iPad in Unternehmen

Ducati

Vollgas mit dem iPad.

„Dank unserer intern entwickelten POS-App fühlen sich unsere Händler als Teil einer Gemeinschaft und besser in das Unternehmen integriert.

Mario Alvisi, Sales Performance Development Manager, Ducati

Seit die Brüder Adriano, Bruno und Marcello Ducati 1946 erstmals einen kompakten, leichten Motor an einem Fahrrad anbrachten, ist Ducati ein Synonym für Motorräder. Seitdem haben sich Ducati Motorräder zu wahren Traummaschinen entwickelt, die weltweit unzählige Menschen durch innovative Technologie, atemberaubende Beschleunigung und elegantes Design begeistern. Als das Unternehmen eine geeignete Verkaufsplattform suchte, die seinen Ruf als Hersteller von Luxusmotorrädern widerspiegelt, entschied man sich für das iPad.

„Ducati ist ein einzigartiges Unternehmen“, erklärt Cristiano Silei, Vice President im Bereich Global Sales. „Unsere Kunden sind keine gewöhnlichen Kunden, sondern 'Ducatistas', also eingeschworene Fans. Unsere Händler sind keine gewöhnlichen Händler, sondern loyale Geschäftspartner, die Motorräder lieben. Ducati gehörte schon immer zu den Unternehmen, die für ihre Motorräder erstmals auch neue Technologien verwendet haben. Und das iPad hat die Art und Weise, wie wir mit unseren Händlern und unseren Kunden kommunizieren, wirklich revolutioniert.“

„Uns war von vornherein klar, dass das iPad das geeignete Gerät für unsere Zwecke ist. Insbesondere aufgrund seiner Einfachheit und Benutzerfreundlichkeit. Sich mit seiner Funktionsweise vertraut zu machen, ist eine Sache von wenigen Minuten.“

Cristiano Silei, Vice President im Bereich Global Sales, Ducati

Weg frei für eine verbesserte POS-Engine.

Das Vertriebsnetz von Ducati umfasst tausend Händler in 88 Ländern. Wie bei jedem globalen Unternehmen ist es von zentraler Bedeutung, sich innerhalb des gesamten Netzwerks einheitlich zu präsentieren und präzise und aktuelle Produktinformationen bereitzustellen, um Kunden dabei zu helfen, das ideale Motorrad zu finden.

Doch Geografie ist nur eine der Marketingherausforderungen des Unternehmens. Neben Motorrädern verkauft Ducati auch Ersatzteile, Zubehör, Bekleidung und andere Produkte für eine umfassende Ducati Erfahrung. Es gibt insgesamt Tausende von Produkten und Anpassungsoptionen, über die Händler Bescheid wissen müssen und die den Kunden zur Wahl stehen.

Früher sahen sich Mitarbeiter im Vertrieb mit schlecht aufeinander abgestimmten, manchmal widersprüchlichen oder veralteten Informationen zu Bestand, Verfügbarkeit und Bestellzeiten von Produkten konfrontiert, wodurch bei Kunden wie Händlern Wünsche offen blieben.

„Unser Hauptproblem war, dass wir so viele verschiedene Kommunikationssysteme hatten“, erklärt Mario Alvisi, Sales Performance Development Manager bei Ducati. „Die Informationen waren vorhanden, aber nicht koordiniert.“

Um diese Probleme zu lösen, wurden Mitarbeiter im Vertriebsnetz von Ducati mit iPads ausgerüstet und eine spezielle interne App namens DCS, kurz für Ducati Communication System, entwickelt. Dabei handelt es sich um eine SAP-basierte Oberfläche, über die Händler schnell und unkompliziert Informationen finden, senden und empfangen können, die sie benötigen, um Bestellungen aufzugeben und während des Produktions- und Lieferprozesses nachzuverfolgen. Zugelassene Ducati Händler können diese App und entsprechende Aktualisierungen direkt über den Apple App Store laden. Sie können damit auch modulare Werkzeuge hinzufügen, z. B. ein Konfigurationstool, das den „Bau“ des ultimativen Motorrads inklusive Zubehör für einen individuellen Kunden ermöglicht. Das Ganze wird ergänzt durch eine E‑Mail, in der die komplette technische Spezifikation zusammengefasst ist.

