<广告>

Medtronic

iPad,成效显著的一剂良药。

20 世纪 50 年代中期,明尼阿波利斯市的电子工程师 Earl Bakken 研发出第一部可佩戴的电池驱动式起搏器,不久之后,这部设备即为很多人带来了新生。从那时起,Bakken 所在的 Medtronic 便成为在医疗设备和心血管、神经、肌骨损伤治疗方法,以及慢性病和外科手术领域处于世界领先地位的公司。今天,另一种革命性设备 iPad 正在帮助 Medtronic 为全世界的医生和患者提供与时俱进的医疗技术。

“我们的使命是帮助患者缓解病痛,恢复健康,甚至延长生命,” Medtronic 神经科药品供应系统的市场总监 Linnea Burman 如此说道,“我们每天都在努力帮助更多的患者使用我们的治疗方法。iPad 让我们的案例演示如此生动逼真,令我们与临床医生的沟通准确到位。销售代表可以使用 iPad 快速地提取资料,图文并茂地讲解案例,这些都令人过目难忘。”

通过为数千名员工配备 iPad 之后,Medtronic 拥有了一个理想的平台,无论是向医疗专家、个体患者,还是病人权益保护组织演示和讲解前沿的医疗技术,都变得轻松。

“iPad 让我们能迅速地向客户提供信息,” Medtronic 的首席信息官 Michael Hedges 指出,“在 iPad 上,友好的信息界面也让大家乐于使用它。”

以内部 app 搭建商务运营

Medtronic 开发了十多款内部 iPad app,用于获取专用信息,提高工作效率,以及增强与客户的互动。这些 app 在受密码保护的 Medtronic 内部网站发布,不仅确保了只有指定的人员才能够使用,而且软件更新也易如反掌。

其中有一款内部 app 叫 mStar,可谓销售代表的得力助手。它是一款非常实用的现场服务软件,与后台系统相互集成,可用于产品订购和登记。正如现场服务部的 IT 经理 Jeff Bipes 所说:“mStar app 实现了手动流程的自动化,销售代表可以 7X24 小时随时使用它。”

另一个常用的内部 app 叫作 mCMS,是一款内容管理 app,可以帮助销售人员和管理人员按照受众或主题整理、演示和分发产品信息。同时,这款 app 符合 FDA 规范,确保 Medtronic 员工能够合理控制和共享那些敏感数据。

Bipes 指出:“这款适用于 iPad 的内容管理 app,让我们可以与后台系统集成,随时管理内容,控制内容,并在必要的时候撤销内容。我们可以跟踪谁在使用、使用频率,以及内容最后的去向。”

兼顾安全性与移动性

无论是在办公室还是在路上,iPad 都大大简化了 Medtronic 的日常工作流程。iPad 支持 Microsoft Exchange,因此,员工可以随时随地更新电子邮件、通讯录和日历。

“外出旅行时我一定会带着 iPad,” Hedges 表示,“安检时我不需要把它拿出来。而且旅行途中我可以用它做任何想做的事,比如收发电子邮件,制作演示文稿等,这简直棒极了。”

为了有效部署和管理 iPad,Medtronic 采用了一种移动设备管理 (MDM) 系统,以便于公司维护和更新用户档案。“这款设备管理工具让我们非常轻松地帮助使用者在 iPad 上查看电子邮件,连接无线网络和 VPN”,Bipes 这样说道。

MDM 系统还增强了 iPad 现有的安全性能。通过它,Medtronic 可以监控每台 iPad 连接内部系统的频率,而且如果某台 iPad 在规定时间内从未 "登入",该系统还将自动远程擦除专用数据。

销售流程,一气呵成。

借助瞬间接入和长达 10 小时电池使用时间等内置功能,iPad 迅速成为 Medtronic 销售人员不可缺少的得力助手。在使用 iPad 之前,销售人员常常不得不携带着 12 公斤重的产品打印资料去见客户。而现在,一个不到 1 公斤的电子设备,就能让他们快速获取最新信息,无论是动态视频、演示文稿还是 PDF 文档,都尽在其中。

Burman 说:“对于从事现场服务的员工来说,iPad 必不可少。不仅电池可持续使用一整天,Multi-Touch 显示屏也让信息整理更加轻松自如。对于我们的销售伙伴来讲,无论是演示临床报告还是病患视频,iPad 屏幕大小都正合适。”

此外,iPad 让后续工作也变得更简单,Burman 补充道:“一打完销售电话,他们就可以一边出门一边通过电子邮件发送相关资料,而不是等到一天忙完之后。”

准确的信息,恰当的时机。

有了 iPad,Medtronic 向各地的医生和患者发送创新的医疗资讯,都变得非常简单。Burman 表示:“iPad 为我们的销售工作和市场推广提供了一个新的界面。它改变了我们向公众传播信息的思维方式。通过 iPad,我们的销售团队每天都可以在恰当的时机,为相应的客户提供准确的信息。”

