PepsiCo

Besseres Liefermanagement mit iPhone und iPad.

„Mit iPhone und iPad können wir effizienter arbeiten und Probleme erkennen und angehen, bevor sie auftreten.“

Brian Spearman, Senior Vice President von Go-To-Market & Service, PepsiCo North America Beverages

Vor mehr als einem Jahrhundert mischte der Apotheker Caleb Bradham die Zutaten für ein erfrischendes neuartiges Getränk und begründete damit eine der weltweit bekanntesten Marken. Neben Pepsi produziert und verkauft PepsiCo heute weltweit Marken wie Gatorade, Mountain Dew, Tropicana, Quaker und Frito-Lay.

Getränke an Kunden zu liefern, erfordert ein komplexes Netz ineinandergreifender Vertriebssysteme und eine dynamische Logistik. Mit iPhone, iPad und maßgeschneiderten und intern entwickelten Apps vermeidet die Abteilung „North America Beverages“ von PepsiCo Engpässe und stellt sicher, dass die richtigen Produkte so schnell und effizient wie möglich am richtigen Ort eintreffen.

„In Nordamerika fahren wir etwa 17.000 Routen pro Tag“, sagt Brian Spearman, Senior Vice President von Go-To-Market & Service für PepsiCo North America Beverages. „Wir müssen die Produkte von den Produktions- und Lagerstätten per Lkw rechtzeitig an die Geschäfte liefern, um deren Bedarf zu decken. Mit iPhone und iPad geht das viel effizienter. Und wir können Probleme angehen, noch bevor sie auftreten.“

„Ich kann Preislisten abrufen, Planogramme anzeigen, Vereinbarungen zur Kundenentwicklung, neue Verträge, was auch immer. Alles ist da.“

Dimitri Papaevagelou, Territory Sales Manager, PepsiCo North America Beverages

Zufriedene Kunden.

In der Vergangenheit begannen die Fahrer und Verkaufsexperten bei PepsiCo jeden Arbeitstag damit, an jeder Vertriebsstelle gedruckte Pläne mit Bestellmengen und Aufgaben abzuholen – vom Aufladen von Paletten mit Erfrischungsgetränken bis hin zum Vorbereiten neuer Produktauslagen. Wenn ein Geschäft eine Bestellung ergänzen oder stornieren musste, war es stets eine Herausforderung, spontan auf die Anfrage zu reagieren, da die Kommunikation mit den Fahrern kompliziert war.

„Wenn man einen Fahrer unterwegs nicht mehr erreichen konnte, wusste man nie, wo sich die Lieferung gerade befand“, erzählt Dimitri Papaevagelou, Gebietsvertriebsleiter für PepsiCo North America Beverages. So vergingen manchmal Stunden, bevor wir wussten, was los war.“

Für eine möglichst reibungslose Verkaufsförderung und Verteilung entwickelte PepsiCo North America Beverages Power4Merch, eine intern erstellte App für das iPhone. Mit Power4Merch werden die Verkaufsexperten umgehend informiert, sobald ein Fahrer bei einem Geschäft eintrifft. So können sie sicher sein, dass die Lieferungen schnell entladen und korrekt ausgestellt werden und dass die richtigen Produkte immer verkaufsbereit in den Regalen stehen.

„Der Verkaufsexperte sieht somit seinen Arbeitstag direkt auf dem iPhone“, so Mark Uppaluri, Leiter der Verkaufssysteme für PepsiCo North America Beverages. „Die App hat eine elektronische Zeitkarte, und er kann seinen Zeitplan einsehen, Einzelheiten zum Geschäft, Kundenprofile und alles, was er wissen muss, um das Geschäft gut zu betreuen.“

Zeitplanung leicht gemacht.

