iPhone in Unternehmen

Produktbild

Kraft Foods

abspielen Videobild

iPhone in Aktion.

Video ansehen

Kraft Foods

Kraft Foods serviert Informationsfutter.

Frische zählt. Das weiß man bei Kraft, dem größten Lebensmittelhersteller in Nordamerika und dem weltweit zweitgrößten, ganz genau. Deshalb wählte man bei Kraft auch einen Ansatz, der für frischen Wind sorgte: Für die Zusammenarbeit und Vernetzung von Mitarbeitern und Kunden setzt Kraft auf das Apple iPhone 3G. Kraft unterstützt nicht nur die Mitarbeiter bei der Verwendung des iPhone, sondern hat mit iFood Assistant auch eine eigene iPhone App entwickelt. iFood Assistant hilft Kunden dabei, Kraft Produkte zu kaufen und zu verwenden.

"Wir wollen in unserem Unternehmen innovativ sein", sagt Dave Diedrich, Vice President of Information Systems. "Die Innovationen des iPhone zeigen unseren Mitarbeitern, was sie bei ihrer Arbeit erreichen können."

Kraft, zu dem so bekannte Marken wie Nabisco, Philadelphia und Milka gehören, hat einen Jahresumsatz von 42 Milliarden US-Dollar und zählt mehr als 100.000 Mitarbeiter auf der ganzen Welt. Trotz der Größe des Unternehmens erwies sich die Implementierung und Verwaltung des iPhone für die IT-Abteilung als unkompliziert.

"Wir beschaffen das iPhone, konfigurieren es und implementieren es", so Diedrich. Auf einer einfachen Webseite stellt das Unternehmen Anweisungen zur Konfiguration des iPhone bereit und eine sehr aktive Online-Benutzergruppe bietet Unterstützung für die Mitarbeiter und Kunden.

Das iPhone wird aber nicht nur für bestimmte Mitarbeiterkreise bereitgestellt. Jeder Mitarbeiter, der ein iPhone besitzt oder ein neues iPhone kauft, hat darüber auch Zugang zu seinen Kraft E-Mails - eine Option, die viele Kraft-Mitarbeiter bereits nutzen. "Unsere Mitarbeiter selbst haben sich für das iPhone entschieden", so Mark Dajani, Senior Vice President of Global Information Systems. "Das wurde ihnen nicht von der IT-Abteilung aufgedrückt."

Kommunikation ohne Grenzen.

Die Mitarbeiter von Kraft verlassen sich für Push-E-Mails, -Kalender und -Kontakte auf das iPhone. Durch die direkte Verbindung mit Microsoft Exchange Server haben die Mitarbeiter auf der ganzen Welt Zugriff auf zentrale Geschäftsinformationen.

"Mit der Veröffentlichung der neuen Funktionen der iPhone 2.0 Software wussten wir, dass dies für Unternehmen geeignet ist", so Dajani. "E-Mail, Kalender, Kontakte und die Sicherheitskomponenten - das waren die entscheidenden Kriterien für die groß angelegte Implementierung bei Kraft."

Das iPhone dient auch als internes Kommunikationsmittel. Die Kraft Mitarbeiter können Audionachrichten, die "Kraft Casts", vom CEO und anderen Führungskräften auf ihren iPhones hören und sind so in Sachen Unternehmensstrategien und Branding-Initiativen immer bestens informiert. "Über das iPhone können wir mit unseren Mitarbeitern viel nachdrücklicher kommunizieren als über herkömmmliche Textmitteilungen", sagt Diedrich.

Der innovative Einsatz des iPhone bei Kraft macht deutlich, welch großer Bedarf bei Unternehmen besteht, wenn es um eine mobile, kabellose und einfache Kommunikation über mehrere Zeitzonen geht. "Wir können die Produktivität steigern, indem wir standardbezogene Hürden aus dem Weg räumen, und das ist fantastisch", so Diedrich. "Mit dem iPhone ist es egal, ob die Mitarbeiter zu Hause, unterwegs oder bei einem Kunden sind - sie haben alles zur Hand, was sie brauchen, um Kraft erfolgreich zu vertreten.”

Eine appetitanregende App.

Da das iPhone innerhalb von Kraft so erfolgreich ist, hat das Unternehmen sogar sein eigenes Programm für den App Store entwickelt: iFood Assistant. Damit haben die Kunden Zugriff auf über 7.000 leckere Rezepte, eine Sammlung von Kochvideos, Einkaufslisten für ganze Gerichte und eine Suchfunktion für ein Geschäft in der Nähe - alles via iPhone oder iPod touch.

