Greg Kurstin
发自内心的《Hello》

“我以为自己正一帆风顺,但其实并没有那么顺利。
还好 Greg Kurstin 来到了伦敦,我们一起写了
《Water Under the Bridge》和《Hello》这两首歌。”

Adele

Adele 在 2011 年推出的专辑《21》获得了巨大成功,因此一大批歌迷开始翘首期盼她的下一张专辑。其实,Adele 同样也在期待。“当我开始写歌时,却发现无从下手。没有灵感,也没有可以触动我的旋律,”她说,“而这正是问题所在:如果我对一首歌没有共鸣,我是不会唱的。”

在与制作人 Ryan Tedder 合作了一首颇具潜力的歌曲之后,Adele 感觉再次遭遇瓶颈。因此,她联系了 Greg Kurstin 以及其他顶尖制作人,如 Paul Epworth、Max Martin 和 Danger Mouse,向他们求助。“我以为自己正一帆风顺,但其实并没有那么顺利。” 她说,“还好 Greg Kurstin 来到了伦敦,我们一起写了《Water Under the Bridge》和《Hello》这两首歌。”

Adele 的创新合作非常成功,而这些歌曲也正是她的歌迷所期盼的。主打单曲《Hello》和新专辑《25》好评如潮,并一举打破了各大音乐销量纪录。

为 Adele 创作的歌曲再次风靡全球,对于任何熟悉 Kurstin 歌曲销量纪录的人而言,都在意料之中。Kurstin 曾多次获得格莱美奖提名,在业界被誉为 “金牌制作人”,正是他一手打造了 Sia、Beck、Katy Perry、Foster the People 等炙手可热的演艺明星。他之所以取得如此出众的成就 ,是因为他将独一无二的制作技巧带到了创作流程中,这包括世界水准娴熟精湛的乐器演奏能力,对音乐和歌曲结构的高度掌握,以及通过 Logic Pro X 来实现的高效率创作与制作。

图片来源:Alasdair McLellan

概况一览

Greg Kurstin 曾多次获得格莱美奖提名,是一位备受业界推崇的音乐制作人。除了与 Adele 合作专辑《25》以外,Kurstin 还曾参与众多专辑的演奏、编曲和制作,其中包括 Kelly Clarkson 的《Stronger》、Lana Del Rey 的《Ultraviolence》、The Shins 的《Port of Morrow》、Tegan and Sara 的《Heartthrob》、Ellie Goulding 的《Halcyon Days, Delirium》、Santigold 的《Master of My Make-Believe》和 Pink 的《The Truth About Love》。

和 Adele 一起写歌

整个创作过程历时数月,期间,Kurstin 曾三度到访 Adele 位于伦敦的工作室,每次一待就是一个星期。第一周,他们写下了歌曲《Water Under the Bridge》,并完成了《Hello》的大部分创作。随后的会面中,他们创作了《A Million Years Ago》,这也是加入到专辑中的最后几首歌曲之一。

在工作室,Kurstin 和 Adele 力求简单。“很多时候,我坐在钢琴旁伴奏,两人就在房间里即兴创作,” Kurstin 说,“我们只是跟随自己的灵感,试着寻找旋律和氛围。实际上,这是一种非常老派的做法。”

Kurstin 采取同样基本的方法来录制他们的音乐,他放弃了大部分录音室制作器材,改用包括 MacBook Pro、Apogee Quartet 和 Logic Pro X 在内的移动录音装备。“我当然喜欢用录音室的专业麦克风前置放大器和动态处理,但对于录音和制作,我还是更喜欢用移动式 Logic 工具。”他表示,“我只是希望尽量避免潜在的技术问题,我相信我的移动工具可以做到。”

在伦敦工作期间,这套移动工具发挥得很出色。一旦他们有了歌曲灵感或想到一段旋律,Adele 会写下歌词,同时,会录下自己演奏的钢琴、吉他、贝斯和鼓声,以此在 Logic Pro 中创建音轨。“我工作的节奏向来很快,”他说,“这也正是我喜欢一个人演奏所有乐器的原因之一,而且这样我可以自己决定一切。我知道我想要听到的是什么,只要自己用吉他和键盘演奏出来就可以了。以这种方式工作,我通常一天就能写一首歌。”

