环境、健康与安全

尊重我们工作和生活的环境

这个太阳能发电场位于中国红原,它生产的清洁能源,足以为 Apple 在中国的所有企业设施及零售店来供电。

关心生产,也关怀我们的世界。

生产过程中产生的温室气体排放和污染,会对环境造成重大影响。因此,我们与供应商携手实施各种计划,帮助他们减少碳排放量。

我们对落后及低效的加热、制冷及照明系统进行了更换,对压缩空气的泄漏进行了修复,并对废热进行了回收及重新利用。在推行我们能效计划的第一年里,13 家工厂得到改进,并使碳排放量减少了超过 13,800 吨。

除了提高工厂的能源效率,我们还探索各种途径,使用更加清洁的可再生能源为工厂提供电力。2015 年,我们启动了 Clean Energy Program,以减少我们整个供应链的碳排放量,而这部分占 Apple 碳排放总量的近四分之三。仅以中国为例,我们正与供应商携手合作建设规模超过 20 亿瓦的清洁能源发电设施。作为我们的首个合作伙伴,富士康计划于 2018 年建成规模达 400 兆瓦的太阳能发电设施,足以为其郑州工厂提供电力来进行 iPhone 的最终生产。

1.38 万吨 2015 年减少的碳排放量
2000 万吨 至 2020 年可望在中国减少的碳排放量
中国郑州,一位第三方审核员正在商讨
供应商的空气调节设备。

制造更多产品,制造更少副产品。

2015 年,我们在包括所有总装工厂在内的 22 家工厂启动了一项废弃物分流计划,以帮助供应商推行减少使用、重复使用或循环利用的环保做法。该计划包括重复使用内部包装,将包装材料发还给供应商重复使用,以及限制工人食堂的食物浪费。 当废弃物离开工厂时,我们会与当地政府部门密切合作,确保废物得到妥善处理。到目前为止,我们的努力已初见成效,共分流了 73,773 吨废弃物,使它们免于进入填埋场。

2015 年 7 月,富士康观澜工厂成为我们首家无需借助填埋场即可循环利用或负责任地处理所有生产废弃物的供应商。2016 年 1 月,在实施 100% 废弃物分流措施六个月后,观澜工厂正式获得了“零废弃物工厂”的认证。

案例研究

让废弃物告别填埋场

富士康郑州工厂是一家 iPhone 总装工厂。之前,该工厂每个月要将其生产废弃物的一大部分送至填埋场。这对于我们是个巨大的机会,让我们能在生产广受欢迎的产品同时,减少生产方式造成的影响。

我们与第三方评估机构 Underwriter’s Laboratory 合作,帮助工厂对各种废弃物进行确认和分类。结果发现,工厂全部废弃物的近 80% 都来自生产,包括从物料提供商来的进料包装。Apple 供应商责任团队的成员 Sharon Shu 解释说:“每部 iPhone 有 100 多个零部件。每个零部件有多家供应商,各自又都需要包装。”

组件包装托盘粉碎后,送至另一工厂进行循环利用。

因此,当地管理人员建立了一套分类系统来评估所有这些物料,以提高分拣效率和增加可循环利用性。他们还寻找多种途径与部件提供商更紧密地合作,更好地管控进料包装的运输,甚至让某些提供商改变了其零部件的包装方式。

在共同努力下,他们得以将富士康郑州工厂 40% 原来需要填埋的废弃物改为循环利用,而剩余的部分则转用于帮助当地政府发电。到 2016 年初,富士康郑州工厂 96% 的废弃物已不再需要进行填埋处理。

“这是一项需要持续努力的工作。”Sharon 说,“目前我们的目标是让富士康郑州工厂在 2016 年成为零废弃物工厂。”

中国郑州,一名工人正在搬运可循环利用的包装托盘。

将用水密集环节变得更有节水意识

我们对水资源的使用会对运营所在地的社区造成直接影响。2013 年,我们启动了 Clean Water Program,旨在减少我们的供应商在生产过程中的淡水使用量。我们发现,在我们前 200 家供应商中,73 家供应商工厂的用水量加在一起,占所有这 200 家已知生产用水总量的 70% 之多。而通过基准评估、表现评价、技术支持和供应商培训,我们帮助这些工厂节约了超过 38 亿加仑淡水。而且,我们还加强了对废水处理后的重复使用和循环利用。

检测水样中的污染物,是 Clean Water Program 的一项内容。

从专门的课程入手,
使生产更安全。

在我们整个供应链中,一直缺少拥有环境、健康与安全 (EHS) 技能的人才。要确保我们供应商工厂中工作人员的安全,除了提供基本的安全预防措施和规程以外,我们还需要做更多的努力。因此在 2013 年,我们建立了 EHS Academy,通过在环境保护与空气污染、用水与化学品管理、应急准备工作与安全设备等问题上,为当地管理人员提供教育培训,解决 EHS 专业知识欠缺的问题。