Mittlerweile setzen die Manager iPads ein, um die Leistung ihrer Teams zu überwachen, Preislisten, Planogramme und Verträge anzuzeigen und beim Koordinieren von Lieferungen zu helfen – mit zwei maßgeschneiderten Apps für das iPad. Die App „Manager’s Briefcase“ gibt den Gebietsvertriebsleitern elektronische Versionen aller Papierdokumente und Ressourcen, die sie für die Betreuung ihrer Teams brauchen, darunter Filialrevisionen, Formulare für Mitarbeitercoaching und automatisierte Benachrichtigungen an Verkaufsexperten.

„Ein Manager kann die Einteilung der Arbeitskräfte direkt auf dem iPad vornehmen“, sagt Uppaluri. „Es sendet automatisch eine Push-Benachrichtigung an das iPhone des Verkaufsexperten und informiert ihn über Änderungen. Früher musste man ständig am Telefon hängen, E‑Mails im Büro checken und Ausdrucke sichten. Mit dem iPad beginnt und beendet der Manager seinen Arbeitstag jetzt dort, wo er sein muss – bei seinem Team.“

Die zweite App, SPOTLight, gibt den Managern sofort Zugriff auf ihre SharePoint Inhalte. „Ich kann Preislisten abrufen, Planogramme anzeigen, Vereinbarungen zur Kundenentwicklung, neue Verträge, was auch immer“, erklärt Papaevagelou. „Alles ist da.“

„Diese Geräte und die neuen Apps machen unsere Mitarbeiter stolz auf ihr Unternehmen. Und sie helfen ihnen, unsere Kunden optimal zu betreuen.“

Mark Uppaluri, Leiter der Verkaufssysteme, PepsiCo North America Beverages

Schnelle Entwicklung. Sichere Implementierung.

Die Entwicklung der Apps erwies sich als unkompliziert, betont Uppaluri: „Es war ein Leichtes, vielseitige, benutzerfreundliche Programme für unsere Endbenutzer zu erstellen. Ohne Erfahrung in der Entwicklung für Apple Geräte konnten wird bereits nach vier Monaten ein einsatzfähiges Programm bereitstellen.“

iPhone und iPad fügen sich nahtlos in die bewährten IT-Systeme von PepsiCo ein, sodass die Implementierung und Sicherheit keinerlei Problem darstellten. „Wir haben sie einfach in unsere vorhandene Infrastruktur integriert und alles lief wie am Schnürchen“, erklärt Uppaluri. „Wir verwenden Mobile Device Management von AirWatch, um unsere Programme sicher zu implementieren und zu verwalten. Außerdem nutzen wir die integrierte Sicherheit von iPhone und iPad, um sie vor unbefugten Zugriffen zu schützen.“

Erfrischend anders.

Für die Manager und Außendienstmitarbeiter der Abteilung „North America Beverages“ von PepsiCo haben iPhone, iPad und interne Apps die Verteilung und Verkaufsförderung schneller, einfacher und effizienter gemacht.

„In unserer Branche sind bahnbrechende Technologien eher selten“, erklärt Spearman. „Doch die iPhone und iPad Technologie hat für uns die Spielregeln geändert, sowohl bei Kommunikation und Service als auch bei der Produktivität. Wir sind schwer begeistert.“

„iPhone und iPad sind leicht, mobil, extrem schnell und bieten eine tolle Benutzererfahrung“, freut sich Uppaluri. „Diese Geräte und die neuen Apps, die wir entwickelt haben, machen unsere Mitarbeiter stolz auf ihr Unternehmen – und sie helfen uns, die Wünsche unserer Kunden besser zu erfüllen.“

Unternehmensprofil

  • Gegründet 1965
  • Sitz in Purchase, US-Bundesstaat New York
  • Über 300.000 Mitarbeiter weltweit
  • www.pepsico.com (in Englisch)

Zusammenfassung der Apps

Eigene interne Apps:

  • Power4Merch ermöglicht es den Verkaufsexperten, Pläne anzusehen und Details zu speichern und anzuzeigen.
  • Manager’s Briefcase bietet Managern die Möglichkeit, Lieferungen, Pläne und Verträge mit Kunden zu koordinieren und zu überwachen.
  • SPOTLight gewährt Zugriff auf SharePoint Inhalte, darunter Präsentationen und Videos.