如果 Kurstin 需要一种自己无法制作的声音,他可以在包含各种用于采样的复古合成器和键盘音效的 Logic Pro 项目中找到所需。“我当时不在自己的录音室,只能用我的 MacBook Pro 来工作,” 他说,“用来演奏的吉他是租来的, 也没有我喜欢的踏板,所以我不能使用我那些迷幻风格的音效。但是,通过我的插件、通道条和音效,我所需要的一切元素都触手可及。”

Adele 在《25》录音过程中编写歌词。图片来源:Alasdair McLellan

《Hello》背后的故事

《Hello》的诞生,同样来自于这种简单的录音方式;但让这首歌如此脍炙人口的过程却很不简单。“那首歌完全在我的意料之外,” Kurstin 说,“我当时觉得有点晕晕乎乎,可能时差还没倒过来,我在控制室的 MIDI 钢琴上尝试了各种不同的灵感。然后,我们改用录音室里的三角钢琴,接着我就开始弹奏和弦。”

这些和弦听起来很不错,Kurstin 和 Adele 已经能够创作出这首歌的绝大部分了。但是,他们却无法完成这首歌。“我们尝试了不同的副歌,但总是不太满意,”他说,“我不确定我们能不能创作出副歌,还以为这首歌又要束之高阁了。”

但 6 个月之后,Kurstin 应邀回到伦敦来完整这首歌的创作。这次,他使用 Logic Pro X 乐器和插件,让低音旋律和鼓声更加突出。更彻底的是,他按照 Adele 的要求,将整首歌降了半音。他说,“我们努力尝试了各种不同的想法,最终达到了我们想要的效果。”

对 Kurstin 而言,直到录制 Adele 演唱副歌这一刻,这首歌才算真正完成了。 “只要 Adele 往麦克风前一站,就能令你心醉神迷。无论是第一次听她唱《Hello》,还是之后每次听到这首歌,我都会深受感动。”

“只要 Adele 往麦克风前一站,就能令你心醉神迷。”

Greg Kurstin

《25》:重要数据

85 个国家或地区,《Hello》荣登 iTunes 单曲榜
冠军
《Hello》MV 发布第一天的观看数量
专辑发布第一周的销量

众多乐器触手可及

在位于洛杉矶的工作室,Kurstin 会和其他艺术家一起写歌和录音,就像和 Adele 在伦敦时一样。首先,他会精心挑选歌手和乐队可能会用到的一系列声音和音乐。“在准备创作的过程中,我会投入很多想法,”他说,“而其中必不可少的一项准备工作,就是建立一个 Logic Pro 项目模板,加入可以激发灵感的声音,比如柔和的合成音效或特别的鼓声。对我来说,这比准备音乐构思更为重要。”

在职业生涯早期,Kurstin 曾在工作室度过了很多焦虑不安的时刻,因此,后来他建立了自己的模板策略。“经常有音乐人问我,有没有很棒的音效,”他说,“如果他们真的问起,我可不想从这么多年制作的上万个档案中费力寻找。正因为这样,我知道我必须时刻做好准备。有了 Logic Pro X,我写歌使用的所有乐器,都在我的指尖。”

录音工程师 Alex Pasco 和 Kurstin 合作完成了众多创作,他更能亲身体会这样做的好处。“在我合作过的制作人中,Greg 是唯一一个随时都会准备好,来使用如此之多乐器的。当他的脑海中浮现一首歌时,他能凭借这些的工具,随手将它转化为旋律。 ”

捕捉每一个声音

Kurstin 在洛杉矶的工作室,就是按照他的工作流程量身打造的。“我喜欢快速的工作节奏,因此,工作室中的所有乐器都已接通电源,准备就绪。所有键盘都要随时备好,鼓组要接上麦克风,一切通道都万事具备。因此,无论我演奏什么,都会立即录入 Mac Pro 的 Logic Pro X,这样我就能直接把自己的灵感演绎出来。我没有时间摆弄吉他线缆或麦克风放大器,我只想认真写歌。”

写好一首歌,通常需要使用不同的音效,这些音效来自占据工作室整面墙壁的复古模拟合成器、电子和原声吉他、钢琴、数字键盘和打击乐器。多年来,Kurstin 建立了一个庞大的样本资料库,有使用 EXS24 采样器制作的古典合成音效,也有同样规模的各种新增数字音效。他说,“我几乎会对自己所有的装备和乐器进行采样。”

