气候变化 我们怎样带头应对气候变化?

我们追踪计算了自己的碳足迹,
并不遗余力来消除它。

在计算碳足迹时,我们将数百家供应商、数百万用户以及数亿设备都计算在内。我们一直在探索各种方式,从产品制造、产品使用、场所设施、产品运输和循环利用这五个环节着手改进。

为减小碳足迹,我们尽力将每一代产品都设计得更为高效节能;我们采购低碳材料用于设备制造;我们与供应商合作,为他们的工厂添加清洁能源;我们在全球各种设施的用电,有 96% 来自我们生产、采购的各类清洁可再生能源。

我们 2016 年的完整碳足迹

29,500,000 吨温室气体排放
77% 产品制造
17% 产品使用
4% 产品运输
1% 场所设施
1% 循环利用

制造更小的碳足迹。

产品制造在我们的碳足迹中占据 77% 之多。其中大部分都是产品制造过程中,使用电力所产生的碳排放。为此,我们正努力采购低碳材料,与供应商合作减少他们目前使用的能源,并帮助他们改用可再生能源。我们相信,通过合作我们可以改进生产流程,以显著降低碳排放。

在生产阶段我们碳足迹的主要来源

  • 35% 集成电路
  • 29% 铝金属
  • 13% 电路板和导电线
  • 5% 显示屏
  • 4% 玻璃

我们正帮助供应商转用可再生能源。

原料加工、零部件制造及产品组装中使用的电能,是我们整体碳足迹的最大来源,因此,我们正在帮助供应商来减少能耗,同时也在投资可再生能源项目,以解决超出我们直接供应商影响的上游排放。到目前为止,我们已经在中国 6 个省份兴建了 485 兆瓦的风能和太阳能项目。而我们的直接供应商也纷纷效仿这些计划,开发出了自己的可再生能源项目,其中很多项目都已经在实施中。这些都是我们在 2015 年启动的清洁能源计划的一部分。

同时作为清洁能源计划的另一部分,Apple 和我们的供应商将于 2020 年前,在全球范围内生产和采购超过 40 亿瓦的新清洁能源,其中包括有 20 亿瓦将在中国完成,以此来减少与产品制造相关的碳排放。到 2017 年 4 月为止,我们已落实的承诺达 20 亿瓦。而当这项计划完成时,总共 40 亿瓦的清洁能源将取代目前制造流程中 30% 的碳足迹。为解决供应商难以获取清洁能源的问题,我们还启动了 Clean Energy Portal 计划。它可为采购清洁能源提供地区性指导和工具,还提供了大部分供应商所在地的语言版本,包括普通话、日语、韩语等。

我们许多直接合作伙伴已经取得了重大进展。Ibiden 负责生产集成电路封装基板,该公司已承诺在 2018 年底前生产足够的可再生能源,满足制造 Apple 产品的能源需求。Ibiden 将是我们首家做出转变的日本供应商。其漂浮太阳能系统也将成为日本规模最大的漂浮太阳能项目之一。我们的供应链内的其他合作伙伴也在兴建或投资规模可观的太阳能项目,使用 100% 风能为工厂供电,以及从信誉良好的公用事业计划采购清洁能源。

承诺在 2018 年前实现以 100% 可再生能源来制造 Apple 产品的合作伙伴

  • 伯恩光学有限公司
    (Biel Crystal Manufactory Ltd.)
  • 可成科技股份有限公司
    (Catcher Technology)
  • 仁宝电脑工业股份有限公司
    (Compal Electronics)
  • Ibiden
  • 蓝思科技股份有限公司
    (Lens Technology)
  • 索尔维集团
    (Solvay Specialty Polymers)
  • 欣旺达电子股份有限公司
    (Sunwoda Electronics)

从铝金属着手,减少我们的碳排放。

我们销售数以亿计的手机,因此,即使是对 iPhone 生产进行细微的调整,也将给我们的碳足迹带来巨大的影响。例如,我们改变了铝金属机身的制造方法。我们优先采用使用水电而非化石燃料熔炼的铝材。我们对制造工艺进行了重新设计,使废弃铝材得到重复利用。由此,与制造 iPhone 7 铝金属机身相关的温室气体放量,相比 iPhone 6s 降低了 17%,相比 iPhone 6 更降低了 60% 之多。我们将同样的制造方法应用到配备 Multi-Touch Bar 的 13 英寸 MacBook Pro,相比上一代 MacBook Pro,与制造铝金属机身相关的温室气体排放减少了 48% 之多。

