les données sont envoyées au siège social, où la voiture peut rapidement être évaluée. »

Pour les réparations et les travaux sous garantie, Sonic a conçu l’app Service Pad. « Auparavant, les clients devaient entrer et s’asseoir à un bureau pour remplir des formulaires », explique Heath Byrd. « Avec Service Pad, nos conseillers sortent pour aller à la rencontre des clients, et enregistrent la demande de réparation directement sur l’iPad, près du véhicule. »

Ces puissantes apps internes aident le personnel commercial de Sonic à identifier rapidement les produits et services qui répondent aux besoins de chaque client. « Avec l’iPad, les commerciaux ne travaillent plus en aveugle », affirme Sanjay Prakash. « Ils ont accès aux informations sur les véhicules, aux tarifs, aux valeurs de reprise, aux taux d’intérêt et aux financements, et, bien sûr, au prix que demandent nos concurrents pour les mêmes véhicules. »

Sonic dispose également d’une app spécialement conçue pour les clients : Sonic Auto Search, disponible gratuitement sur l’App Store. Elle permet aux utilisateurs de parcourir le stock, de calculer le prix d’un véhicule et les paiements à effectuer, et d’en savoir plus sur les modèles qui les intéressent avant de se rendre chez un concessionnaire. 

« Avec l’iPad, les commerciaux ne travaillent plus en aveugle. Ils ont accès aux informations sur les véhicules, aux tarifs, aux valeurs de reprise, aux taux d’intérêt et aux financements, et, bien sûr, au prix que demandent nos concurrents pour les mêmes véhicules. »

Sanjay Prakash, directeur général, Town and Country Toyota Scion

Dépasser la concurrence

Chez Sonic Automotive, l’iPhone, l’iPad et les apps ne se contentent pas d’aider les clients à trouver la voiture qu’il leur faut. « Lorsque les clients nous voient avec l’iPad et l’iPhone, ils se rendent compte que nous sommes différents de nos concurrents », explique Sanjay Prakash. « Ces appareils les aident à prendre des décisions plus rapides et ainsi à ne pas avoir à y passer toute la journée. Et ils nous permettent d’être plus réactifs qu’un concessionnaire lambda. »

« L’avenir de Sonic est très prometteur », conclut Heath Byrd. « Nous avons notre idée sur la façon dont l’iPad et l’iPhone vont nous permettre d’améliorer l’expérience d’achat d’une voiture en Amérique. Nous allons changer la manière dont cela se fait. »

L’entreprise en bref

Les apps en bref

  • Virtual Lot permet à Sonic de parcourir les stocks de véhicules de différents concessionnaires.
  • Sonic Inventory Management System (SIMS) permet de saisir des informations pour calculer rapidement la valeur de reprise d’un véhicule.
  • Service Pad facilite l’enregistrement des informations de réparation des clients en concession.
  • Mobile BI fournit aux responsables des concessions des informations quotidiennes en matière de veille économique.
  • Sonic Auto Search permet aux clients de voir les véhicules disponibles chez les concessionnaires Sonic.

Sonic Automotive

Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

“We’re using iPhone, iPad, iPad mini, and internal apps to enhance our customer experience. And a greater customer experience translates into greater profitability for the company.”

Scott Smith, President and Chief Strategic Officer, Sonic Automotive

Sonic Automotive is one of the largest automotive retailers in the United States. Each year, this fast-moving company sells 250,000 new and used cars, in addition to auto parts, maintenance, warranty, collision, and vehicle financing services. Using iPhone, iPad, and custom apps for dealer associates and managers nationwide, Sonic has brought new speed and efficiency to customer service and sales.

Sonic was founded in 1997 by Bruton Smith, who also helms racetrack giant Speedway Motorsports, and his son Scott Smith, now Sonic’s President and Chief Strategic Officer. “At Sonic Automotive, we’re using iPhone, iPad, iPad mini, and internal apps to enhance our customer experience,” Scott Smith says. “And a greater customer experience translates into greater profitability for the company.”

iOS devices and in-house apps have helped drive the company’s rapid expansion by streamlining everyday processes, connecting dealerships across the U.S., and delivering a premium-grade customer experience.

“As customers go through the car-buying process, some of their biggest concerns are trust and time,” says Heath Byrd, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer. “We’re using iPad and iPhone to break down both those barriers. At most dealerships, it takes four to five hours to buy a vehicle. Our goal is to get it down to an hour.”

“As customers go through the car-buying process, some of their biggest concerns are trust and time. We’re using iPad and iPhone to break down both those barriers.”

Heath Byrd, Executive Vice President and CFO, Sonic Automotive

Speedy Sales and Service

Sonic has developed several custom apps to fast-track car sales and service. With these apps on iPhone and iPad, dealers can complete complex pricing and inventory processes in a fraction of the time it once took.