Weitere Praxisberichte zum iPad in Unternehmen.Weitere Praxisberichte zum iPad in Unternehmen.

PepsiCo

Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

“With iPhone and iPad, we can be more efficient and get in front of problems before they even happen.”

Brian Spearman, Senior Vice President of Go-To-Market and Service, PepsiCo North America Beverages

More than a century ago, pharmacist Caleb Bradham combined the ingredients for a refreshing new beverage and launched one of the world’s best-known brands. In addition to Pepsi, today’s PepsiCo manufactures and sells brands such as Gatorade, Mountain Dew, Tropicana, Quaker, and Frito-Lay worldwide.

Getting beverages into the hands of consumers requires a complex web of interlocking distribution systems and ever-shifting logistics. Using iPhone, iPad, and custom apps built in-house, PepsiCo’s North America Beverages division eliminates bottlenecks and ensures that the right products arrive in the right locations as quickly and efficiently as possible.

“In North America we run approximately 17,000 distribution routes a day,” says Brian Spearman, Senior Vice President of Go-To-Market and Service for PepsiCo North America Beverages. “We have to get the products from our manufacturing and warehouse facilities onto our trucks and into stores in time to meet demand. With iPhone and iPad, we can be more efficient and get in front of problems before they even happen.”

“I can pull out pricing, display planograms, customer development agreements, new contracts, you name it. It’s all there.”

Dimitri Papaevagelou, Territory Sales Manager, PepsiCo North America Beverages

Delivering Satisfaction

In the past, PepsiCo drivers and merchandisers began each day by picking up printed schedules with order quantities and tasks to be performed at each outlet, from unloading cases of soda to setting up new product displays. If a store needed to add to or cancel an order, it was a challenge to accommodate the request on the fly because communicating with the delivery drivers was difficult.

“If you couldn't get hold of a driver on the road, you didn't know where the delivery was,” says Dimitri Papaevagelou, Territory Sales Manager for PepsiCo North America Beverages. “Hours could go by where you didn’t know what's going on.”

To make merchandising and distribution as seamless as possible, PepsiCo North America Beverages created Power4Merch, a custom in-house app for iPhone. With Power4Merch, merchandisers are immediately notified when a driver has arrived at a store and can be sure that deliveries are unloaded quickly and displayed correctly, so the right products are always on the shelf and ready to buy.

“It allows the merchandiser to see his day right on iPhone,” says Mark Uppaluri, Director of Selling Systems for PepsiCo North America Beverages. “It has an electronic timecard, and he can see his schedule, the store details, the account profiles, and everything he needs to know to service the store.”

Scheduling Made Simple

Meanwhile, managers use iPads to monitor their teams’ performance, pull up pricing, planograms and contracts, and help coordinate deliveries with merchandising using two custom apps for iPad. The Manager’s Briefcase app gives territory sales managers electronic versions of all the paperwork and resources they need to manage their teams, including store audits, employee coaching forms, and automated notifications to merchandisers.

“A manager can make manpower assignments right on iPad,” Uppaluri says. “It automatically sends a push notification to the merchandiser’s iPhone, so he knows he's got a new stop. Life before was all about being on the phone, checking email in the office, checking paperwork. Now with iPad, the manager starts and ends his day where he needs to be, with his team.”

The second app, SPOTLight, gives managers instant access to their SharePoint content. “I can pull out pricing, display planograms, customer development agreements, new contracts, you name it,” says Papaevagelou. “It’s all there.”

“With these devices and the new applications, our employees take pride in the company. And it helps them do a great job servicing our customers.”

