If I purchase Mac OS X 10.6 to update my Mac OS 10.5.8, will it erase my software when updating?

Back To Product

Follow this Question

1 Answer from the Community

  • Answer

    It will replace OS 10.5.8 with OS 10.6. It will not delete your applications or data. But may delete Apple software that is not compatible with OS 10.6.

    When I do a major update of the OS, I like to play it safe. Create a new partition and install OS 10.6 on it. During the install, the installer will look for other OS installations and ask if you want to import OS settings, applications and/or data from your existing OS installation. (Or, you can skip the import and have a clean install of the new OS.)

    Afterwards, when you start your Mac, you can press the option key during startup and choose which partition (which OS) you wish to work with. This is very handy if you are not sure all of your applications and drivers will work in the newer OS.

    (To always start up in OS 10.5.8 or OS 10.6.x, select the Start Up Disk preference in System Preferences.)

    Was this useful? Answer 1

    1 of 1 people found this useful

Related Questions