iPhone en entreprise

hero

Kraft Foods

play video thumb

iPhone à l'œuvre

Regarder la vidéo

Kraft Foods

L'innovation au menu...

Premier fabricant de produits alimentaires en Amérique du Nord et deuxième dans le monde, Kraft connaît l'importance de l'innovation. L'entreprise s'est donc naturellement tournée vers l'iPhone 3G d'Apple pour communiquer avec ses employés et ses clients. En plus d'avoir équipé ses employés d'appareils iPhone, Kraft a développé iFood Assistant, une app iPhone qui aide les clients à faire leurs courses et à préparer des plats à base de produits Kraft.

« Nous souhaitons insuffler une culture d'innovation », explique Dave Diedrich, vice-président responsable des systèmes d'information. « Le caractère avant-gardiste d'iPhone offre à nos employés de nouvelles possibilités dans leurs fonctions. »

Avec des marques connues dans le monde entier, comme Milka, Toblerone et Maxwell House, l'entreprise basée à Northfield, dans l'Illinois, enregistre un chiffre d'affaires annuel de 42 milliards de dollars et compte plus de 100 000 employés dans le monde. En dépit de la taille gigantesque de l'entreprise, le déploiement et la gestion d'iPhone pour les employés se sont faits pratiquement sans effort pour l'équipe informatique.

« Nous nous procurons le téléphone, nous le configurons et nous le mettons en service », poursuit Dave Diedrich. L'entreprise met à disposition une page web fournissant des instructions de configuration pour iPhone et un groupe d'utilisateurs en ligne vient en aide à la communauté d'utilisateurs.

Outre la fourniture du téléphone à des groupes spécifiques, l'entreprise permet à tout employé disposant d'un iPhone ou achetant un nouvel iPhone d'accéder à son courrier professionnel. De nombreux employés de Kraft ont déjà profité de cet avantage. « Ce sont les employés qui ont choisi iPhone », rappelle Mark Dajani, vice-président senior des systèmes d'information monde. « Il ne s'agit pas d'une lubie d'informaticiens. »

Communication sans frontières

Les employés de Kraft utilisent leur iPhone pour synchroniser en mode "push" leur courrier électronique, leur calendrier et leurs contacts. En communiquant directement avec Microsoft Exchange Server, iPhone 3G permet à tous les employés d'accéder aux informations stratégiques de l'entreprise n'importe où dans le monde.

« Lorsque les nouvelles fonctionnalités d'iPhone 2.0 ont été dévoilées, nous avons tout de suite compris qu'il était adapté au monde de l'entreprise », explique Mark Dajani. « Les fonctionnalités de courrier électronique, de calendrier, de contacts et de sécurité étaient essentielles pour un déploiement à grande échelle. »

iPhone sert également de plate-forme de communication interne. Les employés de Kraft peuvent écouter sur leur iPhone des messages audio (baptisés "Kraft Casts") du PDG et d'autres dirigeants afin de se tenir informés des dernières stratégies d'entreprise et des initiatives de marque. « iPhone nous permet de communiquer avec nos employés d'une façon plus visuelle que s'ils devaient s'asseoir pour lire un texte », ajoute Dave Diedrich.

L'utilisation innovante d'iPhone par Kraft reflète le besoin croissant des entreprises de communiquer sans contraintes dans différents fuseaux horaires. « La communication sans frontières va repousser les limites de la productivité », estime Dave Diedrich. « Avec iPhone, que les employés soient chez eux, sur la route ou avec un client, ils ont accès aux services dont ils ont besoin pour assurer la réussite de Kraft. »

Une application de bon goût

Au vu de la popularité d'iPhone au sein de l'entreprise, Kraft a concocté sa propre application pour l'App Store, baptisée iFood Assistant. L'application contient plus de 7 000 recettes appétissantes, une bibliothèque de recettes filmées, des listes de courses pour des plats complets et un outil de recherche de magasins, le tout accessible sur iPhone ou iPod touch.