Sonic’s dealer inventory app, Virtual Lot, lets associates quickly search for vehicles not just at their own location, but across all Sonic dealerships. With just a tap, Sonic can find the best possible match for each customer’s needs—and offer far more choices than the competition. “A year and a half ago, all our dealerships operated with their own inventory,” Scott Smith says. “But today it’s Sonic’s inventory, and we can move it anywhere.”

Another internal app, Sonic Inventory Management System (SIMS), has transformed trade-in appraisals and pricing. “We take photos on our iPad or iPhone, collect the VIN and mileage, and note any issues,” says Sanjay Prakash, General Manager of Town and Country Toyota Scion, one of Sonic Automotive’s top dealerships. “The data is sent to corporate headquarters, where they can quickly appraise the car.”

For repairs and warranty work, Sonic built the Service Pad app. “Before, customers had to come inside and sit at a desk to do the write-up,” Byrd explains. “With Service Pad our advisors walk out, greet the customers, and do the entire repair order on an iPad right there at the vehicle.”

These powerful in-house apps help Sonic sales staff quickly identify the right products and services for each customer’s needs. “With iPad, salespeople are no longer in the dark,” says Prakash. “They have access to vehicle information, pricing, trade-in values, interest rates, specials, and financing—and of course what our competitors are charging for identical vehicles.”

Sonic also has an app for customers: Sonic Auto Search, available for free in the App Store, lets shoppers see inventory, calculate prices and payments, and learn more about specific models before going to the dealership.

“With iPad, salespeople are no longer in the dark. They have access to vehicle information, pricing, trade-in values, interest rates, specials, and financing—and of course what our competitors are charging for identical vehicles.”

Sanjay Prakash, General Manager, Town and Country Toyota Scion

Outmaneuvering the Competition

At Sonic Automotive, iPhone, iPad, and apps do more than make it easier for customers to find the perfect car. “When customers see us with iPad and iPhone, it sets us apart from the competition,” Prakash says. “It helps them make faster decisions and not spend all day at a car dealership. And it allows us to move much quicker than a normal car dealership would.”

“The future at Sonic is very bright,” agrees Byrd. “We have a vision about how we’re going to improve the experience of buying cars in America using iPad and iPhone. We’re going to change the way it’s done.”

Company Snapshot

App Recap

  • Virtual Lot allows Sonic to search inventory across multiple dealerships.
  • Sonic Inventory Management System (SIMS) captures information to quickly calculate the trade-in vehicle value.
  • Service Pad makes it easy to write up service customers at the dealership.
  • Mobile BI gives dealership leaders daily updates on business intelligence.
  • Sonic Auto Search enables customers to see cars at Sonic’s dealerships.

More iPhone in Business profiles.

MTR Corporation On track with iPhone and iPad.

Central County Fire Department Fighting Fire with Technology.

Eaton Powering business with iPhone and iPad.

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

PepsiCo Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

Daiichi Sankyo Prescription for Change: iPad and iPhone.

CTV Newsroom The pocket newsroom.

Dow Corning iPhone helps keep this silicone giant running smoothly.

Lowe's Building better customer service.

Grupo BBVA Banking on iPhone and iPad.

Safe/Sea Marine Rescue Shipshape with iPad and iPhone.

GE Reinventing mobility.

Kids Crooked House A playful mission, powered by iPhone.

Jackson Kayak Rapid results with iPad and iPhone.

World Wide Technology Maintaining IT infrastructures with iPhone.

Aftonbladet Cutting-edge communication

G Adventures A global travel company stays unified, with iPhone.

Redlands P.D. On duty with iPhone and iPad.

M6 iPhone: a media giant evolves

Showcall Large-scale event production goes mobile with iPhone.

JM Family Auto innovators.

Virtual Aviation iPhone boosts virtual flight.

RehabCare Post-critical care using iPhone and iPad.

Novartis Apps for good health.

Quintessa Winery Elegant technology for a Napa Valley vineyard.

TCHO Chocolate Chocolatology meets technology.

Big Bad Boo Diversity through animation. Efficiency through iPhone.

The Wine Connection Taking the store with you.

Dr. Diamond Using iPhone to improve patient care.

Surfline Catching waves in the palm of the hand.

D.W. Morgan Revolutionizing the supply chain.

Aedas, Los Angeles Creativity through collaboration.

Great Food Group, Inc. Streamlining service with iPhone.

Unisys Data defenders.

Mount Sinai Hospital iPhone provides vital link to medical records.

RTKL Architecture in motion

DLA Phillips Fox iPhone: Improving legal services.

Memorial Hermann Healthcare System Advancing health care with iPhone.

Illumina iPhone meets genome.

Sunbelt Rentals iPhone: Essential equipment.

Gannett Media giant goes mobile.

Doylestown Hospital Always on call: iPhone 3G.

Standard Chartered Multinational banking goes mobile.

Kraft Foods Serving up innovation.