对于 Medtronic 的 IT 团队而言,iPad 无疑是一大功臣。Hedges 说道:“iPad 帮助大家以创造性的方式思考和处理问题。而且,业务人员对它的喜爱,也让 IT 人员对它钟爱有加。iPad 改变了医疗行业的游戏规则。”

公司简介

  • 成立于 1949 年
  • 总部位于明尼苏达州明尼阿波利斯市
  • 拥有 41,000 名员工
  • 遍及 120 个国家
  • www.medtronic.com

“iPad 为我们的销售工作和市场推广提供了一个新的界面。 它改变了我们向公众传播信息的思维方式。”

Medtronic 药品供应系统市场总监
Linnea Burman


“iPad 让我们能灵活、轻松、敏捷地响应顾客。”

Medtronic 现场服务部 IT 经理
Jeff Bipes


“iPad 改变了医疗行业的游戏规则。”

Medtronic 首席信息官
Michael Hedges

更多 iPad 商务应用案例

Schindler 以智能工具提升现场服务。

SKF 工厂内同步作业。

Network Rail 确保铁路运作安全可靠。

St John Ambulance 实时信息推动出色的紧急救援。

KOSÉ Corporation携手 iPad,打造美丽未来。

立即閱讀

Daiwa House Industry 以 iPad 构建信任。

Read now

香港铁路有限公司 有 iPhone 和 iPad,一切步上正轨。

立即阅读

Eaton 通过 iPad 和 iPhone 为业务提供强有力的支持。

Read now

Sonic Automotive以 iPhone 和 iPad 推动增长。

立即阅读

宝洁公司 与 iPhone 和 iPad 一起,创新每
一天。

立即阅读

Mayo 诊所让医疗工作流动灵活。

立即阅读

Ducati用 iPad 开足马力。

立即阅读

百事公司 使用 iPhone 和 iPad 完成更多
任务。

立即阅读

Carmel Kitchen & Wine Bar以科技唤醒美味。

立即阅读

CTV News 用 iPhone 和 iPad 进行 HD 高清视频移动播报。

立即阅读

Gulliver International用 iPad,让二手车销售融入移动潮流。

立即阅读

The Ottawa Hospital用 iPad,提升病床边的关怀。

立即阅读

长荣航空带上 iPad 飞入云霄。

立即阅读

Grupo BBVA 使用 iPhone 和 iPad 管理金融。

立即阅读

美联航带上 iPad,预备,起飞。

立即阅读

St. Louis Urgent Cares带着 iPad 巡诊去。

立即阅读

Benetton 集团与 iPad 一起迈向时尚前沿。

立即阅读

GE 通用电气公司重塑移动性。

立即阅读

渣打银行跨国银行业迎来移动时代。

立即阅读

MedtroniciPad,成效显著的一剂良药。

立即阅读

凯悦酒店集团灵巧触控、高端科技。

立即阅读

Jackson Kayak通过 iPad 和 iPhone 快速取得
成效。

立即阅读

Redlands 警察局执勤用上 iPhone 和 iPad。

立即阅读

RC 汽车用 iPad 促进汽车购买体验。

立即阅读

Crank Sports iPad 缔造卓越。

立即阅读

RehabCare使用 iPhone 和 iPad 进行后重症护理。

立即阅读

Dr. FerencziPad 推动牙科数字化。

立即阅读

慈善:水 人道主义使命邂逅创新科技。

立即阅读

Medtronic

Better medicine through iPad.

In the mid-1950s, a Minneapolis-based electrical engineer named Earl Bakken developed a wearable, battery-powered pacemaker — a device that would soon transform countless lives. Since then Bakken’s company, Medtronic, has become a world leader in medical equipment and therapies for cardiovascular, neurological, and musculoskeletal disorders, chronic health conditions, and surgical procedures. And today another revolutionary device — iPad — is helping Medtronic deliver its state-of-the-art medical technology to physicians and patients worldwide.

“Our mission is to alleviate pain, restore health, and extend life,” says Linnea Burman, Director of Marketing, Drug Delivery Systems in Medtronic’s Neuromodulation division. “We’re working every day to help more patients have access to our therapies. iPad helps us communicate with clinicians; it helps our stories come to life. The sales representative can pull up information quickly and use graphics to tell a story in a very memorable way.”

Putting iPad in the hands of thousands of employees gives Medtronic the ideal platform to present and explain its visionary medical technologies to health care professionals, individual patients, and patient advocacy groups.

“iPad lets us get information to our customers much quicker than we could before,” says Michael Hedges, Medtronic’s Chief Information Officer. “On iPad, the information is delivered in a way that encourages people to use it.”

Building business with in-house apps

Medtronic has created more than a dozen in-house iPad apps to access proprietary information, improve efficiency, and enhance customer engagement. The apps are distributed through a password-protected, internal Medtronic website that lets the company control access to qualified staff and easily provide app updates.

Internal apps include mStar, a field productivity tool for sales reps that integrates with back-end systems for product ordering and registration. “The mStar application automates manual processes and makes them available 24/7 for the reps,” explains Jeff Bipes, IT Manager, Field Services.