„Wir können in Echtzeit mit Kollegen in Verbindung treten und Verkäufe abschließen, ohne Verzögerungen oder weitere Nachrichten“, so Stefano Veronesi, Manager des Ducati Werksverkaufs in Bologna. „Der Kunde hilft uns, seinen Traum zu verwirklichen – und das iPad macht es möglich.“

„Das iPad hat die Art und Weise, wie wir mit unseren Händlern und unseren Kunden kommunizieren, wirklich revolutioniert.“

Cristiano Silei, Vice President im Bereich Global Sales, Ducati

Schnellere Vertriebswege und Schulungen.

Mithilfe eines iPad und der DCS App können Händler klare und ausführliche Informationen und Abbildungen von Produkten direkt mit Kunden teilen, wodurch sich der Bestellvorgang sehr viel effizienter gestaltet. Dank der intuitiven Bedienung und des hochauflösenden Displays des iPad kann sich der Kunde ganz auf die Visualisierung des Endprodukts konzentrieren, was es leichter macht, den Verkauf abzuschließen.

„Unsere Händler verwenden die DCS App für die gesamte geschäftliche Kommunikation mit unserem Unternehmen“, erklärt Alvisi. „Sie können damit zusammen mit dem Kunden ein Motorrad konfigurieren, dieses entsprechend den Wünschen des Kunden individuell anpassen, den Bestellstatus prüfen oder Motorräder mit anderen Händlern austauschen. Händler können über diese App Ersatzteile, Bekleidung oder Zubehör bestellen. Außerdem können sie eine Garantie erstellen und aktivieren, die Fahrzeughistorie prüfen oder andere Serviceleistungen durchführen – alles direkt über diese App.“

„Das iPad passt perfekt zu unseren Verkaufsstellen, denn es ist rasante, elegante Technologie – genau wie unsere Motorräder.“

Die DCS App bietet nicht nur verbindlichen und direkten Support, sondern kann auch von den Händlern verwendet werden, um sich über die stets wachsende Produktpalette von Ducati auf dem Laufenden zu halten.

„Die App eignet sich auch für die Schulung von Angestellten aus allen Bereichen, vom Verkaufspersonal bis hin zu Servicemitarbeitern“, fügt Veronesi hinzu. „Sie können jederzeit auf Onlinekurse zugreifen, wodurch sich Ausfallzeiten sinnvoll nutzen und der Trainingsstand von Mitarbeitern verbessern lässt.“

Dank regelmäßiger Aktualisierungen liefert DCS den Händlern stets aktuelle Informationen zu Produkten und Ressourcen und ermöglicht so einen exzellenten Kundenservice. „Dank dieser App fühlen sich unsere Händler als Teil einer Gemeinschaft, sie sind besser in das Unternehmen integriert“, freut sich Alvisi. „Wir können weltweit unsere besten Händler ermitteln und Videos, interaktive Inhalte und Übungen für sie bereitstellen, damit sie noch besser werden.“

Dank iPad in der Pole-Position.

Für Ducati Händler ist die DCS App ein zentrales Instrument für das Finden und Bestellen geeigneter Produkte, die Bindung von Kunden mithilfe personalisierter Verkaufspraktiken sowie als Informationsquelle für alles, was sich im Hause Ducati tut. „Uns war von vornherein klar, dass das iPad das geeignete Gerät für unsere Zwecke ist“, sagt Silei. „Insbesondere aufgrund seiner Einfachheit und Benutzerfreundlichkeit. Sich mit seiner Funktionsweise vertraut zu machen, ist eine Sache von wenigen Minuten.“

Für Kunden, die sich den Traum von einer eigenen Ducati verwirklichen wollen, bedeutet dies ein Hindernis weniger.

