iPhone in Unternehmen

Sonic Automotive

Schnelleres Wachstum mit iPhone und iPad.

„Wir nutzen das iPhone, iPad und iPad mini neben unseren internen Apps, um die Kundenzufriedenheit zu steigern. Und zufriedenere Kunden bedeuten ein profitableres Unternehmen.“

Scott Smith, Geschäftsführer und Chief Strategic Officer, Sonic Automotive

Sonic Automotive zählt zu den größten Automobil-Einzelhändlern der USA. Pro Jahr verkauft dieses sich schnell entwickelnde Unternehmen 250.000 Neu- und Gebrauchtwagen sowie Ersatzteile und bietet Wartungs-, Garantie-, Schadens- und Finanzierungsservices. Mit iPhone, iPad und eigenen Apps für angegliederte Händler und Manager im ganzen Land konnte Sonic den Kundendienst und seine Verkäufe beschleunigen und effizienter gestalten.

Sonic wurde 1997 von Bruton Smith gegründet, der auch den Rennstrecken-Riesen Speedway Motorsports leitet, und dessen Sohn Scott Smith, der inzwischen Geschäftsführer und Chief Strategic Officer von Sonic ist. „Bei Sonic Automotive nutzen wir das iPhone, iPad, iPad mini und interne Apps, um die Kundenzufriedenheit zu steigern“, sagt Scott Smith. „Und zufriedenere Kunden bedeuten ein profitableres Unternehmen.“

iOS Geräte und interne Apps haben das rasante Wachstum des Unternehmens unterstützt, indem alltägliche Prozesse optimiert, Händler landesweit miteinander in Kontakt gebracht und erstklassige Kundenerfahrungen ermöglicht wurden.

„Für unsere Kunden sind Vertrauen und der Zeitfaktor beim Kauf eines Autos besonders wichtig“, erklärt Heath Byrd, Stellvertretender Vizepräsident und Finanzdirektor. „Wir setzen auf das iPad und iPhone, um diesen beiden Aspekten gerecht zu werden. Bei den meisten Autohändlern dauert der Kauf eines Fahrzeugs zwischen vier und fünf Stunden. Unser Ziel ist es, in einer Stunde damit fertig zu sein.“

„Für unsere Kunden sind Vertrauen und der Zeitfaktor beim Kauf eines Autos besonders wichtig. Wir setzen auf das iPad und iPhone, um diesen beiden Aspekten gerecht zu werden.“

Heath Byrd, Stellvertretender Vizepräsident und Finanzdirektor, Sonic Automotive

Schneller Verkauf und Service.

Sonic hat mehrere eigene Apps entwickelt, um Autoverkäufe und Service schnell nachzuverfolgen. Mit diesen Apps auf dem iPhone und iPad können Händler komplexe Preisgestaltungs- und Warenbestandsprozesse in einem Bruchteil der bisher benötigten Zeit durchführen.

Virtual Lot, die von Sonic entwickelte App für den Warenbestand, ermöglicht Händlern die schnelle Suche nach Fahrzeugen nicht nur am eigenen Standort, sondern in allen Sonic Niederlassungen. Per Fingertipp findet Sonic das beste Angebot für die jeweiligen Wünsche des Kunden und bietet so viel mehr Auswahl als die Konkurrenz. „Noch vor eineinhalb Jahren hatten alle unsere Händler nur ihren eigenen Warenbestand im Angebot“, so Scott Smith. „Doch heute ist es der Warenbestand von Sonic, der überall zur Verfügung gestellt werden kann.“

Eine weitere interne App, Sonic Inventory Management System (SIMS), hat Preisvorschläge bei der Inzahlungnahme und die Preisgestaltung grundlegend verändert. „Wir machen Fotos mit unserem iPad oder iPhone, notieren die Fahrzeugidentifikationsnummer, den Kilometerstand und eventuelle Probleme“, erklärt Sanjay Prakash, Geschäftsführer von Town and Country Toyota Scion, einer der führenden Autohändler von Sonic Automotive. „Die Daten werden an den Firmensitz gesendet, wo dann der Wert des Fahrzeugs schnell veranschlagt wird.“

Für Reparaturen und Garantieleistungen entwickelte Sonic die App „Service Pad“. „Bisher mussten Kunden reinkommen und sich an einen Schreibtisch setzen, um den Papierkram zu erledigen“, erläutert Byrd. „Mit Service Pad gehen unsere Mitarbeiter raus zum Kunden, begrüßen ihn und nehmen den gesamten Reparaturauftrag mit dem iPad direkt am Fahrzeug auf.“