Another essential in-house app is mCMS, a content management application that helps sales staff and managers organize, present, and distribute product information by audience or topic. The app works within FDA regulations to make sure Medtronic employees retain control of sensitive data and share it appropriately.

“The content management app for iPad has allowed us to integrate into our back-end systems to manage content, control it, and revoke it if necessary,” Bipes says. “We can trace who’s using it how frequently, and where that content ultimately ends up.”

Security meets mobility

In the office and on the road, iPad simplifies everyday workflows at Medtronic. With Microsoft Exchange support on iPad, employees can stay up to date on email, contacts, and calendars wherever they are.

“If I travel, I take my iPad,” Hedges says. “I don’t have to take it out of my bag when I go through security. I can do everything I want with my iPad when I’m traveling: email, presentations. It’s absolutely perfect.”

To deploy and manage iPad, Medtronic uses a mobile device management (MDM) system that helps the company maintain and update user profiles. “This device management tool allows us to very easily provision users for email, Wi-Fi, and VPN connectivity on their iPads,” says Bipes.

The MDM system also enhances existing iPad security features. Medtronic can monitor how often each iPad connects with internal systems, and automatically remote-wipe proprietary data if an iPad hasn’t “checked in” within a designated timeframe.

Streamlining sales

With built-in features such as instant-on access and 10-hour battery life, iPad has quickly become indispensable for Medtronic’s sales staff. Before iPad, sales reps routinely lugged 25 pounds of printed product literature. Now they can quickly call up the latest information — including dynamic videos, presentations, and PDF files — all on a device that weighs less than two pounds.

“For field-based employees, iPad is an essential device,” Burman says. “The battery lasts throughout the day, and the Multi-Touch screen gives us a better way to organize information. Whether they’re presenting clinical articles or patient videos, the screen size on iPad is fantastic for our sales partners.”

iPad simplifies follow-up as well, Burman adds: “At the end of the sales call, they’re able to email the appropriate material as they walk out the door, rather than wait until the end of the day.”

Right information, right time

With iPad, it’s easier than ever for Medtronic to deliver its message of medical innovation to physicians and patients everywhere. “iPad has given us a whole new sales and marketing interface,” Burman says. “It’s changed the way we think about getting information out to the public. With iPad, our sales organization has the right information, at the right time, for the right customer, every day.”

For Medtronic’s IT team, iPad has been an unqualified success story. “iPad helps people think differently and act differently,” says Hedges. “The IT people love it because the business people love it. iPad is a game-changer in health care.”

Company Snapshot

  • Founded 1949
  • Based in Minneapolis, MN
  • 41,000 employees
  • Operations in 120 countries
  • www.medtronic.com

“iPad has given us a whole new sales and marketing interface. It’s changed the way we think about getting information out to the public.”

Linnea Burman, Marketing Director, Drug Delivery Systems, Medtronic


“iPad allows us to be more agile, more flexible, and more responsive to the customer.”

Jeff Bipes, Information Technology Manager, Field Services, Medtronic


“iPad is a game-changer in healthcare.”

Michael Hedges, Chief Information Officer, Medtronic

More iPad in Business profiles.More iPad in Business profiles.

Daiwa House Industry Building trust with iPad.

Read now

MTR Corporation On track with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Eaton Powering business with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

Read now

Bechtel Better building with iPad.

Read now

Ducati Full throttle with iPad.

Read now

PepsiCo Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Daiichi Sankyo Prescription for Change: iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Carmel Café & Wine Bar Pairing taste and technology.

Read now

The Ottawa Hospital Enhancing bedside manner with iPad.

Read now

EVA Airways iPad takes flight.

Read now

CTV News The pocket newsroom.

Read now

GE Reinventing mobility.

Read now

Jordan Vineyard & WineryFrom trellis to table with iPad.

Read now

United AirlinesCleared for takeoff with iPad.

Read now

The GoodLife Team Real estate, real results with iPad.

Read now

The Benetton Group Fashion forward with iPad.

Read now

Crescent Construction Services Building apps, building business.

Read now

St. Louis Urgent Cares iPad makes the rounds with physicians.

Read now

Theatre Consultants Collaborative Connecting art with architecture.

Read now

Gulliver International Used car sales go mobile on iPad.

Read now

McClendon’s Select Growing a better business with iPad.

Read now

Fennemore Craig Making the case with iPad.

Read now

Grupo BBVA Banking on iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Scott Kay iPad shines for artisan jewelry designer.

Read now

Safe/Sea Marine Rescue Shipshape with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Standard Chartered Bank Multinational banking goes mobile.

Read now

Medtronic Better medicine through iPad.

Read now

Jackson Kayak Rapid results with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Redlands Police Department On duty with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

RC Auto Driving the car buying experience with iPad.

Read now

Crank Sports iPad by a mile.

Read now

Hyatt Hotels High touch, high tech.

Read now

RehabCare Post-critical care using iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Dr. Ferencz iPad advances digital dentistry.

Read now

charity: water Humanitarian mission meets innovative technology.

Read now