iPhone en entreprise

Surfline

« Chez Surfline, avant même de nous lever du lit, nous sommes nombreux à nous brancher sur les caméras pour voir les vagues depuis notre iPhone. L'idée de regarder des vidéos sur un appareil mobile est un vieux rêve pour bien des gens. Aujourd'hui, ce rêve est devenu réalité. »

Brian Mezger
Directeur des technologies
Surfline

Surfline

Prendre la vague dans le creux de votre main.

Avec plus de 150 caméras diffusant en direct et en continu depuis les principaux sites de surf dans le monde et un logiciel sophistiqué de prédiction des conditions de vague jusqu'à une semaine à l'avance, Surfline.com est un paradis pour les surfeurs. C'est pourquoi 1,5 million d'utilisateurs uniques (auxquels s'ajoutent 500 000 utilisateurs mobiles) visitent ce site chaque mois.

Graeme Rae, le directeur des produits scientifiques, a fait le choix d'iPhone pour maintenir Surfline en haut de la vague.

« Le surf ne s'arrête jamais. Et avec l'iPhone, je peux redémarrer un serveur depuis la plage, ou même sans quitter mon lit. Et même depuis mon bureau », a-t-il déclaré.

À son affaire, même loin du bureau

L'iPhone procure à Graeme Rae mobilité et agilité, deux qualités nécessaires au sein d'une entreprise qui tourne 24 heures sur 24. « Avec Safari, je peux naviguer sur notre site Web », raconte-t-il. « Si je reçois un appel ou un email m'indiquant qu'une page ou un service ne fonctionne pas, je n'ai pas besoin d'un ordinateur. Je peux regarder sur Safari et voir la même chose que les utilisateurs. »

Et en règle générale, Graeme Rae peut régler le problème à partir de son iPhone. « Nous utilisons beaucoup d'outils en ligne pour la gestion de notre site. Nous avons des pages administrateurs et un système de gestion de contenu très performant auquel nous pouvons accéder à partir de nos iPhone. Donc, qu'il s'agisse simplement de corriger une faute dans un texte ou d'utiliser un système de contrôle de version complexe pour mettre en ligne un nouveau logiciel, je peux tout faire par l'intermédiaire de Safari. »

En plus de Safari, l'iPhone de Graeme Rae intègre un arsenal impressionnant d'applications technologiques. TouchTerm lui donne accès aux serveurs de Surfline. SiteCatalyst lui offre un aperçu rapide des statistiques sur les visites et les visiteurs des pages du site de Surfline pour une période donnée. Zendesk, le système de dépannage interne de Surfline, fait appel à une application iPhone qui permet d'accéder aux dossiers de panne au fur et à mesure qu'ils sont créés.

Pour Graeme Rae, il ne fait aucun doute que l'iPhone a eu un effet bénéfique sur son expérience de travail. « Il me facilite la tâche », déclare-t-il. « Je ne suis pas enchaîné à un bureau. Partout où je vais, on peut me joindre. Et je peux pratiquement tout faire depuis mon iPhone. »

Les actualités du surf, en version mobile

Les visiteurs de Surfline sont des passionnés. Dès la sortie de l'iPhone, ils ont voulu avoir une application. Surfline travaillait déjà, en collaboration avec Oakley, le géant des lunettes de soleil et des vêtements tendance, à la conception de Surf Report, l'une des applications sportives les plus populaires sur iPhone.

Surfline a mis au point Surf Report dans le but d'accroître la portée du site web ; et les résultats ont dépassé toutes les espérances. « Près de la moitié de notre trafic mobile est associé à nos utilisateurs d'iPhone », remarque Jonno Wells, PDG de Surfline. « Or, ce n'est pas exactement le reflet du marché mobile. Ce qui signifie que nos clients sur iPhone sont de vrais mordus. »

Robin Walker, le vice-président des ventes, en sait quelque chose. Il dégaine son iPhone chaque fois qu'il sent monter l'envie de sauter sur sa planche. « J'ai eu ma première révélation quand, au saut du lit, j'ai pris mon iPhone et j'ai navigué jusqu'à la caméra au coin de la 56ème rue de Newport pour voir les vagues, plutôt que d'allumer mon ordinateur. »

Jonno Wells en fait autant. « J'ai toujours mon iPhone avec moi et je peux afficher les conditions au creux de ma main », indique-t-il. « C'est un mariage parfait entre notre produit et l'accessibilité qu'offre l'iPhone ».