我们的目标是,让我们全球的设施都 100% 由可再生能源供电。

2016 年,我们公司设施的用电,有 96% 均来自清洁可再生能源。现在,我们碳足迹中的这个数据不仅包括我们的办公室、零售店和我们自己运行的数据中心,还考虑到了我们的产品分销中心,以及租用和共用的数据中心。所有这些努力,令我们场所设施的碳排放量下降至仅占我们总体碳足迹的 1% 而已。但我们的目标是实现 100% 使用可再生能源。截至目前,在所有由 Apple 运行的数据中心,以及我们在美国、英国、中国和澳大利亚等 24 个国家或地区的所有设施中,我们已经实现了这一目标。

我们打造了这个星球上绿色办公楼的典范。

位于 Cupertino 的 Apple Park 有望在北美地区拥有 LEED 铂金级认证办公建筑中,成为规模最大之一,而其中包括致力于能源密集型研究和开发的设施。Apple Park 采用 100% 可再生能源供电,其中 75% 的可再生能源由 17 兆瓦的屋顶太阳能装置和 4 兆瓦的基础沼气燃料电池现场生产。其他所需的能源,则从附近 Monterey 郡的 California Flats Solar Project 获取。在周末等建筑使用率较低时段所生产的可再生能源,还将输送至 Pacific Gas and Electric 以供公用电网使用。

新园区 80% 以上属于开放空间,种植了 9000 多棵耐旱植物,其中大部分为橡树,也有很多遮荫树和果树。我们还从加州各地移植来了一些古老的橡树,否则它们很有可能会遭到破坏。为节约水资源,新园区使用 75% 的回收非饮用水来浇灌其茂密的树木,并为其他不需要净水的现场设施供水。

生产可再生能源,自给自足。

为实现仅以可再生能源为我们在世界各地的公司办公室、零售店和数据中心供电这一目标,我们要自行生产大量的可再生能源。因此,我们开发了自己的太阳能、燃料电池、水能和风能发电项目。例如,我们将 40 兆瓦规模的太阳能项目接入了中国国家电网,所生产的电能远多于我们在中国的所有公司办公室和零售店用电。自 2011 年以来,这些项目为我们全球各地的办公室、数据中心、零售店减少了 60% 的碳排放,避免了超过 160 万吨二氧化碳当量进入大气层。仅在 2016 年,这些措施就减少了近 585,000 吨的二氧化碳排放量。如果没有这些可再生能源,我们的排放量可能已经是 2011 年的 3 倍多了。我们还发行了 15 亿美元的绿色债券,针对环境项目进行融资,包括我们为全球设施而打造的可再生能源项目。

你设备使用的每一度电,我们都为之负责。

在预计的产品生命周期内,运行你设备所需的能源,都计算在我们的碳足迹之内。这包括为你的设备充电所需的能源,这些能源通常出自碳密集型来源,如煤炭或天然气。因此,我们一直在开发新方法,让我们的产品尽可能高效节能。例如,当你不在 macOS 上进行大工作量的操作时,操作系统会将存储媒体转入睡眠状态,以极低的用电量来运行处理器;而当你进行大工作量的操作时,它也会为开启但不活跃的 app 降低能耗,在你同意之前暂停网站的动态插件,甚至在你敲击键盘的间隙以及显示屏亮起的情况下,还会闲置处理器让能耗进入最低状态。这些节能举措可能看上去微不足道,但如果将全世界所有 Apple 电脑累计叠加,其影响将非常可观。

iMessage、FaceTime 和 Siri 都由 100% 可再生能源来供电。

你发送的每一条 iMessage、进行的每一次 FaceTime 通话、问 Siri 的每一个问题、下载的每一首歌曲,或共享的每一张照片,都需要消耗能源。我们可以自豪地说,处理这些任务的 Apple 数据服务器,使用的都是 100% 可再生能源。总而言之,2015 年我们的数据中心避免了 187,000 吨二氧化碳当量的排放。而在 2016 年,这一数字超过了 330,000 吨。在需要额外的能源时,我们会与第三方数据中心合作。尽管我们并不拥有这些托管设施,而是与其他公司共享资源,我们仍然将其纳入我们的可再生能源目标。我们与这些供应商合作,帮他们也能使用 100% 可再生能源。让我们感到自豪的是,2016 年,这些供应商使用的电力有 99% 以上来自可再生能源。