通过与当地大学和可持续发展社区协会合作,学员们将参加为期 18 个月的严格 EHS 课程。除了课程学习之外,管理人员还必须建立并实施真正的 EHS 项目来改善当地工厂的状况。自 EHS Academy 创办以来,学员们已启动了 2460 个这类环境、健康与安全项目,其中仅 2015 年就启动了 1590 多个。

265 2013 年以来参与的工厂
1590 2015 年实施的 EHS 项目
310 2015 年 EHS Academy 毕业生

案例研究

苏州迈锐,安全显著提升。

作为课程学习的一部分,所有 EHS Academy 学员都必须创建并实施一个真正的项目来改善当地工厂的状况。

在我们的苏州迈锐供应商工厂,学习机械安全课程的学员发现,制造机械的开发、安装和维护过程存在安全漏洞。

EHS Academy 的毕业学员正在讨论她们最新的安全项目。

“挑战还是不少的,机械设备提供商通常不允许我们自己操作其中的软件。” 苏州迈锐的总裁 Mark Stasney 说,“所以我们添加了自己的安全装置和安全锁扣。”

在工厂管理层的支持下,当地 EHS 团队研究并开发了一套机械设备寿命管理系统,在机械设备整个生命周期的不同阶段添加了多个 EHS 检查点。这其中包括设计、制造、验收、评估、定期监控和处置。

现在,机械设备安全检查是每天的一项例行工作,注重安全在苏州迈锐已成为头等大事。工厂鼓励生产线上的全体工人提出意见,并在发现安全风险时向 EHS 管理人员报告。

有了新的 EHS 系统和每日的安全例行工作,不但降低了与机械设备相关的伤害事件,新的安全措施更在整个工厂推广实行,甚至还包括不是制造 Apple 产品的地方。

机械设备每天都要接受检查,以确保安全机制正常工作。

让受管制化学品远离生产过程和生产人员

2014 年,我们公布了我们的《受管制物质细则》(RSS) 清单,以明确在生产过程中限制或禁止使用的有毒化学品。我们主导了多次清查化学品采购的审核,并详细标明整个供应链中使用的化学品,以发现存在的风险。 2015 年,所有总装工厂 (FATP) 100% 的工艺化学品均不含 Apple 禁止使用的物质。目前,我们正努力在非总装工厂 (Non-FATP) 对这些化学品进行清查。

2014 年,我们承诺成立一个专注于化学品问题的顾问委员会。在过去的这一年中,Apple 的 Green Chemistry Advisory Board 汇聚了全球专家,带头开展了一系列先锋研究,并探索各种途径使用更环保的替代品取代限制使用的物质。

100% 全部 22 家总装工厂均无 Apple 禁用物质
37 2015 年接受化学品管理评估的非总装工厂
58 为改进化学品使用而建立合作关系的供应商
泰国巴吞他尼,一名工人正在使用无铅焊料。

面对突发状况,人人都该有所准备。

目前,我们正在帮助供应商制定综合性的应急准备制度,以便在发生火灾、地震、爆炸或其他自然或职业性事故时保护工人的安全。 我们还实行定期的现场监察,以确保供应商对这些风险保持警惕。仅在 2015 年,我们就评估了 40 家供应商,涵盖了大约 100 万名工人。

案例研究

日腾的防火安全管理

位于中国上海的日腾工厂雇佣了大约 20,000 名工人。在日腾开展日常安全项目之前,他们正式的应急处理程序并不十分健全。但工厂的安全和应急准备工作是符合政府标准的,这其中包括每年两次的安全演习。

“Apple 的介入使我们认识到,我们的标准需要高于政府设定的标准。”日腾的人力资源和 EHS 总监 Light Tseng 说,“因此,我们增加了安全例会和演习的次数,要求每个厂区每月进行一次。”日腾参加了 Apple EHS Academy,制定并实施了防火安全和紧急应变计划。此外,工厂也大幅扩充了当地的 EHS 团队,引入更多技术专才。该团队针对风暴、洪水、地震和火灾制定了综合应急准备制度。

而 2015 年的一次事故,证明了这些应急制度具有特别的重要性。当时,一个发生故障的通风系统起火,在厂房外部引起了火警。日腾的应急响应团队不到 5 分钟便疏散了生产线上的所有工人,并使用灭火设备和消防栓控制住了火势,直到当地消防部门赶到。

一次例行安全检查中,EHS 团队成员在检查灭火器。

火灾之后,日腾的 EHS 团队将依靠等离子技术的通风系统更换为依靠水技术的系统,以降低起火风险。他们还与当地消防部门合作,在其通风系统内安装了自动化的阻燃泡沫管道。另外,他们还扩大了工厂安全演习的参与规模。

每月一次的消防演习中,工人们轮流练习扑灭受控的火源。

安全设备是工人至关重要的生产工具

安全装备如果使用不当,对工人毫无安全可言。在对供应商的审核中,我们发现有些人对于如何正确使用个人防护装备缺乏了解和认识。因此在 2015 年,我们与 3M 公司合作,在供应商工厂举办了一系列讲座。这些讲座教授了调试和佩戴口罩和防毒面具等防护装备的正确方式。安全专家也到场解答工人们提出的问题,同时工人们还可以用旧设备更换新设备。

一名工人在 3M 讲座中学习如何佩戴防护装备。

Environment, Health and Safety

Respecting the environments we work and live in.

