If I move files to my Apollo Cloud sync folder, aren't they still on my local machine (in that sync folder) even though I then delete them?

If I delete the synced files from their original location but they remain in the sync folder, then they still remain on my local machine, so I'm not really saving storage space, correct? How can I use Apollo Cloud as a true external storage device?

PROMISE 4TB Apollo Personal Cloud Storage

PROMISE 4TB Apollo Personal Cloud Storage

Product No Longer Available

1 Answer from the Community

  • Answer

    In that case, you should use Apollo Cloud app (free download from App Store) to manage your files.
    After installing the Apollo Mac app and signing in, you can create new folders at the File page of the Apollo app.
    You copy the files from your local Mac into the new created folders at Apollo app.
    After file copying is finished, Apollo Cloud keeps a copy of your files which can be accessed from any devices once you sign in Apollo.
    Then, you may delete the original files from your local Mac for saving storage space.

    By default, the new created folders at Apollo Cloud app will not be sync'ed with your Mac folders.
    If you need the created folders to be sync'ed with Mac, you can "check" the created folders in the "Selective Sync" option at the Apollo Cloud app Settings page.