„Ein Motorrad kauft man nicht jeden Tag“, bemerkt Silei. „Wenn also jemand eine Ducati Niederlassung betritt, ist dies ein sehr emotionaler und bedeutender Moment. Es ist wichtig zu wissen, wie man das richtige Motorrad auswählt, und wir tun unser Möglichstes, um dieses Erlebnis unvergesslich zu machen. Das iPad hilft uns dabei ungemein, da es dem zukünftigen Ducati Besitzer ein intensiveres Erlebnis bietet.“

„Wir entwickeln uns schnell von einem italienischen zu einem durch und durch internationalen Unternehmen. Das iPad ist bei diesem Wachstumsprozess von zentraler Bedeutung. Es ist sozusagen der Grenzübergang.“

Unternehmensprofil

Zusammenfassung der Apps

Maßgeschneiderte interne App:

  • Ducati Communication System (DCS)

Ducati

Full throttle with iPad.

“Thanks to the custom point-of-sales app we built in-house for iPad, our dealers feel like they are part of a community, and more integrated in the company.”

Mario Alvisi, Sales Performance Development Manager, Ducati

Ducati has been synonymous with motorcycles since 1946, when brothers Adriano, Bruno, and Marcello Ducati first attached a lightweight motor to a bicycle frame. Since then, Ducati motorcycles have evolved into internationally coveted dream machines known for their precision engineering, lightning speed, and sleek design. So when the company needed the perfect sales support platform to reflect its high-performance brand, they turned to iPad.

“Ducati is a unique company,” says Cristiano Silei, Ducati’s Vice President of Global Sales. “We don’t have ordinary customers; we have “Ducatistas”-dedicated fans. We don’t have ordinary dealers; we have loyal business partners who love motorcycles. Ducati has always been one of the first companies to apply new technologies to motorcycles. And iPad is a real revolution in the way we communicate with both our dealer network and our customers.”

“It was clear from the start that iPad was the right device. It’s the simplicity, the immediate usability. Everyone understands how it works in just a few minutes.”

Cristiano Silei, Vice President of Global Sales, Ducati

Building a Better POS Engine

Ducati’s distribution and sales operation spans a thousand dealers in 88 countries. As with any global company, it’s critical to maintain a consistent image throughout this network while providing accurate, current product information to help customers buy the ideal bike.

But geography is just one of the company’s marketing challenges. In addition to motorcycles, Ducati sells parts, accessories, apparel, and other products that make the Ducati experience complete. All told, there are thousands of products and customization options for dealers to be familiar with, and for customers to choose from.

In the past, sales staff struggled with poorly organized, sometimes conflicting or outdated information on product inventory, availability, and ordering timeframes, resulting in a less-than-ideal experience for customers and dealers alike.

“Our main problem was that we had so many different communication systems,” says Mario Alvisi, Sales Performance Development Manager at Ducati. “The information was there, but it wasn’t coordinated.”

To resolve these issues, Ducati equipped its sales network with iPads and developed a custom in-house app called DCS, or Ducati Communication System, a SAP-based interface that lets dealers easily find, send, and receive all the information they need to place orders and track them through production and delivery. Authorized Ducati dealers can download the app and get updates directly through the Apple App Store. They can also add modular tools such as a configurator that allows them to “build” a customer’s ultimate motorcycle, complete with accessories, and follow up with an email summarizing all the specs.

“You can communicate in real time with colleagues and complete the sale without any delays or further messages,” says Stefano Veronesi, manager of the Ducati factory store in Bologna. “The customer helps build his own dream — and iPad makes it possible.”

“iPad is a real revolution in the way we communicate with both our dealer network and our customers.”

Cristiano Silei, Vice President of Global Sales, Ducati

Accelerated Sales and Training

Using iPad and DCS, dealers can share clear, detailed product information and images directly with customers, streamlining the ordering process. With its intuitive interface and clear display, iPad helps keep customers focused on the excitement of visualizing the final product, making it easier to close the sale.

“Our dealers use the DCS app to communicate with the company about everything business-related,” Alvisi explains. “They can use it with a client to configure a motorcycle, customize it with options the client chooses, check the order status, exchange motorcycles with other dealers. Dealers can order spare parts, apparel, or accessories with this app. They can also create and activate a warranty, check the history of a vehicle, or anything else service-related — all directly inside the app.”