This solar farm in Hongyuan, China, can generate enough clean energy to power all of Apple’s corporate facilities and retail stores in China.

Manufacturing with the world in mind.

Greenhouse gas emissions and pollution from manufacturing can have major environmental impacts. So we partner with our suppliers to implement programs to reduce their carbon footprint.

We replace outdated or inefficient heating, cooling, and lighting systems, repair compressed air leaks, and recover and redirect waste heat. In the first year of our energy efficiency program, improvements at 13 sites resulted in a reduction of over 13,800 metric tons of carbon emissions.

In addition to making facilities energy efficient, we explore ways to power them using cleaner and renewable sources. In 2015, we launched our Clean Energy Program to reduce carbon emissions across our supply chain, which makes up nearly three-quarters of Apple’s total carbon footprint. In China alone, we’re working with our suppliers to install more than 2 gigawatts of clean energy. Foxconn, our first partner, will create 400 megawatts of solar energy by 2018 — enough to power final production of iPhone at its Zhengzhou factory.

13.8K metric tons of carbon emissions reduced in 2015
20M metric tons of carbon emissions we expect to reduce in China by 2020
A third-party auditor discusses a supplier’s air handling equipment in Zhengzhou, China.

Making products with fewer by-products.

In 2015, we launched a waste diversion program at 22 factories, including all final assembly facilities, to help suppliers reduce, reuse, or recycle. This includes reusing internal packaging, shipping packaging materials back to vendors for reuse, and limiting food waste from worker canteens. And when waste leaves the facilities, we’re working closely with local governments to ensure that it’s disposed of properly. To date, our efforts have diverted 73,773 metric tons of waste from landfills.

In July 2015, Foxconn Guanlan became our first supplier to recycle or responsibly dispose of all its production waste without using landfills. And in January 2016, after six months of 100 percent waste diversion, Guanlan was officially validated as a zero-waste facility.

Case Study

Keeping waste out of landfills.

Foxconn Zhengzhou, one of our final assembly facilities for iPhone, was sending a large portion of its production waste to landfills every month. This represented a tremendous opportunity to lessen the impact of how we make our most popular product.

We partnered with Underwriters Laboratories, a third-party assessor, to help identify and classify the factory’s various waste streams. We found that nearly 80 percent of the facility’s total waste was generated by production, including inbound packaging from material vendors. Apple supplier responsibility team member Sharon Shu explains, “Each iPhone has more than 100 parts. And each part has multiple suppliers. Each needs packaging.”

Component packaging trays are shredded and sent to another plant to be recycled.

So local managers created a classification system to evaluate all these materials, boosting sorting efficiency and increasing recyclability. They also found ways to work more closely with parts vendors to better regulate shipments of inbound packaging, even getting some vendors to change the way they package their parts.

Together, they were able to divert 40 percent of Foxconn Zhengzhou’s previously landfill-bound waste to recycling, and the remaining waste was repurposed to help generate power for local governments. And as of early 2016, Foxconn Zhengzhou is 96 percent landfill-free.

“It’s a continuous effort,” says Sharon. “And currently our goal is to make Foxconn Zhengzhou a zero-waste facility in 2016.”

A worker moves a palette of recyclable packaging trays in Zhengzhou, China.

Making water-intensive processes more water conscious.

The water we use has a direct effect on the communities we operate in. In 2013, we started the Clean Water Program to reduce the use of freshwater in our suppliers’ processes. We learned that 73 of our suppliers’ facilities accounted for 70 percent of the top 200 suppliers’ known total water use. And through baseline assessments, performance evaluations, technical support, and supplier training, we helped them save more than 3.8 billion gallons of freshwater. We’re also increasing reuse and recycling of treated wastewater.

Water samples are tested for pollutants as part of our Clean Water Program.

Safer facilities start with a specialized curriculum.

Across our supply chain, there’s a shortage of people with adequate environment, health, and safety (EHS) skills. To ensure the safety of people working in our suppliers’ facilities, we need to do more than provide basic safety precautions and procedures. So in 2013 we established the EHS Academy to address this shortage of EHS expertise by educating local managers on issues of environmental protection and air pollution, water and chemical management, and emergency preparedness and safety equipment.