Diese leistungsstarken internen Apps helfen den Verkaufsmitarbeitern von Sonic, schnell die richtigen Produkte und Services für die Bedürfnisse der Kunden zu finden. „Mit dem iPad stehen Verkaufsmitarbeiter nicht länger alleine da”, so Prakash. „Sie haben Zugriff auf Fahrzeuginformationen, Preise, Gebrauchtwerte, Zinsen, Sonderangebote und Finanzierungsoptionen – und natürlich auf die Preise unserer Konkurrenten für identische Autos.“

Auch für die Kunden bietet Sonic eine App: Mit Sonic Auto Search, das im App Store kostenlos verfügbar ist, können Kunden den Warenbestand ansehen, Preise und Raten berechnen und sich über bestimmte Modelle informieren, bevor sie zum Händler gehen.

„Mit dem iPad stehen Verkaufsmitarbeiter nicht länger alleine da. Sie haben Zugriff auf Fahrzeuginformationen, Preise, Gebrauchtwerte, Zinsen, Sonderangebote und Finanzierungsoptionen – und natürlich auf die Preise unserer Konkurrenten für identische Autos.“

Sanjay Prakash, Geschäftsführer, Town and Country Toyota Scion

Die Konkurrenz überholen.

Bei Sonic Automotive machen es iPhone, iPad und Apps für Kunden einfach, das perfekte Auto zu finden. Und mehr als das. „Wenn uns Kunden mit dem iPad und iPhone sehen, haben wir ein Unterscheidungsmerkmal gegenüber der Konkurrenz“, sagt Prakash. „Sie können damit schneller eine Entscheidung treffen und müssen nicht den ganzen Tag beim Autohändler verbringen. Und wir können viel schneller reagieren als andere Autohändler.“

„Die Zukunft sieht für Sonic richtig rosig aus“, bestätigt Byrd. „Wir haben klare Vorstellungen davon, wie wir mithilfe des iPad und des iPhone den Kauf von Autos in Amerika bequemer machen wollen. Wir wollen die Art und Weise, wie man Autos kauft, verändern.“

Unternehmensprofil

Zusammenfassung der Apps

  • Virtual Lot ermöglicht Sonic die Suche im Warenbestand mehrerer Händler.
  • Sonic Inventory Management System (SIMS) erfasst Informationen, um den Fahrzeugwert bei Inzahlungnahme schnell zu berechnen.
  • Service Pad erleichtert die Erfassung von Reparatur- und Serviceaufträgen beim Händler.
  • Mobile BI gibt den Leitern der Niederlassungen tägliche Updates zu den Geschäftsdaten.
  • Sonic Auto Search ermöglicht Kunden, Fahrzeuge bei Sonic Händlern anzusehen.

Sonic Automotive

Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

“We’re using iPhone, iPad, iPad mini, and internal apps to enhance our customer experience. And a greater customer experience translates into greater profitability for the company.”

Scott Smith, President and Chief Strategic Officer, Sonic Automotive

Sonic Automotive is one of the largest automotive retailers in the United States. Each year, this fast-moving company sells 250,000 new and used cars, in addition to auto parts, maintenance, warranty, collision, and vehicle financing services. Using iPhone, iPad, and custom apps for dealer associates and managers nationwide, Sonic has brought new speed and efficiency to customer service and sales.

Sonic was founded in 1997 by Bruton Smith, who also helms racetrack giant Speedway Motorsports, and his son Scott Smith, now Sonic’s President and Chief Strategic Officer. “At Sonic Automotive, we’re using iPhone, iPad, iPad mini, and internal apps to enhance our customer experience,” Scott Smith says. “And a greater customer experience translates into greater profitability for the company.”

iOS devices and in-house apps have helped drive the company’s rapid expansion by streamlining everyday processes, connecting dealerships across the U.S., and delivering a premium-grade customer experience.

“As customers go through the car-buying process, some of their biggest concerns are trust and time,” says Heath Byrd, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer. “We’re using iPad and iPhone to break down both those barriers. At most dealerships, it takes four to five hours to buy a vehicle. Our goal is to get it down to an hour.”

“As customers go through the car-buying process, some of their biggest concerns are trust and time. We’re using iPad and iPhone to break down both those barriers.”

Heath Byrd, Executive Vice President and CFO, Sonic Automotive

Speedy Sales and Service

Sonic has developed several custom apps to fast-track car sales and service. With these apps on iPhone and iPad, dealers can complete complex pricing and inventory processes in a fraction of the time it once took.

Sonic’s dealer inventory app, Virtual Lot, lets associates quickly search for vehicles not just at their own location, but across all Sonic dealerships. With just a tap, Sonic can find the best possible match for each customer’s needs—and offer far more choices than the competition. “A year and a half ago, all our dealerships operated with their own inventory,” Scott Smith says. “But today it’s Sonic’s inventory, and we can move it anywhere.”