2008 年以来,我们将 Apple 产品的平均能耗降低了 70% 之多1

MacBook Pro 的能耗比上一代 MacBook Pro 机型降低了 15% 之多;iMac 在睡眠模式下的能耗比第一代产品降低了 97% 之多;Mac mini 在闲置状态下的能耗比上一代降低了 40% 之多。在美国,如果每天为 iPhone 7 充电一次,每年的花费仅为 61 美分。这些提升,让我们的整体碳排放量和你的电费得以同时下降。

Climate Change How can we lead the fight against climate change?

We mapped our carbon footprint, and we’re working to eliminate it.

When we measure our carbon footprint, we include hundreds of suppliers, millions of customers, and hundreds of millions of devices. And we’re always looking for ways to make the biggest difference in five major areas: manufacturing, product use, facilities, transportation, and recycling.

To reduce our carbon footprint, we design each generation of our products to be as energy efficient as possible. We’re sourcing lower-carbon materials to make our devices, we’re partnering with suppliers to add clean energy to their facilities, and we produce and procure clean, renewable energy for 96 percent of the electricity used at our global facilities.

Our comprehensive 2016 carbon footprint

29,500,000 metric tons of greenhouse gas emissions
77% Manufacturing
17% Product Usage
4% Transportation
1% Facilities
1% Recycling

Manufacturing a smaller footprint.

Manufacturing makes up 77 percent of our carbon footprint. Most of it is due to carbon emissions from the electricity used to make our products. So we’re sourcing lower-carbon materials, partnering with suppliers to reduce their current energy use, and helping them switch to renewable energy. We believe that together we can transform the manufacturing process to dramatically reduce emissions.

Top contributors to our manufacturing carbon footprint

  • 35% Integrated Circuits
  • 29% Aluminum
  • 13% Boards and Flexes
  • 5% Display
  • 4% Glass

We’re helping our suppliers switch to renewable energy.

Since the electricity used to process raw materials, make parts, and assemble our products is the largest contributor to our overall carbon footprint, we’re helping our suppliers reduce the amount of energy they use. We’re also investing in renewable energy projects to address upstream emissions that are beyond the influence of our direct suppliers. To date, we’ve installed 485 megawatts of wind and solar projects across six provinces of China. Using these projects as a model, our direct suppliers are developing their own renewable energy projects, many of which are already under way. It’s all part of the clean energy program we launched in 2015.

As part of our clean energy program, Apple and our suppliers will generate and procure more than 4 gigawatts of new clean power worldwide by 2020, including 2 gigawatts in China alone, and use it to reduce emissions associated with manufacturing. Already, commitments made as of April 2017 represent a total of 2 gigawatts. Once completed, the 4 gigawatts of clean power will represent 30 percent of our current manufacturing carbon footprint. Because it can be difficult for suppliers to access clean energy, we also launched the Clean Energy Portal. It offers regional guidance and tools for procuring clean energy and is available in the languages spoken where the majority of our manufacturing takes place — including Mandarin, Japanese, and Korean.

Our direct partners are already making a big difference. Ibiden, which produces integrated circuit packaging substrates, has committed to generating renewable energy equivalent to the energy it uses to make Apple products by the end of 2018. Ibiden will be our first supplier in Japan to make the switch. Its floatovoltaic project will be one of the largest floating solar projects in the country. Other partners across our supply chain are installing or investing in sizable solar projects, running their factories on 100 percent wind power, and purchasing clean energy from reputable utility programs.

Partners Committed to 100 Percent Renewable Energy for Apple Production by 2018

  • Biel Crystal Manufactory Ltd.
  • Catcher Technology
  • Compal Electronics
  • Ibiden
  • Lens Technology
  • Solvay Specialty Polymers
  • Sunwoda Electronics

Lowering carbon emissions by focusing on aluminum.

We sell millions of phones. So making even small adjustments to the production of iPhone can have a powerful impact on our carbon footprint — for instance, we changed how we make the aluminum enclosure. We prioritized aluminum that was smelted using hydroelectricity rather than fossil fuels. And we reengineered our manufacturing process to reincorporate the scrap aluminum. As a result, the greenhouse gas emissions associated with manufacturing the enclosure of iPhone 7 are 17 percent less than for iPhone 6s and 60 percent less than for iPhone 6. Applying the same approach to the 13-inch MacBook Pro with Touch Bar resulted in 48 percent less greenhouse gas emissions associated with the aluminum enclosure compared to that of the previous-generation MacBook Pro.

