Ratings & Photos & Privacy

Ratings & Photos allows you to post images, ratings, or other content (“Submissions”) to points of interest (“POIs”) of your choice.

Privacy Icon

  • Ratings & Photos that you share are linked to your Apple ID and changed or removed ratings may be retained for up to two years to maintain the integrity of the service.
  • Your other activities within Maps outside of Ratings & Photos and Report an Issue are not linked to your Apple ID and remain associated with random identifiers that reset themselves as you use the app.
  • Images without personally identifiable information may be used to improve the product and service, and sample images that do not meet our Terms may be used to improve our ability to filter out such content in the future.

Ratings & Photos and all Apple services are designed from the ground up to protect your privacy. We work hard to collect only the data we need to make your experience better. When we collect data, we believe it’s important for you to know what we’re collecting and why we need it, so you can make informed choices.

Providing Ratings & Photos

To upload a Submission to a POI of your choice, you must have an Apple ID. Your approximate location and location information associated with your image will also be sent to Apple and used to confirm authenticity of the Submission. Your Submissions will be linked to your Apple ID. We also collect certain nonpersonally identifiable information, such as usage analytics about your Submissions, that is not associated with your Apple ID.

When you use Ratings & Photos, images that depict your personal information or personal information about others (for example, images that identify a person) may not be accepted.

Maps may suggest that you submit a rating or photo if you have recently visited or taken a photo of a POI. These suggestions are done using on-device processing and cannot be read by Apple. You can choose not to receive these suggestions on your iOS or iPadOS device by going to Settings > Maps and tapping to disable Show Ratings and Photos Suggestions, and on your Mac by going to Maps > Preferences > General and deselecting Show Ratings and Photos Suggestions.

Improving Ratings & Photos

In Ratings & Photos, we aim to display and rank the most relevant and diverse images on the POI placecard. Images that you submit may be used to improve the product and service. Before we use any image for such purpose, we remove any personally identifiable information and disassociate the Submission from your Apple ID.

We also aim to filter out Submissions that violate our Terms (www.apple.com/legal/internet-services/maps/ratings-photos). If you submit such content, our intention is that it either will not be posted or will be blurred, your account may be blocked, and in certain cases we may contact you using the email address associated with your Apple ID. To maintain the integrity of the service, a sample of images that do not meet our Terms may be used to improve our ability to filter out such content in the future.

Sharing with Third Parties

Data that is sent to Apple may be processed and stored by trusted third-party service providers.

Retention

We retain the content you post in Ratings & Photos and store it with your Apple ID unless you delete or remove such content or submit an account deletion request via Apple’s Privacy Portal at privacy.apple.com, or as required by law. You can delete your photo submissions and remove or change your ratings using the Maps app. We retain your removed or changed ratings for up to two years to maintain the integrity of the service. If you have questions or concerns about how your personal information is used as it relates to Ratings & Photos, or you would like to reach our Data Protection Officer, you can contact us at www.apple.com/legal/privacy/contact.

At all times, information collected by Apple will be treated in accordance with Apple’s Privacy Policy, which can be found at www.apple.com/privacy

Published Date: May 13, 2022