PepsiCo

Aller plus loin avec l’iPhone et l’iPad.

« Avec l’iPhone et l’iPad, nous gagnons en efficacité et détectons les problèmes avant même qu’ils ne se produisent. »

Brian Spearman, directeur général adjoint Go-to-Market et Service, PepsiCo North America Beverages

Voilà plus d’un siècle que le pharmacien Caleb Bradham a concocté une nouvelle boisson rafraîchissante et donné naissance à l’une des marques les plus connues au monde. En plus de Pepsi, le groupe PepsiCo produit et commercialise aujourd’hui dans le monde entier des marques telles que Gatorade, Mountain Dew, Tropicana, Quaker et Frito-Lay.

Fournir des boissons au grand public nécessite un réseau complexe de systèmes de distribution imbriqués et une logistique en constante mutation. Grâce à l’iPhone, à l’iPad et à des apps personnalisées développées en interne, la division North America Beverages de PepsiCo élimine les goulets d’étranglement et veille à ce que les bons produits arrivent au bon endroit, aussi vite et efficacement que possible.

« En Amérique du Nord, nous effectuons environ 17 000 trajets par jour », explique Brian Spearman, directeur général adjoint Go-To-Market et Service pour PepsiCo North America Beverages. « Il faut acheminer par camion les produits de nos usines et entrepôts vers les magasins, à temps pour répondre à la demande. Avec l’iPhone et l’iPad, nous gagnons en efficacité et détectons les problèmes avant même qu’ils ne se produisent. »

« Je peux sortir des tarifs, des planogrammes, des accords de développement commercial, de nouveaux contrats, ce que vous voulez : tout est là. »

Dimitri Papaevagelou, directeur des ventes territoriales de PepsiCo North America Beverages

Satisfaction sur commande

Auparavant, les chauffeurs et marchandiseurs PepsiCo débutaient chaque journée en allant chercher des plannings imprimés précisant les quantités de chaque commande et les tâches à effectuer sur chaque point de vente, du déchargement des caisses de soda à la mise en place des nouveaux étalages. Si un magasin avait besoin de compléter ou d’annuler une commande, il était compliqué de répondre à sa demande en direct, car la communication avec les chauffeurs chargés des livraisons était difficile.

« Quand on ne pouvait pas joindre un chauffeur sur la route, on ne savait pas vraiment où se trouvait le chargement », explique Dimitri Papaevagelou, directeur des ventes territoriales de PepsiCo North America Beverages. « Des heures pouvaient s’écouler avant que l’on ait de ses nouvelles. »

Afin de fluidifier au maximum le merchandising et la distribution, PepsiCo North America Beverages a créé Power4Merch, une app sur mesure développée en interne pour l’iPhone. Avec Power4Merch, les marchandiseurs sont avertis dès qu’un chauffeur arrive sur un point de vente. Ils peuvent ainsi s’assurer que les livraisons sont vite déchargées et correctement mises en place, afin que les bons produits soient toujours en rayon, prêts à l’achat.

« Cela permet au marchandiseur de débuter et de finir sa journée sur son iPhone », précise Mark Uppaluri, directeur des systèmes de vente pour PepsiCo North America Beverages. « L’app est équipée d’une pointeuse électronique, et le marchandiseur voit son planning, les coordonnées des magasins, les profils de compte et tout ce qu’il lui faut pour mettre en place un étalage. »

La planification simplifiée

Pendant ce temps-là, les responsables utilisent des iPad pour surveiller le travail de leurs équipes, consulter tarifs, planogrammes et contrats, et participer à la coordination des livraisons avec les équipes de merchandising à l’aide de deux apps personnalisées pour iPad. L’app Manager’s Briefcase procure aux responsables commerciaux régionaux une version électronique de tous les papiers et des ressources dont ils ont besoin pour diriger leurs équipes avec, notamment, des audits de magasins, des formulaires d’évaluation des salariés et des notifications automatisées adressées aux marchandiseurs.

« Un responsable peut assigner une tâche à un employé directement sur iPad », explique Mark Uppaluri. « Il envoie automatiquement une notification sur l’iPhone du marchandiseur pour l’informer d’une nouvelle destination. Avant cela, il fallait constamment être au téléphone, consulter ses e‑mails au bureau et s’occuper de la paperasse. Désormais, avec l’iPad, le responsable débute et finit sa journée là où il doit être : auprès de son équipe. »

La seconde app, SPOTLight, donne aux responsables un accès immédiat à leurs contenus SharePoint. « Je peux sortir des tarifs, des planogrammes, des accords de développement commercial, de nouveaux contrats, ce que vous voulez », affirme Dimitri Papaevagelou. « Tout est là. »

« Avec ces appareils et les nouvelles applications, nos salariés sont fiers de faire partie de la société. Et tout cela les aide à servir au mieux nos clients. »

