• 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Scratching my Head???

    I have had my MacBook Pro since 2011 when I purchased it new at my local Apple store.
    I had read reviews and noticed that the charger seemed to be a weak link in an otherwise much loved and admired piece of hardware!
    So when the chance to purchase a slightly used but otherwise in great shape magsafe charger I grabbed one and tucked it away waiting for what I assumed would be the inevitable failure of the unit that came with the laptop.
    Fast forward to 4/8/2017 and on a beautiful weekend my wife and I were doing a little spring cleaning and low and behold I found an Apple laptop charger wrapped up neatly still in the packaging it arrived in some 6 years ago!
    While I didn't spend that much for the "back-up " charger I bought, I think it may have cost $50, it turned out that $50 would have been better spent on something else!
    I am still using the original charger my cable never frayed like so many reviews said it would.
    I am pretty careful with my things especially when they cost as much as a fully loaded Apple pro laptop does but I can't think its, what, luck? Am I just so careful my charger made it this far with no issues?
    To see SO many negative reviews most complaining of the same or similar issues how did I manage to not destroy my charger by now?
    So as the title states I am scratching my head I don't think its unreasonable to take an extra 10 seconds and place my pinky near the base of the cable when I wrap it up to make sure I leave a small stress relief loop in the end of it.
    I always wrap the cable around the collapsible tabs built into the charger and then I toss it in my bag and away we go.
    Even my daughter with her MacBook Air that has now reached 4 or 5 years old, I forget which, has never had an issue and she is NOT careful but still no fraying no problem?
    While I am certain all the people that took the time to write a negative review truly have a problem I think its unfortunate that the, in my opinion, much larger group that has no problems at all don't take a moment to write a positive review so here is one for you Apple!

    Have a great day!!

    5 of 10 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Three Plus Years Strong

    I own two of these, the one that came with my MBP and the one I bought the same day in June 2012. Never an issue with either one. MagSafe has saved my laptop more than once thanks to pets and kids.

    8 of 23 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    The *one* Apple cable I have no complaints about

    I know I'm going to get a lot of "unhelpful" votes for this review, but this is my experience. I generally love Apple products but hate their cables. They do not last. Any of them. Except for my power cable. Over five years and still going strong. And no, it hasn't just been sitting in one place collecting dust. I've traveled the world with it. Squished it into my my backpack. Abused it. Plugged it into questionable voltage adapters when I forgot my Apple adapters. What finally killed it (and the reason why I'm even here reading these reviews)? Puppy teeth. I even repaired it once with Sugru and it kept working. Unfortunately, it didn't survive the last assault. I will now mourn its death and hope that the next cable lives until they get their adult teeth.

    13 of 37 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Love my power cord

    I dont understand all of these negative reviews. I purchased my Macbook 3 years ago and this would be the first power cod that I had to purchase, people have to realize that things happen and no matter how pricey the item is its not perfect. I'm pretty sure in a lifetime you will replace a phone, an extension cord, a hair dryer etc. so to just come on here a make these silly complaints about a cord is ridiculous. Once again I don't have any problems with mine so thanks Apple for making such a wonderful Power Adapter.

    2 of 51 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    What a great charger!!!

    I don't know how people are using this charger. but i charge my laptop and use it on daily bases. and i never had an issue pair in mind i had it for 3 years now !!! so i don't know how you guys r using the charger !?!?!

    0 of 16 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    First problem with a power adapter

    I have been buying these power adapters for years. I usually have three: one at work, one at home, one in the computer bag. I still have some with the concentric plug from previous generations. My wife and my son have MacBookPros, and they use the same adapters. And we have no problems.

    So far, I have lost one adapter (left it behind, my fault), and today my first one actually died. It was the home unit, so not subject to a lot of twiddling, just plug in and plug out. It was an older unit with a MagSafe to MagSafe 2 adapter, so I must have got about 5-6 years out of it. I have had no issues with fraying, internal breaks and the like that others complain about. I suspect that these represent a small percentage of the total number of adapters out there, so one's chances of getting a dud are fairly low. That doesn't make it the least bit easier for those who get a poor unit, but it may put the numbers into perspective, and so the chances of getting a flaky adapter.

    I'm going to buy another one, so I'll see if the latest ones are OK. I'll let you know if it dies!

    1 of 8 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Funny thing about the Apple power cords

    I have had 3 MacBook Pros, 2 MacBook Airs, and a MacBook (the black one). The only problem I have EVER had with the Apple power cords (whether for older models or newer models) is when I was careless enough to leave it out where my puppy could find it and chew it up. I don't understand why so many people say they are so problematical. I don't use the "wings" to wind it up with though, so maybe that is why I don't have the experience others do. I just wrap the whole power cord in loose loops--it takes a little more space in my computer bag but I've never had one fray.

    3 of 16 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    effective

    I have read the negative reviews. I'm not sure what people are doing with their chargers because I'm using the one that came with the laptop 5 years ago and have never had a problem. I'm only ordering another one so that I have one at work and home. Simple device...does what it's supposed to as long as I do.

    6 of 21 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Poor design? Or Laws of Physics.