Partnering with local universities and the Institute for Sustainable Communities, participants complete a rigorous 18-month EHS curriculum. In addition to their coursework, managers must create and implement real EHS projects to improve conditions at their local facilities. Participants have launched over 2460 of these environment, health, and safety projects since the EHS Academy was founded, with more than 1590 in 2015 alone.

265 participating sites since 2013
1590+ EHS projects implemented in 2015
310 EHS Academy graduates in 2015

Case Study

Increasing safety at Marian Suzhou.

As part of their coursework, EHS Academy students create and implement a real project to improve their local facility.

At our Marian Suzhou supplier facility, students in the machine safety course noticed safety gaps in how manufacturing machinery was developed, installed, and maintained.

EHS Academy graduates discuss their latest safety project.

“There are challenges. Machine vendors don’t always allow us access to the software behind them,” says Mark Stasney, president of Marian Suzhou. “So we add our own safety apparatus and safety interlocks.”

With the support of facility management, the local EHS team researched and created a machine life management system that added EHS checkpoints to different milestones across a machine’s life span. These included design, manufacture, acceptance, evaluation, regular monitoring, and disposal.

Now machine safety checks are a daily occurrence, and safety has become a top priority at Marian Suzhou. Workers at all levels of production are encouraged to speak up and alert EHS managers if safety risks arise.

With the new EHS system and daily safety routines in place, machinery-related injuries were reduced and new safety precautions have been enforced throughout the factory — including places where non-Apple products are made.

Machines are inspected daily to ensure that safety mechanisms are working.

Keeping restricted chemicals out of manufacturing processes and away from people.

Our Regulated Substances Specification (RSS) list was released in 2014 to identify the toxic chemicals we limit or prohibit in our manufacturing processes. We led audits that inventoried chemical purchasing and mapped chemicals across our supply chain to identify risk. And in 2015, 100 percent of process chemicals at all final assembly facilities (FATP) were free of Apple-prohibited substances. Now, we’re working to identify these chemicals at our non-final assembly facilities (non-FATP).

In 2014, we committed to forming an advisory board to focus on chemicals. And this past year, Apple’s Green Chemistry Advisory Board, a group of global experts, began redefining our chemical audit strategy and reporting, spearheading research, and exploring ways to replace restricted substances with greener alternatives.

100% of all 22 FATPs are free of Apple-prohibited substances
37 non-FATPs received chemical management assessments in 2015
58 supplier partnerships created to improve chemical processes
A worker in Pathum Thani, Thailand, works with lead-free solder.

Everyone should be prepared for emergencies.

We’re helping our suppliers develop comprehensive emergency preparedness systems to protect workers in the event of a fire, earthquake, explosion, or other natural or occupational incident. We also implement regular site monitoring to ensure that our suppliers remain vigilant about these risks. We assessed 40 suppliers, covering about 1 million workers, in 2015 alone.

Case Study

Fire prevention at Ri Teng.

The Ri Teng facility in Shanghai, China, employs about 20,000 people. When Ri Teng’s day-to-day safety program started, there were few formal emergency procedures in place. But facility safety and emergency preparedness met government standards, including the requirement of two safety drills per year.

“After Apple’s intervention, we decided that the standard needed to be higher than what the government set,” says Light Tseng, Ri Teng’s HR and EHS director. “So we raised the number of meetings and drills to once a month at each site.” Ri Teng attended Apple’s EHS Academy to design and implement fire safety and emergency preparedness projects. In addition, the facility significantly expanded its local EHS team to onboard more skilled talent. The team developed comprehensive emergency preparedness systems for storms, floods, earthquakes, and fires.

Having these systems in place proved especially important in 2015, when a faulty ventilation system caused a fire on the facility’s exterior. Ri Teng’s emergency response team evacuated all factory line workers in less than five minutes, and used extinguishing equipment and hydrants to contain the blaze until the local fire department arrived.

EHS team members inspect fire extinguishers during a routine safety check.

Following the fire, Ri Teng’s EHS team switched from a plasma-based ventilation system to a water-based system to decrease the risk of fire. They also partnered with the local fire department to create an automated fire retardant foam pipeline for use within their ventilation system. And they increased the scope of participation in the facility’s safety drills.

Workers take turns extinguishing controlled flames during a monthly fire drill.

Safety equipment is a worker’s most important tool.

Safety gear isn’t safe for workers if it’s used incorrectly. Through our supplier audits, we found a lack of understanding and awareness of proper use of personal protective equipment. So in 2015, we partnered with 3M to host workshops at supplier facilities. These workshops teach the proper way to fit and wear protective equipment like masks and respirators. Safety experts are also in attendance to answer questions, and workers can trade in their old equipment for new equipment.

A worker learns how to wear protective equipment at a 3M workshop.