Mark Uppaluri, directeur des systèmes de vente, PepsiCo North America Beverages

Développement rapide, déploiement sécurisé

Le développement des apps s’est fait très naturellement, comme l’explique Mark Uppaluri : « Il nous a été facile de créer des applications riches et superbes pour nos utilisateurs. Même s’il s’agissait de notre tout premier développement sur un appareil Apple, nous avons pu produire une application opérationnelle en l’espace de quatre mois. »

Et l’iPhone et l’iPad s’intègrent parfaitement aux systèmes informatiques actuels de PepsiCo, ce qui facilite grandement le déploiement et la sécurité. « Nous nous sommes contentés de relier les appareils à notre écosystème existant, et tout a fonctionné sans problème », se souvient Mark Uppaluri. « Nous utilisons le système de gestion des appareils mobiles (MDM) d’AirWatch pour déployer et gérer nos applications en toute sécurité, et nous exploitons les fonctionnalités de sécurité intégrées de l’iPhone et de l’iPad pour protéger les appareils contre les accès non autorisés. »

Un changement rafraîchissant

Pour les responsables et les équipes de terrain de la division North America Beverages de PepsiCo, l’iPhone, l’iPad et les apps internes ont rendu la distribution et le merchandising plus rapides, plus simples et plus efficaces.

« Dans notre secteur, rares sont les éléments qui changent la donne », explique Brian Spearman. « Mais nous pensons que c’est le rôle qu’ont joué pour nous l’iPhone et l’iPad, tant en termes de communication et de service que de productivité. Cela nous rend vraiment enthousiastes. »

« L’iPhone et l’iPad sont légers, portables et extrêmement rapides. Et l’expérience utilisateur est tout simplement incroyable », affirme Mark Uppaluri. « Grâce à ces appareils et aux nouvelles applications, nos salariés sont fiers de faire partie de la société. Et cela les aide à servir au mieux nos clients. »

L’entreprise en bref

  • Fondée en 1965
  • Siège à Purchase, New York
  • Plus de 300 000 salariés dans le monde
  • www.pepsico.com

Les apps en bref

Apps internes personnalisées :

  • Power4Merch permet aux marchandiseurs de PepsiCo de consulter leur planning et des informations détaillées sur le magasin et les étalages.
  • Manager’s Briefcase permet aux responsables de coordonner et de superviser les livraisons, les plannings et les contrats avec les clients.
  • SPOTLight permet d’accéder aux contenus SharePoint, y compris aux présentations et vidéos.

Autres profils iPad en entreprise.Autres profils iPad en entreprise.

PepsiCo

Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

“With iPhone and iPad, we can be more efficient and get in front of problems before they even happen.”

Brian Spearman, Senior Vice President of Go-To-Market and Service, PepsiCo North America Beverages

More than a century ago, pharmacist Caleb Bradham combined the ingredients for a refreshing new beverage and launched one of the world’s best-known brands. In addition to Pepsi, today’s PepsiCo manufactures and sells brands such as Gatorade, Mountain Dew, Tropicana, Quaker, and Frito-Lay worldwide.

Getting beverages into the hands of consumers requires a complex web of interlocking distribution systems and ever-shifting logistics. Using iPhone, iPad, and custom apps built in-house, PepsiCo’s North America Beverages division eliminates bottlenecks and ensures that the right products arrive in the right locations as quickly and efficiently as possible.

“In North America we run approximately 17,000 distribution routes a day,” says Brian Spearman, Senior Vice President of Go-To-Market and Service for PepsiCo North America Beverages. “We have to get the products from our manufacturing and warehouse facilities onto our trucks and into stores in time to meet demand. With iPhone and iPad, we can be more efficient and get in front of problems before they even happen.”

“I can pull out pricing, display planograms, customer development agreements, new contracts, you name it. It’s all there.”

Dimitri Papaevagelou, Territory Sales Manager, PepsiCo North America Beverages

Delivering Satisfaction

In the past, PepsiCo drivers and merchandisers began each day by picking up printed schedules with order quantities and tasks to be performed at each outlet, from unloading cases of soda to setting up new product displays. If a store needed to add to or cancel an order, it was a challenge to accommodate the request on the fly because communicating with the delivery drivers was difficult.

“If you couldn't get hold of a driver on the road, you didn't know where the delivery was,” says Dimitri Papaevagelou, Territory Sales Manager for PepsiCo North America Beverages. “Hours could go by where you didn’t know what's going on.”

To make merchandising and distribution as seamless as possible, PepsiCo North America Beverages created Power4Merch, a custom in-house app for iPhone. With Power4Merch, merchandisers are immediately notified when a driver has arrived at a store and can be sure that deliveries are unloaded quickly and displayed correctly, so the right products are always on the shelf and ready to buy.

