Camera & Privacy

Apple designed cameras with privacy in mind, and third-party applications must obtain your consent before accessing Camera.

On an iOS device, apps that you grant access to Camera can access real-time images from the front and rear cameras. Apps aren’t allowed to use the camera without transparency that the camera is in use.

Photos and videos taken with the camera may contain other information, such as where and when they were taken, the depth of field, and overcapture. If you do not want photos and videos taken with the Camera app to include location, you can control this at any time by going to Settings > Privacy & Security > Location Services > Camera. If you do not want photos and video to include location when shared, you can turn location off in the Options menu in the share sheet.

Continuity Camera allows you to use your iPhone as your Mac webcam by default when both devices are nearby and signed in to the same Apple ID. To pause the camera, unlock the iPhone by swiping up from the bottom edge of the screen or pressing the Home button. To pause and temporarily remove iPhone from the camera list on Mac, tap Disconnect on your iPhone. You can disable using your iPhone as a webcam for Mac by going to Settings > General > AirPlay & Handoff on your iOS device.

Apps that use ARKit can use world or face tracking information from the other camera to better position your AR experience. World Tracking uses algorithms on your device to process information from these sensors in order to determine a user’s position relative to a physical space. World Tracking enables features such as Optical Heading in Maps.

Published Date: September 12, 2022