Avec iPhone, Kraft est en mesure de fournir du contenu interactif grand public à ses clients, où et quand ils le souhaitent. « iPhone donne vie à notre contenu », explique Ed Kaczmarek, directeur de l'innovation et des nouveaux services. « Nous offrons la meilleure expérience possible aux consommateurs. »

Pour concevoir iFood Assistant, Kraft a utilisé le kit de développement logiciel pour iPhone et les outils pour développeurs Apple. Ed Kaczmarek qualifie le processus de développement de simple et rapide. Maintenant que l'application est à la disposition du grand public, Kraft compte sur les téléchargements et sur les éventuels partenariats de contenu pour générer de nouvelles sources de revenus.

En tirant parti des fonctionnalités révolutionnaires d'iPhone, Kraft affiche sa volonté de mettre la mobilité et l'innovation au service de son développement. « iPhone est fin prêt pour l'entreprise », annonce Ed Kaczmarek. « Il offre les outils et le niveau de sécurité dont nous avons besoin. Cerise sur le gâteau, nous pouvons en plus développer de remarquables applications. »

L'entreprise en bref

  • Implantée à Northfield, IL
  • Première entreprise alimentaire en Amérique du nord, deuxième dans le monde
  • Plus de 100 000 employés dans le monde
  • Quelques marques : Kraft, Maxwell House, Nabisco, Oscar Mayer, Philadelphia, Toblerone
  • Présent dans 150 pays
  • 42 milliards de dollars de chiffre d'affaires annuel
  • www.kraft.org

« Lorsque les nouvelles fonctionnalités d'iPhone 2.0 ont été dévoilées, nous avons tout de suite compris qu'il était adapté au monde de l'entreprise. Les fonctionnalités de courrier électronique, de calendrier, de contacts et de sécurité étaient essentielles pour un déploiement à grande échelle. »

Mark Dajani, vice-président senior des systèmes d'information monde, Kraft


« Avec iPhone, que les employés soient chez eux, sur la route ou avec un client, ils ont accès aux services dont ils ont besoin pour assurer la réussite de Kraft. »

Dave Diedrich, vice-président responsable des systèmes d'information, Kraft


« iPhone donne vie à notre contenu. Nous offrons la meilleure expérience possible aux consommateurs. »

Ed Kaczmarek, directeur de l'innovation et des nouveaux services, Kraft

Kraft Foods

Serving up innovation.

As the largest food manufacturer in North America and second in the world, Kraft knows the benefits of freshness. That’s why the company turned to Apple® iPhone™ 3G for a fresh approach to connecting with both staff and customers. In addition to supporting iPhone for employee use, Kraft has developed an iPhone app, iFood Assistant, that helps consumers shop for and prepare meals using Kraft products.

“We want to instill innovation in our culture,” says Dave Diedrich, Vice President of Information Systems. “Seeing the innovation in iPhone opens our employees’ minds to what’s possible in their jobs.”

With world renowned brands, including Nabisco, Philadelphia, and Milka, Kraft, based in Northfield, IL, has annual revenues of $42 billion and more than 100,000 employees worldwide. Despite the company’s huge scale, deploying and managing iPhone for employees has been practically effortless for IT.

“We procure the phone, configure it, and deploy it,” Diedrich explains. The company maintains a basic Web page with iPhone configuration instructions, and an active online user group offers help to the user community.

In addition to providing the phone to specific groups, any employee who has an iPhone, or purchases a new iPhone will be able to access their Kraft e-mail — an option that large numbers of Kraft employees have already taken advantage of. “Our people decided they wanted iPhone,” says Mark Dajani, Senior Vice President of Global Information Systems. “It wasn’t one of those things IT decided for them.”

Communication Without Borders

Kraft employees rely on their iPhones for push email, calendar, and contacts. By connecting directly with Microsoft Exchange Server, iPhone 3G gives the company’s international workforce enterprise-grade access to essential business information.

“When the new features in iPhone 2.0 came out, we knew it was enterprise-ready,” says Dajani. “The email, calendar, contacts and security components were critical for Kraft’s wide-scale deployment.”

iPhone also serves as an internal communications conduit. Kraft employees can listen to audio messages, dubbed “Kraft Casts,” from the CEO and other executives on their iPhones to stay up-to-date on the latest corporate strategies and branding initiatives. “iPhone allows us to communicate with our employees in a way that is more visual than having them sit and read text,” says Diedrich.

Kraft’s innovative use of iPhone reflects a growing corporate necessity for mobile, wireless, easy-to-manage communication across multiple time zones. “There’s tremendous opportunity for us to increase productivity by removing the barriers of location,” says Diedrich. “With iPhone, employees can be at home, on the road, or with a customer, and still provide the services they need to make Kraft successful.”

