iOS 7 includes a new feature called Activation Lock, which is designed to prevent anyone else from using your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch if you ever lose it. And it starts working the moment you turn on Find My iPhone in iOS 7. Turning off Find My iPhone or erasing your device requires your Apple ID and password. And your Apple ID and password are required before anyone can reactivate it.
Sometimes it’s better to be safe than sorry. If you’re worried that your device has fallen into the wrong hands, you may want to initiate a remote wipe to delete your personal data and restore your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch or Mac to its factory settings. With iOS 7, Find My iPhone can continue to display your customised message, even after your device has been erased. And if you do retrieve your device, you can restore it from your iCloud backup.
Whether you’re on an iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Mac or PC, getting started with iCloud is simple. For new Apple devices, there’s a setup assistant built in. And for everything else, setup takes just a few quick steps.