Kurstin 喜爱的乐器
  • 键盘乐器和合成器
  • Moog Minimoog
  • Yamaha CS-80
  • Sequential Circuits Prophet 5
  • Korg Polysix
  • Chamberlin
  • 插件
  • Logic Pro X EXS24
  • Logic Pro X ES2
  • LennarDigital Sylenth1
  • reFX Nexus2
  • Arturia instruments

从乐手到制作人

Kurstin 认为,他之所以能成为成功的制作人,主要归功于他的乐器演奏能力。“当不认识的人询问我的职业时,我会告诉他们我是音乐人,因为作曲家或制作人不一定等同于音乐人。但我花费了很多年时间来完善我的演奏技巧,因为我觉得,这才是我想要做的。”

他很早接触乐器演奏,5 岁就开始学钢琴。11 岁时,他开始学习吉他,加入人生中首个乐队。12 岁时,他和同学 Dweezil Zappa 合作写歌,并发布第一首歌曲《Crunchy Water》,成为唱片《My Mother Is a Space Cadet》的 B 面作品。“这是一段非常疯狂的经历,”他说,“我们在 Frank Zappa 的录音室录音,这对我们来说是巨大的进步。之后,我们又回到了车库里。”

在车库玩音乐的那段时间以及之后的日子,从加入 Talking Heads 和 Devo,到参与英国乐队如 Clash,Kurstin 的职业生涯一直在紧随他的音乐品味而变。即便在那个时候,他的思维方式也更像制作人。他说:“在乐队中,我总是扮演那样的角色,比如如果我加入一个演奏技巧并不出众的庞克乐队,我会非常耐心。我会说,‘嘿,我们试试这样吧’,然后为贝斯手示范,又或者与吉他手一起弹键盘来尝试切分音。

对纽约爵士乐的着迷,促使他开展了深入探索,这包括一天十小时的钢琴练习,以及向 Charles Mingus 的钢琴家 Jackie Bayard 在纽约新学院 (New School) 的学习。他觉得,自己之所以能拥有随时随地即兴创作的能力,主要归功于这些年的经历。

回到家乡洛杉矶之后,Kurstin 曾为另类乐队 Geggy Tah 写歌和表演,并在之后为 Red Hot Chili Peppers 和 Beck 担任伴奏。由于迫不及待想要创作和录制自己的音乐,他与歌手 Inara George 组成了 “the bird and the bee” 乐队。之后,一项发行协议让他有机会和 Lily Allen 合作,并取得了空前成功,他也一跃成为热门的创意制作人。

融入更多科技

Kurstin 能够灵活自如地运用各种技术,主要源于他对音乐的极度热望。“无论是音乐、乐器还是演奏,都令我着迷,”他说,“在我心里,其实还是一个音乐人,音乐才是我在乎的。我只想把音乐灵感写下来,变成音频信号,录到带子上。因此在一开始,我没有特别关注技术方面的东西。”

在不同乐队追求新声音,无疑让 Kurstin 接触到了更多创造和记录这些声音的新方法,这包括他早期对各式合成器和 Casio SK-1 采样键盘的摸索,还有后来各种各样的 MIDI 程序。但在一次录音过程中,一位音频工程师向他展示了 Logic Pro,他的创意过程从此改变。“学习如何使用 Logic,对我而言是一项重大突破,”他表示,“那是我第一次得知,我可以独立完成录音,而不需要其他人替我录音。”

“有了 Logic Pro X,我写歌时要用到的所有乐器,都触手可及。”

Greg Kurstin

全速快进

Kurstin 喜欢快节奏的工作,但即便已经取得巨大成功,他还是无时无刻不在工作。他说:“一直忙个不停,这种感觉很好,我觉得很幸运。之前有好多年都是无所事事的状态,所以,现在难以对工作说 ‘不’。”

Kurstin 最近欣然同意与 Beck 合作,他曾与这个乐队一同巡演。“我们合作了歌曲《Dreams》,还会继续创作歌曲,并尝试一些全新的题材。”