    I have had my mac pro book now for 4 years, I use it everyday for work and travel in and out with it 5 6 to 7 times a day, so yes I bring the cord with me all the time. The cord is not poor quality and you have to realize that a rope and an electrical wire are not to be rolled or coiled the same way, the sercret is not to TWIST the wire, just look at an extension cord the one you use for the lawn mower, if you compare it to a new one there is no sign of twisting of the wires, if you have been using it for many years and look at it again, you will see lumps in it, that means the wires twist inside the cover have twisted. This is the same thing happening to your adaptor cable..its all in the way that you roll or coil it or loop it, its normal for it to break at the ends since the ends are not not swivel....... I have changed mine after 4 years and been rolling and unrolling it 6 to 7 times a day! Just remeber every time you plug it in if the wire was on the floor and you pick it up well it could of twisted if it twists in the middle not so bad but if it twists at the ends yes it will break. Every time you change the angle to plug it in to your Mac book you usually change the angle and rotaion of the wire...
    The is no flaw, its a question of Laws of Physics.!

    10 of 40 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    ahhh,...that new cord smell

    I normally don't write reviews online. However I hoped to increase the average rating of the measly 1.5 stars the power adapter is currently sitting at. I'm assuming that most people who write reviews are the ones who are upset, hence the poor rating.

    As for my personal experience, yes, fraying did get me in the end. However it took nearly four years to get to that point. The laptop never just sat in one place either, I've dragged this laptop in a backpack coast to coast across Canada on a half dozen occasions, plus one backpacking trip up and down the US west coast.
    That being said, its really beyond me how people are having these "fraying" issues and replacing them every six months...like some of the other reviewers on here have mentioned, it is very "suspect" on how these people are treating their investments, a little TLC can go a long way! Here's to another 4 years :-D

    8 of 28 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Lucky I guess

    I have had my oldest cord since December 2007 and my newest since May 2011 and I have never had them frayed. I am repurchasing only because it got lost in transit. Not sure how others' fray, but I guess I am just lucky.!?

    5 of 16 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Great power adapter

    This power adapter has worked great for me. I've been using about two years now and it's in great condition. I carry it with me all the time and use it about every other day to charge my MBP. I highly recommend it.

    4 of 20 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Great product!

    I have never had any problems with the cables fraying on this, or my previous adapter (for my 2007 MBP). They've worked great for me, with no problems whatsoever. I couldn't be happier with it/them!

    1 of 10 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Near Perfection

    This is my 1st review of any product and I have had a MacBook Pro for 4 years, and my adapter is as good as new, ad my dad has had his for 5(Cord still intact and he had huge hands..LOL). As I read through the comments on this adapter, I can't help but suspect that people are handling the cable/adapters a litter to roughly. Perhaps each of the people that have a complaint should not try a new way of storing their cable/adapter…such as not wrapping it up so tightly or at all.

    4 of 18 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Works great on 2007 MBP

    My old charger with the straight connector failed after 6 years. This new charger works perfect with my 2007 15" MBP. Never had any problems with the cord.

    6 of 18 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Why the complaining?

    I don't know why people complain all the time but don't other laptop charger accessories heat up as well? I mean energy is heat, right? Also, I have had my mac book pro 17 for 3 years now and my charger is still up and running. Of course, this does not apply to everyone, perhaps I am the only person in the world who has the ultra-lasting apple charger.

    6 of 33 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Excellent quality - I question the source of all the negativity

    Our family has had 3 MacBook Pros, the oldest being bought over 5 year ago. None of the power adapters have failed, nor been anything but durable and fully functional. I've had Dells, Toshiba, NEC, and Samsung laptops, over decades, and none of these units and associated accessories have come anywhere close to Apple quality, to say nothing of the Windows products to which they have been wedded from the very beginning. I'm a 74 yr. old techie, retired lawyer, experienced in analyzing alleged complaints, and my gut feel is that many of these negative submissions are being orchestrated from a common source. Lastly, I'm buying a new one solely to replace one that's been lost.

    7 of 43 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    It's called r-e-s-p-e-c-t

    You pay a lot for Apple equipment so don't treat it like a pair of dirty socks. Respect your stuff, take care of it, and it will last longer! I purchased my MacBook Pro late spring of 2010 and, other than the usual wear on the plastic and fading of the lettering, my ORIGINAL charger is working perfect. I LOVE the break-away feature which has saved my computers (I also have an old, black MacBook) the few times I was dumb enough to have the cords plugged in across where I would walk. Have never (knock on wood) replaced EITHER cord and I'm not exactly 'gentle'. I haul my MacBook with me, but I make sure I pack the cord properly in my computer case. I have been using Apples since the 80's, my first computer was the Mac IIFX - They've come so far and I have NO complaints. The comments sound like a lot of user error. There's nothing wrong with the cords, so don't blame them - it's up to you to take care of them.

    9 of 74 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    Excellent Charger

    I have an early 2008 MacBook Pro 15 inch, and have had the SAME charger for FIVE years, and just today have had to order a new one because somebody stepped on the end and cracked the plastic, which allowed the magnetic piece to fall out. These charger are very high quality, and I am very impressed as to how long they last...

    10 of 40 people found this useful

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars

    worked fine for over 2 years

    Sooner or later any adapter will have to be replaced, so stop whining, people. You can go to Ebay and get a brand new one (even genuine) for under $20. Of course if you've only ever replaced them from a source other than the Apple Store, you can't complain that they're wearing out quickly. That's just dumb.

    5 of 39 people found this useful