would it erase all my existing software and documents when upgrading to snow leopard?

Back To Product

Follow this Question

1 Answer from the Community

  • Best Answer:

    No, it won't erase your existing software and documents.

    However, I'm always nervous installing directly over an old system, so here is what I did:
    1) Clone the partition with the old OS to a partition on an external "bootable" hard drive (I'm using an iMac).
    2) Test that the external hard drive will Start Up your Mac and your old OS functions as normal (hold down the OPTION key during Start Up to choose which partition/hard drive you want to Start Up from).
    3) Use the Snow Leopard install disk to erase the partition on the INTERNAL hard drive that has the old OS and install Snow Leopard (I used the $29 DVD.)
    4) During installation, you will be asked if you want to transfer your settings, files and/or applications from the partition with the old OS. Do this.
    5) When done, Start Up from the Snow Leopard partition and make sure everything running smoothly.

    Using this method, you have your old OS and all your old files ready to Start Up from in case, for some odd reason, something does not work quite right in Snow Leopard. In my case, I upgraded from OS10.4.11 and some printer drivers and a scanner utility needed special upgrading before they would work in Snow Leopard. While I was figuring this out, I could jump back and start up from OS10.4.11 and use the printers and scanner until I could implement the solutions.

    Was this useful? Answer 1

    5 of 6 people found this useful

Related Questions