An Appetizing App

Based on the popularity of iPhone within Kraft, the company cooked up its own application for the iPhone App Store, called iFood Assistant. The app gives consumers more than 7,000 delicious recipes, a library of instructional cooking videos, full-meal shopping lists, and a store locator — all accessible via iPhone or iPod touch.

With iPhone, Kraft can deliver interactive, consumer-focused content where and when its customers need it. “We’re able to make our content come alive on iPhone,” says Ed Kaczmarek, Kraft’s Director of Innovation, New Services. “It provides the best consumer experience available.”

Kraft built iFood Assistant with iPhone SDK and Apple developer tools. Kaczmarek describes the development process as straightforward and quick. Now that the app is available to the public, Kraft expects the downloads, plus potential content partnerships, to introduce new revenue streams.

By making the most of the groundbreaking features and capabilities of iPhone, Kraft shows its commitment to expanding its business through mobility and innovation. “iPhone is ready for business,” says Kaczmarek. “All the tools are there, plus the security we demand. And the added benefit is that we can develop compelling applications.”

Company Snapshot

  • Based in Northfield, IL
  • Largest food company in North America, second largest in the world
  • More than 100,000 employees worldwide
  • Brands include Kraft, Maxwell House, Nabisco, Oscar Mayer, Philadelphia, Toblerone
  • Sales in 150 countries
  • $42 billion annual revenues
  • www.kraft.org

“When the new features in iPhone 2.0 came out, we knew it was enterprise-ready. The email, calendar, contacts and security components were critical for Kraft’s wide-scale deployment.”

Mark Dajani, Senior Vice President, Global Information Systems, Kraft


“With iPhone, employees can be at home, on the road, or with a customer, and still provide the services they need to make Kraft successful.”

Dave Diedrich, Vice President, Information Systems, Kraft


“We’re able to make our content come alive on iPhone. It provides the best consumer experience available.”

Ed Kaczmarek, Director of Innovation, New Services, Kraft

More iPhone in Business profiles.

Central County Fire Department Fighting Fire with Technology.

Eaton Powering business with iPhone and iPad.

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

PepsiCo Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

Daiichi Sankyo Prescription for Change: iPad and iPhone.

CTV Newsroom The pocket newsroom.

Dow Corning iPhone helps keep this silicone giant running smoothly.

Lowe's Building better customer service.

Grupo BBVA Banking on iPhone and iPad.

Safe/Sea Marine Rescue Shipshape with iPad and iPhone.

GE Reinventing mobility.

Kids Crooked House A playful mission, powered by iPhone.

Jackson Kayak Rapid results with iPad and iPhone.

World Wide Technology Maintaining IT infrastructures with iPhone.

Aftonbladet Cutting-edge communication

G Adventures A global travel company stays unified, with iPhone.

Redlands P.D. On duty with iPhone and iPad.

M6 iPhone: a media giant evolves

Showcall Large-scale event production goes mobile with iPhone.

JM Family Auto innovators.

Virtual Aviation iPhone boosts virtual flight.

RehabCare Post-critical care using iPhone and iPad.

Novartis Apps for good health.

Quintessa Winery Elegant technology for a Napa Valley vineyard.

TCHO Chocolate Chocolatology meets technology.

Big Bad Boo Diversity through animation. Efficiency through iPhone.

The Wine Connection Taking the store with you.

Dr. Diamond Using iPhone to improve patient care.

Surfline Catching waves in the palm of the hand.

D.W. Morgan Revolutionizing the supply chain.

Aedas, Los Angeles Creativity through collaboration.

Great Food Group, Inc. Streamlining service with iPhone.

Unisys Data defenders.

Mount Sinai Hospital iPhone provides vital link to medical records.

RTKL Architecture in motion

DLA Phillips Fox iPhone: Improving legal services.

Memorial Hermann Healthcare System Advancing health care with iPhone.

Illumina iPhone meets genome.

Sunbelt Rentals iPhone: Essential equipment.

Gannett Media giant goes mobile.

Doylestown Hospital Always on call: iPhone 3G.

Standard Chartered Multinational banking goes mobile.

Kraft Foods Serving up innovation.