Activation Lock is designed to prevent anyone from using your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch if you ever lose your device. It starts working the moment you turn on Find My iPhone. From then on, your Apple ID and password will be required before anyone can turn off Find My iPhone, erase your device or reactivate it. This can help you keep your device secure, even if it’s in the wrong hands.
Sometimes it’s better to be safe than sorry. If you’re worried that your device has fallen into the wrong hands, you may want to initiate a remote wipe to delete your personal data and restore your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch or Mac to its factory settings. Find My iPhone can continue to display your customised message, even after your device has been erased. And if you do retrieve your device, you can restore it from your iCloud backup.
Whether you’re on an iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Mac or PC, getting started with iCloud is simple. For new Apple devices, there’s a setup assistant built in. And for everything else, setup takes just a few quick steps.