Another internal app, Sonic Inventory Management System (SIMS), has transformed trade-in appraisals and pricing. “We take photos on our iPad or iPhone, collect the VIN and mileage, and note any issues,” says Sanjay Prakash, General Manager of Town and Country Toyota Scion, one of Sonic Automotive’s top dealerships. “The data is sent to corporate headquarters, where they can quickly appraise the car.”

For repairs and warranty work, Sonic built the Service Pad app. “Before, customers had to come inside and sit at a desk to do the write-up,” Byrd explains. “With Service Pad our advisors walk out, greet the customers, and do the entire repair order on an iPad right there at the vehicle.”

These powerful in-house apps help Sonic sales staff quickly identify the right products and services for each customer’s needs. “With iPad, salespeople are no longer in the dark,” says Prakash. “They have access to vehicle information, pricing, trade-in values, interest rates, specials, and financing—and of course what our competitors are charging for identical vehicles.”

Sonic also has an app for customers: Sonic Auto Search, available for free in the App Store, lets shoppers see inventory, calculate prices and payments, and learn more about specific models before going to the dealership.

“With iPad, salespeople are no longer in the dark. They have access to vehicle information, pricing, trade-in values, interest rates, specials, and financing—and of course what our competitors are charging for identical vehicles.”

Sanjay Prakash, General Manager, Town and Country Toyota Scion

Outmaneuvering the Competition

At Sonic Automotive, iPhone, iPad, and apps do more than make it easier for customers to find the perfect car. “When customers see us with iPad and iPhone, it sets us apart from the competition,” Prakash says. “It helps them make faster decisions and not spend all day at a car dealership. And it allows us to move much quicker than a normal car dealership would.”

“The future at Sonic is very bright,” agrees Byrd. “We have a vision about how we’re going to improve the experience of buying cars in America using iPad and iPhone. We’re going to change the way it’s done.”

Company Snapshot

App Recap

  • Virtual Lot allows Sonic to search inventory across multiple dealerships.
  • Sonic Inventory Management System (SIMS) captures information to quickly calculate the trade-in vehicle value.
  • Service Pad makes it easy to write up service customers at the dealership.
  • Mobile BI gives dealership leaders daily updates on business intelligence.
  • Sonic Auto Search enables customers to see cars at Sonic’s dealerships.

More iPhone in Business profiles.

MTR Corporation On track with iPhone and iPad.

Central County Fire Department Fighting Fire with Technology.

Eaton Powering business with iPhone and iPad.

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

PepsiCo Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

Daiichi Sankyo Prescription for Change: iPad and iPhone.

CTV Newsroom The pocket newsroom.

Dow Corning iPhone helps keep this silicone giant running smoothly.

Lowe's Building better customer service.

Grupo BBVA Banking on iPhone and iPad.

Safe/Sea Marine Rescue Shipshape with iPad and iPhone.

GE Reinventing mobility.

Kids Crooked House A playful mission, powered by iPhone.

Jackson Kayak Rapid results with iPad and iPhone.

World Wide Technology Maintaining IT infrastructures with iPhone.

Aftonbladet Cutting-edge communication

G Adventures A global travel company stays unified, with iPhone.

Redlands P.D. On duty with iPhone and iPad.

M6 iPhone: a media giant evolves

Showcall Large-scale event production goes mobile with iPhone.

JM Family Auto innovators.

Virtual Aviation iPhone boosts virtual flight.

RehabCare Post-critical care using iPhone and iPad.

Novartis Apps for good health.

Quintessa Winery Elegant technology for a Napa Valley vineyard.

TCHO Chocolate Chocolatology meets technology.

Big Bad Boo Diversity through animation. Efficiency through iPhone.

The Wine Connection Taking the store with you.

Dr. Diamond Using iPhone to improve patient care.

Surfline Catching waves in the palm of the hand.

D.W. Morgan Revolutionizing the supply chain.

Aedas, Los Angeles Creativity through collaboration.

Great Food Group, Inc. Streamlining service with iPhone.

Unisys Data defenders.

Mount Sinai Hospital iPhone provides vital link to medical records.

RTKL Architecture in motion

DLA Phillips Fox iPhone: Improving legal services.

Memorial Hermann Healthcare System Advancing health care with iPhone.

Illumina iPhone meets genome.

Sunbelt Rentals iPhone: Essential equipment.

Gannett Media giant goes mobile.

Doylestown Hospital Always on call: iPhone 3G.

Standard Chartered Multinational banking goes mobile.

Kraft Foods Serving up innovation.