Safari & Privacy

Safari is designed to protect your information and enable you to choose what you share.

Use Safari settings to remove and block data that websites can use to track you in Safari. To view these preferences, choose Settings > Safari.

Prevent Cross-Site Tracking

Some websites use third-party content providers. A third-party content provider can track you across websites to advertise products and services.

With this option turned on, tracking data is periodically deleted unless you visit the third-party content provider.

Hide IP Address

Intelligent Tracking Prevention helps protect you from unwanted tracking by using on-device machine learning to stop trackers while allowing websites to function normally. Hide IP Address enhances Intelligent Tracking Prevention by sending some of your web traffic through two separate relays operated by different entities. The first knows your Internet Protocol (IP) address, but not the website you are visiting. The second knows the website you are visiting, but not your IP address, instead providing a generalized identity and location to the destination website. This way, no single entity has the information to identify both you and the sites you visit.

You can choose to send certain traffic through the relay architecture. Private Relay subscribers can choose to send all traffic through Private Relay by going to Settings > Safari > Hide IP Address, then tapping to turn on Trackers and Websites. Alternatively, all users can choose to send traffic with known trackers through the relay architecture by going to Settings > Safari > Hide IP Address, then tapping to turn on Trackers Only or From Trackers. You can disable Hide IP Address at any time by going to Settings > Safari > Hide IP Address, then tapping to turn off Hide IP Address.

Fraudulent Website Warning

When Fraudulent Website Warning is enabled, Safari will display a warning if the website you are visiting is a suspected phishing website. Phishing is a fraudulent attempt to steal your personal information, such as user names, passwords, and other account information. A fraudulent website masquerades as a legitimate one, such as a bank, financial institution, or email service provider. Before visiting a website, Safari may send information calculated from the website address to Google Safe Browsing to check if the website is fraudulent. For users with China mainland set as their region in Settings > General > Language and Region, Safari may also use Tencent Safe Browsing to do this check. The actual website address is never shared with the safe browsing provider. These safe browsing providers may also log your IP address when information is sent to them. You can disable Fraudulent Website Warnings in Safari at any time by going to Settings > Safari, then tapping to turn off Fraudulent Website Warning.

Privacy Preserving Ad Measurement

When Privacy Preserving Ad Measurement is enabled, Safari will provide websites with attribution reports to help websites and advertisers attribute the viewing of and clicking on ads, while still preserving your privacy. Safari will send attribution reports with limited data in a dedicated mode using IP address protection, no data storage, without any cookies, and delayed randomly between 24 and 48 hours. The attribution reports do not contain any personal information.

You can disable Privacy Preserving Ad Measurement at any time by going to Settings > Safari, then tapping to turn off Privacy Preserving Ad Measurement.

Check for Apple Pay

When you are in an app or on a website that uses Apple Pay on an iPhone, iPad, or Apple Watch, they can check if you have Apple Pay enabled on that device. You may disable websites you visit from checking if Apple Pay is enabled at any time by going to the Check for Apple Pay setting on your iOS or iPadOS device in Settings > Safari > Privacy and Security.

Private Browsing

When Private Browsing is enabled, Safari doesn’t remember the pages you visit, AutoFill information, and your open tabs aren’t stored in iCloud or synced across your devices. Websites can’t modify information stored on your device, so services normally available at such sites may work differently until you turn off Private Browsing.

Note: While Private Browsing is enabled, the address bar appears dark instead of light.

Webpage Translation

Safari analyzes each webpage you visit to determine its language. This determination is made entirely on your device. If the webpage can be translated to any of your preferred languages, you can choose to translate it. If you translate, Safari will send the webpage’s contents (including the full text) to Apple’s servers for translation. After the translation is complete, Apple will discard the contents of the webpage.

If the webpage was not viewed in Private Browsing mode, then Safari will also send the webpage’s address to Apple. Apple will store the address for up to five years to improve Apple’s products, services, and technologies. Since Apple does not store the contents of webpages you translate, only publicly accessible webpages will be used to improve Apple’s products, services, and technologies.

Webpage contents and addresses sent to Apple are not associated with your Apple ID, email address, or other data Apple may have from your use of other Apple services.

In order to provide you with a better browsing experience, after translating a particular webpage, other webpages you visit in the same domain that you visit within the same tab may also be translated. Safari will stop automatically translating when you visit a webpage that is no longer in the same original language, or a webpage on a different domain.

Web Extensions

You can download Safari extensions from the App Store. If your device is managed, your employer or educational institution may provide you an app that includes Safari extensions. Before using a Safari extension, you must turn it on from the More menu in Safari or by going to Settings > Safari > Extensions. Once turned on, you must grant the extension permission to read or modify webpages you visit by choosing the extension from the More menu or via a permissions prompt. You can change which websites an extension can read and modify by going to Settings > Safari > Extensions.

When you use third-party web extensions you are subject to those third-parties’ terms and privacy policy and practices. You should review the terms, privacy policies, and practices of such extensions to understand how they use your information.

iCloud Syncing

You can use iCloud to keep your Safari information synchronized across your devices, including your open tabs, tab groups, AutoFill information, bookmarks, Reading List, and history. You can disable this feature at any time by going to Settings > [your name] > iCloud, then tapping to turn off Safari.

By using these features, you agree and consent to Apple’s and its subsidiaries’ and agents’ transmission, collection, maintenance, processing, and use of this information as described above.

At all times, information collected by Apple will be treated in accordance with Apple’s Privacy Policy, which can be found at www.apple.com/privacy