“iPad is perfect for our points of sale because, like our motorcycles, it’s fast, cool technology.”

In addition to providing engaging, immediate sales support, the DCS app on iPad acts as a training interface to keep dealers updated on Ducati’s evolving product line.

“The app does staff training for everyone from salespeople to service personnel,” Veronesi says. “They can access online courses at any time, making use of downtime and improving everyone’s training.”

With its easily updated content, DCS keeps dealers current on products and resources, and helps them stay committed to great customer service. “Thanks to this app, our dealers feel like they are part of a community; they’re more integrated into the company,” Alvisi says. “We can identify our best dealers all over the world, and provide videos, interactive content, and exercises for them to become even better.”

Taking the Lead with iPad

For Ducati dealers, the DCS app on iPad makes all the difference when it comes to finding and ordering the right products, engaging customers in a personalized sales experience, and learning what’s new in all things Ducati. “It was clear from the start that iPad was the right device,” Silei says. “It’s the simplicity, the immediate usability. Everyone understands how it works in just a few minutes.”

And for customers, it’s one less barrier between the dream of owning a Ducati and the reality.

“You don’t buy a motorcycle every day,” Silei notes. “So when someone comes to the dealership, it’s a very emotional and important moment. It’s crucial to understand how to choose the right motorcycle, and we do whatever we can to make the experience unforgettable. iPad helps us a lot with this, because it gives the future Ducati owner a richer experience.”

“We are growing quickly from being an Italian company to being a totally international one. iPad is crucial in this process of growth. It is the frontier”.

Company Snapshot

  • Founded 1926 in Bologna, Italy
  • High-performance motorcycle manufacturer since 1946
  • 1000 dealers in 88 countries
  • More than 200 Ducati owners’ clubs worldwide
  • www.ducati.com
  • Download the Profile PDF

App Recap

Custom in-house app:

  • Ducati Communication System (DCS)

More iPad in Business profiles.More iPad in Business profiles.

Daiwa House Industry Building trust with iPad.

Read now

MTR Corporation On track with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Central County Fire Department Fighting Fire with Technology.

Read now

Eaton Powering business with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

Read now

Bechtel Better building with iPad.

Read now

Ducati Full throttle with iPad.

Read now

PepsiCo Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Daiichi Sankyo Prescription for Change: iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Carmel Café & Wine Bar Pairing taste and technology.

Read now

The Ottawa Hospital Enhancing bedside manner with iPad.

Read now

EVA Airways iPad takes flight.

Read now

CTV News The pocket newsroom.

Read now

GE Reinventing mobility.

Read now

Jordan Vineyard & WineryFrom trellis to table with iPad.

Read now

United AirlinesCleared for takeoff with iPad.

Read now

The GoodLife Team Real estate, real results with iPad.

Read now

The Benetton Group Fashion forward with iPad.

Read now

Crescent Construction Services Building apps, building business.

Read now

St. Louis Urgent Cares iPad makes the rounds with physicians.

Read now

Theatre Consultants Collaborative Connecting art with architecture.

Read now

Gulliver International Used car sales go mobile on iPad.

Read now

McClendon’s Select Growing a better business with iPad.

Read now

Fennemore Craig Making the case with iPad.

Read now

Grupo BBVA Banking on iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Scott Kay iPad shines for artisan jewelry designer.

Read now

Safe/Sea Marine Rescue Shipshape with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Standard Chartered Bank Multinational banking goes mobile.

Read now

Medtronic Better medicine through iPad.

Read now

Jackson Kayak Rapid results with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Redlands Police Department On duty with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

RC Auto Driving the car buying experience with iPad.

Read now

Crank Sports iPad by a mile.

Read now

Hyatt Hotels High touch, high tech.

Read now

RehabCare Post-critical care using iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Dr. Ferencz iPad advances digital dentistry.

Read now

charity: water Humanitarian mission meets innovative technology.

Read now