Das iPhone ermöglicht es Kraft, interaktive, kundenorientierte Inhalte immer und überall für die Kunden bereitzustellen. "Auf dem iPhone können wir unsere Inhalte lebendig präsentieren. Es gibt einfach kein besseres Kommunikationsmittel", so Ed Kaczmarek, Kraft’s Director of Innovation, New Services.

iFood Assistant entstand mit dem iPhone SDK und Apple Entwicklerwerkzeugen. Kaczmarek beschreibt den Entwicklungsprozess als unkompliziert und schnell. Jetzt ist die App verfügbar, und Kraft hofft auf neue Einnahmequellen, die sich aus den Downloads und aus potenziellen Partnerschaften für Inhalte ergeben.

Kraft nutzt die wegweisenden Funktionen und Fähigkeiten des iPhone bestmöglich und zeigt so, dass das Unternehmen gewillt ist, sein Geschäft durch Mobiltät und Innovation auszuweiten. "Das iPhone ist für Unternehmen geeignet", so Kaczmarek. "Alle Tools sind da und auch die Sicherheit, die wir verlangen. Ein zusätzliches Plus ist, dass wir tolle Programme entwickeln können."

Unternehmensprofil

  • Sitz: Northfield, Illinois, USA
  • Größter Lebensmittelhersteller in Nordamerika, der zweitgrößte weltweit
  • Weltweit mehr als 100.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Marken wie Kraft, Maxwell House, Nabisco, Oscar Mayer, Philadelphia, Toblerone
  • In 150 Ländern vertreten
  • Jahresumsatz: 42 Milliarden US-Dollar
  • www.kraft.org

"Mit der Veröffentlichung der neuen Funktionen der iPhone 2.0 Software wussten wir, dass dies für Unternehmen geeignet ist", so Dajani. "E-Mail, Kalender, Kontakte und die Sicherheitskomponenten - das waren die entscheidenden Kriterien für die großangelegte Implementierung bei Kraft."

Mark Dajani, Senior Vice President, Global Information Systems, Kraft


"Mit dem iPhone ist es egal, ob die Mitarbeiter zu Hause, unterwegs oder bei einem Kunden sind - sie haben dennoch alles zur Hand, was sie brauchen, um Kraft erfolgreich zu vertreten."

Dave Diedrich, Vice President, Information Systems, Kraft


"Auf dem iPhone können wir unsere Inhalte lebendig präsentieren. Es gibt einfach kein besseres Kommunikationsmittel."

Ed Kaczmarek, Director of Innovation, New Services, Kraft.

Kraft Foods

Serving up innovation.

As the largest food manufacturer in North America and second in the world, Kraft knows the benefits of freshness. That’s why the company turned to Apple® iPhone™ 3G for a fresh approach to connecting with both staff and customers. In addition to supporting iPhone for employee use, Kraft has developed an iPhone app, iFood Assistant, that helps consumers shop for and prepare meals using Kraft products.

“We want to instill innovation in our culture,” says Dave Diedrich, Vice President of Information Systems. “Seeing the innovation in iPhone opens our employees’ minds to what’s possible in their jobs.”

With world renowned brands, including Nabisco, Philadelphia, and Milka, Kraft, based in Northfield, IL, has annual revenues of $42 billion and more than 100,000 employees worldwide. Despite the company’s huge scale, deploying and managing iPhone for employees has been practically effortless for IT.

“We procure the phone, configure it, and deploy it,” Diedrich explains. The company maintains a basic Web page with iPhone configuration instructions, and an active online user group offers help to the user community.

In addition to providing the phone to specific groups, any employee who has an iPhone, or purchases a new iPhone will be able to access their Kraft e-mail — an option that large numbers of Kraft employees have already taken advantage of. “Our people decided they wanted iPhone,” says Mark Dajani, Senior Vice President of Global Information Systems. “It wasn’t one of those things IT decided for them.”

Communication Without Borders

Kraft employees rely on their iPhones for push email, calendar, and contacts. By connecting directly with Microsoft Exchange Server, iPhone 3G gives the company’s international workforce enterprise-grade access to essential business information.

“When the new features in iPhone 2.0 came out, we knew it was enterprise-ready,” says Dajani. “The email, calendar, contacts and security components were critical for Kraft’s wide-scale deployment.”

iPhone also serves as an internal communications conduit. Kraft employees can listen to audio messages, dubbed “Kraft Casts,” from the CEO and other executives on their iPhones to stay up-to-date on the latest corporate strategies and branding initiatives. “iPhone allows us to communicate with our employees in a way that is more visual than having them sit and read text,” says Diedrich.