目前,Kurstin 已经没有时间参与 “the bird and the bee” 的演出。但他因他们的专辑《Recreational Love》获得格莱美奖“最佳非古典专辑策划”提名,还是让他兴奋不已。Kurstin 因其歌曲创作和制作而广为人知,但他却能使用 Logic Pro X 完成其中一张年度最佳专辑的全部混音。“我从来没有学过录音工程学,”他表示,“但在录音和混音时,我在音效上投入了很多精力;当所有这些努力获得认同时,我感觉很兴奋。”

他当前的计划是继续自己擅长的事业。“我喜欢创作和制作歌曲,”他说,“我会和新歌手及目前正在合作的歌手,继续做好这件事情。我不会感到厌倦,也不会止步不前,这份事业让我深受鼓舞,我只希望尽力做到最好。”

深入了解

详细了解 Greg Kurstin 为 Adele 制作歌曲的过程。

《Hello》 “我运用 SoundShifter 将钢琴的声音调低半个音。 我们写歌的时候提高和改变了音调,但是我想要这个钢琴音效,并且不想再演奏一次。我将 Roland TR-808 踏板鼓采样到了 EXS24,并在副歌部分使用这个音效,将低音增强了一倍。Valhalla 的 VintageVerb 用来调整吉他的单音节。我用 Logic AutoFilter 过滤了鼓声,并用 SPL Transient Designer 缩短了鼓声,并增加鼓声的打击。此外,我还在副歌增加了一点 Sylenth1 弹奏的类似管乐的正弦波。

《Water Under the Bridge》“我有一个采样的 EXS 乐器,我把它放在第 16 个琶音,随鼓声一起重复。”我用 Vengeance VPS Multiband 制作了一点点旁链压缩效果,以突出弱拍的重音。主歌部分的拍掌回响是 Logic Pro 吉他放大器的回响。伴随钢琴的,还有一点点 Logic Rhodes 音效,让声音更有活力。Adele 演唱了主歌部分的大致旋律,一种不断重复的曲调,我最终决定将它放到了副歌部分。这些音符与主歌很搭,但与副歌不搭,因此,我用 Logic Pro Pitch Correction 插件,将反应时间设定为 0.00 毫秒,并只选择 D 调,这样所有音符都能契合副歌的根音。我用 Effectrix 来添加一些异常和延迟的效果。前奏部分的 ‘oooh’ 的是 Decapitator,带一点增强和饱和的效果。我用 AutoFilter 作为低通滤波器,还用了 VintageVerb。”

《A Million Years Ago》 “这首歌没有很多音轨。我用了一些 Channel EQ 将吉他的低音调掉。因为在伦敦找不到立式贝斯,所以我在歌曲结尾部分用 Trilian 来救急。”

  • 第三方硬件
  • Apogee Quartet
  • Apogee Symphony
  • 插件、乐器和音效
  • Logic Pro X
  • AutoFilter
  • Channel EQ
  • ES2 合成器
  • EXS24 采样器
  • EnVerb
  • Flanger
  • Guitar Amp Pro
  • Multipressor
  • Overdrive
  • Phaser
  • Pitch Correction
  • Sample Delay
  • Space Designer
  • Spreader
  • Stereo Delay
  • Tape Delay
  • Tremolo
  • Vocal Transformer
  • 第三方
  • Camel Audio CamelPhat
  • FabFilter 插件
  • Lexicon 混响机
  • Soundtoys Effect Rack
  • Spectrasonics Trilian
  • SPL Transient Designer
  • Sugar Bytes Effectrix
  • Valhalla VintageVerb
  • Vengeance VPS Multiband
  • Waves CLA-2a、CLA-3a 和 CLA-76 压缩器
  • Waves SoundShifter

Logic Pro X

于 Mac App Store 发售,价格 RMB 1,298。点击即可下载并安装。

Logic Pro X RMB 1,298

Greg Kurstin “Hello” from the Inside

“I thought I was on a roll, but I wasn’t on a roll. And then Greg Kurstin came to London, and we wrote ‘Water Under the Bridge’ and ‘Hello.’”

Adele

The enormous success of Adele’s 2011 album, 21, left an army of new fans waiting for the next one. As it turns out, Adele was waiting too. “When I started writing, I realized I had nothing to write about. No inspirations, no chords were moving me,” she says. “And that’s the thing: If I don’t care about a song, I’m not going to sing.”

