Activity Sharing & Privacy

Activity is designed to protect your information and enable you to choose what you share.

Privacy Icon

  • Workout and Activity data shared with friends may include: active calories or kilojoules, exercise minutes, stand or roll hours, steps, time zone, and workout information such as title, type, and duration.
  • The email address associated with your iCloud account will be visible to anyone you invite or accept an invite from.
  • If you use this feature, your Workout and Activity data will be sent to Apple so that Apple can securely share this data with whomever you choose. Apple will retain your Workout and Activity data for a short period of time and will only use this data to enable this sharing feature.

Workout and Activity data shared with friends may include: active calories or kilojoules, exercise minutes, stand or roll hours, steps, time zone (so friends may know when you start your day), workout information such as title, type, and duration, and the name of any third-party app providing the information. Workout details, like the title or trainer, may reveal sensitive information about your workout, such as whether it is a prenatal workout. Friends may also receive notifications about your Activity and Workout awards. This information will be available to friends for a short time. You can remove a friend at any point using the Remove Friend option in Sharing. You can also choose to hide your Activity from a friend using the Hide my Activity option.

The email associated with your iCloud account will be visible to anyone you invite or accept an invite from.

If you use this feature, your Workout and Activity data will be sent to Apple so that Apple can securely share this data with whomever you choose. Apple will retain your Workout and Activity data for a short period of time and will only use this data to enable this sharing feature. Your Activity sharing friend list is associated with your iCloud account and will be restored on any other iOS device you sign in to using this iCloud account.