Can I delete items from my Mac and it will be saved/reappear on my LaCie hard drive when I plug it back in?

I purchased a LaCie a while back and I am not sure if I understood how hard drives work. I bought this because my previous hard drive did not save any of my files when my Mac got stolen. As a student, I accumulated school work and want to clear out my laptop. If I plug in my LaCie, all my files should be uploaded on the hard drive right? So if I delete them off my Mac afterwards, I would not have to worry because my LaCie would have them still? Thanks

LaCie 1TB Rugged USB-C + USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive

Back To Product

Follow this Question

1 Answer from the Community

  • No, that is not enough. You have to either designate the hard drive as a time machine backup drive and tell let time machine to do routine backups, or COPY (not move) your data folder into the new hard drive. After the copying is finiished, you will have backup copies. Until, then you have no backup copies.

    Was this useful?

    4 of 7 people found this useful

Related Questions