Exchange, VPN et un bureau en parfaite synchronisation

Brian Mezger, le directeur des technologies, est responsable du déploiement de l'iPhone auprès des nouveaux employés de Surfline. Rien de plus facile. « Il faut cinq minutes pour configurer un iPhone sur Exchange et le client VPN », explique-t-il. « Il suffit d'indiquer l'identifiant du serveur Exchange, le nom d'utilisateur et le mot de passe, et le tour est joué. »

Grâce à la prise en charge d'Exchange, les employés de Surfline synchronisent tous leurs emails, leurs calendriers et leurs contacts sur leur iPhone. De plus, le client VPN natif d'iPhone a joué un rôle "crucial", selon Brian Mezger. « Il nous permet d'accéder à notre centre de données (nos serveurs et nos bases de données) lorsque nous ne sommes pas au bureau. »

Cette accessibilité a entraîné une augmentation de la productivité. Brian le constate au bureau, avec l'équipe technique, et sur le terrain, avec l'entretien de l'impressionnant réseau de caméras de l'entreprise. Auparavant, les techniciens devaient être équipés d'ordinateurs portables et tenter de trouver une connexion Internet, souvent du toit d'un immeuble. Désormais, lorsqu'ils entretiennent les caméras, il leur suffit de sortir leur iPhone et de vérifier s'il est branché au réseau 3G.

Il s'agit d'un nouveau pas de géant en matière d'efficacité pour Surfline, ce qui a de quoi réjouir Graeme Rae. « J'ai utilisé tous les téléphones au monde et de la manière la plus technique possible », raconte-t-il. « L'iPhone est de loin le meilleur. »

L'entreprise en bref

  • 50 collaborateurs (dont plus de 80 % pratiquent le surf)
  • Huntington Beach, Californie
  • Plus de 150 caméras diffusant en direct et en continu depuis les quatre coins de la planète
  • www.surfline.com

Applications préférées

Autres profils

iPhone in Business

Surfline

“A lot of us here at Surfline, before we get out of bed in the morning, we roll over and check the surf and the cameras on our iPhones. The idea of seeing a video on a mobile device was a dream for people for a long time. And that time is now.”

Brian Mezger
Director of Technology
Surfline

Surfline

Catching waves in the palm of the hand.

With 150 live-streaming cameras positioned at key surf spots around the globe and a sophisticated software system designed to predict wave conditions even a week in advance, Surfline.com is a surfer’s paradise. That’s why 1.5 million unique web users—and 500,000 more on mobile—use the site every month.

To help keep Surfline functioning glitch-free, nonstop, Scientific Product Manager Graeme Rae uses iPhone.

“The surf doesn’t stop,” he says. “And with iPhone, I can reboot a server from the beach. I can reboot a server from bed. I can even reboot it from work.”

Minding the store, away from the store

iPhone has given Rae mobility and agility, two qualities he needs in a company that runs around the clock. “Safari means I can browse our website,” he says. “So if I get a call or an email saying that a particular page is broken or a service is down, I don’t need a computer. I can bring it up on Safari and see the same things they’re seeing.”

And Rae can usually fix the problem right from iPhone. “A lot of the tools we use to run our site are web-based. There are admin pages, and we have a powerful content management system that we can access from our iPhones. So if it’s as simple as going in and correcting a typo, or if it’s as complex as using our version control system to send up some new software, I can pretty much do all of that through Safari.”

In addition to Safari, Rae has a tech-heavy lineup of apps on his iPhone home screen. TouchTerm gives him access to Surfline’s servers. SiteCatalyst provides a quick overview of Surfline’s page views and visitors at any given time. Zendesk, the internal support ticket system at Surfline, has an iPhone app that offers access to new trouble tickets as they come in.

For Rae, there’s no doubt about the impact iPhone has had on his work experience. “My job is easier,” he says. “I’m not tied to a desk. No matter where I go, people can reach me. And I can do almost anything I need to with iPhone.”

Surf news goes mobile

Surfline’s users are passionate people. As soon as iPhone came out, they wanted an app. Surfline was already on top of it, working together with sunglasses-and-apparel giant Oakley to develop Surf Report, one of the most popular sports apps for iPhone.

