Opens in new window

Apple’s acclaimed comedy “The Big Door Prize,” starring Emmy Award winner Chris O’Dowd, returns for season two on Wednesday, April 24

Apple TV+ unveils first look at the new season from Emmy Award winner David West Read
Download all 4 article images
Press Release February 5, 2024
Chris O’Dowd and Justine Lupe in season two of “The Big Door Prize”
Chris O’Dowd and Justine Lupe in season two of “The Big Door Prize,” premiering globally April 24, 2024 on Apple TV+.

Apple TV+ today unveiled the premiere date and first look at the second season of “The Big Door Prize,” the critically acclaimed and character-driven comedy from Emmy Award-winning creator David West Read (“Schitt’s Creek”). The 10-episode second season will premiere globally on Apple TV+ on Wednesday, April 24, 2024 with three episodes, followed by one new episode every Wednesday through June 12, 2024.

Based on M.O. Walsh’s novel, “The Big Door Prize” season two follows the residents of Deerfield as the Morpho machine readies them for the mysterious “next stage.” As everyone’s potentials are exchanged for visions, new relationships form and new questions are asked. Dusty (Chris O’dowd) and Cass (Gabrielle Dennis) decide to take time apart while Trina (Djouliet Amara) and Jacob (Sammy Fourlas) learn that they can shed their old labels. Giorgio (Josh Segarra) and Izzy (Crystal Fox) each find romance while Hana (Ally Maki) and Father Reuben (Damon Gupton) attempt to discover the purpose of the machine. The small town is once again left questioning what they thought they knew about their lives, relationships, potentials and about the Morpho itself.

Mary Holland, Gabrielle Dennis and Ally Maki in “The Big Door Prize”
Mary Holland, Gabrielle Dennis and Ally Maki in “The Big Door Prize,” premiering globally April 24, 2024 on Apple TV+.
Chris O’Dowd in “The Big Door Prize”
Chris O’Dowd in “The Big Door Prize,” premiering globally April 24, 2024 on Apple TV+.
Mary Holland and Josh Segarra in “The Big Door Prize”
Mary Holland and Josh Segarra in “The Big Door Prize,” premiering globally April 24, 2024 on Apple TV+.

“The Big Door Prize” features an ensemble cast led by Emmy Award winner O’Dowd (“Bridesmaids”), Dennis (“A Black Lady Sketch Show,” “Luke Cage”), Maki (“Shortcomings,"“Wrecked”), Gupton (“Bates Motel”), Segarra (“The Other Two,” “Arrow”), Crystal Fox (“Big Little Lies,” “The Haves and the Have Nots”), Fourlas, Amara (“Fitting In”), and is produced by Skydance Television and CJ ENM/Studio Dragon.

Season two welcomes new guest stars including Justine Lupe (“Succession”), Aaron Roman Weiner (“Power Book III: Raising Kanan”), Mary Holland (“Harley Quinn”), Patrick Kerr (“Frasier”), Cocoa Brown (“For Better or Worse”), Carrie Barrett (“Henry Danger”), Elizabeth Hunter (“Jersey Boys”), Jim Meskimen (“Parks and Recreation”), Matt Dellapina (“For Life”) and Melissa Ponzio (“Chicago Fire”).

Read serves as showrunner and executive producer, alongside David Ellison, Dana Goldberg and Matt Thunell for Skydance Television, Miky Lee, Jey-hyun Kim and Hyun Park for Studio Dragon, Bill Bost and Sarah Walker. Steven Tsuchida, Heather Jack, Jordan Canning, Satya Bhabha and Declan Lowney direct the series.

Following its global debut on Apple TV+ last year, “The Big Door Prize” quickly rose to Rotten Tomatoes Certified Fresh status, and has been hailed as “thought-provoking,” “hilarious” and “one of the best comedy debuts in years.”

Apple TV+ offers premium, compelling drama and comedy series, feature films, groundbreaking documentaries, and kids and family entertainment, and is available to watch across all of a user's favorite screens. After its launch on November 1, 2019, Apple TV+ became the first all-original streaming service to launch around the world, and has premiered more original hits and received more award recognitions faster than any other streaming service in its debut. To date, Apple Original films, documentaries and series have been honored with 453 wins and 2,072 award nominations and counting, including multi-Emmy Award-winning comedy “Ted Lasso” and historic Oscar Best Picture winner “CODA.”

About Apple TV+

Apple TV+ is available on the Apple TV app in over 100 countries and regions, on over 1 billion screens, including iPhone, iPad, Apple TV, Mac, popular smart TVs from Samsung, LG, Sony, VIZIO, TCL and others, Roku and Amazon Fire TV devices, Chromecast with Google TV, PlayStation and Xbox gaming consoles, and at, for $9.99 per month with a seven-day free trial. For a limited time, customers who purchase and activate a new iPhone, iPad, Apple TV or Mac can enjoy three months of Apple TV+ for free.* 

For more information, visit and see the full list of supported devices.

*Special offer is good for three months after the first activation of the eligible device. One offer per Family Sharing group. Plans automatically renew until cancelled. Other restrictions and terms apply; visit for more information.

Article Assets

Text of this article

Press Contacts

Apple TV+ Press

Press materials for Apple TV+, the new home for the world's most creative storytellers.