iCloud Photo Sharing

With iCloud Photo Sharing, it’s easy to share photos and videos with exactly the people you want to see them. Create a shared stream and invite friends and family to add their photos and video clips as often as they want. People can comment and access their shared albums from any iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Mac or PC at any time.

To get started, all it takes is a snapshot and some friends.

Sometimes you only want to share your photos with the people who will truly appreciate them. Create a shared stream and you control who sees what. Simply choose a photo (or photos) to start with and invite a few friends to join in, make comments and even add their own shots.

Create a photo stream.

Make a photo stream for an event or period of time, like a dinner party or a football season.

Invite who you want.

Invite up to 100 of your favourite people. Adding friends is as easy as clicking a contact.

Add photos with ease.

To post photos and videos, just tap iCloud Photo Sharing in your share sheet.

It’s always good to get a different point of view.

With iCloud Photo Sharing, you can see a party, reunion or holiday through the eyes of your friends. You invite who you want and they can post their own photos and videos in the same way you do. They can add as many — or as few — as they want. And each new addition is instantly broadcast to everyone in your group. It’s never been so easy to get a new perspective.

All the updates to your shared streams. All in one place.

With the Activity view in iOS 8, you can see all the updates to your shared albums at a glance. Quickly scroll through to browse the latest photos, videos and comments. You can even make a few comments of your own. On the Mac, catching up on the action is as simple as opening iPhoto.

People view.

Easily manage subscribers, contributors, notification settings, invitations and more.

Activity view.

See the latest updates to all your shared albums at a glance. Add new photos or comments.

Real-time notifications.

When someone joins your stream, posts a photo or makes a comment, you’ll be the first to know.

See your shared streams on the big screen.

With iCloud Photo Sharing and Apple TV, you can view your group’s latest photos and videos on your HDTV for some truly entertaining reality television. So you can, say, check out the photos and videos of your camping trip — from everyone who went with you. All gathered round your widescreen TV.

Setting up iCloud is simple.

Whether you’re on an iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Mac or PC, getting started with iCloud is simple. For new Apple devices, there’s a setup assistant built in. And for everything else, setup takes just a few quick steps.

  1. Family Sharing requires a personal Apple ID signed in to iCloud and iTunes. Music, films and books can be downloaded on up to 10 devices per account, five of which can be computers. iOS 8 and OS X Yosemite are required to set up or join a Family Sharing group and are recommended for full functionality. Not all content is eligible for Family Sharing. Content can be hidden by family members; hidden content is not available for download. Content downloaded from family members or acquired via redemption codes is not subject to Ask to Buy.
  2. Automatic downloads require iOS 4.3.3 or later on iPhone 3Gs or later, iPod touch (3rd generation or later), iPad or iPad mini; iOS 5 or later on iPhone 4 (CDMA model); or a Mac or PC with iTunes 10.3.1 or later. Download iTunes free.
  3. iTunes Match requires iOS 5.0.1 or later on iPhone 3Gs or later, iPod touch (3rd generation or later), iPad or iPad mini, or a Mac or PC with iTunes 10.5.1 or later. Limit of 25,000 songs. iTunes purchases do not count towards limit. Access to some services is limited to 10 devices.
  4. Find My iPhone enables you to locate iOS devices only when they are on and connected to a registered Wi‑Fi network or have an active data plan. Some features may not be available in all countries or all areas.
  5. Backup of purchased music is not available in all countries. Previous purchases may not be restored if they are no longer on the iTunes Store or App Store.