After writing one promising song with producer Ryan Tedder, Adele again felt stuck. So she reached out to Greg Kurstin, as well as other top producers including Paul Epworth, Max Martin, and Danger Mouse. “I thought I was on a roll, but I wasn’t on a roll,” she says. “And then Greg Kurstin came to London, and we wrote ‘Water Under the Bridge’ and ‘Hello.’”

Adele’s creative collaborations were highly successful. And the songs were everything her fans had hoped for. To overwhelmingly positive reviews, the lead single “Hello” and the new album 25 broke every music sales record that matters.

For anyone familiar with Kurstin’s track record, his hand in Adele’s repeat success was no surprise. A multi–Grammy Award nominee, Kurstin is known in the industry as an “artist whisperer” who brings out the best in performers like Sia, Beck, Katy Perry, Foster the People, and many more. He does it by bringing a unique set of producing skills to his sessions — world-class ability as an instrumentalist, deep understanding of music and song structure, and a highly effective writing and producing process that runs through Logic Pro X.

Photo credit: Alasdair McLellan

At a Glance

Multi–Grammy Award nominee Greg Kurstin is one of the most sought‑after music producers in the industry. Besides collaborating with Adele on 25, Kurstin has played on, written, and produced tracks on albums by Kelly Clarkson (Stronger), Lana Del Rey (Ultraviolence), The Shins (Port of Morrow), Tegan and Sara (Heartthrob), Ellie Goulding (Halcyon Days, Delirium), Santigold (Master of My Make-Believe), and Pink (The Truth About Love).

Writing with Adele

Kurstin joined Adele in a London studio for three weeklong writing sessions over several months. The first week, they wrote “Water Under the Bridge” and most of “Hello.” “A Million Years Ago,” one of the last songs to make it onto the album, was written during a later visit.

In the studio, Kurstin and Adele kept it simple. “Most of the time, it was just jamming in the room really, with me at a piano,” says Kurstin. “We were simply playing with ideas, looking for some chords and a vibe. It was more of an old‑school approach.”

Kurstin took an equally basic approach to recording their sessions, choosing to bypass most of the studio’s production gear for a mobile recording rig that consisted of little more than a MacBook Pro, Apogee Quartet, and Logic Pro X. “I certainly love using a studio’s professional mic preamps and dynamics processing, but I prefer my traveling Logic rig for the recording and production,” he says. “I just like to avoid potential technical issues as much as possible, and I know my mobile kit works.”

In London, the system worked flawlessly. As soon as they had a song idea or melody, Adele wrote lyrics while Kurstin recorded himself playing piano, guitar, bass, and drums into Logic Pro to build up the tracks. “I’ve always been into working fast,” he says. “That’s one reason I like to play all the instruments, because it’s more decisive. I know what I want to hear and I can just do it myself on guitar and keyboards. Working that way, I can usually finish a song in a day.”

When Kurstin needed a sound he couldn’t create, he’d find it in a Logic Pro project containing a select set of sampled vintage synth and keyboard sounds. “I was working on my MacBook Pro away from my own studio,” he says. “And playing a rented guitar with none of my favorite pedals. So I didn’t have all my trippy effects there. But I was able to pull out everything I needed from my plug-ins, channel strips, and effects.”

Adele works on lyrics during a recording session for 25. Photo credit: Alasdair McLellan

The Backstory on “Hello”

“Hello” came out of the same uncomplicated studio approach. But its path to becoming a ubiquitous hit was not a straight one. “I really didn’t expect that song at all,” says Kurstin. “I was in a daze, probably a little jet-lagged, trying out a bunch of ideas on the MIDI piano in the control room. Then we moved out to the grand piano in the live room, and I just started playing chords.”

The chords were promising, and Kurstin and Adele were able to write most of the song that day. But they couldn’t finish it. “We tried different choruses, but we didn’t quite nail it,” he says. “And I didn’t know if we ever would. I thought maybe this one was going to end up on the shelf.”

But Kurstin was called back six months later to finish the song. He used Logic Pro X instruments and plug-ins to enhance the bass line and drums. More radically, he lowered the entire song a half step at Adele’s request. “We tried really hard with a bunch of different ideas,” he says. “And we finally got it right.”

For Kurstin, the song didn’t feel finished until they recorded Adele singing the chorus. “When Adele gets on the mic, she blows your mind. I was moved when I first heard her sing ‘Hello,’ and I’m still moved every time I hear it.”

“When Adele gets on the mic, she blows your mind.”