Kraft’s innovative use of iPhone reflects a growing corporate necessity for mobile, wireless, easy-to-manage communication across multiple time zones. “There’s tremendous opportunity for us to increase productivity by removing the barriers of location,” says Diedrich. “With iPhone, employees can be at home, on the road, or with a customer, and still provide the services they need to make Kraft successful.”

An Appetizing App

Based on the popularity of iPhone within Kraft, the company cooked up its own application for the iPhone App Store, called iFood Assistant. The app gives consumers more than 7,000 delicious recipes, a library of instructional cooking videos, full-meal shopping lists, and a store locator — all accessible via iPhone or iPod touch.

With iPhone, Kraft can deliver interactive, consumer-focused content where and when its customers need it. “We’re able to make our content come alive on iPhone,” says Ed Kaczmarek, Kraft’s Director of Innovation, New Services. “It provides the best consumer experience available.”

Kraft built iFood Assistant with iPhone SDK and Apple developer tools. Kaczmarek describes the development process as straightforward and quick. Now that the app is available to the public, Kraft expects the downloads, plus potential content partnerships, to introduce new revenue streams.

By making the most of the groundbreaking features and capabilities of iPhone, Kraft shows its commitment to expanding its business through mobility and innovation. “iPhone is ready for business,” says Kaczmarek. “All the tools are there, plus the security we demand. And the added benefit is that we can develop compelling applications.”

Company Snapshot

  • Based in Northfield, IL
  • Largest food company in North America, second largest in the world
  • More than 100,000 employees worldwide
  • Brands include Kraft, Maxwell House, Nabisco, Oscar Mayer, Philadelphia, Toblerone
  • Sales in 150 countries
  • $42 billion annual revenues
  • www.kraft.org

“When the new features in iPhone 2.0 came out, we knew it was enterprise-ready. The email, calendar, contacts and security components were critical for Kraft’s wide-scale deployment.”

Mark Dajani, Senior Vice President, Global Information Systems, Kraft


“With iPhone, employees can be at home, on the road, or with a customer, and still provide the services they need to make Kraft successful.”

Dave Diedrich, Vice President, Information Systems, Kraft


“We’re able to make our content come alive on iPhone. It provides the best consumer experience available.”

Ed Kaczmarek, Director of Innovation, New Services, Kraft

More iPhone in Business profiles.

Central County Fire Department Fighting Fire with Technology.

Eaton Powering business with iPhone and iPad.

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

PepsiCo Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

Daiichi Sankyo Prescription for Change: iPad and iPhone.

CTV Newsroom The pocket newsroom.

Dow Corning iPhone helps keep this silicone giant running smoothly.

Lowe's Building better customer service.

Grupo BBVA Banking on iPhone and iPad.

Safe/Sea Marine Rescue Shipshape with iPad and iPhone.

GE Reinventing mobility.

Kids Crooked House A playful mission, powered by iPhone.

Jackson Kayak Rapid results with iPad and iPhone.

World Wide Technology Maintaining IT infrastructures with iPhone.

Aftonbladet Cutting-edge communication

G Adventures A global travel company stays unified, with iPhone.

Redlands P.D. On duty with iPhone and iPad.

M6 iPhone: a media giant evolves

Showcall Large-scale event production goes mobile with iPhone.

JM Family Auto innovators.

Virtual Aviation iPhone boosts virtual flight.

RehabCare Post-critical care using iPhone and iPad.

Novartis Apps for good health.

Quintessa Winery Elegant technology for a Napa Valley vineyard.

TCHO Chocolate Chocolatology meets technology.

Big Bad Boo Diversity through animation. Efficiency through iPhone.

The Wine Connection Taking the store with you.

Dr. Diamond Using iPhone to improve patient care.

Surfline Catching waves in the palm of the hand.

D.W. Morgan Revolutionizing the supply chain.

Aedas, Los Angeles Creativity through collaboration.

Great Food Group, Inc. Streamlining service with iPhone.

Unisys Data defenders.

Mount Sinai Hospital iPhone provides vital link to medical records.

RTKL Architecture in motion

DLA Phillips Fox iPhone: Improving legal services.

Memorial Hermann Healthcare System Advancing health care with iPhone.

Illumina iPhone meets genome.

Sunbelt Rentals iPhone: Essential equipment.

Gannett Media giant goes mobile.

Doylestown Hospital Always on call: iPhone 3G.

Standard Chartered Multinational banking goes mobile.

Kraft Foods Serving up innovation.