Mark Uppaluri, Director of Selling Systems, PepsiCo North America Beverages

Fast Development, Secure Deployment

Developing the apps was a straightforward process, says Uppaluri: “It was easy to create rich, beautiful applications for our end users. Within four months of starting to develop for the first time on an Apple device, we were able to deliver a production-ready application.”

And iPhone and iPad fit right in with PepsiCo’s established IT systems, making deployment and security a breeze. “We simply plugged them into our existing ecosystem and they worked flawlessly,” Uppaluri explains. “We use Mobile Device Management from AirWatch to securely deploy our applications and manage them, and we leverage the built-in security on iPhone and iPad to protect them from unauthorized access.

A Refreshing Change

For managers and field staff in PepsiCo’s North America Beverages division, iPhone, iPad, and in-house apps have made distribution and merchandising faster, simpler, and more efficient.

“We don't get a lot of game-changers in our industry,” Spearman says, “but we think iPhone and iPad technology is absolutely a game-changer for us, both in terms of communication and service and in productivity. We’re very, very excited about it.”

“iPhone and iPad are light, they're portable, they're extremely fast, and the user experience is simply beautiful,” says Uppaluri. “With these devices and the new applications we’ve developed, our employees take pride in the company — and they help us do a great job servicing our customers.”

Company Snapshot

  • Established in 1965
  • Headquartered in Purchase, NY
  • 300,000+ employees worldwide
  • www.pepsico.com

App Recap

Custom in-house apps:

  • Power4Merch allows PepsiCo merchandisers to view schedule, store and display details.
  • Manager’s Briefcase gives managers the ability to coordinate and monitor deliveries, schedules, and customer contracts.
  • SPOTLight provides access to SharePoint content, including presentations and videos.

More iPad in Business profiles.More iPad in Business profiles.

Daiwa House Industry Building trust with iPad.

Read now

MTR Corporation On track with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Central County Fire Department Fighting Fire with Technology.

Read now

Eaton Powering business with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

The Procter & Gamble Company Innovating on the everyday, with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Sonic Automotive Driving growth with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Mayo Clinic Making medicine more mobile.

Read now

Bechtel Better building with iPad.

Read now

Ducati Full throttle with iPad.

Read now

PepsiCo Delivering more with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Daiichi Sankyo Prescription for Change: iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Carmel Café & Wine Bar Pairing taste and technology.

Read now

The Ottawa Hospital Enhancing bedside manner with iPad.

Read now

EVA Airways iPad takes flight.

Read now

CTV News The pocket newsroom.

Read now

GE Reinventing mobility.

Read now

Jordan Vineyard & WineryFrom trellis to table with iPad.

Read now

United AirlinesCleared for takeoff with iPad.

Read now

The GoodLife Team Real estate, real results with iPad.

Read now

The Benetton Group Fashion forward with iPad.

Read now

Crescent Construction Services Building apps, building business.

Read now

St. Louis Urgent Cares iPad makes the rounds with physicians.

Read now

Theatre Consultants Collaborative Connecting art with architecture.

Read now

Gulliver International Used car sales go mobile on iPad.

Read now

McClendon’s Select Growing a better business with iPad.

Read now

Fennemore Craig Making the case with iPad.

Read now

Grupo BBVA Banking on iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Scott Kay iPad shines for artisan jewelry designer.

Read now

Safe/Sea Marine Rescue Shipshape with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Standard Chartered Bank Multinational banking goes mobile.

Read now

Medtronic Better medicine through iPad.

Read now

Jackson Kayak Rapid results with iPad and iPhone.

Read now

Redlands Police Department On duty with iPhone and iPad.

Read now

RC Auto Driving the car buying experience with iPad.

Read now

Crank Sports iPad by a mile.

Read now

Hyatt Hotels High touch, high tech.

Read now

RehabCare Post-critical care using iPhone and iPad.

Read now

Dr. Ferencz iPad advances digital dentistry.

Read now

charity: water Humanitarian mission meets innovative technology.

Read now