Greg Kurstin

25: By the Numbers

85 countries where “Hello” topped iTunes singles chart
first-day views of “Hello” video
albums sold the first week

Instruments at His Fingertips

In his Los Angeles studio, Kurstin writes and records with other artists much as he did with Adele in London. He starts by carefully selecting a set of sounds and instruments that might work for that vocalist or band. “I put a lot of thought into preparing for a session,” he says. “The one thing I always do is build a Logic Pro project template ready with inspiring sounds, like maybe a choice soft synth or special drums. For me, that’s more important than preparing musical ideas.”

Kurstin developed his template strategy after experiencing anxious moments in the studio early in his career. “Artists will frequently ask if I have any cool sounds,” he says. “If they do, I don’t want to be struggling, looking through ten thousand patches I’ve made over the years. I’ve learned that you just want to be ready. With Logic Pro X, I have all the instruments I use to write the songs at my fingertips.”

Recording engineer Alex Pasco, who works with Kurstin on many of the sessions, sees the results firsthand. “Greg’s the only producer I’ve worked with who has such a large palette of instruments ready to go at any moment. When he hears the song in his head, he has the tools to get it out.”

Capturing Every Last Sound

Kurstin’s Los Angeles studio was custom built to complement his workflow. “Because I like to work fast, everything in the studio is plugged in and ready to go,” he says. “All the keyboards are patched in at all times. The drum set is mic’ed. All the channels are there. So whatever I play is instantly in my Mac Pro in Logic Pro X. This lets me get right to the idea. I’m not really one to fidget around with this guitar cable or that mic pre. I just want to get it down.”

Getting it down often involves using sounds pulled from the studio’s wall-to-wall array of vintage analog synthesizers, electric and acoustic guitars, pianos, digital keyboards, and percussion instruments. Over the years, Kurstin has created a massive library of samples from classic synths using the EXS24 sampler to augment an equally vast set of digital sounds. “I pretty much sample all of my gear and instruments,” he says.

Kurstin’s Favorite Instruments
  • Keyboards and Synths
  • Moog Minimoog
  • Yamaha CS-80
  • Sequential Circuits Prophet 5
  • Korg Polysix
  • Chamberlin
  • Plug-ins
  • Logic Pro X EXS24
  • Logic Pro X ES2
  • LennarDigital Sylenth1
  • reFX Nexus2
  • Arturia instruments

Player to Producer

Kurstin attributes much of his success as a producer to his ability as a player. “When people who don’t know me ask me what I do, I throw musician in there because songwriter/producer doesn’t always mean musician. But I spent so many years trying to perfect my playing, because that’s what I always wanted to do.”

The playing started early, with piano at age 5. He also picked up guitar and joined his first band at age 11. At 12, he cowrote his first published song, “Crunchy Water” — the B-side to “My Mother Is a Space Cadet” — with his classmate Dweezil Zappa. “That was a pretty crazy experience,” he says. “We were recording in Frank Zappa’s studio, so sort of a big jump. After that was over, it was back to the garage.”

In the garage years and after, Kurstin’s career closely followed his musical tastes, from Talking Heads and Devo to British bands like the Clash. And even then he was thinking like a producer. “I was always that guy in the band,” he says. “If I was playing with a punk band with maybe not the best players, I was very patient. I’d say, ‘Hey, let’s try this’ and show the bass player the part or play keyboard with the guitar player to get some syncopation going.”

An obsession with New York jazz took him into a deep exploration that included ten-hour-a-day piano practice sessions and studies with Charles Mingus’s pianist Jackie Bayard at the New School. He credits those years with helping him develop the ability to write on the spot in any session.

After returning to his hometown, Los Angeles, Kurstin wrote and performed in the alternative band Geggy Tah, then worked as a sideman for Red Hot Chili Peppers and Beck. Eager to write and record his own music, he formed “the bird and the bee” with singer Inara George. A publishing deal got him a chance to work with Lily Allen, and their breakout success established him as a go‑to creative producer.

Getting Technical

Kurstin’s comfort with the technical side of producing came from a strictly musical urge. “I was really into the music and the gear and playing,” he says. “I’m a musician at heart. And that’s all I cared about. I just wanted to get the idea down. Get an audio signal onto the tape. So at first I didn’t really pay attention to technology.”