“It allows the merchandiser to see his day right on iPhone,” says Mark Uppaluri, Director of Selling Systems for PepsiCo North America Beverages. “It has an electronic timecard, and he can see his schedule, the store details, the account profiles, and everything he needs to know to service the store.”

Scheduling Made Simple

Meanwhile, managers use iPads to monitor their teams’ performance, pull up pricing, planograms and contracts, and help coordinate deliveries with merchandising using two custom apps for iPad. The Manager’s Briefcase app gives territory sales managers electronic versions of all the paperwork and resources they need to manage their teams, including store audits, employee coaching forms, and automated notifications to merchandisers.

“A manager can make manpower assignments right on iPad,” Uppaluri says. “It automatically sends a push notification to the merchandiser’s iPhone, so he knows he's got a new stop. Life before was all about being on the phone, checking email in the office, checking paperwork. Now with iPad, the manager starts and ends his day where he needs to be, with his team.”

The second app, SPOTLight, gives managers instant access to their SharePoint content. “I can pull out pricing, display planograms, customer development agreements, new contracts, you name it,” says Papaevagelou. “It’s all there.”

“With these devices and the new applications, our employees take pride in the company. And it helps them do a great job servicing our customers.”

Mark Uppaluri, Director of Selling Systems, PepsiCo North America Beverages

Fast Development, Secure Deployment

Developing the apps was a straightforward process, says Uppaluri: “It was easy to create rich, beautiful applications for our end users. Within four months of starting to develop for the first time on an Apple device, we were able to deliver a production-ready application.”

And iPhone and iPad fit right in with PepsiCo’s established IT systems, making deployment and security a breeze. “We simply plugged them into our existing ecosystem and they worked flawlessly,” Uppaluri explains. “We use Mobile Device Management from AirWatch to securely deploy our applications and manage them, and we leverage the built-in security on iPhone and iPad to protect them from unauthorized access.

A Refreshing Change

For managers and field staff in PepsiCo’s North America Beverages division, iPhone, iPad, and in-house apps have made distribution and merchandising faster, simpler, and more efficient.

“We don't get a lot of game-changers in our industry,” Spearman says, “but we think iPhone and iPad technology is absolutely a game-changer for us, both in terms of communication and service and in productivity. We’re very, very excited about it.”

“iPhone and iPad are light, they're portable, they're extremely fast, and the user experience is simply beautiful,” says Uppaluri. “With these devices and the new applications we’ve developed, our employees take pride in the company — and they help us do a great job servicing our customers.”

Company Snapshot

  • Established in 1965
  • Headquartered in Purchase, NY
  • 300,000+ employees worldwide
  • www.pepsico.com

App Recap

Custom in-house apps:

  • Power4Merch allows PepsiCo merchandisers to view schedule, store and display details.
  • Manager’s Briefcase gives managers the ability to coordinate and monitor deliveries, schedules, and customer contracts.
  • SPOTLight provides access to SharePoint content, including presentations and videos.

More iPad in Business profiles.More iPad in Business profiles.

Daiwa House Industry Building trust with iPad.

Read now

MTR Corporation On track with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Central County Fire Department Fighting Fire with Technology.

Read now

Eaton Powering business with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

Read now

Bechtel Better building with iPad.

Read now

Ducati Full throttle with iPad.

Read now

PepsiCo Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Daiichi Sankyo Prescription for Change: iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Carmel Café & Wine Bar Pairing taste and technology.

Read now

The Ottawa Hospital Enhancing bedside manner with iPad.

Read now

EVA Airways iPad takes flight.

Read now

CTV News The pocket newsroom.

Read now

GE Reinventing mobility.

Read now

Jordan Vineyard & WineryFrom trellis to table with iPad.

Read now

United AirlinesCleared for takeoff with iPad.

Read now

The GoodLife Team Real estate, real results with iPad.

Read now

The Benetton Group Fashion forward with iPad.

Read now

Crescent Construction Services Building apps, building business.

Read now

St. Louis Urgent Cares iPad makes the rounds with physicians.

Read now

Theatre Consultants Collaborative Connecting art with architecture.

Read now

Gulliver International Used car sales go mobile on iPad.

Read now

McClendon’s Select Growing a better business with iPad.

Read now

Fennemore Craig Making the case with iPad.

Read now

Grupo BBVA Banking on iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Scott Kay iPad shines for artisan jewelry designer.

Read now

Safe/Sea Marine Rescue Shipshape with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Standard Chartered Bank Multinational banking goes mobile.

Read now

Medtronic Better medicine through iPad.

Read now

Jackson Kayak Rapid results with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Redlands Police Department On duty with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

RC Auto Driving the car buying experience with iPad.

Read now

Crank Sports iPad by a mile.

Read now

Hyatt Hotels High touch, high tech.

Read now

RehabCare Post-critical care using iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Dr. Ferencz iPad advances digital dentistry.

Read now

charity: water Humanitarian mission meets innovative technology.

Read now