Surfline developed Surf Report with the goal of extending the website’s reach, and results have been overwhelmingly positive. “About half of our mobile traffic comes from iPhone users,” CEO Jonno Wells says. “And that’s not really reflective of the mobile market. So our customers on iPhone are rabid users.”

Vice President of Sales Robin Walker should know. He whips out iPhone whenever he gets the urge to hop on a board. “I had my first iPhone epiphany when I found myself not even rolling out of bed to turn on my computer, but grabbing my iPhone and navigating to the camera at 56th Street in Newport to see the waves.”

Jonno does the same thing. “Because iPhone is always with me, I can check the conditions right from my hand,” he says. “So it’s a perfect marriage of our product and the accessibility that iPhone provides.”

Exchange, VPN, and an office in sync

Director of Technology Brian Mezger is responsible for helping deploy iPhone with new employees at Surfline. It’s a pretty quick job. “It takes five minutes to set up iPhone on Exchange and the VPN client,” he says. “Basically, you enter the Exchange server, username, and password. Then away you go.”

With Exchange support on iPhone, Surfline’s employees sync all their email, calendars, and contacts with iPhone. And the VPN client native to iPhone has been “critical,” according to Mezger. “It allows us to access our data center—our servers and databases—from outside the office.”

All of this accessibility has led to an increase in productivity. Mezger sees it in the office, with the tech team, and in the field, maintaining Surfline’s impressive network of cameras. Previously, technicians had to carry a laptop and try to find a wireless Internet connection, often from the top of a building. Now, as they service any camera, they can whip out their iPhones and check its status over the 3G network.

That’s another big leap in efficiency for Surfline, which makes Rae very satisfied. “I’ve used every phone under the sun in as technical a manner as I possibly can,” Rae says. “And iPhone is by far the best.”

Company Snapshot

  • 50 employees (an estimated 80+% of them surf)
  • Huntington Beach, California
  • Over 150 live streaming cameras around the globe
  • www.surfline.com

More iPhone in Business profiles.

MTR Corporation On track with iPhone and iPad.

Central County Fire Department Fighting Fire with Technology.

Eaton Powering business with iPhone and iPad.

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

PepsiCo Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

Daiichi Sankyo Prescription for Change: iPad and iPhone.

CTV Newsroom The pocket newsroom.

Dow Corning iPhone helps keep this silicone giant running smoothly.

Lowe's Building better customer service.

Grupo BBVA Banking on iPhone and iPad.

Safe/Sea Marine Rescue Shipshape with iPad and iPhone.

GE Reinventing mobility.

Kids Crooked House A playful mission, powered by iPhone.

Jackson Kayak Rapid results with iPad and iPhone.

World Wide Technology Maintaining IT infrastructures with iPhone.

Aftonbladet Cutting-edge communication

G Adventures A global travel company stays unified, with iPhone.

Redlands P.D. On duty with iPhone and iPad.

M6 iPhone: a media giant evolves

Showcall Large-scale event production goes mobile with iPhone.

JM Family Auto innovators.

Virtual Aviation iPhone boosts virtual flight.

RehabCare Post-critical care using iPhone and iPad.

Novartis Apps for good health.

Quintessa Winery Elegant technology for a Napa Valley vineyard.

TCHO Chocolate Chocolatology meets technology.

Big Bad Boo Diversity through animation. Efficiency through iPhone.

The Wine Connection Taking the store with you.

Dr. Diamond Using iPhone to improve patient care.

Surfline Catching waves in the palm of the hand.

D.W. Morgan Revolutionizing the supply chain.

Aedas, Los Angeles Creativity through collaboration.

Great Food Group, Inc. Streamlining service with iPhone.

Unisys Data defenders.

Mount Sinai Hospital iPhone provides vital link to medical records.

RTKL Architecture in motion

DLA Phillips Fox iPhone: Improving legal services.

Memorial Hermann Healthcare System Advancing health care with iPhone.

Illumina iPhone meets genome.

Sunbelt Rentals iPhone: Essential equipment.

Gannett Media giant goes mobile.

Doylestown Hospital Always on call: iPhone 3G.

Standard Chartered Multinational banking goes mobile.

Kraft Foods Serving up innovation.