Pursuing new sounds in different bands led Kurstin inevitably into new ways of creating and recording them, from early experiments with synthesizers and the Casio SK-1 sampling keyboard to various MIDI programs. But his creative process changed when, during a recording session, an audio engineer showed him Logic Pro. “Learning how to use Logic was a big breakthrough,” he says. “For the first time, I was independent of having people recording for me.”

“With Logic Pro X, I have all the instruments I use to write the songs at my fingertips.”

Greg Kurstin

Fast-Forward

Kurstin works fast, but with so many successes, he works pretty much all the time. “It’s been busy, which is great,” he says. “I feel fortunate. There were lots of years that I was not busy at all. So it’s still hard to say no.”

One artist who got a resounding yes from Kurstin recently is Beck, with whom Kurstin used to tour. “We did that song ‘Dreams,’” says Kurstin. “And we’re continually writing and working on new material.”

These days, Kurstin rarely has time to perform with “the bird and the bee.” But he’s very excited about his recent Grammy nomination for Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical for their Recreational Love. Although he is better known for his writing and producing, Kurstin was able to fully mix one of the best-sounding albums of the year in Logic Pro X. “I never studied engineering,” he says. “But I do put a lot of care into the sounds when I’m recording and mixing, so being recognized for that feels great.”

His current plan is to go with what is already working so well. “I love writing songs and producing them,” he says. “I’m going to continue to do that with new artists and the artists I now work with. I’m not sick of it. In fact, I can’t get enough of it. And I still feel inspired. So I just want to take it as far as I can.”

A Deeper Look

A detailed account from Greg Kurstin on producing songs for Adele.

“Hello” “I have SoundShifter on the piano to pitch it down a half step. We wrote the song higher and changed the key, but I liked the piano sound and didn’t want to replay it. I sampled my Roland TR-808 kick drum into the EXS24 and used that in the chorus to double the bass. Valhalla’s VintageVerb is on the guitar single-note stuff. I filtered the drums with the Logic AutoFilter. I used SPL Transient Designer to shorten the length and add attack on those drums. And there’s a little bit of Sylenth1 playing a sine-wave, organ-like pad under the chorus.”

“Water Under the Bridge” “I have a sampled-tom EXS instrument, which I have set on a 16th arpeggio repeat under the drums. There’s a little bit of side-chain using the Vengeance VPS Multiband to bring out the accent on the off beats. The clap reverb on the verse is the Logic Pro guitar amp reverb. And there’s a little bit of Logic Rhodes sound under the piano to warm it up. Adele had sung a rough melody idea over the verse, kind of a repetitive chant. I ended up putting it in the chorus. The notes fit the verse but not the chorus, so I used the Logic Pro Pitch Correction plug-in on 0.00 ms response and selected only the D# so all the notes get pitched to the root note of the chorus. I used some Effectrix to add a little glitchiness and delay. The intro voice ‘oooh’ is Decapitator, for a little mid boost and saturation. AutoFilter was used as a low-pass filter. And I used VintageVerb.”

“A Million Years Ago” “Not a lot of tracks in this one. I used some Logic Channel EQ to EQ out some low end to the guitars. Didn’t have access to an upright bass in London, so Trilian came to the rescue at the end of the song.”

  • Third-Party Hardware
  • Apogee Quartet
  • Apogee Symphony
  • Plug-ins, Instruments, and Effects
  • Logic Pro X
  • AutoFilter
  • Channel EQ
  • ES2 Synthesizer
  • EXS24 Sampler
  • EnVerb
  • Flanger
  • Guitar Amp Pro
  • Multipressor
  • Overdrive
  • Phaser
  • Pitch Correction
  • Sample Delay
  • Space Designer
  • Spreader
  • Stereo Delay
  • Tape Delay
  • Tremolo
  • Vocal Transformer
  • Third-Party
  • Camel Audio CamelPhat
  • FabFilter plug-ins
  • Lexicon reverbs
  • Soundtoys Effect Rack
  • Spectrasonics Trilian
  • SPL Transient Designer
  • Sugar Bytes Effectrix
  • Valhalla VintageVerb
  • Vengeance VPS Multiband
  • Waves CLA-2a, CLA-3a, and CLA-76 compressors
  • Waves SoundShifter

Logic Pro X

Available from the Mac App Store for $199.99. Just click to download and install.

Logic Pro X $199.99