Our goal is to power our facilities worldwide with 100 percent renewable energy.

In 2016, 96 percent of the electricity we used at our corporate facilities came from clean, renewable sources. That number now factors in the footprints of not only our offices, retail stores, and the data centers we run ourselves but also our product distribution centers and leased, colocated data centers. These efforts have lowered emissions from our facilities to 1 percent of our comprehensive carbon footprint. But our goal is to make them entirely renewable. We’ve already reached that goal in every single Apple-operated data center and across all our facilities in 24 countries — including the United States, the UK, China, and Australia.

We’re building the greenest corporate headquarters on the planet.

Apple Park in Cupertino is on track to be the largest LEED Platinum-certified office building in North America — and that includes facilities dedicated to energy-intensive research and development. It’s powered by 100 percent renewable energy, 75 percent of which is generated onsite by a 17-megawatt rooftop solar installation and 4 megawatts of baseload biogas fuel cells. Any additional energy required is drawn from the California Flats Solar Project in nearby Monterey County. When the building has less use — on weekends, for example — it will actually generate renewable energy that’s delivered to Pacific Gas and Electric for use in the public grid.

Over 80 percent of the new campus is open space with more than 9000 drought-tolerant trees. Most of them are oak, and many are shade and fruit trees. We also reclaimed old-growth oak trees from California landscapes where they would otherwise have been destroyed. To conserve water, the new campus uses 75 percent recycled nonpotable water to care for its dense forest and to run other onsite facilities where fresh water isn’t required.

Producing renewable energy to meet our own needs.

To power all our corporate offices, retail stores, and data centers worldwide using only renewable energy, we’ll need to produce a lot of it ourselves. So we’re developing our own solar, fuel cell, water, and wind projects. For example, we connected 40 megawatts of new solar energy to China’s national grid, producing more than enough electricity for all our corporate offices and retail stores in China. Since 2011, these projects have reduced the emissions from our offices, data centers, and retail stores worldwide by 60 percent and prevented more than 1.6 million metric tons of CO2e from entering the atmosphere. In 2016 alone, they reduced CO2e emissions by nearly 585,000 metric tons. Without renewable energy, these emissions would have more than tripled since 2011. We’ve also issued a $1.5 billion green bond, which is dedicated to financing environmental projects, including renewable energy initiatives at our facilities around the world.

We take responsibility for every watt of power you use on your device.

The energy it takes to run your device during its expected lifespan is added to our carbon footprint. That includes the energy it takes to charge your device, which often comes from carbon-intensive sources such as coal or natural gas. So we’re always developing new ways to make our products as efficient as possible. For example, macOS puts storage media to sleep and runs processors in an ultralow power mode when you’re not hard at work. And when you are, it uses less energy for apps that are open but not visible and pauses animated website plug-ins until you give the OK. It can even idle the processor to its lowest power state between keystrokes and while the display is on. These energy savings might seem tiny, but when multiplied by every Apple computer in the world, they’re huge.

iMessage, FaceTime, and Siri run on 100 percent renewable energy.

Every time you send an iMessage, make a FaceTime call, ask Siri a question, download a song, or share a photo, it takes energy. We’re proud to say that all those tasks are handled by Apple data servers running on 100 percent renewable energy. All told, in 2015 our data centers avoided 187,000 metric tons of CO2e emissions. And in 2016, that number grew to more than 330,000 metric tons. When we need additional capacity, we work with third-party data centers. Even though we don’t own these colocated facilities, and share them with other companies, we still include them in our renewable energy goals. So we’re working with these providers to get them to 100 percent renewable energy, too. And we’re proud that in 2016, more than 99 percent of their electricity came from renewable sources.

Since 2008, we’ve reduced the average energy consumed by Apple products by 70 percent.1

MacBook Pro consumes 15 percent less energy than the previous MacBook Pro models. iMac consumes 97 percent less energy in sleep mode than the first generation. Mac mini consumes 40 percent less power when idle than the previous generation. And you can charge your iPhone 7 once a day for a year for only 61 cents. These advancements are bringing down our overall carbon footprint and your electricity bill at the same time.